## **Table of Contents**

# State/Territory Name: Vermont

### State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 21-0017

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

February 25, 2022

#### VIA E-MAIL

Mike Smith, Secretary Vermont Agency of Human Services 280 State Drive - Center Building Waterbury, VT 05671

Re: Vermont State Plan Amendment (SPA) 21-0017

Dear Secretary Smith:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 21-0017. This amendment updates Vermont's coordination of benefits and third-party liability policies per the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act of 2019. This letter is to inform you that Vermont's Medicaid SPA Transmittal Number 21-0017 was approved February 24, 2022 and effective December 31, 2021.

If you have questions concerning this letter, please contact Gilson DaSilva, Division of Program Operations (South Branch) at (617) 565-1227 or via e-mail at Gilson.dasilva@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



James G. Scott Division of Program Operations

cc: Dylan Frazer, Deputy Director of Medicaid Policy

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICARD SERVICES	
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER       2. STATE         2       1       0       0       1       7       VT         3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT       XIX       XXI         4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	12/31/2021
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CFR §433.135	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2022 \$ 0 b. FFY 2023 \$ 0
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Page 69a; Att. 4.22-A; Att. 4.22-B pages 1 and 2	<ul> <li>8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)</li> <li>Page 69a; Att. 4.22-A; Att. 4.22-B page 1</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT</li> <li>Coordination of Benefits Update: This amendment updates Verme Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment</li> <li>10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)</li> <li>O GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT</li> </ul>	ont's coordination of benefits/third party liability policies per the nent and Accountability Act of 2019.
O COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	Kristin Clouser Digitally signed by Kristin Clouser Date: 2021.12.29 12:30:04 -05'00'
12. TYPED NAME Michael K. Smith 13. TITLE SECRETARY, AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES	15. RETURN TO DYLAN FRAZER DEPARTMENT OF VERMONT HEALTH ACCESS 280 STATE DRIVE WATERBURY , VT 05671-1010 DYLAN.FRAZER@VERMONT.GOV
	17. DATE APPROVED 02/24/2022
PLAN APPROVED - OI	NE COPY ATTACHED
	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIA
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL James G. Scott	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director, Division of Program Operations
22. REMARKS	

#### official 69a

Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB) FEBRUARY 1994		
	State/Territory: _	Vermont
<u>Citation</u> 42 CFR 433.139(b	9)(3)(ii)(A)	(c) Providers are required to bill liable third parties when services covered under the plan are furnished to an individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is being carried out by the State IV-D agency.
42 CFR 4 (3)(ii) (C) 42 CFR 4		<ul> <li>(d) <u>ATTACHMENT 4.22-B</u> specifies the following:</li> <li>(1) The method used in determining a provider's compliance with the third party billing requirements at §433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C).</li> </ul>
42 CFR 4 42 CFR 4	33.139(f)(3) 47.20	(2) The threshold amount or other guideline used in determining whether to seek recovery of reimbursement from a liable third party, or the process by which the agency determines that seeking recovery of reimbursement would not be cost effective.
		(3) The dollar amount or time period the State uses to accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in making the decision to seek recovery of reimbursement.
		(e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a service for which a third party is liable follows the restrictions specified in 42 CEP 447 20

restrictions specified in 42 CFR 447.20.

Effective Date: <u>12/31/2021</u>

Approval Date: <u>02/24/2022</u>

OFFICIAL

Revision: HCFA-PM-87-9 (BERC) August 1987 ATTACHMENT 4.22-A Page 1 OMB NO.: 0938-0193

#### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: <u>Vermont</u>

Requirements for Third Party Liability

42 CFR 433.138(f)

The Medicaid claims processing system produces monthly reports on accident claims having potential Third Party Recovery.

42 CFR 433.138(g) (1)(ii) and (2)(ii)

SWICA Employment Data Exchanges are run quarterly on all Medicaid recipients and exchanges on new Medicaid recipients are run monthly. SWICA Health Insurance information is not available. SSA Data Exchanges are run twice per month.

Automated file maintenance of eligibility case files establishes the existence of Third Party Resources. Health insurance information is obtained upon initial application and redetermination and incorporated into the eligibility case file and the Medicaid claims processing system. Vermont Medicaid receives a monthly file from State Workers Compensation. Data exchanges with the IV-A Agency are instantaneous via Shared Automated System.

#### 42 CFR 433.138(g)(3)(i) and (iii)

State Motor Vehicle accident report files are received annually. State motor vehicle accident report data and recovery occurs annually. The threshold amount for recovery of motor vehicle cases is \$200.

#### 42 CFR 433.138(g) (4)(i) through (iii)

Vermont Medicaid follows up within 30 days to identify all related potential accident recoveries.

TN No. <u>21-0017</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>87-17</u> Effective Date: <u>12/31/2021</u>

Approval Date: 02/24/2022 HCFA ID: 1076P/0019P OFFICIAL

Revision: HCFA-PM-87-9 (BERC) August 1987 ATTACHMENT 4.22-B Page 1 OMB NO.: 0938-0193

#### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: Vermont

Requirements for Third Party Liability Payments of Claims

Vermont Medicaid's third party liability (TPL) functions primarily through cost avoidance. Except where excluded by federal law, claims for medical services are cost avoided and providers must bill third parties prior to billing Medicaid.

(1) Requirements for TPL billing

Standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance is used when processing claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery and postpartum care claims.

1902(a)(25)(E)(i) – Vermont Medicaid makes payments without regard to third party liability for pediatric preventive services including early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services unless Vermont Medicaid has made a determination related to cost effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for 90 days.

42 CFR §433.139(b)(3)(ii)(c) – Where medical support is being enforced by the state Title IV-D Agency, the provider is required to provide written documentation that the third party has been billed, and the provider has not received payment from the third party. Vermont Medicaid will cost avoid for at least 100 days after the provider has requested payment from the third party.

42 CFR 433.147(c) – Vermont Medicaid will exempt third party recovery, as determined by the State Medicaid agency, based on privacy concerns for services rendered when it is anticipated that cooperation will result in reprisal against, and cause physical or emotional harm to, the individual or other person, or is deemed to be against the best interest of a child.

TN: <u>21-0017</u> Supersedes TN: 90-11 Effective Date: <u>12/31/2021</u>

Approval Date: 02/24/2022 HCFA ID: 1076P/0019P OFFICIAL

### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: Vermont

Requirements for Third Party Liability Payments of Claims (continued)

(2) Threshold Amounts 42CFR §433.139 (f)(2) & (f)(3)

The threshold amount for instituting recovery from a potentially liable third party is \$100.00 in Medicaid payments made on behalf of an individual recipient within three years from date of service. Claims less than the threshold amount are accumulated and submitted with claims of \$100.00 or over in Medicaid payments.

The threshold amount for instituting recovery from a potential third party payer in automobile casualty cases is \$200.00 for Medicaid payments made on behalf of an individual recipient within one year from date of service unless such recovery effort is deemed not cost effective. Where a determination is made that a casualty case exceeding the \$200.00 threshold is not cost-effective to pursue, the file will be annotated to show the basis for the determination.

These threshold amounts are set at amounts determined to be cost-effective after review and study of recovery cases.

The Vermont Medicaid pursues recovery of paid claims from third parties for up to three years from the date of service.

The method of assuring provider compliance with 42 CFR §447.20 is:

- 1. The Medicaid Provider Agreement requires it.
- 2. Providers have been given specific notice.
- 3. Vermont Medicaid receives and resolves beneficiary issues regarding third party liability.

TN: <u>21-0017</u> Supersedes TN: <u>90-11</u> Effective Date: 12/31/2021

Approval Date: \_\_\_\_02/24/2022