Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Georgia

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 13-009

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



JUL 18 2013

Mr. Jerry Dubberly Chief, Division of Medicaid Georgia Department of Community Health 2 Peachtree Street, NW Atlanta, GA 30303-3159

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) GA 13-009

Dear Mr. Dubberly:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number 13-009. Effective July 1, 2013 this amendment proposes to eliminate the thirty (30) day time frame in which a nursing facility is required to submit a request for a Fair Rental Value rate increase. Additionally, this State Plan Amendment will provide a period of sixty (60) days in which to approve or deny a Fair Rental Value rate increase request.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date of July 1, 2013. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Dicky Sanford at (334) 241-0044.

Sincerely,

//s//

Cindy Mann Director

TDANGMITTAY AND NOTICE OF ADDRESS OF	I Control			
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 13-009	2. STATE GEORGIA		
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	13-009	GEORGIA		
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)			
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE			
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	July 1, 2013			
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):				
☐ NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CO	NSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	X AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME				
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:				
	FFY 2013 \$ 6 90			
A DAGE MUNICIPAL OF THE BY AN OPERION OF A TRACK OF THE	FFY 2014 \$ 0			
AGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):				
Supplement 3 to Attachment 4.19-D: Page 6				
	Supplement 3 to Attachment 4.19-D: Page 6-7			
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: This State Plan Amendment w	ill result in an elimination of the th	irty (30) day timeframe in		
which a nursing facility is required to submit a request for a F				
Amendment will provide the Department with a period of sixty				
Value rate increase request. This Amendment will not result i	n a change in our methods and sta	ndards for setting		
payment rates.				
II. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): ☐ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT ☐ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED ☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	☑ OTHER, AS SPE Single State Agency	CIFIED: Comments Attached		
	The DETAILS TO			
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO: Department of Community H	lealth		
13. TYPED NAME: Jerry Dubberly	Division of Medicaid 2 Peachtree Street, NW, 36 th Floor			
	Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159			
14. TITLE: Chief, Division of Medicaid	Attaina, Georgia 30303 3107			
15. DATE SUBMITTED: 06-11-13				
EOD DECIONA	L OFFICE USE ONLY			
17. DATE RECEIVED: 06-11-13	18. DATE APPROVED: 07-	18-13		
	- ONE COPY ATTACHED			
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 07/01/13	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIO	ONAL OFFICIAL:		
21. TYPED NAME:	22. TITLE: Director			
Cindy Mann				
Cincy Main				
		회원 시간 경기 등에 가는 것이 되었다.		
그 그는 이 바람이 있었습니다. 하늘에 대략하였습니다.				
그 그는 그는 그렇게 하나는 아들이 되는 것이다.				
	교육 제상되다 보기 있다고 하시 하시 기계 시간 다. 기계 사람들은 10명 기계			
	And the second of the second o			

Page 1

State: GEORGIA

PART II, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR NURSING FACILITY SERVICES

APPENDIX D

UNIFORM CHART OF ACCOUNTS, COST REPORTING,

REIMBURSEMENT PRINCIPLES AND OTHER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

Revised 01/01/2006 General

This appendix discusses the use of a uniform chart of accounts, the annual submission of a cost report, the principles of reimbursement which comprise the basis for the financial reporting requirements of facilities participating in the Georgia Medicaid Program and other reporting requirements. The Georgia Division of Medical Assistance Uniform Chart of Accounts as comprised on the date of service is incorporated by reference herein. A copy is available from the Division upon request. Cost reports and instructions are made available to each facility near the end of the reporting period. The reimbursement principles discussed in this appendix are selected from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS-15-1). Copies of the Manual, which provide a detailed description of allowable costs, are available from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

1. Uniform Chart of Accounts

The Georgia Division of Medical Assistance requires that all nursing facilities participating in the Medicaid Program utilize the classification of accounts shown in the Uniform Chart of Accounts in reporting its financial operations in the cost reporting system. While it is not mandatory that books of original entry or ledgers be maintained in accordance with the Uniform Chart of Accounts, facilities are strongly encouraged to do so. The Uniform Chart of Accounts has been designed to meet management needs for budgeting information, information flow, internal control, responsibility accounting and financial reporting. Also, it has been designed in such a manner that accounts may be added or deleted to tailor the financial information to the facility's needs.

Should a facility elect to maintain its books of original entry or ledgers in a manner other than that specified in the <u>Uniform Chart of Accounts</u>, the facility is required to have available a detailed description of how its accounting system differs. This description of differences must be used by the facility for converting the output of its reporting system into the format specified in the <u>Uniform Chart of Accounts</u>. This description of differences and conversion of reporting information into the proper format are considered to be essential components of a facility's accounting records. When such information is needed but not maintained, a facility's cost report will be determined to be unacceptable

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003 Approval Date: JUL 1 8 2013

Page 2

State: GEORGIA

for fulfilling reporting requirements and penalties described in Section 2.b and 2.g of this appendix will be imposed.

2. Cost Reporting

Reimbursement of expenses incurred by nursing facilities in the provision of care to Medicaid recipients is accomplished through the mechanism of the cost report. This document reports historical costs and details recipient occupancy data experienced during the fiscal year. The following cost reporting requirements apply to providers of nursing facility services and all home offices who allocate costs to nursing facilities:

- a. Each nursing facility must annually file a cost report with the Division of Medical Assistance which covers a twelve-month period ending June 30th. Cost reports must be e-mailed to the Division on or before September 30th. (See Hospital-based facility exception in 2(d) below.)
- b. If such cost reports are not filed by September 30th, the Division shall have the option of either terminating the provider agreement upon thirty days written notice or imposing a penalty of \$50.00 per day for the first thirty days and a penalty of \$100.00 per day for each day thereafter until an acceptable cost report is received by the Division. The only condition in which a penalty will not be imposed is if written approval for an extension is obtained from the Program Manager of Nursing Home Reimbursement Services prior to September 30.
- c. If a cost report is received by the Division prior to September 30th but is unacceptable, it will be returned to the facility for proper completion. No penalty will be imposed if the properly completed report is filed by the September 30th deadline. However, the above described penalties may be imposed after the September 30th deadline until an acceptable cost report is received by the Division.
- d. Hospital-based facilities using Medicare fiscal year ending dates between July and April must submit cost reports to the Division on or before September 30. Facilities using fiscal year ending dates between May and June must submit cost reports on or before November 30. The financial information to be included on the Medicaid cost report must be taken in total from the provider's most recent Medicare cost report that precedes June 30. The rules regarding unacceptability and timeliness described above in sections b. and c. also apply to hospital-based facilities' cost reports.

Approval for extensions beyond the September 30 or November 30 deadline, where applicable, will be granted only if the provider's operations are "significantly adversely affected" because of circumstances beyond the provider's control (i.e., a flood or fire that causes the provider to halt operations). Each provider must submit a written request specifying the hospital-based facility and the reason for the extension.

e. To be acceptable, a cost report must be complete and accurate, include all applicable schedules, and be correctly internally cross-referenced. Further, the amount per book

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003 Approval Date: JUL 18 2013

Page 3
State: GEORGIA

column for Schedules B and C must agree with the amounts recorded in the facility's general ledger; however, there may have to be certain groupings of the general ledger amounts to agree with the cost report line items. Estimated amounts used for a conversion to a June 30th year-end are not acceptable. Reported costs of interest paid to non-related parties must be reduced by non-related parties must be reduced by an amount equal to the lesser of: (1) interest paid to non-related parties; or (2) investment income other than the exceptions identified in CMS-15, Section 202.2. Reported costs of special services must be reduced, as indicated on Schedule B-1A, by an amount resulting from revenue received from sources other than the Division for these services.

Adjustments will be based on auditable records of charges to all patients as required by cost report instructions.

Rev 07/07, 10/07

- f. Any changes to the amount of or classification of reported costs and patient day information must be made within 30 days after the applicable September 30th, November 30th, or approved extended submission deadline. Amended cost reports submitted after these deadlines will not be accepted unless they have been requested by the Division. If the original cost report is used to set reimbursement rates, the provider has up to 30 days from the implementation of the original cost report to request changes to the amount of or classification of reported costs and patient day information in accordance with the appeal procedures outlined in Appendix I (Billing rate and Disallowance of Cost from the Cost Report). Adjustments to amounts or changes in classification of reported costs in prior years will not be considered.
- g. Late cost report penalties will be invoiced through the Accounting Section of the Division for the total amount of the assessed penalty. The provider must submit payment to the Division. Penalties not properly paid will be deducted from the monthly reimbursement check. The assessments will not be refunded.
- h. New facilities, which have less than twelve but not less than six months of actual operating cost experience, will only submit cost data for their actual months of operation as of June 30. New facilities that have less than six months of actual operating cost experience are not required to submit a cost report. Facilities in which there has been a change of ownership must submit a separate report for each owner. The subsequent owner will be reimbursed based on the previous owner's cost report (with an adjustment in the property cost center only) until a new cost report is received from the new owner and determined reliable and appropriate. The Division will determine whether each submitted cost report is appropriate and reliable as a basis for computing the Allowed Per Diem billing rate and may calculate a facility's Allowed Per Diem billing rate in accordance with Section 1002.3.

For ownership changes effective with at least six months of patient day data on the applicable June 30 fiscal year cost report, the initially submitted cost report will be used to establish the new owner's rate when the comparable cost reports are used to set rates. For the periods prior to the use of the new owner's cost report, the new owner will receive rates based on the previous owner's approved cost report data,

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003 Approval Date: JUL 18 2013

Page 4

State: GEORGIA

with the appropriate Fair Rental Value property reimbursement rate. If the new owner's initial cost report contains less than six months of patient day data, when the initial cost report period reports are used to set rates, the new owner will receive a rate based on the previous owner's last approved cost report inflated to current costs, as determined by the Division, or the costs from the new owner's initial cost report, whichever is lower. If the ownership change is between related parties, when the initial cost report period reports are used to set rates, the old owner's cost report and new owner's cost report for the year of the ownership change may be combined and considered in determining the minimum rate for the new owner.

- i. Reported costs must conform to Divisional instructions, or in the absence of specific instructions, to the allowable costs discussed in the <u>CMS-15-1</u>. Reported costs are subject to audit verification by the Division, State or Federal auditors or their agents. Providers using computerized information systems for accounting or other purposes must make this information available in a suitable electronic format if requested by the Division or its agents. Where such audit verifications determine that the cost report was prepared based upon inadequate accounting records, the facility will be required to correct its records and submit a corrected cost report. A penalty will be imposed on the facility for the costs incurred by the Division for any additional audit work performed with the corrected cost report.
- j. For audit examinations described in (i) above, it is expected that a facility's accounting records will be available within the State. Should such records be maintained at a location outside the State, the facility will be required to pay for travel costs incurred for any examination conducted at the out-of-state location.
- k. Should a cost report submitted to the Nursing Home Unit for review need explanation or clarification, appropriate work papers or letters of explanation should be attached.

Rev. 07/06

1. All cost reports are to be emailed to nhcostreport@dch.ga.gov. Correspondence concerning the cost reports may be mailed to the following address:

Program Manager Nursing Home Services Unit 39th Floor Division of Financial Management 2 Peachtree Street, N.W. Atlanta, GA 30303-3159

3. Reimbursement Principles

The objective of a system of reimbursement based on reasonable costs is to reimburse the institution for its necessary and proper expenses incurred related to patient care. As a matter of general reimbursement principle, costs with respect to individuals covered by the Medicaid Program will not be borne by those not covered and costs with respect to individuals not

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003

Approval Date: ______ 1 8 2013

Page 5

State: GEORGIA

covered by the Medicaid Program will not be borne by the Program. The principles of cost reimbursement require that institutions maintain sufficient financial records and statistical data for proper determination of costs payable under the Program. Such records and data must be maintained for a period of at least three years following the date of submission of the cost report

4. Case Mix Index Reports

- a. MDS Data for Quarterly Patient Listing Using Minimum Data Set (MDS) information submitted by a facility, the Division will prepare a Case Mix Index Report, listing information for patients in a facility on the last day of a calendar quarter. A preliminary version of the report will be distributed to a nursing facility about the middle of the following quarter after each calendar quarter end. The preliminary version of the report will be distributed with instructions regarding corrections to patient payer source information that a nursing facility may submit for consideration before the final version of the report is prepared and distributed.
- b. RUG Classification For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, the most recent MDS assessment will be used to determine a Resource Utilization Group (RUG) classification. Version 5.12, with 34 grouper and index maximizer, the RUG classification system will be used to determine a patient's RUG category.
- c. Payer Source For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a payer source will be identified. As described in section D.4.a, a facility will have the opportunity to submit updated payer source information for changes that may occur by the last day of the calendar quarter.
- d. Relative Weights and Case Mix Index Scores for All Patients For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a relative weight will be assigned by the Division. Exhibit D-1 identifies the relative weights for each RUG category. This data will be used to determine a case mix score for all patients in a facility.
- e. Relative Weights and Case Mix Index Scores for Medicaid Patients For each Medicaid patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, a Medicaid relative weight will be assigned by the Division. Exhibit D-1 identifies the relative weights for each RUG category. This data will be used to determine a case mix score for Medicaid patients in a facility.
- f. CPS Scores For each patient included in the quarterly Case Mix Index Report, the most recent MDS assessment will be used to determine a Cognitive Performance Scale (CPS) score.
- g. Corrections to MDS and Payer Source Information Corrections to MDS and payer source information used in payment rate calculations applicable to prior dates of service that result from appeals or audit adjustments may be processed as adjustments to rate calculations in a subsequent period. If the impact of the correction is significant, the Division may elect to process the correction by a retrospective adjustment to prior payments.

5. Nursing Hours and Patient Day Report

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003 Approval Date: JUL 18 2013

State: GEORGIA

). 09/11

Except for ICF-MR's, each nursing facility must submit a Nursing Hours and Patient Day Report for each calendar quarter, within one month after the end of the quarter. The required information will be submitted in accordance with a format and instructions as distributed by the Division. A facility's request to correct or amend a nursing home provider fee report will be limited to a 30 day period following the report's due date. Corrections to nursing hours and patient day data used in payment rate calculations applicable to prior dates of service that result from appeals or audit adjustments may be processed as adjustments to rate calculations in a subsequent period. If the impact of the correction is significant, the Division may elect to process the correction by a retrospective adjustment to prior payments.

If a facility does not submit a report or does not submit a report when due, a late fee of \$10 per day may be assessed.

Rev 07/01/2010 Rev 01/01/2011

6. Fair Rental Value System

A request for a Fair Rental Value rate increase that is the result of a Renovation Construction Project, bed addition or replacement subsequent to July 1, 2009, must be submitted to the Department after completion of the project. The Department shall have sixty (60) days to approve or deny any such request. Any corresponding Fair Rental Value rate increase shall take effect at the beginning of the quarter following the quarter in which the request for a Fair Rental Value rate increase is approved by the Department. The request must be completed on the Initial Start Up & Fair Rental Value System Reimbursement Update Request Form (FRVS). The request must be submitted to:

Program Manager, Division of Financial Management Department of Community Health Nursing Home Reimbursement Services 2 Peachtree Street, N.W. 39th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303

An electronic version of the *Initial Start Up & Fair Rental Value System Reimbursement Update Request Form* should also be emailed to FRVS@dch.ga.gov.

TN No.: <u>13-009</u> Supersedes TN No.: <u>12-003</u>

EXHIBIT D-1

	Category	Classification	Code	Case Mix Index for All Patients	Case Mix Index for Medicaid Patients
1	Extensive	Extensive Special Care 3 / ADL > 6	SE3	2.839	2.896
2	Extensive	Extensive Special Care 2 / ADL > 6	SE2	2.316	2.362
3	Rehabilitation	Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 17-18	RAD	2.284	2.330
4	Extensive	Extensive Special Care 1 / ADL > 6	SE1	1.943	1.982
5	Rehabilitation	Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 14-16	RAC	1.936	1.975
6	Special Care	Special Care / ADL 17-18	SSC	1.877	1.915
7	Rehabilitation	Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 9-13	RAB	1.772	1.807
8	Special Care	Special Care / ADL 15-16	SSB	1.736	1.771
9	Special Care	Special Care / ADL 4-14	SSA	1.709	1.743
10	Rehabilitation	Rehabilitation All Levels / ADL 4-8	RAA	1.472	1.501
11	Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex with Depression / ADL 17-18	CC2	1.425	1.454
12	2 Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex / ADL 17-18	CC1	1.311	1.337
1:	3 Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex with Depression / ADL 12-16	CB2	1.247	1.272
1	4 Physical	Physical Function with Nursing Rehab ADL 16-18	PE2	1.188	1.212
1	5 Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex / ADL 12-16	СВ	1 1.154	1.177
	6 Physical	Physical Function with Nursing Rehab ADL 11-15	/ PD:	2 1.095	1.117

TN No.: <u>13-009</u>

Supersedes TN No.: 12-003 Approval Date: JUL 18 2013

State: GEORGIA

	Category	Classification	Code	Case Mix Index for All Patients	Case Mix Index for Medicaid Patients
17		Cognitive Impairment with Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-10	IB2	1.061	1.082
18	Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex with Depression / ADL 4-11	CA2	1.043	1.064
19	Physical	Reduced Physical Function / ADL 16-	PE1	1.077	1.077
20	Behavioral Problems	Behavior Problem with Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-10	BB2	1.021	1.041
21	Physical	Reduced Physical Function / ADL 11-	PD1	0.990	0.990
22	Impaired Cognition	Cognitive Impairment / ADL 6-10	IB1	0.938	0.957
23	Physical	Physical Function with Nursing Rehab / ADL 9-10	PC2	0.937	0.956
24	Clinically Complex	Clinically Complex / ADL 4-11	CA1	0.934	0.953
25	Behavioral Problems	Behavior Problem / ADL 6-10	BB1	0.866	0.883
20	6 Physical	Physical Function with Nursing Rehab / ADL 6-8	PB2	0.824	0.841
2	7 Physical	Reduced Physical Function / ADL 9-10	PC1	0.865	0.865
2	8 Impaired Cognition	Cognitive Impairment with Nursing Rehab / ADL 4-5	IA2	0.777	0.777
2	9 Behavioral Problems	Behavior Problem with Nursing Rehab	BA	2 0.750	0.750
3	0 Physical	Reduced Physical Function / ADL 6-8	PB	0.749	0.749

TN No.: <u>13-009</u>

Supersedes

TN No.: 12-003

Approval Date: JUL 18 2013

	Category	Classification	Code	Case Mix Index for All Patients	Case Mix Index for Medicaid Patients
31	Impaired Cognition	Cognitive Impairment / ADL 4-5	IA1	0.703	0.703
32	Physical	Physical Function with Nursing Rehab / ADL 4-5	PA2	0.637	0.637
33	Behavioral Problems	Behavior Problem / ADL 4-5	BA1	0.612	0.612
34	Physical	Reduced Physical Function / ADL 4-5	PA1	0.575	0.575

TN No.: 13-009 Supersedes TN No.: 12-003

Approval Date: JUL 18 2013