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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
1961 Stout Street, Room 08-148 
Denver, CO  80294 

Region VIII 

September 18, 2015 

Susan E. Birch, MBA, BSN, RN, Executive Director 
Department of Health Care Policy & Financing 
1570 Grant Street 
Denver, CO  80203-1818 

RE: Colorado #15-0006 

Dear Ms. Birch: 

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number 
(TN) 15-0006.  This amendment revises when premiums are initiated for the Medicaid Buy In 
programs for Children with Disabilities and Adults with Disabilities. 

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved on September 16, 2015 with an 
effective date of April 1, 2015.  We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s). 

In order to track expenditures associated with this amendment, Colorado should follow the CMS-
64 reporting instructions outlined in Section 2500 of the State Medicaid Manual (SMM). 

For those individuals whose expenditures qualify for the newly eligible federal medical 
assistance percentage report on the Form CMS-64.9 VIII and those not enrolled in the new adult 
group, claims should be reported on the Form CMS-64.9 Base. 

This amendment would affect expenditures reported on Line 9D-Other Collections. 

If you have any questions concerning this amendment, please contact Curtis Volesky at 
(303) 844-7033.

Sincerely, 

/s/ 

Richard C. Allen 
Associate Regional Administrator 
Division for Medicaid & Children’s Health Operations 

cc:      Gretchen Hammer John Bartholomew 
Tess Ellis  Barb Prehmus 
Pat Connally  Amanda Forsythe 



DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 

STATE PLAN MATERIAL 
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:

co 15 -- 0 0 0 6 

FORM APPROVED 

OMB NO 0938-0193 

2. STATE:

COLORADO 
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
4/1/15

NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS A NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT
Sections 1902(a)(1 O)(A)(ii)(XV), (XVI) and 191 S(g) of the Social a. FFY 2015 $ 0 
Security Act for the Medicaid Buy-In Program for Working b. FFY 2016 $ 0 
Adults with Disabilities and Sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX),
191 S(i) and 1902(cc)(2)(A)(ii)(1) of the Social Security Act for the
Medicaid Buy-In Program for Children with Disabilities

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN
Attachment 2.6-A Page 120 Working Individuals with SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Disabilities Attachment 2.6-A Page 120 Working Individuals with 

Attachment 2.6-A Page 12t Children with Disabilities Disabilities (CO 12-005) 
Attachment 2.6-A Page 12t Children with Disabilities 
(CO 12-013) 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

Premiums for Buy-In Programs for Adults and Children 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED 

Governor's letter dated 15 January, 2015 
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

12. SIGN URl OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 16. RETURN TO

13. TYPE Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 
1570 Grant Street 

Gretchen Hammer Denver, CO 80203-1818 

14. TITLE Attn: Barbara Prehmus 

Medicaid Director, Health Programs Office
15. DATE SUBMITTED

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIVED 18. DATE APPROVED

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL

21. TYPED NAME 22. TITLE

23. REMARKS

6/23/15

6/23/15 9/16/15

4/1/15

Richard C. Allen ARA, DMCHO

/s/



Revision: ATTACHMENT 2.6-A 
Page 12t 

State/Territory: Colorado 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

Citation    Condition or Requirement 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX), 1916(i) Payment of Premiums 
and 1902(cc)(2)(A)(ii)(I)  (Continued) 
of the Act 

NOTE:  A State may not require prepayment of 
premiums and may not terminate eligibility of a 
child for medical assistance on the basis of 
failure to pay a premium until the failure to pay 
continues for at least 60 days from the date on 
which the premium was past due.  

NOTE:  Premiums are charged beginning the month 
after determination of eligibility. 

NOTE: The State may waive payment of any such 
  premium in any case where the State 
  determines that requiring payment would 

create an undue hardship.  

Premium amounts are as follows: 

a. There is no monthly premium for households with income at or
below 133% of FPL.

b. A monthly premium of $70 is applied to households with income
above 133% of FPL but at or below 185% of FPL.

c. A monthly premium of $90 is applied to individuals with income
above 185% of FPL but at or below 250% of FPL.

d. A monthly premium of $120 is applied to individuals with income
above 250% of FPL but at or below 300% of FPL.

___________________________________________________________________ 

TN No.  15-0006 Approval Date__________  
Supersedes TN No. _12-03 Effective Date 04/01/2015 

9/16/15



Revision: 

ATTACHMENT 2.6-A 
Page 12o 
OMB No.: 

State/Territory:  Colorado 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

Citation    Condition or Requirement 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

Sections 1902(a)(10)(A) Premiums and Other Cost-Sharing Charges 
(ii)(XV), (XVI), and 1916(g) 
of the Act (cont.) For the Basic Coverage Group, the agency’s 

premium and other cost-sharing charges, and 
how they are applied, are described below. 

 There are five income tiers: 

 There is a no monthly premium amount for
income which is at or below 40% of FPL

 A monthly premium of $25 is applied to
income above 40% FPL but at or below
133% FPL

 A monthly premium of $90 is applied to
income above 133% FPL but at or below
200% FPL

 A monthly premium of $130 is applied to
income above 200% FPL but at or below
300% FPL

 A monthly premium of $200 is applied to
income above 300% FPL but  at or below
450% FPL

  Premiums are charged beginning the month 
after determination of eligibility.  

NOTE: The State may waive payment of any such 
  premium in any case where the State  
  determines that requiring payment would 
  create an undue hardship. 

______________________________________________________________________ 
TN No.  15-0006    Approval Date_______ _
SupersedesTN 12-005 Effective Date 04/01/2015 

9/16/15
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