Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Arkansas

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 14-11 NIRT

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

JUN 0 1 2019

Ms. Dawn Stehle
State Medicaid Director
Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Medical Services
P.O. Box 1437
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437

RE: TN 14-11

Dear Ms. Dawn Stehle:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachments 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 14-11. Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services submitted this amendment to revise the coverage and reimbursement of inpatient hospital stays to provide coverage in excess of 24 days at a per diem of \$400.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

Based upon the information provided by the State, Medicaid State plan amendment 14-11 is approved effective October 1, 2014. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tamara Sampson at (214) 767-6431.

Sincerely,

Timothy Hill

Director

Enclosures

HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION		OND NO. 0936-0193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL		1
	2014-011	ARKANSAS
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TIT	
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO DECIDING A DIVINORDATION	4 PROPOGED FEFFORING DATE	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	0 . 1 . 1 . 2014	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	October 1, 2014	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
☐ NEW STATE PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT TO BE O	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	
Name		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	атепитені)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	a. FFY 2015 \$ 11,826,186	
,	b. FFY 2016 \$ 11,777,800	
O DA CENTRA (DED OF WITE DI ANI GEOGRANI OD ATTE ACUITATIVE	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS	EDED BLAN SECTION
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:		
	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	•
Attachment 3.1-A page 1a	Same, Approved 05-09-12, TN 11-13	
Attachment 3.1-A page 1a Attachment 3.1-B page 2a	Same, Approved 03-09-12, TN 11-13 Same, Approved 02-15-05, TN 04-15	
Attachment 4.19-A pages 1 & 1a	Same, Approved 02-13-03, 11\ 04-13 Same, Approved 04-25-07, TN 07-03, 00-01 *Pen & ink change	
Attachment 4.19-A pages 1 & 1a Attachment 4.19-A page 9a	Requested by the State	
Attachment 4.19-A page 9a	Same, Approved 04-17-92, TN 91-34	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:	Same, ripproved of 17 32, 11(31 31	
The Arkansas Title XIX State Plan has been amended to pay for In	matient Hospital Stays beyond 24 day	rs at \$400 ner day
The Arkansas Title ATA State Tian has been amended to pay for h	ipationi Hospitai Stays objoina 2 . aay	sur trooper day.
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPEC	CIFIED:
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED		
☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
	Lac Division Inc.	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
	Division of Medical Services	
	PO Box 1437, Slot S295	
	Little Rock, AR 72203-1437	
15. TITED NAME.	Attention, Clanda Higgs	
Dawn Stehle	Attention: Glenda Higgs	
14. TITLE:	·	
Director, Division of Medical Services		
15. DATE SUBMITTED:		
May 13, 2015		N. C.
FOR REGIONAL OF		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED:	0 1 2015
October 21, 2014		VA 775
PLAN APPROVED – ON		TICLE I
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20.	
October 1, 2014	122	ng Philips (Charles) Committee (Charles)
21. TYPED NAME: Knistin Fan	22. ha D 544 ha	EUC
OF DESCRIPTION	1 Deputy Directo	, F 110 -
23. REMARKS:	A STATE CONTINUES AND A STATE OF THE STATE O	and the second s
		No. of the second secon
The state of the s	44.00	
"我们是我们的一个人,我们们是我们的一个人,我们们就是我们的一个人,我们们就会没有一个人。""我们们是我们的一个人,我们们就是我们的一个人,我们们们也不是一个人	SIMPLE	

TRANSMITTAL Number 2014-011

EXPLANATION OF FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (BLOCK 7)

Inpatient Hospital stays beyond 24 days

Currently, Arkansas Medicaid has a benefit limit of 24 days per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) imposed for recipients age 21 and older. For acute care, critical access acute and rehabilitative hospitals effective October 1, 2014, days beyond the benefit limit of 24 will be reimbursed at a cost limit of \$400 per day. These days beyond the 24 day benefit limit will not be included in the cost settlement.

For Budget impact purposes, the unreimbursed days beyond 24 were estimated with the help of the Arkansas Hospital Association and Baird, Kurtz & Dobson (BKD) accounting firm. The estimate days over 24 were 41,712 which multiplied by the rate of \$400 for a total of \$16,684,800.

The federal FMAP rate for FFY 2015 was used to calculate State and Federal share for FFY 2015 and the projected federal FMAP rate for FFY 2016 was used for FFY 2016.

FFY 2015		FFY 2016	
Federal Share (70.88%)	\$11,826,186	Federal Share (70.59%)	\$11,777,800
State Share (29.12%)	\$ 4,858,614	State Share (29.41%)	\$ 4,907,000
Total	\$16,684,800	Total	\$16,684,800

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014
Date Approved: JUN 0 1 2015
Date Effective: October 1, 2014
Transmittal Number: 14-0011

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A Page 1a

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED

Revised:

October 1, 2014

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

Inpatient Hospital Services 1.

All inpatient admissions to an acute care/general hospital or rehabilitative hospital will be allowed up to four (4) days of service per admission when determined inpatient care is medically necessary. On the fifth day of hospitalization, if the physician determines the patient should not be discharged on the fifth day of hospitalization, the hospital may contact the Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) and request an extension of inpatient days. The Quality Improvement Organization will then determine medically necessary days. Calls for extension of days may be made at any point from the fourth day of stay through discharge. However the provider must accept the financial liability should the stay not meet the necessary medical criteria for inpatient services. Medically necessary inpatient days are available to individuals under age 1 without regard to the four day limit and extension procedures required under the plan. Additionally, effective for dates of service on or after November 1, 2001, a benefit limit of 24 days per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) is imposed for recipients age 21 and older. No extensions will be authorized. The benefit limit does not apply to recipients under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program or beneficiaries, regardless of age, who meet the following criteria:

- T. Diagnosis (one of the following)
 - the presence of two or more diagnoses on Axis I and/or II is indicative of a serious emotional a.
 - the presence of a diagnosis on Axis I or II and a diagnosis on Axis III b.
- II. Poor prognostic factors are as evidenced by
 - a. early age at time of onset
 - b. positive family history for major mental illness
 - prior treatment has been ineffective; treatment failure, poor response to treatment c.
 - co-occurring presentation (medical illness, developmental disability, substance abuse/disorder d. & mental illness)
 - non-compliance with treatment e.
 - compromised social support system f.
 - other evidence-based poor prognostic factors (varies by condition or disorder) g.
- III. Patient was referred by another behavioral health professional for an expert opinion

Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 2014, days over 24 days per State Fiscal Year will be reimbursed for age 21 and older.

Inpatient hospital services required for pancreas/kidney transplants, liver/bowel transplants and skin transplants for burns are covered for eligible Medicaid recipients in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program. Refer to Attachment 3.1-E, Pages 2, 4 and 6

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014 Date Approved: JUN 0 1 2015
Date Effective: October 1, 2014

Transmittal Number: 14-0011

APPROVAL DATEJUN 0 1 2015 EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/1/2014

TN: 14-0011

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS ATTACHMENT 3.1-B

Page 2a

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED

Revised:

October 1, 2014

MEDICALLY NEEDY

1. Inpatient Hospital Services

All inpatient admissions to an acute care/general hospital or rehabilitative hospital will be allowed up to four

(4) days of service per admission when determined inpatient care is medically necessary. On the fifth day of

hospitalization, if the physician determines the patient should not be discharged on the fifth day of

hospitalization, the hospital may contact the Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) and request an

extension of inpatient days. The Quality Improvement Organization will then determine medically necessary

days. Calls for extension of days may be made at any point from the fourth day of stay through discharge.

However the provider must accept the financial liability should the stay not meet the necessary medical criteria

for inpatient services. Medically necessary inpatient days are available to individuals under age 1 without

regard to the four day limit and extension procedures required under the plan. Additionally, effective for dates

of service on or after November 1, 2001, a benefit limit of 24 days per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June

30) is imposed for recipients age 21 and older. No extensions will be authorized. The benefit limit does not

apply to recipients under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program. Effective for dates of

service on or after October 1, 2014, days over 24 days per State Fiscal Year will be reimbursed for age

21 and older.

Inpatient hospital services required for pancreas/kidney transplants, liver/bowel transplants and skin transplants

for burns are covered for eligible Medicaid recipients in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program. Refer to

Attachment 3.1-E, Pages 2, 4, and 6.

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014

Date Approved:JUN 0 1 2015

Date Effective: October 1, 2014

Transmittal Number: 14-0011

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS

ATTACHMENT 4.19-A Page 1

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

Revised: October 1, 2014

1. Inpatient Hospital Services

The State has in place a public process, which complies with the requirements of Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act.

In accordance with Section 1902(s) of the Social Security Act, we do not impose dollar limits on any inpatient hospital services for children under age one (or children that are hospitalized on their first birthday). This includes the \$850.00 per diem cost limit, the TEFRA rate of increase limit, the customary charge upper limit or the \$150,000 bone marrow transplant limit. This applies to all inpatient hospitals.

Effective for claims with dates of service on or after January 1, 2007, all acute care hospitals with the exception of Pediatric Hospitals, Border City University-Affiliated Pediatric Teaching Hospitals, Arkansas State Operated Teaching Hospitals, Rehabilitative Hospitals, Inpatient Psychiatric Hospitals, Out-Of-State Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals will be reimbursed based on reasonable cost with interim per diem rates and year-end cost settlements, with a cost limit of \$850 per day.

Effective for dates of services October 1, 2014 and after for recipients age 21 and older, all acute care, Pediatric, Border-City University-affiliated Pediatric Teaching Hospitals, Arkansas State Operated Teaching Hospitals will be reimbursed a \$400 prospective per diem rate with no cost settlement for hospital days beyond 24 during the State Fiscal Year. The \$400 prospective per diem rate does not apply to beneficiaries age 21 and older who receive inpatient services in accordance with special diagnosis criteria identified in Attachment 3.1-A Page 1a, Section1.

Arkansas Medicaid will use the lesser of cost or charges or the \$850 per diem cost limit multiplied by total hospital Medicaid days 24 and under to establish cost settlements. Except for malpractice insurance, graduate medical education costs and the base period for determining the TEFRA target limits, the interim per diem rates and the cost settlements are calculated in a manner consistent with the method used by the Medicare Program. The definition of allowable costs to be used is as follows:

(a) The State will use the Medicare allowable costs as stated in the HIM-15/PRM-15.

The State will use the criteria referenced in 42 CFR, Section 413.89(e) - Criteria for allowable bad debt, to determine allowable bad debt.

(b) Physicians/Administrative/Teachers will be included in costs as recognized by Medicare reimbursement principles.

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014
Date Approved: JUN 61 2015

Date Effective: October 1, 2014
Transmittal Number: 14-0011

TN: 14-0011 APPROVAL DATEUN 01 2015 EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/1/2014

SUPERSEDES TN: 07-03

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS

ATTACHMENT 4.19-A Page 1a

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

October 1, 2014

1. Inpatient Hospital Services (continued)

At cost settlement, Arkansas Medicaid will limit reimbursement to the lowest of the following:

- Allowable costs after application of the TEFRA rate of increase limit. The TEFRA rate of increase (a) limit is the hospital's TEFRA target rate multiplied by its total number of Medicaid discharges.
 - Effective for cost reporting periods ending on or after June 30, 2000, the TEFRA rate of increase limit will no longer be applied to Arkansas State Operated Teaching Hospitals.
- The hospital's customary charges to the general public for the services. (This will be applied on an (b) annual basis at cost settlement.)
- A maximum limit per Medicaid days. The maximum limit is the total number of Medicaid inpatient (c) days during the cost reporting period multiplied by the \$850.00 per diem cost limit.

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014

Date ApprovedUN 0 1 2015
Date Effective: October 1, 2014 Transmittal Number: 14-0011

APPROVAL DATE JUN 0 1 2015 EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/1/2014 TN: 14-0011

SUPERSEDES TN: 00-01

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE ARKANSAS

ATTACHMENT 4.19-A Page 9a

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

Revised:

October 1, 2014

1. Inpatient Hospital Services (Continued)

Rehabilitative Hospitals

Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 1991, rehabilitative hospitals are reimbursed hospital-specific prospective per diem rates, subject to an upper limit, with no cost settlement. Rates will be effective July 1 of each year. The rate year is the State fiscal year, July 1 through June 30.

Effective October 1, 2014 for recipients age 21 and older, all in-state and out-of-state rehabilitative hospitals will be reimbursed a \$400 prospective per diem rate for hospital days beyond 24 during the State Fiscal Year.

The prospective per diem rates are established using total reimbursable costs under Medicare principles of reasonable cost reimbursement, except that the gross receipts tax is not an allowable cost. The initial per diem rate is calculated from the hospital's most recent unaudited cost report submitted to Medicare prior to July 1, 1991, trended forward for inflation. Arkansas Medicaid will calculate a new per diem rate annually, based on the provider's most recent unaudited cost report, and adjust the per diem rate for inflation.

The inflation factor used will be the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers (CPI-U), U.S. city average for all items. We will use the change in the CPI-U during the calendar year before the start of the rate year. For example, we will use the 12-month change in the CPI-U as of December 31, 1991, to set the rates that will be effective July 1, 1992. The inflation adjustment will be made at the beginning of each rate year.

The upper limit is set annually at the 70th percentile of all rehabilitative hospitals' inflation-adjusted Medicaid per diem rate. Arkansas Medicaid will negotiate with the Arkansas Hospital Association annually (State fiscal year July 1 through June 30) regarding adjustment of the 70th percentile upper limit.

State: Arkansas

Date Received: October 21, 2014
Date Approved: JUN 0 1 2015
Date Effective: October 1, 2014
Transmittal Number: 14-0011

TN: 14-0011 APPROVAL DATE UN 01 2019 EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/1/2014

SUPERSEDES TN: 91-34