Table of Contents

State Name: Maryland

State Plan Amendment (SPA)#: 16-0006

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)

3) One (1) SPA Page

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

OCT 17 2016

Ms. Shannon McMahon, Deputy Secretary Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 201 W. Preston Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201

RE: State Plan Amendment 16-0006

Dear Ms. McMahon:

We have completed our review of State Plan Amendment (SPA) 16-0006. This SPA modifies Attachment 4.19-D of Maryland's Title XIX State Plan. Specifically, the SPA increases nursing facility rates for SFY 2017, by adjusting reduction factors applied to certain cost centers.

We conducted our review of this SPA according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(3), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act (the Act) and the regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are approving state plan amendment 16-0006 effective July 1, 2016. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, or require additional information, please call Gary Knight at (304) 347-5723.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan Director

Enclosures

17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: OCT 1.7 2016					
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED						
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL;					
21. TYPED NAME: Krustin FAN	22. THTLE: Director FMC					
23. REMARKS:	The control of the co					
	And the second s					

A provider that renders care to Maryland Medicaid recipients of less than 1,000 days of care during the provider's fiscal year may opt out of cost reporting requirements. To opt out, the provider must agree to accept as payment the average Medicaid payment for each day of care based on their geographic location as specified under COMAR 10.09.10.24A (which is appended to this attachment). Any provider choosing this option is exempt from the subsequent nursing cost center wage survey.

Nursing facilities that are owned and operated by the State are not paid in accordance with these provisions. These facilities are reimbursed reasonable costs based upon Medicare principles of reasonable cost as described at 42 CFR 413. Aggregate payments for these facilities may not exceed Medicare upper payment limits as specified at 42 CFR 447.272.

Unless otherwise defined, indexing noted under the Prospective Reimbursement Methodology refer to the latest Skilled Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket Index, published 2 months before the period for which rates are being calculated.

Provider rates shall be reduced by the following percentages from the methodology herein: July 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015 by 1.96 percent; January 1, 2016 through June 30, 2016 by 3.28 percent; July 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016 by 6.076 percent; January 1, 2017 through July 1, 2017 by 8.212 percent. Rate adjustments based on nursing service costs and phase-in apply during these periods.

Prospective Reimbursement Methodology

The State initially establishes prices for each cost center for the rate period January 1, 2015, through June 30, 2015, and rebases prices between every two and four rate years. Prices may be rebased more frequently if the State determines that there is an error in the data or in the calculation that results in a substantial difference in payment, or if a significant change in provider behavior or costs has resulted in payment that is inequitable across providers. In years in which prices are not rebased, prices are subject to annual indexing.

Prospective Administrative/Routine Costs

The Administrative/Routine cost center includes the following expenses: administrative, medical records, training, dietary, laundry, housekeeping, operation and maintenance, and capitalized organization and start-up costs. There are 4 reimbursement groups in this cost center based on geographic location, as specified under COMAR 10.09.10.24A (which is appended to this attachment).

The State establishes a price for each reimbursement group. The price is the median cost per diem of all facilities in the group multiplied by 1.025. The price is based on the most recent Nursing Home Uniform Cost Report submitted by each nursing facility, indexed by the market basket, divided by the greater of total resident days or days at full occupancy times an occupancy standard calculated as the statewide average occupancy, not including providers with occupancy waivers, plus 1.5 percent.

Providers that maintain kosher kitchens and have administrative and routine costs in excess of the price that are attributable to dietary expense, shall receive an add-on to its per diem payments in an amount up to 15 percent of the median per diem cost for dietary expense in its reimbursement group.

TN# <u>16-0006</u>		Approval Date OCT 17 2016	Effective Date	JUL 0 1 2016
Supersedes TN#	15-0015			