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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
JFK Federal Building, Government Center 
Room 2275 
Boston, Massachusetts 02203 CMS 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

Division of Medicaid and Children's Health Operations/ Boston Regional Office 

Roderick L. 8remby, Commissioner 
Department of Social Services 
55 Farmington Avenue 
Hartford, CT 061 05 

Dear Mr. 8remby: 

April23 , 2015 

We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 14-031 , 
submitted to my office on December 30, 2014 and approved on March 27, 2015. This SPA proposes to 
amend Attachment 4.198 of the Medicaid State Plan in order to revise reimbursement for physicians and 
other practitioners who bill using the physician, psychologist or behavioral health clinician fee schedules 
to establish a separate fee for procedures that have an established Medicare facility fee using the same 
percentage difference as Medicare for facility based services. 

This change will al so ensure that DSS does not reimburse both the practitioner and the facility for the 
overhead and similar charges incurred by the facility . 

This SPA has been approved effective October I, 2014, as requested by the State. 
Changes are reflected in the following sections of your approved State Plan: 

• 
• 
• 
• 

Attachment 4.198, page I (a)i(E) 
Attachment 4.198, page I (a)ii thru page I (a)iv 
Attachment 4. 198, page 2(b) 
Attachment 4. 198, page 16 

If you have any ques~ions reg~rdi~g this matter you may contact Marie DiMartino (617) 
565-9157 or by e-mail at Mane.DIMai1ino{a)cms.hhs.gov 

Sincerely, 

Is/ 

Richard R. McGreal 

Associate Regional Administrator 

cc: Kate McEvoy, Director of Medical Administration- Health Services and Supports 



DEPARTM:E]'.1'T Of HEALTH ANT) HUMAN SERVlCES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

FOR,\11 APPROVED 
OMB NO. 0938-0193 

\1. TRANSJvlrTTAL NUMBER: I ; STATE CT 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL 
OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

___ __L1~_Q]_L ______ .. L __ , ____ .~---······ -~----------

FOR: HEALTH CAR£ FINANCING ADMlNISTR<\ TION 

TO: REGIONAL ADMIN1STRA TOR 

3. PROGRA.".1 1DENTlFlCAT10N THLE XIX Of TilE 

SOCIAL SECURJTY ACT (MEDJCAID) ·-----

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE: 

October 1, 2014 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND lviEDJCAlD SERVJCES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL.TI-LAND..lHilYLiliSf:RYlCES ....... -..--!-------------------------

5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 

_AlvfENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X.._A\-lENDMENT 
NEW SCA.nc PLAN 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 TI-!RU 10 IF THIS IS AN At>.'f.ENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment) 
----------------------·--··-·-·---·-

6. FEDERAL STATIJTE/REGULATJON ClTATlON 
Sections 1905(a)(5), (6), and (2 l) of the Social Security 

Act and 42 CFR 440 .50, 60, 165 and J 66 

7. FEDER.A.L BUDGET ll'v1PACT: 
a. FFY 2015 $9 million (savings) 
b. FFY 2016 $9.9 million (savings) 

············--· -·-- ·------------------
& PAGE NUJ\1BER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE Nl.JJvffiER OF THE SUPERSEJ}ED PLAN SECTION OR 

Ail ACHMJ.':NT (If app licable) 
Attachment 4.19B Page 1 (ali(E) 

Attacl1ment 4. I 9B Page I (a)i(E) 
Anachmcnt 4.19B page 1 (a)ii 
Anacluncnt4.19BPage l (a)iiithmpage l(a)iv 
Attachment 4.1913 Page 16 
Attachment 4.19B Page 2(b) 

Attachment 4.1913 page l(a)ii 
Attachment 4.19B Page I (a)iii thrn page I (a)iv 
Attachment 4 .19 B Pages 16 and Page 19 
Attachment 4.19B Page 2(h) 

--- -------------···--·-·-----·--····----·-·-···-·-- ···-···--·-···········--·-···" 
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Effcciive October 1, 2014 this SPA revi~es r~imbursement for physicians and other practitioners who bill u:,ing the 
physician fee schedule to establish a separate fee for procedures thai bave an established Medicare facility fcc using the same percentage difference as 
Medicare's facility fee. ln addition to aligning more closely with Medicare's reimbursement metllodology. thi~ change will also ensure that DSS does not 

reimburse both the practitioner and the facility for the overhead and similar charges incurred by the facility. 

11 GOVERNOR ·s REV lEW (Check One): 

15. 

X _GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COM.MENT 
_ COM1vfENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFfiCE ENCLOSED 
_NO REPLY RECEIVED WJTH.l]'. 45 D.A YS OF SUBMITTAL 

_OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

J 6. RETURN TO: 

State of Connecticut 
Department of Social Services 
55 Fannington A venue··· 9th floor 
Hartford, CT 06105 
Attention: Gim1y Mahoney 

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONlY 

18. DATE APPROVED: 

23. REMARKS: 
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TN# 14-031 
Supersedes 
TN# 14-012 

OFFICIAL Attachment 4.19B 
Page l(a)iii 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

(ii) 

(iii) 

schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and 
Naturopaths- The current fee ft that date The fee schedule 

· · ded on or a er · 
is effective for services provi d and downloaded by going to the 
for naturopaths can be accesse p websi'te· www ctdssmap.com. 

· 1 A · t ce rogram · · 
Connecticut Medica SSI~,;~vider, then to "Provider Fee Schedule 
From this web page go to c- ' . te and governmental providers Download." Rates are the same lOr pnva 
and are published at www.ctdssmap.com. 

't ' 90o/ of physician fees as referenced in (5) above, Nurse practt wners- '" . · h 
except for physician-administered drugs and supplies, whic are 
reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees. The c~rrent fee. schedule was 
set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for servtces prov1ded on or after 
that date The fee schedule for physicians can be accessed and downloaded 
by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: 
www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to "Provider," then to 
"Provider Fee Schedule Download." Rates are the same for private and 
governmental providers and are published at www.ctdssmap.com. 

Nurse practitioner groups and individual nurse practitioners are eligible to 
participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative 
detailed in (5) above under Physician 's Services. Nurse practitioner 
services within PCMH practices run by nurse practitioners are authorized 
by Section 1905(a)(6) (services by other licensed practitioners). Nurse 
practitioners working in a physician group or a solo physician practice are 
eligible to participate in the PCMH initiative as part of the physician group 
or solo physician practice under the Physician 's Services section of the State Plan. 

(iv) Dental Hygienists- 90% of the department 's fees for dentists. The fee 
schedule for dentists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the 
Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: WWw.ctdssmap.com. 
From this web page go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule 
Download. " The agency's rates were set as of April 1, 2008 and are 
effective for services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private 
and governmental providers and are published at www.ctdssmap.com. 

Approval Date _3/27/15 
----- Effective Date 1 0-0 1-2 014 



OFFICIAL 
Attachment 4.19B 

Page l(a)iv 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State Connecticut 

(v) Licensed behavioral health practitioners to include licensed clinical social 
workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed professional 
counselors, and licensed alcohol and drug counselors- not to exceed 75% 
of the Medicare physician fee schedule. The fee schedule for licensed 
behavioral health practitioners can be accessed and downloaded by going 
to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: 
www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to "Provider," then to 
"Provider Fee Schedule Download." The agency ' s rates were set as of 
October 1, 2014 and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates 
are the same for private and governmental providers and are published at 
www.ctdssmap.com. 

(vi) Physician assistants- 90% of the department 's fees for physicians, except 
for physician-administered drugs and supplies, which are reimbursed at 
100% of the physician fees. The fee schedule for physicians can be 
accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance 
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to 
"Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." The agency's 
rates were set as of October 1, 2014 and are effective for services on or 
after that date. Rates are the same for private and governmental providers 
and are published at www.ctdssmap.com. 

TN # 14-031 
2014 
Supersedes 
TN# 14-012 

Physician assistants working in a physician group or a solo physician 
practice are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home 
(PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician 's Services as part 
of the physician group or solo physician practice under the Physician's 
Services section of the State Plan in Section (5) above. 

Approval Date _3/27115 ____ _ Effective Date 10-01-



OFFICIAL 
Attachment 4.19B 

Page l(a)ii 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State Connecticut 

(6) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies 
are summarized below. Fees may be deleted or added and priced in order to remain compliant 
with HIPAA or to correct pricing errors. 

(a) Podiatrists - Podiatrists- 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee 
schedule was set as of October I, 2014 and is effective for services provided on or after that 
date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut 
Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to 
" Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private 
providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

(b) Optometrists - 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was 
set as of October I, 2014 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee 
schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance 
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to " Provider," then to 
"Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are 
reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

(c) Chiropractors- 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule 
was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that 
date. The fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the 
Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web 
page, go to " Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and 
private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. Chiropractor services 
are paid only as EPSDT Special Services required by Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social 
Security Act. 

(d) Other practitioners-

TN# 14-031 
Supersedes 
TN# 14-012 

(i) Psychologists- The current fee schedule was set as of October I, 2014 and is 
effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for 
psychologists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut 
Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, 
go to " Provider," then to " Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental 
and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

Approval Date 3/27/15 Effective Date 10-01-14 



(5) 

OFFICIAL 
Attachment 4.19B 

Page l(a)i(E) 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: CONNECTICUT 

- d I t t exceed the Medicare physician fee Physician' s services - hxed fee sche u e no 0 . . d · compliant with 
schedule. Fees may be deleted or added and pnced m o~:ret:::~::~s of October 1, 
HIPAA or to corr~ct pricing ~rrors . Th.edc~rrent fe~ sc~~at date. The fee schedule for 
2014 and is effective for services provi e on or a. er h C t' ut Medical 

d d d wnloaded by gomg to t e onnec IC physicians can be accesse an ° h' b 
0 

to "Provider " 
istance Pro ram website: www.ctdssmap.com. From t IS we pa~e, g . ' ~~~to "Provid~r Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and pnvate providers are 

reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of !nd~~endent 
physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner g:oups, and mdividual 
nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Q~ahty Assurance (N~QA) 
Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition. PCMH practices must c?mply With all 
NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional ~~i~te~1 department reqmrements, 
including participation in various primary care mitlatlves operated by the State. 

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, w~ic? pays ~nhance~ rates to 
practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services reqmred for NCQ~ 
PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that It 
has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to 
achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must 
also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation 
in various primary care initiatives operated by the State. 

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate 
add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH 
practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for 
performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide 
Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice 
locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase. 

(a) Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On: The department will pay a rate add-on for the 

TN# 14-031 

following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the 
physician fee schedule: 99201 , 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 9921 I, 99212, 99213, 
99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 
99318, 99324, 99325, 99326,99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 
99341 , 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99354, 99355, 
99381 , 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391 , 99392, 99393, 99394, 
99395, 99396, 99397, 99401 , 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 
99411 , 99412, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051 , 99053, D0145, 

Approval Date 3/27/15 __ _ Supersedes 
TN# 14-012 

Effective Date 10/01/2014 



OFFICIAL 
Attachment 4.19B 

Page 2(b) 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State Connecticut 

(17) Nurse-mid wife services - are paid off of the physician fee schedule at 90% of physician 
fees, except for physician-administered drugs and supplies, which are reimbursed at 
100% of the physician fees. 

The agency' s physician fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for 
services provided on or after that date, except that fees may be deleted or added and 
priced in order to remain compliant with HIP AA. The physician fee schedule can be 
accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program 
website: vvww.ctdssmap.com. From this web page go to "Provider Services" then to "Fee 
Schedule Download". All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according 
to the same fee schedule. 

(18) The Medicaid Hospice rates are set prospectively by CMS based on the methodology 
used in setting Medicare Hospice rates, which are adjusted to disregard the cost 
offsets attributable to Medicare coinsurance amounts. Hospice payment rates are also 
adjusted for regional differences in wages, using indices published in the Federal 
Register and daily Medicaid hospice payment rates announced through CMS's 
memorandum titled "Annual Change in Medicaid Hospice Payment Rates­
ACTION". The hospice fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to 
the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: \V\-\W_,_ctdssmap.com. From 
this web page, go to "Provider" then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download". All 
governn1ental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee 
schedule. For clients living in a nursing facility, the per diem nursing facility rate 
will equal 95% of the rate for that nursing home under the Medicaid program. 

TN# 14-031 
2014 
Supersedes 
TN# 14-012 

Approval Date _3/27/15 ---- Effective Date 1 0-0 1-



Attachment 4.19B 
Page 16 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State Connecticut 

(21) Pediatric and family nurse practitioners - are paid off of the physician fee 
schedule at 90% of physician fees, except for physician-administered drugs and 
supplies, which are reimbursed at 100% ofthe physician fees. The agency' s 
physician fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date, except that fees may be deleted or added and priced 
in order to remain compliant with HIP AA. The physician fee schedule can be 
accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance 
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider" 
then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download" . All governmental and private 
providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

Pediatric and family nurse practitioner groups and individual pediatric and family 
nurse practitioners are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical 
Home (PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician ' s Services. 
Pediatric and family nurse practitioner services within PCMH practices run by 
pediatric and family nurse practitioners are authorized by Section 1905(a)(21) 
(services by cer1ified pediatric and family nurse practitioners). Pediatric and 
family nurse practitioners working in a physician group or a solo physician 
practice are eligible to participate in the PCMH initiative as part of the physician 
group or solo physician practice under the Physician ' s Services section of the 
State Plan. 

TN # 14-031 
Supersedes 
TN # 14-012 

Approval Date _3/27115 
Effective Date 10-01-2014 
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