### **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name:** Colorado

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: CO-17-0014

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)

3) Approved SPA Pages

**TN:** CO-17-0014 **Approval Date:** 09/28/2017 **Effective Date** 10/01/2017

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Denver Regional Office 1961 Stout Street, Room 08-148 Denver, CO 80294



### REGION VIII - DENVER

September 28, 2017

Susan E. Birch, MBA, BSN, RN, Executive Director Department of Health Care Policy & Financing 303 East 17<sup>th</sup> Avenue, 7<sup>th</sup> Floor Denver, CO 80203

RE: Colorado #17-0014

Dear Ms. Birch:

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-0014. This Amendment would establish payment rates for hospice services, reflecting rate Increases effective October 1, 2017.

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved today with an effective date of October 1, 2017. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s).

In order to track expenditures associated with this amendment, Colorado should follow the CMS-64 reporting instructions outlined in Section 2500 of the State Medicaid Manual (SMM).

For those individuals whose expenditures qualify for the newly eligible federal medical assistance percentage, expenditures should be reported on the Form CMS-64.9 VIII; for those not enrolled in the new adult group, claims thereon should be reported on the Form CMS-64.9 Base.

This amendment would affect expenditures reported on Line 26 - Hospice Benefits.

If you have any questions concerning this amendment, please contact Curtis Volesky at (303) 844-7033.

Sincerely,

Richard C. Allen

Associate Regional Administrator
Division for Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

cc: Gretchen Hammer John Bartholomew David DeNovellis Russell Ziegler

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE:
OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17 – 0014	COLORADO
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):	October 1, 2017	HILITANIA SANTANIA S
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED	AS A NEW PLAN X AMENDA	MENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AM	ENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each ame	endment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
Section 1905(a)(18) of the Social Security Act	a. FFY 2017-18: \$1,153,599 b. FFY 2018-19: \$1,166,790	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	
Attachment 4.19-B: Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care – 18. Hospice Services, Pages 1-2 of 2	Attachment 4.19-B: Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care – 18. Hospice Services, Pages 1-2 of 2 (TN 16-0011)	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:		
Methods and standards for establishing payment rates for h 2017.	ospice services, reflecting rate increa	ses effective October 1,
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		A CONTRACTOR OF THE CONTRACTOR
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED		
	ernor's letter dated 15 January, 2015	
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	The second secon	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL ·	16. RETURN TO:	
	Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 1570 Grant Street	
13. TYPED NAME:	Denver, CO 80203-1818	
Gretchen Hammer	Attn: David DeNovellis	
14. TITLE: Medicaid Director		
15. DATE SUBMITTED:		
Initial: September 12, 2017		
Update #1: September 25, 2017		
FOR REGIONAL O	FFICE USE ONLY	
17. DATE RECEIVED September 12, 2017	18. DATE APPROVED September 28, 2107	
PLAN APPROVED - ON	NE COPY ATTACHED	
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL October 1, 2017	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL	9931
21. TYPED NAME	22. TITLE	
Richard C. Allen	ARA, DMCHO	
23. REMARKS		National Control of the Control of t
ORM CMS-179 (07/92) Instructi	m oo maa daa ah a	
via viis (9/34) Instructi	ions on Back	

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

#### STATE OF COLORADO

Attachment 4.19-B Page 1 of 2

## METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES – OTHER TYPES OF CARE

#### 18. HOSPICE SERVICES

- 1. The Department begins with the annual change in Medicaid hospice payment rates, applies the current hospice CMS wage index, and increases the final rate by a specified percentage.
- 2. Services that are included in the hospice reimbursement are:
  - a. Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 1-60
  - b. Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 61 and over.
  - c. Continuous Home Care
  - d. Hospice Inpatient Respite Care
  - e. Hospice General Inpatient Care
  - f. Service Intensity Add-On (SIA), effective for hospice services with dates of service on or after October 1, 2016, will be made for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7 days of a Medicaid member's life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate (as calculated annually by CMS), multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total that occurred on the day of service, and adjusted by the appropriate hospice wage index published by CMS.
- 3. Hospice nursing facility room-and-board per diem rates are reimbursed to the hospice provider at a rate equal to 95% of the skilled nursing facility rate, less any Post Eligibility Treatment of Income (PETI) amount, for Medicaid clients who are receiving hospice services. The hospice provider is responsible for passing the room-and-board payment through to the nursing facility.
- 4. Physician services are not included in Hospice reimbursement but are reimbursed directly to the provider of the service.

Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. As of October 1, 2017, the applied percentage increase will be 12.53% and the resulting rates are effective for services provided on or after that date.

TN:17-0014 Approval Date: September 28, 2017 Supersedes TN:16-0011 Effective Date: October 1, 2017

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

### STATE OF COLORADO

Attachment 4.19-B Page 2 of 2

# METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES – OTHER TYPES OF CARE

The provider rate is available on the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing's website at: <a href="https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule">https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule</a>. The rate table reflects one rate for full payment for providers that comply with quality data reporting requirements, as well as the rate for the two-percentage-point payment reduction specific for any Medicaid hospice provider that failed to comply with Section 3004 of the Affordable Care Act [Section 1814(i)(5)(A)(i)] and the Hospice Quality Reporting Program (HQRP).

Upon notice from CMS that a provider has failed to comply with HQRP the previous fiscal year, the State directs the provider to submit all hospice claims to the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing for the ensuing federal fiscal year using rates posted online for providers that failed to comply with quality reporting requirements. The two-percentage-point payment reduction is reflected in categories of hospice care, including routine home care, continuous home care, inpatient respite, and general inpatient care. The provider rate reflecting the two-percentage-point payment reduction specific for any Medicaid hospice provider that failed to comply with Section 3004 of the Affordable Care Act [Section 1814(i)(5)(A)(i)] and the Hospice Quality Reporting Program (HQRP) is available on the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing's website at: <a href="https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule">https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule</a>.

Aggregate payment to the Hospice provider is subject to an annual indexed aggregate cost cap. The method for determining and reporting the cost cap shall be identical to the Medicare Hospice Benefit requirements as contained in 42 C.F.R. Sections 418.308 and 418.309 (2005). Total Medicaid payments made to the Hospice for services provided by physicians who are Hospice employees, along with total payments made at the various Hospice daily rates, will be counted in determining whether the cap amount has been exceeded. Payments made for the services of physicians who are not Hospice employees and for payments made for room and board will not be included in the cap calculation. A hospice will not be reimbursed for inpatient days (general and respite) beyond 20 percent of the total days of care it provides to Medicaid beneficiaries during the "cap year."

TN:17-0014 Approval Date: September 28, 2017 Supersedes TN: 16-0011 Effective Date: October 1, 2017