
FY 2014 CMS-416 Footnotes 

(as of 04/28/2016) 

 

Iowa: The 19 & 20 year old cohort does not include the ACA Medicaid expansion population for dental services. Iowa 

has not been able to complete validation of the encounter data from Delta Dental. 

 

Illinois: Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA), Illinois expanded Medicaid eligibility January 1, 2014, to include low-

income adults who are legal residents. Compared to previous years, this increases CMS-416 eligibility counts in the 19-

20 year age category. 
 

Nebraska: 

1. Effective with the FY10 report, Nebraska changed its data-gathering process for this report. We can now more 

accurately count our medically needy population, and can now exclude state-funded enrollees from our data. This 

caused our overall enrollment figures to appear to decline slightly, and increased our medically needy enrollment 

figures. 

2. Nebraska's MMIS is unable to calculate 90 days continuous enrollment, so we substituted 3 months continuous 

enrollment in our data. 

3. Nebraska's MMIS is unable to base Line 1c CHIP enrollment on whether they were enrolled in CHIP as of Sept. 30. 

Total CHIP enrollment is reported. 

4. Nebraska's 3a data was based on the child's age as of Sept. 30, so that it can be accurately compared to enrollment 

data. 

5. Nebraska’s CHIP Program expanded eligibility from 185% to 200% FPL, effective 10-1-09. 

6. Nebraska’s managed care program expanded to 10 counties in November 2009. Effective 8-1-10, PCCM 

coverage was eliminated, and an additional MCO provider was engaged. 

7. LPR and LP children and pregnant women were made eligible for Medicaid effective 7-1-10, and all LPR and LP 

children were included in CHIP effective 7-1-11. 

8. Nebraska’s managed care program expanded statewide, effective 7-1-12. 

9. Nebraska implemented a separate, stand-alone 599 CHIP program for unborns, effective 7-19-12. 

10. Nebraska converted to MAGI income methodology, effective 1-1-14. 

11. Nebraska's CHIP Program expanded eligibility from 200% to 218% FPL, effective 1-1-14. 

 
Rhode Island: Rhode Island is withholding information for the age group less than 1 year old due to incomplete 

newborn information caused by conversion to a new eligibility system. Therefore, the total numbers in this report do 

not represent the true total in Rhode Island. The information regarding the age less than 1 year old children will be 

updated as soon as the eligibility issue is resolved. 

 

Texas: Texas received approval from CMS to include the first dental home benefit for children under 36 months of age 

in line 12b counts. This is a bundled benefit that provided both evaluation and preventive care for young children with 

the primary goal to reduce early dental caries, and is billed using dental code D0145. 

 

Puerto Rico: Puerto Rico’s dental and oral health services can only be provided by a certified dentist. This is the reason 

for the value of 0 in the 12f line.  

 

 

 


