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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12 ‘ M S

Baltimore’ Maryland 21244-1850 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
October 28, 2019

Adam Proffitt, State Medicaid Director

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Division of Health Care Finance

Landon State Office Building

900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N

Topeka, KS 66612-1220

RE: Kansas SPA 19-0011
Dear Mr. Proffitt:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 19-0011. Effective July 1, 2019, this amendment updates
and clarifies cost reporting instructions for Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State
plan amendment 19-0011 is approved effective July 1, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and
the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429.

Sincerely,

“—"Kristin Fan
Director

e
Heather Juhring
Tim Weidler



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

s FORM APPROVED
OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
K8 19-0011

2. STATE
Kansas

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
July 1, 2019

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)

[] NEW STATE PLAN

[[] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION
42 CFR §441 Subpart B (and §441.150 - §441.184)

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT
a. FFY 2019 $0
b. FFY 2020 $0

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

Attachment 4.19A Page 39 and Page 42
Attachment 1 to Attachment 4.19A Page 1 and Page 2

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Altachment 4.19A Page 39 and Page 42

Attachment 1 to Attachment 4.19A Page 1 and Page 2

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTFs) allowable costs are determined in accordance with the Principles of Reimbursement as outlined in the
Provider Reimbursement Manual CMS Publication 15-1 and OMB Super Circular 2 CFR §200 Uniform Guidance for Administrative Requirements, Cost

Principles, and Audit Requirements.

11, GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)
[ GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
Adam Proffitt is the
Governor's Designee

12, SIGNAZURE OF STATE AGENCY QFFICIAL

13. TYPED NAME

16. RETURN TO
Adam Proffitt, State Medicaid Director
KDHE, Division of Health Care Finance
Landon State Office Building

Adam Proffitt 900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N
14. TITLE Topeka, KS 66612-1220

State Medicaid Director
15. DATE SUBMITTED

August 21, 2019

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY
17. DATE RECEIVED 18. DATE APPROVED ocT 2 8 209
PLAN APPROVED —~ ONE COPY ATTACHED
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROJ’GE quia%\fg 20, SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL
21. TYPED NAME . 22[TITLE B
Krishn Faun Direckon, FMG

23. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (07/92

Instructions on Back



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-A
Page 39

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

Narrative Explanation of Reimbursement Formula

Mid-Period Reports

To accommodate a mid-period treatment cost adjustment, a report of costs incurred
during the six-month period starting immediately after the end of the cost report period described
above. The mid-period report will be for costs incurred July 1% through December 315, Mid-
period cost repotts are to be submitted by March 31% using the same form and format as the
annual cost report.

Allowable Costs

Allowable costs are determined in accordance with the Principles of Reimbursement as
outlined in the Provider Reimbursement Manual CMS Publication 15-1 and OMB Super Circular
2 CFR §200 Uniform Guidance for Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit
Requirements.

All cost reports, including mid-period reports, are desk reviewed by the Department or its
designee auditors. Adjustments are made, when necessary, to the reported costs in arriving at the
allowable historic costs for the rate computations.

Change of Owner/Provider

When a non-arms length change of provider takes place or when an owner of real estate
assumes the operations from the leasee, the PRTF will be treated as an on-going operation. In
this situation, the related provider or owner shall be required to file the appropriate year end cost
report or mid-period report in conformance with the schedule described above. The new operator
or owner is responsible for obtaining historical cost information from the prior operator for the
months needed to submit accurate and complete reports that includes costs incurred when the
new operator was not involved in running the PRTF. The cost report information from the old
and new operators shall be combined to prepare a 12-month cost report or a 6-month mid-period
report in conformance to the schedule described above.

When an arms-fength change in provider takes place, the new owner assumes the
reimbursement rate of the old owner until the new owner can submit a full year or mid-period
cost report in conformance with the schedule described above.

New Provider

The per diem rate for a new Class | PRTF will be based on a projected cost report
reviewed by the Department for reasonableness. The Department will determine reasonableness
by comparing projected costs with other similar PRTFs. In making these comparisons, the

KS 19-0011 _Approval Datdll1 %8 i0i¥fective Date: 07/01/19  Supersedes TN# 10-06



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19-A
Page 42

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

Narrative Explanation of Reimbursement Formula
Narrative Explanation of Reimbursement Formula for Class I1

1) Historical Cost

Cost Reports

Providers are required to submit information on all costs incurred during the fiscal period
from July 1% through June 30" on a uniform cost report, the PRTF Financial and Statistical
Report. It organizes the commonly incurred business expenses of PRTFs into five reimbursable
cost centers (Administration; Facility Operating; Property; Room, Board, and Support; and
Treatment) and one non-reimbursable/non-resident related cost center. Reporting of non-
reimbursable/non-resident related costs allows lolal operating expenses Lo be reconciled to the
PRTFs’ accounting records. Cost reports are to be submitted by September 30",

The cost report and cost report instructions are provided in Attachment 1.

Mid-Period Reports

To accommodate a mid-period treatment cost adjustment, a report of costs incurred during the
six-month period starting immediately after the end of the cost report period described above will
be required. The mid-period report will be for costs incurred July 1* through December 31,
Mid-period cost reports are to be submitted by March 31%, using the same form and format as the
annual cost report. ‘

Allowable Costs

Allowable costs are determined in accordance with the Principles of Reimbursement as
outlined in the Provider Reimbursement Manual CMS Publication 15-1 and OMB Super Circular
2 CFR §200 Uniform Guidance for Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit
Requirements,

All cost reports, including mid-period reports, are desk reviewed by the Department or its
designee auditors. Adjustments are made, when necessary, to the reported costs in arriving at the
allowable historic costs for the rate computations.

Change of Owner/Provider

When a non-arms length change of provider takes place or when an owner of real estate
assumes the operations from the leasee, the PRTF will be treated as an on-going operation. In
this situation, the related provider or owner shall be required to file the appropriate year end cost

KS 19-0011 Approval Date:0CY 88 2019 Effective Date: 07/01/19 Supersedes TN# 10-06




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 1 to Attachment 4.19-A
Page 1
Attachment 1 to Instructions Regarding
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

State of Kansas
Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING
THE PSYCHIATRIC RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT FACILITY
FINANCIAL AND STATISTICAL REPORT
(Cost Report - FORM KDADS-PRTF-01)

PURPOSE
The purpose of this report is to obtain the resident-related costs incurred by psychiatric residential treatment
facilities (PRTF) in providing services according to applicable state and federal laws, and quality and safety

standards.

‘ SUBMITTAL INSTRUCTIONS
Blank KDADS-PRTF-01(Financial and Statistical Report) and KDADS-PRTF-09 (Census} forms can be
requested from the facilities reimbursement manager at costreports@ks.gov.

Send the completed form KDADS-PRTF-01 and form KDADS-PRTF-09 (applicable to the reporting period)
for each month of the reporting period, along with a signed copy of the declaration page of the KDADS-
PRTF-01 to costreports@ks.gov. If sent on CD-Rom or flash drive, send to the following address:

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services
Attn: Facilities Reimbursement Manager
503 Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603

All inquiries on completion of these forms should be directed to the KDADS Audit Manager _at (785) 296-
6457.

GENERAL
The cost report is organized by the following sections. Not all expense lines are within each section. A
separate cost report must be completed for each PRTF.

General Information

Schedule A, Facility Administrative Cost Center

Schedule A, Treatment Facility Operating Cost Center

Schedule A, Facility Property Cost Center

Schedule A, Room, Board, and Support Cost Center

Schedule A, Treatment Cost Center

Schedule A, Non-Reimbursable/Non-Resident Related Expense [tems

Schedule B, Expense Reconciliation

Schedule C, Statement of Owners and Related Parties

Schedule D, Statement Related to Interest on All Bonds, Loans, Notes and Mortgages Payable
Schedule E, Revenue Statement

Schedule F, Fixed Asset, Depreciation & Amortization Questionnaire

Declaration of Preparer and Declaration of Owner, Pariner, or Office of Corporation

1. Complete the forms accurately and legibly. Any report that is incomplete or is not legible shall be

promptly returned to the provider. Failure to submit a complete cost report shall result in penalties
as described in #8. .

KS 19-0011 Approval Date: 00 %8 2083 Effective Date: 07/01/19 Supersedes TN-MS#16-013




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 1 to Attachment 4.19-A
Page 2
Attachment 1 to Instructions Regarding
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

2. All amounts must be rounded to the nearest dollar, prior to cost report entry.

3. DO NOT add lines to the forms. Use "OTHER" lines for resident-related expenses not designated
on the Expense Statement, Schedule A. Attach a schedule if necessary.

4, DO NOT cross out or re-title lines on the forms. DO NOT include more than one amount per line.
If more than one amount or journal entry is combined, submit an attachment with explanation. The
attachment should be sorted by cost report expense lines and should include subtotals.

5. Use the accrual method of accounting in reporting financial data. Revenues are reported in the
period when earned, and not when received, and expenses are reported when incurred.

6. Estimates of revenues and expenses are not acceptable. Uniform Guidance in OMB Super Circular
2 CFR 200 and CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual Publication 15-1 govern allowable costs.

7. A twelve month Cost Report for all costs incurred during the state's fiscal year, July 1%t through
June 30t must be submitted by September 30*. A mid-period cost report for costs incurred July
15t through December 315t must be submitted by March 318

8. The provider may reguest a one-month extension of the due date by submitting the request, in
writing to the address in the submittal instructions, within the fime period allowed for filing the
original cost report.

A one-month extension of the due date for the filing of a cost report may be granted by the agency
when the cause for delay is beyond the control of the provider. Delays beyond the control of the
provider that may be considered by the agency in granting an extension shall include:

a. disasters that significantly impair the routine operations of the facility or business .

b. destruction of records as a result of a fire, flood, tornado, or another accident that is not
reasonable foreseeable

c. computer viruses that impair the accurate completion of cost report information

The provider shall make the request in writing and it shall be received by the agency on or before
the due date of the cost report. Requests received after the due date shall not be accepted.

The extension will be granted if the agency determines that the provider has shown good cause.

NOTE: IFACOST REPORT IS RECEIVED AFTER THE DUE DATE WITHOUT AN APPROVED
TIME EXTENSION, THE PROVIDER IS SUBJECT TO THE PENALTIES.

Each provider filing a cost report after the due date shall(may) be subject fo the following penalties:

a. Al further payments to the provider shall be suspended until the complete cost report has
been received. A complete cost report shall include alt the reguired documents listed in
the cost report.

b. Failure to submit the cost report within one year after the end of the cost report period shall
be cause for termination from the Kansas medical assistance program

9. Each PRTF must maintain adequate accounting and/or statistical records. Inadequate record

keeping is cause for suspension of payments. If PRTF program expenses have been co-mingled
with the

KS 19:0011 Approval Date:WET 88 2019 Efrective Date: 07/01/19 Supersedes TN-MS#16-013






