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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUNAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Nedicaid Services

JFK Federal Building, Government Center

Room 2275

Boslon, Massachusetls 022073

Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations / Boston Regional Office

January 2, 2013

Roderick Bremby. Commissioner
Department of Social Serviees
25 Sigourney Street

Hartford. Connecticut 06106

Dear Mr. Bremby:

We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA)

No. 12-010. submitted to my oftice on March 30. 2012, This SPA transmitted a proposed
amendment to Connecticut’s approved Title XIX State Plan Attachments 3.1A. 3. 1B and 4.1983
in order to revise the reimoursement methodology for other practitioner services.

The Department proposed to revise the fee schedule for optometrists. chiropractors.
psychologists. naturopaths. and licensed behavioral health practitioners. These fees are based
upon the physician fee schedule which will be recaleulated based on reimbursement for the fee-
for-service population and reimbursement for the population formerly covered under 1915(b)
managed care waiver that terminated on December 31,2011, Occupational therapist will be
reimbursed according to the fee schedule for physical therapists. which will be amended to
include two occupational therapy codes. In addition. DSS will add coverage of independent
occupational therapisis fos individuals under 21 vears of age.

This SPA has been approved effective January 1. 20120 as requested by the State.

Changes are reflecied in the foilowing sections ol vour approved State Plan:

o Addendum page 4d to Atacament 3.1A
o Addendum page 2dd) to Attachment 3.1A

o  Addendum page 4d 1o Anachment 3.18

o Addendum page 4d(i) 1o Attachment 3,18
o Addendum page 9b 1o Atachment 3.1A

o  Addendum pag: 9b(i) 1o Attachment 3.1A
e  Addendum page Yb o Attachment 318

* Addendum page 9b(i) 1o Atachment 3.18
o Attachment 4 191 paac (s

o Attachment 4,191 »age 1ol

o Attachment 4,191 nage 110y

e Attachment 4191 nage ()



Page 2 — Roderick L. Bremby, Commissioner

If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Marie Montemagno (617) 565-
9157 or by e-mail at Marie.Montemagno(@icms.hss.gov

Sincerely,
Is/

Richard R. McGreal
Associate Regional Administrator

Enclosures

cc: Kate McEvoy, Associate Director of Medical Administration - Health Services and Supports



DEPARTMENT QF HEALTIAND 1UMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED

HEALTH CARIE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION OMB NO, 0938-0193
- 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBLR: ? 2. STATE: CT
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL 12-010
OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES 01-01-2012

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HIIIMAN SERVICES

5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):
___NEW STATE PLAN ___ AMENDMENT TO B CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN _X_ AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 1F THIS IS AN AMENDMLENT  (Scparate Transmittal for cach amerdment)

6. PFEDERAL STATUTEREGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
Section 1905(a}(6) of the Sacial Sccurity Act and a FFY 2012 $ 6.2 million (cosls)
42 CFR 440.60 b.FFY 2013 $ 9.3 million (costs)

g PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:| 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PL.AN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT (If applicable)

Addendum Page 9b to Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B Addendum Page 9b to Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B
Attachiment 4,19B Page 1(a)ii through 1(a)iv Attachment 4.19B Page 1(a)ii through 1(a)iv
Attachment 4.19B Page lc Attachment 4.19B Page lc

SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: The Department intends to modify Attachments 3.1A, 3.1B and 4.19-B of the Connecticut Medicaid State Plan in
order (o revise the reimbursement methodology for order to revise the reimbursement methodology for other practitioner services. In particular the
Department will revise the fee schedule for optometrists, chiropractors, psychologists, naturopaths, and licensed bebavioral health
practitioners. These fees are based upon the physician fee schedule which will be recalculated based on reimbursement for the fee-for-service
population and reimbursement for the population formerly covered under the 1915(b) managed care waiver that terminates on December 31.
2011. Occupational therapists will be reimbursed according to the fee schedule for physical therapists, which will be amended to include two
occupational therapy specific codes. In addition, DSS will add coverage of independent occupational therapists for individuals under 21
years of age. These change are expected to result in estimated federal costs of $6.2 million in FFY12 and $9.3 million in FFY13.

[I. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):

__GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT _X_OTHER. AS SPECIFIED:
__COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR™S OFFICE ENCLOSED
__NOREPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL Commenlts, il any, to follow.

12, SIGNAT 16. RETURN TO:

T‘YPEDNAM.E: Rod:rik-L. Bremby State of Connecticut

Department of Social Services - 11® floor

14. TITLE: Commissioner 25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5033
15, DATE SUBMITTED: Attention: Ginny Mahoney
March 30, 2012

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATERECEIVED: March 30, 2012 18. DATEAPPROVED: ~ December 21,2012

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED
GIONAL OFFIC

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 20. SIGN.
January 1, 2012

21.  TYPED NAME: Richard R. McGreal 22. TITLE: Associate Regional Administrator _
: Divisian of Medicaid and Children's Health Qper

23. REMARKS:
FORM HCFA-T79 (07-92)

—_—



Addendum Page 9b
To Attachment 3.1-A
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

11.  Independent Therapies.
a. Physical Therapy

i  Physical therapists must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and be
licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH) after: (a)
graduating from a school of physical therapy approved by the Connecticut
Board of Examiners for Physical Therapists with the consent of DPH and
passing the physical therapist examination administered by DPH or (b)
without taking the DPH examination, if the individual is already licensed
in another state or territory, any province of Canada, or any other country,
if DPH finds those requirements equivalent or higher than Connecticut’s
standards.

ii  The Department will pay enrolled physical therapists only for services
provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.

iii Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and are limited to
a physical therapist's scope of practice and services set forth in Sections
17b-262-630 through 640 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies and the applicable published fee schedule.

b. Occupational Therapy

i. Occupational therapists must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110
and be licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH):
(a) after (i) attaining a bachelor’s degree and graduating from an
educational program accredited by the American Occupational Therapy
Association or education deemed equivalent by DPH, (ii) completing at
least twenty-four weeks of supervised field work experience, and (iii)
passing an exam prescribed by DPH or (b) without meeting the above
requirements, if the individual is already licensed or certified as an
occupational therapist in another state or other jurisdiction whose
requirements for practice are substantially similar to Connecticut’s
standards.

ii. The Department will pay enrolled occupational therapists only for services
provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.

iii. Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and are limited to
an occupational therapist’s scope of practice and services set forth in

TN # 12-010 Approval Date ‘2[.21 | >~ Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes

TN #09-013




Addendum Page 9b(i)
To Attachment 3.1-A

State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

Section 17b-262-630 through 640 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies and the applicable fee schedule.

TN #12-010 Approval Date |2 | > \ \>- Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes
TN # 09-013




Addendum Page 9b
To Attachment 3.1-B
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

11.  Independent Therapies.
a. Physical Therapy

i  Physical therapists must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and be
licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH) after: (a)
graduating from a school of physical therapy approved by the Connecticut
Board of Examiners for Physical Therapists with the consent of DPH and
passing the physical therapist examination administered by DPH or (b)
without taking the DPH examination, if the individual is already licensed
in another state or territory, any province of Canada, or any other country,
if DPH finds those requirements equivalent or higher than Connecticut’s
standards.

ii The Department will pay enrolled physical therapists only for services
provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.

iii Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and are limited to
a physical therapist's scope of practice and services set forth in Sections
17b-262-630 through 640 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies and the applicable published fee schedule.

b. Occupational Therapy

i. Occupational therapists must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110
and be licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH):
(a) after (i) attaining a bachelor’s degree and graduating from an
educational program accredited by the American Occupational Therapy
Association or education deemed equivalent by DPH, (ii) completing at
least twenty-four weeks of supervised field work experience, and (iii)
passing an exam prescribed by DPH or (b) without meeting the above
requirements, if the individual is already licensed or certified as an
occupational therapist in another state or other jurisdiction whose
requirements for practice are substantially similar to Connecticut’s
standards.

ii. The Department will pay enrolled occupational therapists only for services
provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.

iii. Services must meet the requirements of 42 CFR 440.110 and are limited to
an occupational therapist’s scope of practice and services set forth in

TN # 12-010 Approval Date \:}\clll [ Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes
TN #09-013




Addendum Page 9b(i)
To Attachment 3.1-B

State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PRbVlDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

Section 17b-262-630 through 640 of the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies and the applicable fee schedule.

TN #12-010 Approval Date {22\ 12~ Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes
TN # 09-013




Addendum Page 4d
To Attachment 3.1-A
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

h. Licensed Clinical Social Worker Services

i Clinical social workers must be licensed by the Connecticut
Department of Public Health (DPH) (a) after (i) completing a doctorate
or master’s degree in a social work program accredited by the Council
on Social Work Education or a program outside the United States
deemed equivalent by the Council on Social Work Education, (ii)
complete 3,000 hours of post-master’s social work experience,
including at least 100 hours under supervision by a licensed clinical or
certified independent social worker, with such hours completed in
Connecticut as a licensed master social worker, (iii) pass the clinical
level examination of the Association of Social Work Boards or any
other examination prescribed by DPH or (b) without meeting the
above requirements if the individual is licensed or certified asa
clinical social worker in another jurisdiction whose requirements are
substantially similar or higher than Connecticut’s requirements and
who has also passed the clinical level examination of the Association
of Social Work Boards or any examination prescribed by DPH.

i The Department will pay enrolled licensed clinical social workers only
for services provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of
age.

iii Services are provided under the benefit category of 42 C.F.R. §
440.60, other practitioners, and include routine diagnostic, assessment,
treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services provided to individuals
with a behavioral health disorder, within a licensed clinical social
worker’s scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable published
fee schedule.

i. Licensed Marital and Family Therapists Services

i Marital and family therapists must be licensed by the Connecticut
Department of Public Health (DPH) (a) after (i) completing a graduate
degree program in marital and family therapy from a regionally
accredited college or university or an accredited postgraduate clinical
training program approved by the Commission on Accreditation for
Marriage and Family Therapy Education and recognized by the U.S.

TN# 12-010 Approval Date 2 ].;u \ (2 Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes
TN# 07-013




Addendum Page 4d(i)
To Attachment 3.1-A
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

TN# 12-010
Supersedes
TN#07-013

.
n

Department of Education, (ii) completing a supervised practicum or
internship with emphasis on marital and family therapy supervised by
the program granting the degree or by an accredited postgraduate
clinical training program approved by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education and
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with at least 500
clinical hours, including 100 hours of clinical supervision, (iii)
complete at least twelve months of relevant postgraduate experience
after being awarded a master’s or doctorate or the training specified in
(ii) and including at least 1,000 hours of direct client contact offering
marital and family therapy and 100 hours of postgraduate clinical
supervision by a licensed marital and family therapy, and (iv) passed
an examination prescribed by DPH or (b) without taking the
examination if the individual is currently licensed or certified as a
marital or marriage and family therapist in another jurisdiction whose
standards, in DPH’s opinion, are equivalent to or higher than
Connecticut’s standards. However, an individual licensed or certified
as a marital or marriage and family therapist in another jurisdiction
whose standards are not equivalent to or higher than Connecticut’s
standards may substitute five years of licensed or certified work
experience in the practice of marital and family therapy in lieu of the
requirements of (a)(ii) and (iii) above.

The Department will pay enrolled licensed marital and family
therapists only for services provided to individuals under twenty-one
(21) years of age.

Services are provided under the benefit category of 42 C.F.R. §
440.60, other practitioners, and include routine diagnostic, assessment,
treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services provided to individuals
with a behavioral health disorder, within a licensed marital and family
therapist’s scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable
published fee schedule.

Approval Date D !)l !IQ- Effective Date: 01-01-12




Addendum Page 4d
To Attachment 3.1-B
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

h. Licensed Clinical Social Worker Services

i Clinical social workers must be licensed by the Connecticut
Department of Public Health (DPH) (a) after (i) completing a doctorate
or master’s degree in a social work program accredited by the Council
on Social Work Education or a program outside the United States
deemed equivalent by the Council on Social Work Education, (ii)
complete 3,000 hours of post-master’s social work experience,
including at least 100 hours under supervision by a licensed clinical or
certified independent social worker, with such hours completed in
Connecticut as a licensed master social worker, (iii) pass the clinical
level examination of the Association of Social Work Boards or any
other examination prescribed by DPH or (b) without meeting the
above requirements if the individual is licensed or certified as a
clinical social worker in another jurisdiction whose requirements are
substantially similar or higher than Connecticut’s requirements and
who has also passed the clinical level examination of the Association
of Social Work Boards or any examination prescribed by DPH.

ii The Department will pay enrolled licensed clinical social workers only
for services provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of
age.

iii Services are provided under the benefit category of 42 C.F.R. §
440.60, other practitioners, and include routine diagnostic, assessment,
treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services provided to individuals
with a behavioral health disorder, within a licensed clinical social
worker's scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable published
fee schedule.

i. Licensed Marital and Family Therapists Services

i Marital and family therapists must be licensed by the Connecticut
Department of Public Health (DPH) (a) after (i) completing a graduate
degree program in marital and family therapy from a regionally
accredited college or university or an accredited postgraduate clinical
training program approved by the Commission on Accreditation for
Marriage and Family Therapy Education and recognized by the U.S.

TN# 12-010 Approval Date _ |2 \.) 12 Effective Date: 01-01-12
Supersedes
TN# 07-013




Addendum Page 44d(i)
To Attachment 3.1-B
State: CONNECTICUT

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): ALL

TN# 12-01

Supersedes
TN#07-013

vee

Department of Education, (ii) completing a supervised practicum or
internship with emphasis on marital and family therapy supervised by
the program granting the degree or by an accredited postgraduate
clinical training program approved by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education and
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with at least 500
clinical hours, including 100 hours of clinical supervision, (iii)
complete at least twelve months of relevant postgraduate experience
after being awarded a master’s or doctorate or the training specified in
(ii) and including at least 1,000 hours of direct client contact offering
marital and family therapy and 100 hours of postgraduate clinical
supervision by a licensed marital and family therapy, and (iv) passed
an examination prescribed by DPH or (b) without taking the
examination if the individual is currently licensed or certified as a
marital or marriage and family therapist in another jurisdiction whose
standards, in DPH’s opinion, are equivalent to or higher than
Connecticut’s standards. However, an individual licensed or certified
as a marital or marriage and family therapist in another jurisdiction
whose standards are not equivalent to or higher than Connecticut’s
standards may substitute five years of licensed or certified work
experience in the practice of marital and family therapy in lieu of the
requirements of (a)(ii) and (iii) above.

The Department will pay enrolled licensed marital and family
therapists only for services provided to individuals under twenty-one
(21) years of age.

Services are provided under the benefit category of 42 C.F.R. §
440.60, other practitioners, and include routine diagnostic, assessment,
treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services provided to individuals
with a behavioral health disorder, within a licensed marital and family
therapist’s scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable
published fee schedule.

Approval Date __[2 |2\ \1>— Effective Date: 01-01-12




Attachment 4.19B
Page 1(a)ii

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State Connecticut

(b) Optometrists — 90% of physician fees as referenced in (5)
above. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by
going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:
www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to “Provider,”
then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.” Rates are the
same for private and governmental providers and are published
at www.ctdssmap.com.

(c) Chiropractors — 100% of physician fees as referenced in (5)
above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012
and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The
fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded
by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program
website: _www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to
“Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.” Rates
are the same for private and governmental providers and are

published at www.ctdssmap.com.

(d) Other practitioners —

(i) Psychologists — The current fee schedule was set as of January
1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that
date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be accessed and
downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page
go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.”
Rates are the same for private and governmental providers and
are published at www.ctdssmap.com.

TN #12-010 Approval Date () 2V]12-  Effective Date 01-01-2012
Supersedes
TN # 10-020



Attachment 4.19B

Page 1(a)iv

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State Connecticut

(v)

(vi)

TN #12-010
Supersedes
TN #09-013

Licensed behavioral health practitioners to include licensed clinical
social workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed
professional counselors, and licensed alcohol and drug counselors
- not to exceed 75% of the Medicare physician fee schedule. The
fee schedule for licensed behavioral health practitioners can be
accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical
Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web
page go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.”
The agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2012 and are effective
for services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private
and governmental providers and are published on the agency’s
website.

Physician assistants — 100% of the department’s fees for
physicians. The fee schedule for physicians can be accessed and
downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to
“Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.” The
agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2012 and are effective for
services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private and
governmental providers and are published at www.ctdssmap.com.

Approval Date |22\ ! | s Effective Date 01-01-2012



