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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

John F. Kennedy Federal Building

Boston, Massachusetts 02203

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Boston Regional Operations Group

October 11, 2019

Marylou Sudders, Secretary

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
One Ashburton Place, Room 1109

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Dear Secretary Sudders:

We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 19-
019, submitted to CMS on September 30, 2019. This SPA was submitted to revise your approved
Title XIX State plan to update the payment methodologies for personal care attendant services. This
SPA was approved on October 11, 2019, effective July 1, 2019.

Enclosed are copies of the following approved State plan pages:

e Attachment 4.19-B, pages 3.2 and 3.2a.

If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Julie McCarthy at (781) 961-1070 or
by e-mail at Julie.McCarthy@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

/s/

Francis T. McCullough, Director
Division of Medicaid Field Operations East (Boston)

Enclosure/s

cc: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth, Medicaid Director
Kaela Konefal, Federal Authority Policy Analyst/State Plan Coordinator



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE

1. 9 — 019 MA

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVIGES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)
[C1 NEW STATE PLAN

[] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

07/01/19

A AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION
42 CFR Part 447

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT
a. FFY 2018 $ 3,647,000

b. FFY 2020 $ 14,467,000

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

Attachment 4.19-B pages 3.2-3.2a

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Attachment 4.19-B pages 3.2-3.2a

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT
Personal Care Attendant (PCA) Rates

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

[] GOVERNOR’'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

k4 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED
Not required under 42 CFR 430.12(b)(2)(i)

12. SIGNATURE @®F STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL

/s/

13. TYPED NAME
Marylou Sudders

14. TITLE
Secretary

15. DATE SUBMITTED
9/30/2019

16. RETURN TO

Kaela Konefal

State Plan Coordinator

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
Office of Medicaid

One Ashburton Place, 11th Floor

Boston, MA 02108

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED (193111019

18. DATE APPROVED
10/11/2019

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

19, EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL _
07/01/2019

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL
/s/

21, TYPED NAME
Francis T. McCullough

22, TITLE Director, Division of Medicaid Field Operations
East (Boston) '

23. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (07/92)

Instructions on Back



OFFICIAL

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3.2
State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State: Massachusetts
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care

u. Personal Care Services:

I. General Description of Payment Methodology

The following section describes the methods and standards utilized by the Executive Office of
Health and Human Services (EOHHS) to establish rates of payment for personal care attendant
(PCA) services. These services are described under Supplements to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-
B. Fee schedules are established as follows:

II. Fee Schedules

The fee schedules for Personal Care Attendant Services are established by the Executive Office of
Health and Human Services. The regulation, administrative bulletins, and fee schedules are
published at http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf

and http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/101-cmr-309.pdf.
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-health-care-providers-ambulatory-
care.html.

Effective Julyl, 2019, the fee schedule used to pay for personal care services provided by
Personal Care Attendant providers is $4.36 per 15 minute unit or $17.45 per hour, inclusive of the
PCA wage, employer required taxes, and workers’ compensation insurance for PCA services
provided during the day or night. Personal care attendants who are authorized by MassHealth to
work emergency overtime or work on one of four holidays (New Year’s Day, July 4,
Thanksgiving Day or Christmas) receive premium pay in addition to regular pay, equal to $2.18
per 15 minute unit, or $8.725 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’
compensation insurance.

Effective July 1, 2014, EOHHS will provide a 3 hour paid Orientation for newly hired PCAs. The
fee schedule for the 3 hour Orientation is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date the
newly hired PCA receives orientation.

Effective January 1, 2016, through June 30, 2019, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned sick time
from the first date of work and can begin using earned sick time 90 days after the first date of
work at a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, including overtime hours, up to 40 hours per
benefit year. PCAs may use up to 40 hours of earned sick time per 12-month period as designated
by EOHHS. The fee schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect at the time the earned sick
time is used.

Effective July 1, 2019, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned paid time off from the first date of
work. PCAs accrue earned paid time off at a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, including
overtime hours, up to 50 hours per benefit year, and may carry over up to 50 hours to a new
benefit year. A benefit year runs from July 1 to June 30. Upon termination of PCA employment, a
PCA’s remaining accrued paid earned time will be paid to the PCA. The fee schedule is based on
the hourly PCA rate in effect at the time the earned paid time off is used, or, for purposes of
payout at termination of all PCA employment, on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date of the
PCA’s termination of all PCA employment.

TN: 019-019 Approval Date: 10/11/2019 Effective Date: 07/01/19
Supersedes: 018-014



OFFICIAL

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3.2a
State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State: Massachusetts
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care

Effective January 1, 2016, PCAs are eligible to receive overtime pay in accordance with the
requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Effective July 1, 2019, PCA overtime pay is equal
to $0.15 per 1 minute unit, or $8.725 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’
compensation insurance. Effective July 1, 2019, PCA travel time pay is equal to $0.29 per 1
minute unit, or $17.45 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ compensation
insurance.

The fee used for Transitional Living providers of personal care services is a provider specific rate
established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. Such regulations are entitled:
Rates for Certain Social, Rehabilitation and other Health Care Services. The regulation is
published at

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf.

Each Transitional Living provider’s rate is an all-inclusive per diem rate for the provision of
personal care services and is based on an annual program budget, and delineates costs for direct
care services and necessary administrative activities. Rate development for transitional living
services includes the collection and review of service data maintained by the transitional living
provider. Costs for room and board and other unallowable costs are excluded from the rate.

The table below contains the rates used for Transitional Living providers and the effective dates
of the rates.

Provider Per diem rate Effective date

Advocates, Inc., Douglas House $207.53 July 1, 2016
Advocates, Inc., McLaughlin House $288.29 July 1, 2016
Advocates, Inc., Warren House $247.60 July 1, 2016
CCHIP House $206.73 July 1, 2016

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules are the same for both
governmental and private providers.

TN: 019-019 Approval Date: 10/11/2019 Effective Date: 07/01/19
Supersedes: 018-014



