# **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name: Pennsylvania** 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 23-0018

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

#### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

March 6, 2024

Valerie A. Arkoosh, MD, MPH Secretary, Department of Human Services P.O. Box 2675 Harrisburg, PA 17105-2675

Re: Pennsylvania State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0018

Dear Secretary Arkoosh:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 23-0018. This amendment adds language specifically stating that for beneficiaries under 21 years of age, there are no limits for medically necessary home health nursing services, medically necessary home health aide services, medically necessary home health physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech pathology and audiology services.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations §440.70. This letter is to inform you that Pennsylvania Medicaid SPA 23-0018 was approved on March 6, 2024, with an effective date of October 1, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Margaret Kosherzenko at 215-861-4288 or via email at Margaret.Kosherzenko@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

cc: Sally Kozak
Eve Lickers
Lacey Walker

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES  TO: CENTER DIRECTOR    CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES    DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES  5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION    42 CFR 440.70  7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT  Attachment 3.1A/3.1B - pages 3d, 3e, 3g	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER  2 3 — 0 0 1 8 PA  3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI  4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE  October 1, 2023  6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)  a FFY 2024 \$ 0 b. FFY 2025 \$ 0  8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)  Attachment 3.1A/3.1B - pages 3d, 3e, 3g
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT  Home Health Services	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)  GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	
12. TYPED NAME Valerie A. Arkoosh, MD, MPH	5. RETURN TO Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Human Services Office of Medical Assistance Programs Bureau of Policy, Analysis and Planning
Secretary of Human Sandaga	P.O. Box 2675 larrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-2675  SE ONLY
16. DATE RECEIVED 1 12/21/2023	7. DATE APPROVED 03/06/2024
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 1 10/01/2023	9. SIGN
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 2	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
James G. Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations
22. REMARKS	

## SERVICES

# 7. Home Health Services (42 CFR 440.70)

7a. Nursing service, as defined in the State Nurse Practice Act, that is provided on a part time of intermittent basis by a home health agency or, if there is no agency in the area, a registered nurse when prescribed by Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners within their scope of practice authorized under State law (42 CFR 440.70(b)(1))

#### **Limitations**

- 1. For beneficiaries 21 years of age or older, there are no limits for home health nursing visits for the first twenty-eight (28) days. After the first twenty-eight (28) days, beneficiaries 21 years of age or older are limited to fifteen (15) days of home health nursing visits, home health aide visits, therapy visits, and speech pathology and audiology visits.
- 2. For beneficiaries under 21 years of age, there are no limits for medically necessary home health nursing services.
- 3. The services require prior authorization.

## **Provider Qualifications**

Home health services are provided by home health agencies certified by Pennsylvania's Department of Health as meeting the requirements for participation in Medicare.

TN No. <u>23-0018</u> Supersedes

TN No: <u>20-0017</u> Approval Date: **03/06/2024** Effective Date: October 1, 2023

#### SERVICES

## 7. Home Health Services (42 CFR 440.70)

7b. Home health aide services provided by a licensed home health agency when prescribed by Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners within their scope of practice authorized under State law (42 CFR 440.70(b)(2)).

## **Limitations**

- 1. For beneficiaries 21 years of age or older, there are no limits for home health aide services for the first twenty-eight (28) days. After the first twenty-eight (28) days, beneficiaries 21 years of age or older are limited to fifteen (15) days of home health aide visits, home health nursing visits, therapy visits and speech pathology and audiology visits.
- 2. For beneficiaries under 21 years of age, there are no limits for medically necessary home health aide services.
- 3. The services require prior authorization.

## **Provider Qualifications**

Home health services are provided by home health agencies certified by Pennsylvania's Department of Health as meeting the requirements for participation in Medicare.

TN No. 23-0018 Supersedes

TN No: 20-0017 Approval Date: **03/06/2024** Effective Date: October 1, 2023

#### SERVICES

## 7. Home Health Services (42 CFR 440.70)

7d. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services provided by a licensed home health agency. The services may be prescribed by Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners within their scope of authorized under State law (42 CFR 440.70(b)(4)).

#### Limitations

- 1. For beneficiaries 21 years of age or older, there are no limits for physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services for the first twenty-eight (28) days. After the first twenty-eight (28) days, beneficiaries 21 years of age or older are limited to fifteen (15) days of therapy visits, speech pathology and audiology services, home health nursing visits, and home health aide visits.
- 2. For beneficiaries under 21 years of age, there are no limits for medically necessary home health physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services.
- 3. The services require prior authorization.

#### **Provider Qualifications**

The service must be performed by a physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech pathologist or audiologist who are currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and comply with 42 CFR 440.110.

TN No. <u>23-0018</u> Supersedes

TN No: 20-0017 Approval Date: **03/06/2024** Effective Date: October 1, 2023