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DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHJP Operations Group 

October 31, 2023 

Kevin Bagley 
Director 
Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care 
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services 
301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE 68509 

Re: Nebraska State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0010 

Dear Director Bagley: 

CLNllRS fOll MWICJ\Rl & MCUKAID SUMCIS 

CENTER fOR MEDICAJD & CKrP SERVICB 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) NE-23-0010. This amendment 
proposes to increase Medicaid provider rates for outpatient and professional services for state fiscal 
year 2024. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 44 7. This letter is to inform you that 
Nebraska Medicaid SPA 23-0010 was approved on October 30, 2023 , with an effective date of 
July 1, 2023. 

If you have any questions, please contact Tyson Christensen at 816-426-6440 or via email at 
tyson.christensen@cms.hhs.gov. 

Enclosures 

cc: Dawn Kastens 
Catherine Gekas-Steeby 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 



DEPARTMENT OF HE'ALTH ANDHUMANSERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDIC~D SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF 
APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL 
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID 

SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN 
SERVICES 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 
42 CFR447 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 
Att. 3.1-A, Item 26, Pg 2; Att. 4.19-8, Item 1, Pg 1; Item 2a, Pgs 1-
4; Item 2c, Pg 4; Item 3,Pgs1&2; Item 4b, Pgs 1-3; Item 4c, Pg 1; 
Item 5, Pgs 1&2; Item 6a, Pg 1; Item 6b, Pg 1; Item 6c, Pg 1; Item 
7, Pg 1; Item 7, Pg 1a;ltem 7c, Pg 1; Item 9, Pgs 1&5; Item 10, Pg 
1; Item 11a, Pg 1; Item 11b, Pg 1; Item 11c, Pg 1; Item 12b; Item 
12c; Item 12d; Item 13b,Pg 1; Item 13d, Pg 1a; Item 13d , Pg 1b; 
Item 20, Pg 1; Item 21, Pg 1; Item 26; Item 27 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 

I 2 I 3 - f"of"ol 1 I 
2. 

0 

STATE 

I N I E 

FORM APPROVED 
OMBNo.~193 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT 181 XIX O XXI 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
July 1, 2023 

6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 

a FFY 2023 $ 422.198 
b. FFY 2024 $ 1 §~§ ~21 

a PAGE NUMBER OFTHESUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR 
ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 
Att. 3.1-A, Item 26, Pg 2; Att. 4.19-B, Item 1, Pg 1; Item 2a, Pgs 1-4; 
Item 2c, Pg 4; Item 3,Pgs1&2; Item 4b, Pgs 1-3; Item 4c, Pg 1; Item 5, 
Pgs 1&2; Item 6a, Pg 1; Item 6b, Pg 1; Item 6c, Pg 1; Item 7, Pg 1; 
Item 7, Pg 1a;ltem 7c, Pg 1; Item 9, Pgs 1&5; Item 10, Pg 1; Item 11a, 
Pg 1; Item 11b, Pg 1; Item 11c, Pg 1; Item 12b; Item 12c; Item 12d; 
Item 13b,Pg 1; Item 13d, Pg 1a; Item 13d, Pg 1b; Item 20, Pg 1; Item 
21 , Pg1; Item 26; Item 27 

Outpatient and Professional Provider Rates for SFY24; Specialized Personal Assistance Service Provider 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 

12. TYPED NAME 
Kevin Bagley 

13. TITLE 
Director, Division of Med icaid &Long-Term Care 

14. DATE SUBMITTED 
August4, 2023 

® OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

Governor has waived review 

15. RETURN TO 
Dawn Kastens 
Division of Med icaid &Long-Term Care 
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
301 Centenn ial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE68509 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 
16. DATE RECEIVED 17. DATE APPROVED 

Au st 4 2023 October 30 2023 
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 

Jul 1 2023 
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott 
22. REMARKS 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) 

19. 

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

Director Division of Pro am erations 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State Nebraska 

PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS- PERSONAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A 
Item 26, Page 2 
Applies to both 
Categorically and 
Medically Needy 

Nebraska Medicaid covers personal assistance services providers who meet requirements tha 
include being age 19 or older; being capable of recognizing signs of distress in client and knowing 
how to access available emergency resources if a crisis situation occurs; understanding and 
accepting responsibility for the client's safety and property; and having the knowledge, 
experience, and/or skills necessary to perform the task(s). 

Personal Assistance Services will be provided in accordance with, and meet the requirements of 
42 CFR 440.167. 

TN No. NE 23-0010 
Supersedes Approved _____ Effective ____ _ 
TN No. NE 11-18 
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 1, page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 

State Nebraska 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
Except for Clinical Laboratory services and Injectable Drugs, the agency's rates were set as of 
July 1, 2023, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program. 

The fee schedule amounts for lnjectables are based on 100% Medicare Drug fee 
schedule. The Department shall update the lnjectables Fee Schedule using the most 
current calendar update as published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 
Injectable medications approved by the Medicaid Medical Director but not included on the 
Medicare Drug Fee Schedule will be reimbursed at the estimated acquisition cost (EAC) 
used to reimburse pharmacy claims. 
The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date. 
Payment methods for each service are defined in Attachment 4.19-B, Methods and 
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates, as referenced below. 

Service Attachment Effective Date 

ANESTHESIA 

PRTF 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B July 1, 2023 
Item 6d 
ATTACHMENT 4.19-A July 1, 2023 
Page 30 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 2a, Page 1 

Payment for Outpatient Hospital and Emergency Room Services: For services provided on or 
after July 1, 2023, the Department pays for outpatient hospital and emergency services with a 
rate which is the product of: 

1. Ninety percent (93%) of the cost-to-charges ratio from the hospital's latest Medicare cost 
report (Form CMS-2552-89, Pub. 15-11, Worksheet C); multiplied by 

2. The hospital's submitted charges on Form CMS-1450 (UB-04). 

The eff active date of the cost-to-charges percentage is the first day of the month following the 
Department's receipt of the cost report. 

Providers shall bill outpatient hospital and emergency room services on Form CMS-1450 (UB-04) 
in a summary bill format. Providers shall not exceed their usual and customary charges to non­
Medicaid patients when billing the Department. 

Exception: All outpatient clinical laboratory services must be itemized and identified with the 
appropriate HCPCS procedure codes. The Department pays for clinical laboratory services based 
on the fee schedule determined by Medicare. 

Payment for Outpatient Hospital and Emergency Room Services Provided by Critical Access 
Hospitals: Effective for cost reporting periods beginning after July 1, 2016, payment for outpatient 
services of a CAH is one hundred percent ( 1 00%) of the reasonable cost of providing the services, 
as determined under applicable Medicare principles of reimbursement, except that the following 
principles do not apply: the lesser of costs or charges (LCC) rule and the reasonable 
compensation equivalent (RCE) limits for physician services to providers. Nebraska Medicaid will 
adjust interim payments to reflect elimination of any fee schedule methods for specific services, 
such as laboratory services, that were previously paid for under those methods. Payment for 
these and other outpatient services will be made at one hundred percent(100%) of the reasonable 
cost of providing the services. Professional services must be billed by the physician or practitioner 
using the appropriate physician/practitioner provider number, not the facility's provider number. 
To avoid any interruption of payment, Nebraska Medicaid will retain and continue to bill under 
existing provider numbers until new CAH numbers are assigned. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approved ____ _ Effective ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 2a, Page 2 

Payment to Hospital-Affiliated Ambulatory Surgical Centers: The Department pays for services 
provided in an HAASC according to Payment for Outpatient Hospital and Emergency Room 
Services, unless the HAASC is a Medicare-participating ambulatory surgical center (ASC). If the 
HAASC is a Medicare-participating ASC, payment is made at the rate established by Medicaid 
for the appropriate group of procedures. 

Approval of Payment for Emergency Room Services: At least one of the following conditions must 
be met before the Department approves payment for use of an emergency room: 

1. The patient is evaluated or treated for a medical emergency, accident, or injury; 
2. The patient's evaluation or treatment in the emergency room results in an approved 

inpatient hospital admission (the emergency room charges must be displayed on the 
inpatient claim as charges and included in the inpatient per diem); or 

3. The patient is referred by a physician or licensed nurse practitioner such as for allergy sho1s 
or when traveling (a written referral by the physician or licensed nurse practitioner must be 
attached to the claim). 

The facility should review emergency room services and determine whether services provided in 
the emergency room constitute an emergency and bill accordingly. 
When the facility or the Department determine services are non-emergent, the room fee for 
non-emergent services provided in an emergency room will be disallowed to 50 percent of the 
applicable ratio of cost-to-charges. All other Medicaid allowable charges incurred in this type visit 
will be paid at ninety-three percent(93%) of the ratio of cost-to-charges. 

Diagnostic and Therapeutic Services: The payment rate for diagnostic and therapeutic services 
includes payment for services required to provide the service. Extra charges, such as stat fees, 
call-back fees, specimen handling fees, etc., are considered administrative expenses and are 
included in the payment rate. 

Payment to a New Hospital for Outpatient Services: Payment to a new hospital (an operationa 
facility) will be made at the statewide average ratio of cost to charges for Nebraska hospitals as 
of July 1 of that year as determined by the Department. This payment is retrospective for the first 
reporting period for the facility. This ratio will be used until the Department receives the hospita's 
initial cost report. The Department shall cost-settle claims for Medicaid-covered services whidl 
are paid by the Department using the statewide average ratio of cost to charges. The cost 
settlement will be the lower of cost or charges as reflected on the hospital's cost report (i.e., the 
Department's payment must not exceed the upper limit of the provider's charges for services). 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN # NE 16-0006 

App~vaDate ___ _ Effective Date ~---
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 2a, Page 3 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

Upon the Department's receipt of the hospital's initial Medicare cost report, the Department shall 
no longer consider the hospital to be a "new hospital" for payment of outpatient services. The 
Department shall determine the ratio of cost to charges from the initial cost report and shall use 
that ratio to prospectively pay for outpatient services. 

Payment to An Out-of-State Hospital for Outpatient Services: Payment to an out-of-state hospit:a 
for outpatient services will be made based on the statewide average ratio of cost to charges times 
ninety-three percent (93%) for all Nebraska hospitals for that fiscal year as of July 1 of that year. 

Payment for Telehealth Services: Payment for telehealth services is set at the Medicaid rate for 
the comparable in-person service. 

Payment for Telehealth Transmission Costs: Payment for telehealth transmission costs is set at 
the lower of: (1) the provider's submitted charge; or (2)the maximum allowable amount. 

The Department reimburses transmission costs for the line charges when directly related to a 
covered telehealth service. The transmission must be in compliance with the quality standards for 
real time, two-way interactive audio-visual transmission as set forth in state regulations, as 
amended. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 15-0014 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 2a, Page 4 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered psychiatric partial hospitalization services at the lower of: 
1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Mental Health and 

Substance Use Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is 
indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of psychiatric partial hospitalization services. The agency's 
fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for psychiatric partial hospitalization 
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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Substitute per letter dated 8/21/01 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 2c, Page 4 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

Payment for Telehealth Services: Payment for the professional service performed by the distant 
site practitioner (i.e., where the expert physician or practitioner is physically located at time of 
telehealth encounter)will be equal to what would have been paid without the use of telehealth. If 
a core service is provided via telehealth and the center/clinic is the distant site, the FQHC will be 
reimbursed at the PPS or the APM encounter rate (whichever was chosen at the time of the 
service). Non FQHCservicesprovidedviatelehealthwould not be eligibleforPPS/APM payment. 
Non-FQHC services will be paid according to the Nebraska Medicaid Physician and Mental Health 
and Substance Use Fee Schedule, as authorized elsewhere in the plan. 

Payment for Telehealth Transmission Costs: Payment for telehealth transmission is set at the 
lower of: (1) the provider's submitted charge; or (2) the maximum allowable amount. 

The Department reimburses transmission costs for line charges when directly related to a covered 
telehealth service. The provider must be in compliance with the standards for real time, two way 
interactive audiovisual transmission as set forth in state regulations, as amended. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for 
both governmental and private providers of Telehealth services. Telehealth transmission 
cost and originating site fee are found on the Physician and Mental Health and Substance 
Use Fee Schedules, as authorized elsewhere in the plan. 

The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for telehealth 
transmission cost and originating site services provided on or after that date. All rates are 
published on the agency's website at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and­
Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 3, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

OTHER LABORATORY AND X-RAY SERVICES 

Anatomical Laboratory Services 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for anatomical 
laboratory services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician or 

Clinical Laboratory Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is 
indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). 
When a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually 
priced to mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the 
rate is determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each 
year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for anatomical laboratory 
services on or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid­
Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee 
schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 3, Page 2 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory Services 

Clinical diagnostic laboratory services, including collection of laboratory specimens by 
venipuncture or catheterization, is paid based on the fee schedule determined by Medicare. 

The fee schedule amounts for Clinical Laboratory services are based on 100% Medicare Clinical 
Laboratory Fee Schedule. The Department shall update the Clinical Laboratory fee schedule 
using the most current calendar update as published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

X-Ray Services 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays a claim for both the 
technical and professional components of x-ray services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee 
schedule as -
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). 
When a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually 
priced to mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the 
rate is determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each 
year. Updates are adjusted based on the Medicare fee schedule. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for radiology services on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 4b, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

EARLY AND PERIODIC SCREENING, DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT (EPSDT) SERVICES 

For EPSDT services provided on or after April 1, 1990, the following applies. 

For services reimbursed under the Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule, Nebraska 
Medicaid pays for EPSDT services (except for clinical diagnostic laboratory services) at the lower 
of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Mental Health and 

Substance Use Fee Schedule for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in 
the fee schedule as -
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

Reimbursement for services is based upon a Medicaid fee schedule established by the State of 
Nebraska. Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private providers of substance use services. The agency's fee 
schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for EPSDT substance use services 
provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approved ___ _ Effective ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: Nebraska 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 4b, Page 2 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
Except for Clinical Laboratory services and Injectable Drugs, the agency's rates were set as of 
July 1, 2023, and are effective for EPSDT services on or after that date. All rates are published 
at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the 
landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

Other services covered as EPSDT follow-up services will be paid according to currently 
established payment methodologies, i.e., inpatient hospital treatment for substance use 
treatment services will be paid according to the methodology in Attachment 4.19-A. 

Payment for Telehealth Services: Payment fortelehealth services is set at the Medicaid rates 
for the comparable in-person service. 

Payment for Telehealth Transmission costs: Payment for telehealth transmission costs is set at 
the lower of: (1) the provider's submitted charge; or (2) the maximum allowable amount. 

Medicaid reimburses transmission costs for line charges when directly related to a covered 
telehealth service. The transmission shall be in compliance with the quality standards for real 
time, two-way interactive audiovisual transmission as set forth in state regulations as amended. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approved ____ _ Effective ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State: Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 4b, Page 3 

Other Licensed Practitioners: Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC) 
Rehabilitation Services - 42 CFR 440.130(d): Day Treatment/Intensive Outpatient Service by Direct Ca-e 
Staff; Community Treatment Aide; Professional Resource Family Care; Therapeutic Group Home; 
Multisystemic Therapy; Functional Family Therapy; and Peer Support. 

Reimbursement for services is based upon a Medicaid fee schedule established by the State of 
Nebraska. Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for 
both governmental and private providers of substance use services. The agency's fee schedule rate 
was set as of July 1, 2023, and is effective for mental health and substance use services provided on or 
after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid­
Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the Mental Health and 
Substance Use fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approved ___ _ Effective ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 4c, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for family planning 
services and supplies for individuals of child-bearing age at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee 
schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each 
year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for family planning services on 
or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approved ___ _ Effective ----



����������� � � ���������

STATE PLAN UNDER TilLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
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For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered physicians' 
services at the lower of: 
1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); or 
c. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average 
of available rates from other states. 

3. Exception: The Director of the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term Care or designee may enter 
into an agreement for a negotiated rate with an out-of-state provider which will be based on a 
percentage of billed charges, not to exceed 100%, only when the Medical Director of the Division 
has determined that: 
a. The client requires specialized services that are not available in Nebraska; and 
b. No other source of the specialized service can be found. 

The following is a listing of specialized physician services that have been previously rendered by 
out-of-state providers: 

a. lung transplants; and 
b. pediatric heart transplants. 

Note: The above listing is not all-inclusive of the specialized physician services that will be 
reimbursed via negotiated rates in the future, as it is based on previous experience. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of physicians' services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set 
as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for physician services provided on orafterthat date. All rates are 
published on the agency's website at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee­
Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program 
and year. 

Physicians and non-physician care providers are subject to a site-of-service payment adjustment. A 
site-of-service differential that reduces the fee schedule amount for specific CPT/HCPCS codes will 
be applied when the service is provided in the facility setting. Based on the Medicare differential, 
Nebraska Medicaid will reimburse specific CPT/HCPCS codes with adjusted rates based on the site­
of-service. 

TN # NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN # NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ___ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

SMOKING CESSATION 

Smoking cessation services rendered via common procedural terminology (CPT) codes 99406 and 
99407 are reimbursed on a fee schedule. 

Payment for Telehealth Services: Payment for telehealth services is set at the Medicaid rate for the 
comparable in-person service. 

Payment for Telehealth Transmission Costs: Payment for telehealth transmission costs is set at the 
lower of: (1) the provider's submitted charge; or (2) the maximum allowable amount. 

The Department reimburses transmission costs for line charges when directly related to a covered 
telehealth service. The transmission must be in compliance with the quality standards for real time, 
two way interactive audiovisual transmission as set forth in state regulations, as amended. Teleheah 
transmission cost and originating site fee are found on the Physician and Mental Health and 
Substance Use Fee Schedules, as authorized elsewhere in the plan. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for smoking cessation services 
on or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider­
Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the Mental Health and 
Substance Use fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

PODIATRISTS' SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered podiatry services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Podiatry Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average 
of available rates from other states. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for podiatrists' services on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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Item 6b, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

OPTOMETRISTS' SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered optometrists' services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Vision Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule)- the provider's actual cost (including 

discounts) from the provider's supplier. The maximum invoice cost payable is limited to 
reasonable available cost; 

c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average 
of available rates from other states. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for optometrists' services on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

CHIROPRACTIC SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered chiropractic services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Chiropractic Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for chiropractic services on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

HOME HEAL TH SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for medically prescribed and Department approved home health agency 
services provided by Medicare-certified home health agencies. The Department may request a cost 
report from any participating agency. 

For dates of service on or after July 1, 1990, Medicaid pays for home health agency services at the 
lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for each respective procedure in the Nebraska Medicaid Home Health 

Agency Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. 

Payment for supplies normally carried in the nursing bag and incidental to the nursing visit is 
included in the per visit rate. Medical supplies not normally carried in the nursing bag are provided 
by pharmacies or medical suppliers who bill Medicaid directly. Under extenuating circumstances, 
the home health agency may bill for a limited quantity of supplies. 

Nebraska Medicaid applies the following payment limitations: 
Brief services are performed by a home health or private-duty nursing service provider to complete 
the client's daily care in a duration of 15 minutes to two hours per visit, when medically necessary. 
The services may be divided into two or more trips. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for home health services on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN #NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 7, Page 1a 

A nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or clinical nurse specialist can order home health services 
and certify the home health agency's plan of care. Extended Services are performed by a home 
health or private-duty nursing service provider when the client's needs cannot be appropriately met 
within the Brief Service limitation of two hours or less. 

Medicaid applies the following payment limitations to nursing services (RN and LPN) for adults 
age 21 and older: 

a. Per diem reimbursement for nursing services for the care of ventilator-dependent 
clients are paid at the lower of: 
1. The provider's submitted charge; 
2. The allowable amount for each respective procedure in the Nebraska Medicaid 
Home Health Agency Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service; or 
3. The average ventilator-dependent per diem of all Nebraska nursing facilities which 
are providing that service. This average per diem shall be computed using nursing 
facility's ventilator rates which are effective July 1 of each year, and are applicable 
for that state fiscal year period. 

b. Per diem reimbursement for all other in-home nursing services are paid at the lower 
of: 
1. The provider's submitted charge; 
2. The allowable amount for each respective procedure in the Nebraska Medicaid 
Home Health Agency Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service; or 
3. The Extensive Services 2 case-mix reimbursement level. This average shall be 
computed using the Extensive Services 2 case-mix nursing facility rates which are 
effective July 1 of each year, and applicable for that state fiscal year period. 

Under special circumstances, the per diem reimbursement may exceed this maximum for a 
short period of time - for example, a recent return from a hospital stay. However, in these cases, 
the 30 day average of the in-home nursing per diems shall not exceed the maximum above. 
(The 30 days are defined to include the days which are paid in excess of the maximum plus 
those days immediately following, totaling 30.) When services which are reimbursed per a fee 
schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private providers. The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 
2023, and are effective for home health services on or after that date. All rates are published at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 23-0001 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

MEDICAL SUPPLIES. EQUIPMENT. AND APPLIANCES FOR SUITABLE USE IN THE HOME 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered durable medical equipment, medical supplies, orthotics and 
prosthetics, at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid DMEPOS Fee 

Schedule 
in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 

a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). 
When a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually 
priced to mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, 
the rate is determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

3. For DMEPOS items associated with Section 1903(i)(27) of the Social Security Act, amended 
by Section 5002 of the 21 Century Cures Act, and identified by the Centers of Medicare aid 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as covered by Medicare, Medicaid will pay the lower of the following: 
(1) The Medicare DMEPOS fee schedule rate for Nebraska geographic, non-rural areas, set 
as of January 1 of each year, which will be reviewed on a quarterly basis and updated as 
Medicare updates the fee schedule; (2) the Medicare competitive bidding program rate for the 
specific item of DME, or (3) the provider's billed charges. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for medical supplies, 
equipment, and applications services on or after that date. All rates are published at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

CLINIC SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for clinic services and outpatient mental health services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Mental Health and 

Substance Use Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated 
in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the 
current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as 
the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Mental Health and Substance Use Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through 
June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023, and are effective for clinic services on or after 
that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee­
Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific progrcm 
and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 9, Page 5 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

Pediatric Feeding Disorder Clinic Intensive Day Treatment: Reimbursement for pediatric 
feeding disorder clinic intensive day treatment for medically necessary services will be a 
bundled rate based on the sum of the fee schedule amounts for covered services provided by 
Medicaid enrolled licensed practitioners. This service is reimbursed via a daily rate. 

Pediatric Feeding Disorder Clinic Outpatient Treatment: Reimbursementfor Pediatric Feeding 
Disorder Clinic Outpatient Treatment for medically necessary services will be based on the 
appropriate fee schedule amount for a physician consultation. This service is reimbursed via an 
encounter rate. 

An encounter means a face-to-face visit between a Medicaid-eligible patient and a physician, 
psychologist, speech therapist, physical therapist, or dietician during which services are rendered. 
Encounters with more than one health professional and multiple encounters with the same health 
professional which take place on the same day and at a single location constitute a single visit. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of pediatric feeding disorder services. The agency's fee 
schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for pediatric feeding disorder services 
provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the Pediatric Feeding Clinics' fee scheduleforthe specific program and 
year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

DENTAL SERVICES 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for dental services at 
the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Dental Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as -
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for dental services on or after 
that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and­
Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

PHYSICAL THERAPY 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for physical therapy services 
at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physical Therapy and 

Occupational Therapy Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is 
indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the 
current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as 
the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for physical therapy services on 
or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for occupational therapy services provided by independent providers at the 
lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physical Ther~y 

and Occupational Therapy Fee Schedule for that date of service. The allowable amount is 
indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR"-byreportor"RNE" - rate not established in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effectiveforoccupational therapy services 
on or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider­
Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the 
specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

SERVICES FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH SPEECH. HEARING, AND LANGUAGE DISORDERS 
(PROVIDED BY OR UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF A SPEECH PATHOLOGIST OR 
AUDIOLOGIST) 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for services for individua 
with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or under the supervision of a speech 
pathologist or audiologist) at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Speech Pathology and 

Audiology Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in 
the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
withouta modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually pricedtomirrorthe current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average of 
available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for services for individuals with 
speech, hearing, and language disorders on or after that date. All rates are published at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

DENTURES 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for dentures at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Dental Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule 
as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average 
of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for denture services on or after 
that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and­
Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

PROSTHETIC DEVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered durable medical equipment, medical supplies, orthotics and 
prosthetics, at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid DMEPOS Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

3. For DMEPOS items associated with Section 1903(i)(27) of the Social Security Act, amended 
by Section 5002 of the 21 Century Cures Act, and identified by the Centers of Medicare a,d 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as covered by Medicare, Medicaid will pay the lower of the following: 
( 1) The Medicare DM EPOS fee schedule rate for Nebraska geographic, non-rural areas, set 
as of January 1 of each year, which will be reviewed on a quarterly basis and updated as 
Medicare updates the fee schedule; (2)the Medicare competitive bidding program rate for the 
specific item of DME, or (3) the provider's billed charges. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for prosthetic device services on 
or after that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates­
and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 12d 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

EYEGLASSES 

Nebraska Medicaid pays for covered eyeglasses at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Vision Fee Schedule 

in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule) - the provider's actual cost 

(including discounts)from the provider's supplier. The maximum invoice cost payable is 
limited to reasonable available cost; 

c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" by report or "RNE" rate not established in the fee schedule). When a 
code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror 
the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined 
as the average of available rates from other states. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for eyeglass services on or ~r 
that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee­
Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific progrcm 
and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 13b, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

SCREENING SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid pay for covered screening services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee 
schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for screening services on or after 
that date. All rates are published at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee­
Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific progran 
and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TilLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

SECURE PSYCHIATRIC RESIDENTIAL REHABILITATION 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 13d, Page 1a 

Medicaid has researched the cost of an existing similar service to develop a comparable rate. Costs for 
treatment and rehabilitation services are contained in the Medicaid rate. The rate does not include room 
and board. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for 
both governmental and private providers of Secure Psychiatric Residential Rehabilitation Services. The 
agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for secure psychiatric residential 
rehabilitation services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, 
scroll down to the Mental Health and Substance Use fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

The State Medicaid agency will have an agreement with each entity receiving payment under Secure 
Psychiatric Residential Rehabilitation services that will require that the entity furnish to the Medicaid 
agency on an annual basis the following: 

• Data, by practitioner, on the utilization by Medicaid beneficiaries of the services included in the 
unit rate, 

• Cost information by practitioner type and by type of service actually delivered within the services 
unit, 

• Provider's annual utilization data and cost information shall supportthatthe required type, quantity 
and intensity of treatment services are delivered to meet the medical needs of the clients served. 
Medicaid Agency or its designee may further evaluate through on site or post pay review of the 
treatment plans and the specific services delivered as necessary to assure compliance. 

COMMUNITY SUPPORT SERVICES 

Community Support Services shall be reimbursed on a direct service by service basis and billed in 15 
minute increments up to a maximum of 144 units per 180 days. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of community support services. The agency's fee schedule rate was 
set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for community support services provided on orafterthat date. All 
rates are published on the agency's website at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and­
Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the Mental Health and Substance Use fee 
schedule for the specific program and year. 

This rate will be the same for quasi-governmental and private providers of community support service. 

The rate includes all indirect services and collateral contacts that are medically necessary rehabilitative 
related interventions. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODSANDSTANDARDSFORESTABLISHINGPAYMENTRATES 

PEER SUPPORT 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 13d, P~e 1 b 

Peer Support shall be reimbursed on a direct service by service basis and billed in 15 minute inaements. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of Peer Support services. The agency's Mental Health and Subs1:a1ce 
Use fee schedule rate for Peer Support will be set as of July 1, 2023 and is effective for services provided 
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

This rate will be the same for quasi-governmental and private providers of community support service. 

OPIOID TREATMENT PROGRAM (OTP) 

When services are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, state­
developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The 
agency's OTP rates on the Mental Health and Substance Use fee schedule is updated as of 
July 1, 2023, and will be effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are 
published on the agency's website at http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and­
Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific 
program and year. 

Effective for dates 10/1/2020 to 09/30/2025, services in this program are reimbursed per 
Supplement 2 to Attachment 4.19-B, page 1. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 20, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

EXlENDED SERVICES TO PREGNANT WOMEN 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for extended services 
to pregnant women at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Physician Fee 

Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount is indicated in the fee 
schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the conversion factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division 

(indicated as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When 
a code is without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to 
mirror the current year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is 
determined as the average of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each 
year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for extended services to 
pregnant women on or after that date. All rates are published at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date -----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 21, Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

AMBULATORY PRENATAL CARE FOR PREGNANT WOMEN FURNISHED DURING A 
PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY PERIOD 

For dates of service on or after August 1, 1989, Nebraska Medicaid pays for ambulatory prenatal care 
for pregnant women furnished during a presumptive eligibility period by a Medicaid-enrolled provider 
at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge; or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code in the Nebraska Medicaid Ambulatory Surgica 

Center and Physician Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service. The allowable amount 
is indicated in the fee schedule as: 
a. The unit value multiplied by the factor; 
b. The invoice cost (indicated as "IC" in the fee schedule); 
c. The maximum allowable dollar amount; or 
d. The reasonable charge for the procedure as determined by the Medicaid Division (indicated 

as "BR" - by report or "RNE" - rate not established - in the fee schedule). When a code is 
without a modifier and is notated as BR/RNE, the code is manually priced to mirror the current 
year Medicare rate. In the absence of the Medicare rate, the rate is determined as the average 
of available rates from other states. 

The Nebraska Medicaid Practitioner Fee Schedule is effective July 1 through June 30 of each year. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, state­
developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The 
agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for ambulatory prenatal care for pregna,t 
women furnished during a presumptive eligibility period on or after that date. All rates are published 
at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
ltem26 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 
State Nebraska 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

PERSONAL CARE AIDE SERVICES 

For services provided on or after July 1, 1998. Nebraska Medicaid pays for personal care aide 
services at the lower of: 

1. The provider's submitted charge: or 
2. The allowable amount for that procedure code the Nebraska Medicaid Care Aide Fee 

Schedule. 

When services which are reimbursed per a fee schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, 
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The 
agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for personal care aide services provided 
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at: 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the Personal Assistance fee schedule for the specific program and year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 
Supersedes 

TN# NE 23-0003 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLEXIXOFTHESOCIALSECURITYACT 

State Nebraska 

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Item 27 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

FREESTANDING BIRTH CENTER SERVICES 

Nebraska Medicaid providers of birthing center services are reimbursed based on a fee schedule a:; 
follows: 

a. Payment for birthing center services provided by a participating, licensed birthing center 
is limited to the allowable rates established by Nebraska Medicaid. 

b. The fee schedule established by Nebraska Medicaid is based upon areviewof Medicaid 
fees paid by other states; 

c. The birthing center and the birth attendant must bill separately for the services provided 
by each. The birthing center may bill only for facility services outlined elsewhere in this 
state plan. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of freestanding birthing center services. The agency's fee 
schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023 and is effectiveforfreestanding birthing center services 
provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing 
page, scroll down to the Free Standing Birth Centers' fee schedule for the specific program and 
year. 

TN# NE 23-0010 

Supersedes 
TN# NE 22-0012 

Approval Date ____ _ Effective Date ----




