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Ms. Susan J. Tucker

Executive Director

Office of Health Services

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street, 1% Floor

Baltimore, Maryland 21201

RE: State Plan Amendment 13-14

Dear Ms. Tucker:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted
under transmittal number (TN) 13-14. This amendment modifies the methods and standards for making
Medical Assistance payments to nursing facilities (NFs). Specifically, this SPA increases interim and

maximum rates by an overall average of 1.725% by increasing the rates established for three of the cost
center components by 3.2% each.

We reviewed this amendment pursuant to sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a)
of the Social Security Act (the Act) and the regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are approving

Medicaid State plan amendment 13-14 effective July 1, 2013. We are enclosing the Form-179 and
the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Gary Knight at (304) 347-5723.

Sincegely,

Cindy Mann
Director

Enclosures
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4.19(d) Nursing facility payment rates are based on Maryland regulations COMAR 10.09.10 in
order to account for the cost of services required to attain or maintain the highest practicable
physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each resident eligible for Medicaid benefits.
Payment rates for nursing facilities are the sum of per diem reimbursement calculations in 4 cost
centers: administrative/routine, other patient care, capital, and nursing service; and payment for

therapy services. Payments in the aggregate may not exceed Medicare upper limits as specified at
42 CFR 447.272. :

In accordance with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987, nursing facility
payment rates, effective October 1, 1990, take into account the costs of nursing facilities'

compliance with the requirements of Sections 1919(b) (other than paragraph (3)(F)), 1919(c), and
1919(d) of the Social Security Act.

During State fiscal periods beginning on or after July 1, 2009, rates are not revised using
updated cost data. Rather, rates for each fiscal period are updated by applying a percentage
adjustment to each provider’s net payments in the Administrative/Routine, Other Patient Care, and
Capital cost centers. Effective July 1, 2013, these payments shall be increased by 3.2 percent.

Nursing facilities that are owned and operated by the State are not paid in accordance with
the provisions described below, but are reimbursed reasonable costs based upon Medicare
principles of reasonable cost as described at 42 CFR 413. Aggregate payments for these facilities
may not exceed Medicare upper payments limits as specified at 42 CFR 447.272.

Administrative/Routine Costs

The Administrative/Routine cost center includes the following expenses: administrative,
medical records, nurse aide registry fees, training, dietary, laundry, housekeeping, operation and
maintenance, and capitalized organization and start-up costs. There are 4 reimbursement groups in

this cost center; based on geographic location, as specified under COMAR 10.09.10.24A (which is
appended to this attachment).

Provider’s per diem costs are calculated at the actual occupancy of the nursing facility beds
or at the Statewide average occupancy of nursing facility beds plus 1.5 percent (0.8 percent
effective November 1, 2012 for rate periods for which the Statewide average occupancy is
determined from data for periods prior to July 1, 2012), whichever is higher, for the calculation of
ceilings, current interim costs and final costs.

Although an interim Administrative/Routine rate is calculated for each provider, based on
indexed cost report data, the final per diem reimbursement rate, after cost settlement, is the sum of:

1) The provider's allowable per diem costs for covered services according to the
principles of reasonable cost reimbursement established under 42 CFR Part 413,
subject to the ceiling calculated for the provider's reimbursement class, and

TN# 13-14 Approval Date ROV 07 01 Effective Date JUjl. § 1 2013
Supersedes TN # 12-10
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A facility's net capital value rental per diem component is calculated as follows. Ata
minimum of every 4 years, each facility's building(s), nonmovable equipment and land are appraised.
Using indices established by regulation, these appraisal amounts are indexed to the midpoint of the
State fiscal year for which rates are being set. (Building value and nonmovable equipment are
indexed by Quarterly Index for Construction, Baltimore, from Marshall Valuation Service - mean of
indices for reinforced concrete and masonry bearing walls. Land value is indexed by Maryland land
value statistics from the Bureau of Appraisal Review, Office of Real Estate, State Highway
Administration, Department of Transportation. (See COMAR 10.09.10.22 which is appended to this
attachment.) The per bed value is subject to a ceiling which is established in accordance with
COMAR 10.09.10.10G(4) (which is appended to this attachment.) The resulting allowable per bed
value is then increased by adding an equipment allowance, which is also indexed each year based on
indices set in regulation. (Quarterly Index for Hospital Equipment from Marshall Valuation Service.
See COMAR 10.09.10.22 which is appended to this attachment.) The facility's allowable debt, that
amount that does not exceed allowable capital value, is subtracted from the allowable capital value to
arrive at the facility's net capital value. Net capital value is multiplied by the appropriate rental rate
established at COMAR 10.09.10.10G(9) (which is appended to this attachment) to arrive at the
provider's total net capital value rental. The per diem payment is derived by dividing this amount by
the actual occupancy of the nursing facility beds plus 95 percent of licensed capacity of the non-
nursing facility beds, or the Statewide average occupancy of nursing facility beds plus 1.5 percent
(0.8 percent effective November 1, 2012 for rate periods for which the Statewide average
occupancy is determined from data for periods prior to July 1, 2012), plus 95 percent of licensed
capacity of the non-nursing facility beds, whichever is higher.

For leased facilities, the above procedure is modified as follows. A debt amount is calculated
based on the assumptions that the original portion mortgaged was equal to 85 percent of the
appraised value at the time the provider's original lease for the facility was executed, and that the
mortgage was taken for a 20-year period with amortization calculated with constant payments. A

mortgage interest rate is calculated using indices established at COMAR 10.09.10.10D (which is
appended to this attachment).

A facility's recurring capital cost per diem component is calculated as follows. The sum of all
recurring costs: taxes, insurance, allowable interest (interest on mortgage debt that does not exceed
the facility's allowable capital value), and central office capital costs, are divided by actual
occupancy of the nursing facility beds or the Statewide average occupancy of nursing facility beds
plus 1.5 percent (0.8 percent effective November 1, 2012 for rate periods for which the Statewide
average occupancy is determined from data for periods prior to July 1, 2012), whichever is higher.
For leased facilities, taxes and insurance costs are included whether paid by the lessor or the lessee.

The interim capital per diem payment is subject to final reconciliation at cost settlement.
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The allowance for movable equipment shall be:
(@) Established at $6,422 per licensed bed effective October 1, 2007,
(b)  Indexed forward as determined from §E of this regulation; and

(©) Added to the appraised value determined from §G(1), §G(2), §G(4),
and §G(5) of this regulation.

The allowance for movable equipment will exclude all items which:

€)] Are regularly replenished or stocked, consumed in their use or have
a one-time use, or are useful for a lifetime of less than 2 years; or

(b)  Have an historical or aggregate historical cost of less than $500.

The amount of the allowable mortgage debt as of the midpoint of the fiscal
year shall be subtracted from the allowable appraised value from §G(2) of
this regulation in order to establish the value of the net capital.

The debt information to be used in §G(7) of this regulation shall be supplied
to the Department or its designee by each facility in the form of a monthly
amortization schedule within 60 days of the establishment of the debt.

The value of net capital from §G(7) of this regulation shall be multiplied by
0.0857 (0.0757 for the period November 1, 2008 through June 30, 2014)
except that, effective July 1, 2012, the value of the net capital for facilities
located in Baltimore City shall be multiplied by 0.0942, in order to generate
the net capital value rental.
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