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STATE PLAN UNDER XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of Indiana
METHODS OF PROVIDING TRANSPORTATION

Transportation to and from an Indiana Medicaid covered service is provided as an optional service
under this State Plan by the following methods:

When transportation is unavailable from a non-Medicaid reimbursed source, such as a recipient
owned vehicle, a volunteer organization, or willing family or friends, Indiana Medicaid reimburses
Medicaid-enrolled vendors for the least expensive type of emergency and non-emergency
transportation available that meets the medical needs of the recipient, up to a maximum of twenty
one-way trips (of less than 50 miles) per recipient per rolling twelve month time period. Additional
trips and trips of 50 miles or more one way are subject to prior authorization. Emergency ambulance
services and transportation to and from a hospital for inpatient admission or discharge are exempt
from the numeric cap and do not require prior authorization. Available modes of transportation
reimbursable by Indiana Medicaid include:

taxicab, train or bus services

airline/air ambulance services

transportation services rendered by a provider located out-of-state in a non-designated area
transportation services rendered by any provider to or from an out-of-state non-designated
area

basic and advanced life support emergency ambulance services

specialized neonatal ambulance services

intrastate wheelchair/nonambulatory services

intrastate commercial ambulatory services

e o o

Transportation to and from an Indiana Medicaid covered service is also provided as an administrative
service under this State Plan by the following methods:

e family member services via mileage reimbursement
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23. Pediatric or Family Nurse
Practitioners' services

24, Any other medical or
remedial care recognized
by state law

24.a. Transportation services

24.b.  Services provided in
Religious Nonmedical
Health Care Institutions

24.c
24.d.  Skilled Nursing Facility

Services for Patients under
21 Years of Age
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Provided with limitations.

Reimbursement is available for medically necessary and preventive health care services
provided by a licensed, certified nurse practitioner within the scope of the applicable
license and certification.

Provided as described in 24a - 24d.

Reimbursement is available for emergency and nonemergency transportation to or from
a Medicaid covered service. Providers located within Indiana or in a designated out-of-
state area may be reimbursed for up to twenty (20) one-way trips of less than fifty (50)
miles each, per recipient, per twelve (12) month period, without prior authorization.
Designated out-of-state areas are the following:

(A) Louisville, Kentucky (F) Sturgis, Michigan
(B) Cincinnati, Ohio (G) Watseka, Illinois
(C) Harrison, Ohio (H) Danville, [ilinois
(D) Hamilton, Ohio (I) Owensboro, Kentucky

(E) Oxford, Ohio

Prior authorization is required for the following:

(1) More than 20 one-way trips, per recipient, per rolling 12 month period.

(2) Trips of 50 miles or more one way

(3) Train or bus transportation services

(4) Transportation services rendered by a provider located in a non-designated out-of-
state area.

(5) Airline, air ambulance, and interstate transportation

(6) Family member transportation

Except for trips over 50 miles, the following services are exempt from the numeric trip
cap and prior authorization requirements:

(1) Emergency ambulance services

(2) Transportation to or from a hospital for an inpatient admission or discharge,
including transfers between hospitals

(3) Transportation for patients on renal dialysis or residing in a nursing home

(4) Accompanying parent or recipient attendant or both

(5) Return trip from emergency room in an ambulance, when medically necessary

Provided within the limitations of 42 CFR 440.170(b).

Reserved

Reimbursement is available for skilled nursing services provided by a licensed
and certified nursing facility when rendered to a Medicaid recipient whose level
of care has been approved by the Medicaid agency.

Supersedes Approval Date JUL 29 20m Effective Date _January 1, 2011
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Transportation
Payment will be based upon the lower of the provider’s submitted charge or the fee schedule rate established by the
State for the service billed. Base rate is defined as the allowed payment amount for a one-way trip, not including
mileage. Mileage payments are made for loaded miles, defined as the number of miles the Medicaid member is
transported in the vehicle. Reimbursement for covered transportation services will be as follows:
Non-emergency Ground Transportation:

Taxi Services: Lower of metered or zoned rate or fee schedule rate.

Commercial Ambulatory Services (non-taxis): Base rate + per mile rate for loaded mileage in excess of 10 miles.

Non-Ambulatory Services: Base rate + per mile rate for loaded mileage in excess of 10 miles.

Ambulance Transportation:

Ambulance Services: Loading fee + per mile rate for each loaded mile of the trip.

The fee schedule rates for transportation services shall be the rates listed below. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for governmental and private providers of transportation services. For
services provided on or after January 1, 2011, the listed rates for ambulance services are subject to a 5% reduction and
the listed rates for non-ambulance services are subject to a 10% reduction. These rate reductions will remain in effect
through June 30, 2013. These rates are published at the State’s website, www.indianamedicaid.com.

Rates for Ambulance Services Rates for Non-Ambulance Services
Procedure Code Rate Procedure Code Rate
A0140 Ticket Price A0100 UA $6.00
A0225 $160.84 A0100 UB $10.00
A0420 U] $20.00 A0100 UC $15.00
A0420 U2 $20.00 A0100 U4 $15.00
A0422 $15.00 A0100 TK UA $3.00
A0424 $5.00 A0100 TK UB $5.00
A0425 Ul $4.41 A0100 TK UC $7.50
A0425 U2 $3.31 A0100 TT UA $3.00
A0426 $95.84 A0100 TT UB $5.00
A0427 $160.84 A0100 TT UC $7.50
A0428 $95.84 A0110 Ticket Price
A0429 $110.84 A0130 $20.00
A0430 $2,788.24 AO0130 TK $10.00
A0431 $3,172.27 AO130TT $10.00
A0431 QL $3,172.27 A0130U6 $5.00
A0433 $160.84 A0425 U3 $1.25
A0435 $8.07 A0425 U5 $1.25
A0436 $21.53 T2001 $5.00
A0999 Manual Pricing T2003 $10.00
T2004 $5.00
T2007 U3 $4.25
T2007 US $4.25
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A supplemental payment will be made to a provider for ambulance transportation services. The
supplemental payments will be made on a quarterly basis, in an amount which, when combined with other
payments under the plan, does not exceed the providers’ usual charges. For purposes of this payment, usual
charges, for the State Fiscal Year beginning July 1, 2003, will be defined as follows:

a. The average of the following amounts: amounts billed to cash paying patients; the amounts billed to
patients covered by indemnity insurers with which the provider has no contractual arrangement; and
fee-for-service rates it contractually agrees to accept from any payor, including any discounted fee-
for-service rates negotiated with managed care plans.

b. Amounts not included in the average are charges for services provided to uninsured patients free of
charge or at a substantially reduced rate, capitated payments, rates offered under hybrid fee-for-
service arrangements whereby more than 10% of the individual’s or entity’s maximum potential
compensation could be paid in the form of a bonus and/or withhold payment; and fees set by
Medicare, State health care programs, and other Federal health care programs.

Usual charges will be determined by a study of ambulance providers’ charges conducted by OMPP. For
each SFY thereafter, each provider’s usual charges will be based on the previous year’s usual charges
increased by the Medicare Ambulance Inflation Factor.
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