Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Alaska

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 16-0005

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
 CMS 179 Form
 Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Seattle Regional Office 701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1600, MS/RX-200 Seattle, WA 98104



Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

November 29, 2016

Valerie Davidson, Commissioner Department of Health and Social Services 3601 C Street, Suite 902 Anchorage, AK 99503-7167

RE: Alaska State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 16-0005

Dear Ms. Davidson:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of Alaska State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 16-0005. This SPA adds freestanding birth centers as a new provider type eligible for Medicaid reimbursement.

This SPA is approved effective July1, 2016.

If there are additional questions, please contact me, or your staff may contact Bill Vehrs at bill.vehrs@cms.hhs.gov or (503) 399-5682.

Sincerely,

Digitally signed by David L. Meacham -S DN: c=US, o=U.S. Government, ou=HHS, ou=CMS, ou=People, 0.9.2342.19200300.100.1.1=2000041858, cn=David L. Meacham -S Date: 2016.12.01 13:58:50 -08'00'

David L. Meacham Associate Regional Administrator

cc: Jon Sherwood, DHSS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION		FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 16-0005	2. STATE Alaska
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE July 1, 2016	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME		h amendment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Section 2301 of the Affordable Care Act	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2016 b. FFY 2017	\$0 \$0
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable, Attachment 4.19B, page 1.1	
Attachment 3.1A, page 10a Attachment 4.19B, page 1.1	Antaomion 4.17D, page 1.1	
 10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Adding free standing birth centers as a new provider type eligible for Me 11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 	OTHER, AS SF Does not wish t	
□ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	11	
12. SIGNATURE:	 16. RETURN TO: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services 4501 Business Park Blvd., Suite 24, Bldg. L Anchorage, Alaska 99503-7167 	
 14. TITLE: Deputy Commissioner, Department of Health and Social Services, State of Alaska 15. DATE SUBMITTED: September 26, 2016 	_	
FOR REGIONAL OI	FFICE USE ONLY	
17. DATE RECEIVED: September 27, 2016	18. DATE APPROVED: November 29, 2016	
PLAN APPROVED – ON	IE COPY ATTACHED	
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: July 1, 2016	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OF Davíd L. Meacham	DN: c=US, o=U.S. Government, ou=HHS, ou=CMS, ou=People, 0.9.2342.19200300.100.1.1=2000041858, cn=David
21. TYPED NAME: David L. Meacham	22. TITLE: Associate Regional Adm	L. Meacham -S
23. REMARKS:		

Provided [•]

26. Licensed or otherwise state-approved freestanding birth centers.

with:	🛛 No limitations
	Limitations

Not Provided:

Please describe any limitations:

N/A

27. Licensed or otherwise state-recognized covered professionals providing services in the freestanding birth center

Provided: No limitations

Please describe any limitations:

N/A

Please check all that apply:

- a. Practitioners furnishing mandatory services described in another benefit category and otherwise covered under the State plan (i.e., physicians and certified nurse midwives).
- b. Other licensed practitioners furnishing prenatal, labor and delivery, or postpartum care in a freestanding birth center within the scope of practice under State law whose services are otherwise covered under 42 CFR 440.60 (e.g., lay midwives, certified professional midwives (CPMs), and any other type of licensed midwife).*
- c. Other health care professionals licensed or otherwise recognized by the State to provide these birth attendant services (e.g., doulas, lactation consultant, etc.).*

*For (b) and (c) above, please list and identify below each type of professional who will be providing birth center services: licensed direct-entry midwives.

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates: Other Types of Care

<u>Community Health Aides Payment</u> for the services of community health aides III and IV or a community health practitioner certified by the state is made at the lesser of billed charges, 85 percent of the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology, the provider's lowest charge, or the state maximum allowable for the procedures that do not have an RVU. For EPSDT screening services paid at 100 percent of the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology used for physicians. Payment rates are set using the Medicare Physician RBRVS payment rates and Alaska's state-specific conversion factor and inflation adjustments. The Medicare Physician RBRVS payment rates are published in the federal register as described under the Physician reimbursement section of this attachment (4.19B). Alaska's state-specific conversion factor and inflation adjustments are published in the Alaska Administrative Code. Changes to the Medicaid rates will only occur when Medicare updates the RBRVS payment rates each year and the department incorporates those changes with its Alaska-specific conversion factor and inflation adjustments the following July 1.

Dental Services

Payment is made at the lesser of billed charges, the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology used for physicians, or the provider's lowest charge. State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The fee schedule and is effective dates are published at http://manuals.medicaidalaska.com/medicaidalaska/providers/FeeSchedule.asp

The fee schedule was last updated, to be effective for services on or after 7/1/2015.

Direct Entry Midwife Services

Payment is made at the lesser of billed charges, 85 percent of the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology used for physicians, or the provider's lowest charge, State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The fee schedule and its effective dates are published at http://manuals.medicaidalaska.com/medicaidalaska/providers/FeeSchedule.asp

The fee schedule was last updated to be effective for services on or after 7/1/2015.

EPSDT Screening Services

Payment is made at the lesser of billed charges, the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology for physicians or the provider's lowest charge. State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers, Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The fee schedule and its effective dates are published at

http://manuals.medicaidalaska.com/medicaidalaska/providers/FeeSchedule.asp

The fee schedule was last updated to be effective for services on or after 7/1/2015.

Freestanding Birthing Center Services

Facility rates for freestanding birthing centers are based on 75 percent of the weighted average of the Medicaid hospital inpatient rates paid to the general acute care hospitals in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Palmer, and Soldotna with a one day length of stay designated by a primary diagnosis code of 080 as described in the *International Classification of Diseases* – *10th Revision, Clinical Modification* (ICD-10-CM, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; this amount is calculated each state fiscal year using the units of services from the most recent 12 month period starting at the beginning of the state fiscal year's fourth quarter and for which timely filing has already passed and the Medicaid hospital inpatient rates for each facility that are in effect at the start of the fourth quarter of the state fiscal year preceding the July 1 effective date.