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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

March 22, 2024

Meghan E. Groen

Senior Deputy Director

Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

400 S Pine St 7th F1

Lansing, MI 48933-2250

Re: Michigan State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0500
Dear Director Groen:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your State Plan Amendment
(SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0500. This SPA updates the G3 templates to
eliminate the MiChild Premium from the SPA page.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at Sections
1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.55 through .56. We hereby inform
you that Medicaid State plan amendment 24-0500 is approved effective January 1, 2024. We are
enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan pages. Please note that CMS is approving MI 24-
0500 at the same time as the MI SPA 23-0500. MI SPA 24-0500 supersedes some cost sharing
policy approved in 23-0500.

If you have any questions, please contact Keri Toback at 312-353-1754 or via email at
keri.toback@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerel

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Erin Black



Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing: Summary Page (CMS 179)

State/Territory name: Michigan
Transmittal Number:

Enter the Transmittal Number (TN), including dashes, in the format SS-YY-NNNN or $5-YY-NNNN-xxxx (with xxxx being optional o specific
SPA types), where S8 = 2-character state abbreviation, Y¥ = last 2 digits of submission year, NNNN = 4-digit number with leading zeros, and
xxxx = OPTIONAL, 1- to 4-character alpha/numeric suffix.

MI-24-0500

Proposed Effective Date
01/01/2024 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation
Sections 1916 and 1916A of SSA and 42 CFR 447.55 through .56

Federal Budget Impact
Federal Fiscal Year Amount

First Year 2024 $0.00

Second Year 2025 $0.00

Subject of Amendment

This State Plan Amendment (SPA) is being submitted to modify the G3 template to modify cost sharing limitation
language to remove the MIChild premium reference. Please note that once SPA 23-0500 is approved the G3 in this SPA

b

Governor's Office Review
Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal

Other, as specified
Describe:

Meghan Groen. Director
Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration

Signature of State Agency Official
Submitted By: Erin Black
Last Revision Date: Mar 14, 2024

Submit Date: Jan 17, 2024



CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name:|Michigan OMB Control Number: 0938-1148
Transmittal Number: MI - 24 - 0500

Cost Sharing Limitations G3

1916
1916A

42 CFR 447.56

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56. and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and
1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

[Exemptions

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

[m] Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42
CFR 435.118).

[W] Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income
does not exceed the higher of:

[m] 133% FPL; and

[m] If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(1)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act. up to 185 percent.
[m] Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:

[®] SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).

[m] Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).

[®] Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).

[m] Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child
in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.

[m] Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the
Act).

[m] Pregnant women. during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and
extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends. except for cost
sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.

[W] Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available
income other than required for personal needs.

[®] An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(0) of the Act.

[m] Indians who are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or
through referral under contract health services.

[®] Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).

TN- 24-0500 Approval Date: 03/19/2024 Effective Date: 01/01/2024
Supersedes TN: 23-0500 Page 1 of 6



@g Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions

The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:

The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19, 20 or 21. or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age
or over.

Yes

Indicate below the age of the exemption:
(" Under age 19

(" Under age 20

(" Under age 21

(@ Other reasonable category

Description:

*» The state elects to exempt individuals under the age of 21 from cost sharing.

* The State elects to exempt individuals dually eligible for Medicaid and Children’s Special Health Care Services
from cost-sharing. Individuals age 21 and over may be covered by this exemption due to their complex. chronic
health conditions.

NOTE: The exemption for Native American/Alaska Natives is effective 10/1/15. The exemption for individuals who
are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group is effective 1/1/14.

The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based

setting 1s reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.

Services - Mandatory Exemptions
The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:

[®] Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).

[W] Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and
pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the
Act for family planning services and supplies.

[W] Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age
regardless of family income. which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures
guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

[®] Pregnancy-related services. including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p). and counseling and drugs for
cessation of tobacco use. All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those
services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.

[®] Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).

TN- 24-0500 Approval Date: 03/19/2024 Effective Date: 01/01/2024
Supersedes TN: 23-0500 Page 2 of 6




@g Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Enforceability of Exemptions

The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that
apply):

[®] To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AT/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service

furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR
447.56(a)(1)(x). the state uses the following procedures:

The state accepts self-attestation

[] The state runs periodic claims reviews

[ ] The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document
The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients

[ ] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

The State accepts self-attestation as part of the application process. The application for health care coverage asks American
Indian/Alaska Natives sufficient information to determine whether the regulatory exemptions apply.

[m] To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):
The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt
The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt
[ ] The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt
The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary is exempt
[] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

Payments to Providers

The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation, regardless of
whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).

Pavments to Managed Care Organizations

The state contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes

The state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for

beneficiaries not exempt from cost sharing, regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient
members or the cost sharing is collected.

TN- 24-0500 Approval Date: 03/19/2024 Effective Date: 01/01/2024
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@g Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Aggregate Limits

[ ] Medicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5
percent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.

[®] The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:
(® 5%

C 4%
3%
C 2%

C 1%

(" Other: 7S

[W] The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:

(® Quarterly

(" Monthly

The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing through a mechanism that does not Yes
rely on beneficiary documentation.

[®] Describe the mechanism by which the state tracks each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing (check all that
apply):

[ ] As claims are submitted for dates of services within the family's current monthly or quarterly cap period, the state
applies the incurred cost sharing for that service to the family's aggregate limit. Once the family reaches the
aggregate limit, based on incurred cost sharing and any applicable premiums. the state notifies the family and

providers that the family has reached their aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period. and are
no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing.

[ ] Managed care organization(s) track each family's incurred cost sharing, as follows:

Other process:

Effective 1/1/16, the State's MMIS system is responsible for tracking incurred premiums and cost-sharing toward
the family's aggregate limit as claims are adjudicated and other premiums and cost-sharing are incurred. This
includes cost-sharing associated with the adjudication (and attendant tracking) of Fee-for-Service claims and the
exchange of information with other vendors, such as the State’s Pharmacy Benefits Manager. regarding costs

mcurred. Once the limit is met, the MMIS system will indicate as such and notification will occur as described
below.

[W] Describe how the state informs beneficiaries and providers of the beneficiaries' aggregate family limit and notifies
beneficiaries and providers when a beneficiary has incurred premiums and cost sharing up to the aggregate family limit
and individual family members are no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing for the remainder of the family's
current monthly or quarterly cap period:

Notice #1: New Beneficiaries

TN- 24-0500 Approval Date: 03/19/2024 Effective Date: 01/01/2024
Supersedes TN: 23-0500 Page 4 of 6




@ >  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

The State will provide an mitial written notice to atfected beneficiaries who are newly eligible. This notice will
describe the quarterly aggregate limit and how it impacts the cost-sharing incurred by their household. and will
include an estimated quarterly aggregate limit for the upcoming year. This notice will also explain that beneficiaries
are not responsible for tracking costs and will inform them that once the aggregate limit is met, they are no longer
subject to cost-sharing for the remainder of the relevant quarter. Finally, this notice will inform beneficiaries of the
range of options they may use to access or receive the most up to date information on the quarterly cap amount,
progress toward that cap and any modifications to the amount, so that they can select the option that works best for
them. The options for beneficiaries to choose from include the following:

(1) Toll-free telephone access to this information through the State's beneficiary helpline. This includes an option for
individuals who are hearing impaired. (2) Online (or smartphone) access as part of the State's innovative beneficiary

portal. The myHealthButton is a mobile application that can be used from a smartphone and the myHealthPortal is an
online application that can be used from any device with internet access. These applications allow members to access
information about their health care benefits and services, including cost-sharing information. with email notifications

tied to when the cost-sharing limit is met.

right to request a reassessment of the aggregate limit.

Notice #2: Existing Beneficiaries

Affected beneficiaries will be provided written notice on an annual basis. This notice will include an estimated

prior to accessing health care if they choose. The options available are described in Notice #1.

Cost-sharing information will be available to providers in the State's MMIS system. Once the aggregate limit is

the State's contracted health plans will also receive cost-sharing information.

Beneficiaries are also informed that providers will have cost-sharing information available at the point of service to
ensure that charges are not incurred in excess of the limit. Finally. this notice provides information on the beneficiary's

quarterly aggregate limit for the upcoming year. If a beneficiary has met his or her aggregate limit at any time in the
past year, this will also be included on the notice. The notice will remind beneficiaries of the options for accessing the
most up to date information regarding their quarterly cap amount, including calls to the State’s beneficiary help line

reached, an indicator will appear in the State's MMIS system that beneficiaries will be exempt from cost-sharing for
the remainder of the quarter. Providers will also be able to notify beneficiaries that this cost-sharing has been met, and

The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have incurred premiums or cost sharing over
the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period.

Yes

Describe the appeals process used:

they have incurred cost sharing in excess of the aggregate limit will be entitled to utilize this process as appropriate.

The State has a process in place for beneficiary complaints and requests for further review. Beneficiaries who believe that

[W] Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the family is identified as paying over the aggregate

limit for the month/quarter:

amount at the time of adjudication, and direct the provider to refund the beneficiary when appropriate.

Providers will be responsible for facilitating any refunds for beneficiaries who have exceeded the aggregate limit for the
quarter. The remittance advice will inform the provider whether or not a copay was ultimately deducted from the payment

TN- 24-0500 Approval Date: 03/19/2024 Effective Date: 01/01/2024
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CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

[W] Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in
circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

Beneficiaries will follow the existing process as described above. Beneficiaries are currently obligated to report changes in
income, household and several other circumstances. and may do so online, in person or by phone. The State's MMIS
system will also recalculate the aggregate limit in response to reported changes impacting that limit and adjust the cost-
sharing indicator as appropriate.

The state imposes additional aggregate limits. consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5). No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 19935, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed. and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722
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