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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355 ‘ M S

Kansas City, Missouri 64106 . :
CENTERS TOR MEDMCARL & MLEMCALD SERYMCES

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

October 31, 2023

Jennifer Strohecker

Director

Division of Integrated Healthcare

Utah Department of Health and Human Services
PO Box 143101

Salt Lake City, UT 94114-3101

Re: Utah State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0012
Dear Director Strohecker:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 23-0012. This amendment proposes

the tracking of cost sharing using the state’s Provider Reimbursement Information System
(PRISM).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations Sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social
Security Actand 42 CFR §§447.50 through 447.57. This letter is to inform you that Utah Medicaid
SPA 23-0012 was approved on October 31, 2023, with an effective date of July 1, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Tyler Deines at 202-571-8533 or via email at

Tyler.Deines(@cms.hhs.gov .

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

ce: Craig Devashrayee, Utah Medicaid



Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing: Summary Page (CMS 179)

State/Territory name: Utah

Transmittal Number:
Enter the Transmittal Number (TN), including dashes, in the format SS-YY-NNNN or §S-YY-NNNN-xxxx (with xxxx being optional to specific
SPA types), where S8 = 2-character state abbreviation, YY = last 2 digits of submission year, NNNN = 4-digit number with leading zeros, and
xxxx = OPTIONAL, 1- to 4-character alpha/numeric suffix.

UT-23-0012

Proposed Effective Date
07/01/2023 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation
Sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57

Federal Budget Impact
Federal Fiscal Year Amount

Second Year 2024 $ 0.00

Subject of Amendment
Medicaid Cost Sharing

Governor's Office Review
Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal

Other, as specified
Describe:

Signature of State Agency Official
Submitted By: Craig Devashrayee
Last Revision Date: Oct 26, 2023
Submit Date: Aug 4, 2023
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State Name:|Utah OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: (T -23 - 0012

Cost Sharing Requirements G1

1916
1916A

42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 (excluding 447.55)

The state charges cost sharing (deductibles, co-insurance or co-payments) to individuals covered under Medicaid. Yes

The state assures that it administers cost sharing in accordance with sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42

CFR 447.50 through 447.57.

General Provisions

The cost sharing amounts established by the state for services are always less than the amount the agency pays for the
service.

[m] No provider may deny services to an eligible individual on account of the individual's inability to pay cost sharing, except as
elected by the state in accordance with 42 CFR 447.52(e)(1).

[m] The process used by the state to inform providers whether cost sharing for a specific item or service may be imposed on a
beneficiary and whether the provider may require the beneficiary to pay the cost sharing charge, as a condition for receiving
the item or service, is (check all that apply):

The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)

The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System

The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System

[[] The state includes an indicator on the Medicaid card, which the beneficiary presents to the provider
[[] Other process

[m] Contracts with managed care organizations (MCOs) provide that any cost-sharing charges the MCO imposes on Medicaid
enrollees are in accordance with the cost sharing specified in the state plan and the requirements set forth in 42 CFR 447.50
through 447.57.

Cost Sharing for Non-Emergency Services Provided in a Hospital Emergency Department

The state imposes cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in a hospital emergency department. Yes

The state ensures that before providing non-emergency services and imposing cost sharing for such services, that the
hospitals providing care:

[m] Conduct an appropriate medical screening under 42 CFR 489.24, subpart G to determine that the individual does
not need emergency services;

[m] Inform the individual of the amount of his or her cost sharing obligation for non-emergency services provided in
the emergency department;

[m] Provide the individual with the name and location of an available and accessible alternative non-emergency
services provider;
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[m] Determine that the alternative provider can provide services to the individual in a timely manner with the

imposition of a lesser cost sharing amount or no cost sharing if the individual is otherwise exempt from cost
sharing; and

[m] Provide a referral to coordinate scheduling for treatment by the alternative provider.

The state assures that it has a process in place to identify hospital emergency department services as non-emergency for
purposes of imposing cost sharing. This process does not limit a hospital's obligations for screening and stabilizing
treatment of an emergency medical condition under section 1867 of the Act; or modify any obligations under either
state or federal standards relating to the application of a prudent-layperson standard for payment or coverage of
emergency medical services by any managed care organization.

The process for identifying emergency department services as non-emergency for purposes of imposing cost sharing is:

The state identifies non-emergency services performed in the emergency department through diagnosis codes. The state
has identified a list of diagnosis codes that are considered emergent in nature. When a individual seeks services from the
emergency department and it is determined that their diagnosis is not on the list of approved emergent medical conditions,
they are assessed cost sharing for non-emergency services being delivered in the emergency department setting.

Cost Sharing for Drugs
The state charges cost sharing for drugs. Yes
The state has established differential cost sharing for preferred and non-preferred drugs. No

[m] All drugs will be considered preferred drugs.
Beneficiary and Public Notice Requirements

Consistent with 42 CFR 447.57, the state makes available a public schedule describing current cost sharing
requirements in a manner that ensures that affected applicants, beneficiaries and providers are likely to have access to
the notice. Prior to submitting a SPA which establishes or substantially modifies existing cost sharing amounts or
policies, the state provides the public with advance notice of the SPA, specifying the amount of cost sharing and who is
subject to the charges, and provides reasonable opportunity for stakeholder comment. Documentation demonstrating
that the notice requirements have been met are submitted with the SPA. The state also provides opportunity for
additional public notice if cost sharing is substantially modified during the SPA approval process.

Other Relevant Information

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722
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State Name:|Utah

Transmittal Number: UT - 23- 0012

OMB Control Number:

09381148

Cost Sharing Amounts - Categorically Needy Individuals G2a
1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54
The state charges cost sharing to all categorically needy (Mandatory Coverage and Options for Coverage) individuals. Yes
Services or Items with the Same Cost Sharing Amount for All Incomes
Dollars or
Add Service or Item Amount |Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Non-Emergency 8.00 $8 for each non-emergency use of the emergency
Add Services Received in 3 Encounter department. Remove
Emergency
Departments.
Add Inpatient Hospital Stay 75.00 $ Entire Stay Effec':tlve July 1,.2017, $75 for each inpatient Remove
hospital stay (episode of care).
Add Phys.101an or Podiatrist 4.00 $ Encounter $fl for eac.h outpa'Flent services visit (physician Remove
Services visit, podiatry visit, physical therapy, etc.).
Outpatient Hospital 4.00 $4 for each outpatient hospital service visit,
Add| Services $ Encounter (maximum of one per person, per hospital, per [Remove
date of service).
/Add| Pharmacy Services 4.00 (¢ ||Prescription $4 for each prescription. Remove
Add Chiropractic Services 1.00 $ Encounter $1 for each chlrppractlc visit (maximum of one Remove
per date of service).
Add| Vision Services 3.00g | |Encounter $3 for each pair of eyeglasses. Removel

Services or Items with Cost Sharing Amounts that Vary by Income

Service or Item:

Remove Service

or [tem
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than [than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add Remove
Add Service or Item
Cost Sharing for Non-preferred Drugs Charged to Otherwise Exempt Individuals
If the state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs (entered above), answer the following question:
The state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs to otherwise exempt individuals. No

Transmittal Number: UT-23-0012
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Cost Sharing for Non-emergency Services Provided in the Hospital Emergency Department Charged to Otherwise
Exempt Individuals

If the state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department (entered above), answer
the following question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department to otherwise Yes
exempt individuals.
The cost sharing charges for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department imposed on Yes
otherwise exempt individuals are the same as the charges imposed on non-exempt individuals.

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119
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State Name:|Utah OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: UT - 23 -0012

Cost Sharing Amounts - Medically Needy Individuals G2b

1916

1916A

42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state charges cost sharing to all medically needy individuals. Yes
The cost sharing charged to medically needy individuals is the same as that charged to categorically needy individuals. Yes

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119
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State Name:|Utah OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: yT -23 - 0012

Cost Sharing Amounts - Targeting G2c

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state targets cost sharing to a specific group or groups of individuals. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119
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State Name:|Utah OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: UT -23 - 0012

Cost Sharing Limitations G3

42 CFR 447.56
1916
1916A

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56, and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and
1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

Exemptions

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions
The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

[m] Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42
CFR 435.118).

[m] Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income
does not exceed the higher of:

[m] 133% FPL; and

[m] If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(1)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act, up to 185 percent.
[m] Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:

[m] SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).

[m] Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).

[m] Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).

[m] Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child
in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.

[m] Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the
Act).

[m] Pregnant women, during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and
extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends, except for cost
sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.

[m] Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available
income other than required for personal needs.

[m] An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(0) of the Act.

[m] Indians who are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or
through referral under contract health services.

[m] Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).

Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions

Pace 1 of 5
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The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:

The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19, 20 or 21, or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age No
or over.

The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based Yes
setting is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.

Services - Mandatory Exemptions
The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:
[m] Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).

[m] Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and

pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the
Act for family planning services and supplies.

[m] Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age
regardless of family income, which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures
guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

[m] Pregnancy-related services, including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p), and counseling and drugs for
cessation of tobacco use. All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those
services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.

[m] Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).

Enforceability of Exemptions

The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that
apply):

[m] To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AI/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service

furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR
447.56(a)(1)(x), the state uses the following procedures:

[[] The state accepts self-attestation

The state runs periodic claims reviews

The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document
The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients

[] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

[m] To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):

The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt

Transmittal Number: UT-23-0012 Approval Date: October 31, 2023 Effective Date: July 1, 6&? 2of5
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The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt
[[] The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt
The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary is exempt

[] Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

IPayments to Providers

The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation, regardless of
whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).

IPayments to Managed Care Organizations

The state contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes

The state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for
beneficiaries not exempt from cost sharing, regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient
members or the cost sharing is collected.

Aggregate Limits

Medicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5
percent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.

[m] The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:
® 5%
C 4%
C 3%
C 2%
C 1%

C Other: %

[m] The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:

(® Quarterly

(" Monthly
The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing through a mechanism that does not Yes
rely on beneficiary documentation.
) . . ) 388 3of5
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[m] Describe the mechanism by which the state tracks each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing (check all that
apply):

As claims are submitted for dates of services within the family's current monthly or quarterly cap period, the state
applies the incurred cost sharing for that service to the family's aggregate limit. Once the family reaches the
aggregate limit, based on incurred cost sharing and any applicable premiums, the state notifies the family and
providers that the family has reached their aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period, and are
no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing.

Managed care organization(s) track each family's incurred cost sharing, as follows:

Information related to aggregate limits is maintained in the MMIS system. A Provider (including managed care
organizations) who is actively enrolled can access recipient eligibility information, including cost share status, as
needed in the MMIS system. Additionally, managed care organizations are provided cost share information via
HIPAA X12 834 Benefit and Enrollment file.

[] Other process:

[m] Describe how the state informs beneficiaries and providers of the beneficiaries' aggregate family limit and notifies
beneficiaries and providers when a beneficiary has incurred premiums and cost sharing up to the aggregate family limit
and individual family members are no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing for the remainder of the family's
current monthly or quarterly cap period:

Information related to aggregate limits is maintained in the recipients health portal identified as "MyHealthPortal."
Each recipient can access this information as needed.

The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have incurred premiums or cost sharing over Yes

the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period.

Describe the appeals process used:

Recipients can call constituent services or customer service to request a review of their quarterly cap in relation to cost
sharing and premiums.

[m] Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the family is identified as paying over the aggregate
limit for the month/quarter:

The provider or entity is directed to resubmit claims and the over paid cost sharing is assessed to the recipient by the
provider or entity.

[m] Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in
circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

Recipients can call constituent services or customer service to request a review of their quarterly cap in relation to cost
sharing and premiums.

The state imposes additional aggregate limits, consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5). No
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PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722
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