DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES CM 5
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop $2-26-12

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 CENTERS for MEDICARE & MEDICAD SERVICES

Center for Medicaid, CHIP, and Survey & Certification

Mr. Don Gregory, Director

Bureau of Health Services Financing

Department of Health and Hospitals FEB -2 20
Post Office Box 91030

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030

Attention; Sandra Victor
RE: Louisiana 10-76
Dear Mr., Gregory:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 10-76. The purpose of this amendment is to establish a
transitional reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities transitioning from a state owned or
operated nursing facility to a private nursing facility in compliance with Act 933 Of the 2010
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a}(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a}(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. As part of the review process the
State was asked to provide information regarding access to care issues and the funding of the
State share of expenditures under Attachment 4.19-D. Based upon your assurances, Medicaid
State plan amendment 10-76 is approved effective April 1, 2011, We are enclosing the HCFA-
179 and the new plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Sandra Dasheiff, CPA at (214) 767-6490.

indy Mann
Director, CMCS

Enclosures
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 9.h.2.e.
STATE OF LOUISIANA

10. Transition of a State-Owned or Operated Nursing Facility to a Private Nursing Facility
through a Change of Ownership

A state owned or operated nursing facility that changes ownership (CHOW) in order to transition
to a private nursing facility will be exempt from the case-mix direct care and care-related
spending floor for a period of 12 months following the effective date of the CHOW under the
following conditions. The state-owned or operated facility is located in the DHH administrative
region 1; and the change of ownership is the result of a leasing arrangement.

Cost Reports — The previous owner of the nursing facility must file a closing cost report
within 60 days of the CHOW for the time period that spans from the beginning of the
facility’s cost report period to the date of the CHOW. The closing and initiat cost reports
must be filed in accordance with cost report provisions in section I.A. , including the filing
of all Medicaid supplemental schedules.

b.  Capital Data Survey — A capital data survey must be filed with the Department within 60
days of the effective date of the CHOW. The initial cost report period following the
CHOW will be determined based on the elected fiscal year end of the new facility. The
capital data survey must include the nursing facility’s date of construction, current square
footage, and all renovations made since the facility’s opening.

¢.  Rate Determination - During the transition period (12 months following the effective date
of the change of ownership), the Medicaid reimbursement rate for the transitioned nursing
facility shall be reimbursed as follows:

i.  The per diem rate shall be the per diem rate on file as of March 19, 2010 for the state-
owned or operated facility.

ii.  The transitioned nursing facility will be transferred to the case-mix reimbursement
system at the end of the 12 month transition pericd.

iii. The Medicaid reimbursement rate and direct care/care-related floor shall be

calculated in accordance with the rate determination provisions of section 1.C.2

(1) The direct care/care-related floor will be effective on the date of transition to the
case mix reimbursement system.

{2) For purposes of this initial floor calculation, direct care and care-related
spending wil! be determined by apportioning cost report period costs based on
calendar days.
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vi.

Under the case mix reimbursement methodology, the facility will file cost reports in
accordance with the cost report provisions in section [.A., including all Medicaid
supplemental schedules. If the nursing facility’s cost report period overlaps the date
of transition to the case mix reimbursement methodology, the case mix direct care
and care-related floor will only be applied to the portion of the cost report period that
occurs after the date of transition to case mix.

Until the nursing facility has an audited or desk reviewed cost report that is available
for use in a case mix rebase in accordance with the rate determination provisions of
section 1.C.2.a., the case mix reimbursement rate components will be based on the
following criteria except as noted in section vi. below.

(I)  The facility’s acuity as determined from its specific case mix index report for
the quarter prior to the effective date of the rate.

(2) The direct care and care-related statewide median prices in effect for that
period. The statewide direct care and care related price shall be apportioned
between the per diem direct care component and the per diem care related
component using the nursing facility’s most recent non-disclaimed audited or
desk reviewed cost report. The facility-specific percentages will be determined
using the methodology described in 1.C.2.¢.i.(3).

(3) The administrative and operating statewide median prices in effect for that
period.

(4) The capital data for the fair rental value rate component will be calculated from
the facility-submitted capital data survey and the occupancy percentage from
the most recent non-disclaimed audited or desk reviewed cost report as of the
effective date of the rate. :

(5) The facility’s property insurance cost will be calculated from the most recent
non-disclaimed audited or desk reviewed cost report as of the rate effective date.

(6) The property tax cost will be collected in the form of an interim property tax
report specified by the Department. The interim property tax report must be
filed within 30 days after the beginning of the nursing facility’s cost reporting
period. Failure to provide the interim property tax report within the specified
time frame will result in a zero dollar reimbursement rate for the property tax
rate component. The facility must continue to file an interim property tax report
until the facility is able to produce a non-disclaimed audited or desk reviewed
cost report that contains property tax cost.

(7) Provider fee and budget adjustments in effect for all other case mix facilities
will be applicable.

A disclaimed cost report that would otherwise be used in a rebase will result in a rate
calculated in accordance with the New facilities and change of ownership provisions
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of section [.B. and the provisions contained in above sections iii. and iv. will no
longer be applicable.

vii. If additional data is needed, the Department may request that the facility submit
Medicaid supplemental cost report schedules for those cost report period year ends
for which the facility has not previously submitted Medicaid supplemental schedules.

d.  Subsequent CHOW - If there is a subsequent CHOW which results in the nursing facility
reverting to a state-owned or operated facility, then the reimbursement methodology for a
state-owned or operated nursing facility will be reinstated following the effective date of
the CHOW and all other provisions of this section will no longer be applicable.
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