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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
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November 9, 2018

Dennis Schrader, Secretary
Maryland Department of Health
201 West Preston Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Dear Mr. Schrader:

Enclosed is a copy of the approved State Plan Amendment (SPA), Transmittal Number 18-0011.
The purpose of this SPA is to increase HCBS 1915(i) rates by three and a half percent as set by
legislature.

The effective date for this amendment is July 1, 2018. The CMS 179 form and the Approved
State Plan pages are attached.

If you have questions about this SPA, please contact Ms. Talbatha Myatt of my staff at 215-861-
4259.

Sincerely,
Is/

for  Francis McCullough
Associate Regional Administrator
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

1. Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each optional service,
describe the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate. (Check each that applies, and
describe methods and standards to set rates):

O HCBS Case Management

O HCBS Homemaker

O HCBS Home Health Aide

O HCBS Personal Care

(| HCBS Adult Day Health

O HCBS Habilitation

M | HCBS Respite Care
COMMUNITY-BASED RESPITE CARE

Community-based respite services are provided for a minimum of one hour and a
maximum of six hours per day, and may not be billed on the same day as out of home
respite. These are paid using a service unit of one hour.

Annual % Fringe
Amountor | FT Benefits Salary +
Rate E | Salary Cost 30%) Fringe Cost

Respite $ $ $ $

Supervisor 50,000.00 0.10 | 5,000.00 1,500.00 6,500.00
$ $ $

Admin. Support | 35,000.00 0.05 | 1,750.00 $ 525.00 | 2,275.00
$ $ $

Total 0.15 | 6,750.00 2,025.00 8,775.00

Other Costs (based on FTE)

Rent (144 Square Feet @ $15 per square foot per FTE) $ 324.00
Cellular Phone, Internet & Communications (@$110/month per

FTE) $ 198.00
Mileage (10,000 miles per year @ $0.555/mile) $ 5,550.00
Insurance (general liability, professional liability) @$1,000 per

FTE $ 150.00
Indirect Cost (7% of salaries) $ 472.50

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018

Supersedes TN #: 14-05
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$
15,469.50

Hourly Rate--Not Including Respite Care Worker (Based on 1386 hours) | $ 11.16

Hourly Rate for Administration + Respite Care Worker + $1 Youth
Activity Fee $ 25.16

Total cost for 1 FTE respite care worker

Assumptions

68% billable time

Respite Care worker has caseload of 15

Hourly rate is added to hourly pay for respite care worker of $13/hour
Additional $1 youth activity fee per hour is added to total

Payment for Community Based Respite Care service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page
24-25 and is reimbursed at an hourly unit of service. Community Based Respite Care
providers are defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 25-26.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the agency’s
fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i) services provided on
or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo . State developed fee schedule rates are the same
for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule and any
annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above website address.

OUT OF HOME RESPITE CARE

Out of Home respite services are provided on an overnight basis for a minimum of 12
hours, and are reimbursed using a flat per diem rate. The service has a maximum of 24
units per year, subject to medical necessity criteria override. The service may not be billed
on the same day as community-based respite.

Out-of-Home Respite

Median per diem rate for 109 "preferred" programs 181.31
10% Administrative Charge 18.13
Total 199.44

The rate development is based on the Fiscal Year 2012 Maryland Interagency Rates
Committee (IRC) rates for residential child care facilities and child placement agencies.
The IRC is charged with developing and operating a rate process for residential child care
and child placement agency programs that is fair, equitable and predictable, and is
comprised of representatives from the Department of Budget and Management,
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Administration/Mental Hygiene
Administration, Department of Human Resources/Social Services Administration,
Department of Juvenile Services, Governor's Office for Children and the Maryland State
Department of Education
(http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/divisions/earlyinterv/IRC).

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
Supersedes TN #: 14-05
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The IRC identifies programs as "preferred" or "non-preferred." For this rate development,
only preferred provider rates were incorporated. Additionally, only the per diem rates for
group homes, therapeutic group homes, and treatment foster care providers were included.

The fiscal model identified in the August 2006 Real Choice Systems Change Grants for
Community Living: A Feasibility Study to Consider Respite Services for Children with
Disabilities in Maryland prepared by The Hilltop Institute (formerly the Center for Health
Program Development and Management) at UMBC included a 10% administrative cost for
training, family support, outreach and provider recruitment that was specific to the youth at
the highest levels of care. A similar finding of a need for additional administrative funds
was identified by the Respite Care Committee under the Maryland Blueprint for Children's
Mental Health Committee.

Payment for Out Of Home Respite Care service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page 24-
25 and is reimbursed at a hourly unit of service. Out Of Home Respite Care providers are
defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 25-26.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the agency’s
fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i) services provided on
or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the same for
both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule and any
annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above website address.

For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services:

[0 | HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services
M | HCBS Psychosocial Rehabilitation
Intensive In-Home Services (IIHS) - EBP
Annual % Fringe
Amountor | FT Salary Benefits Salary +
Personnel Rate E Cost (25%) | Fringe Cost
$
Therapist $ 50,000 1| $50,000 | $12,500 | 62,500.00
Supervisor/Clinical $
Lead $ 75,000 0.20 | $15,000 | § 3,750 | 18,750.00
$
Clinical Director $ 100,000 | 0.09 | $ 9,000 | $ 2,250 | 11,250.00
Quality
Assurance/Manageme
nt Info. Systems $
Director $ 90,000 009 § 8,100 [ $ 2,025 |10,125.00
$
Admin. Assistant $ 35,000 025 $ 8750 | $ 2,188 | 10,937.50
TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
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Billing Support
Specialist $ 35,000 005 $ 1,750 | $ 438 § 2,187.50
Total 1.68 | $92,600 | $23,150 | $115,750
Other Costs
Rent ($15/sq ft, 144 sq ft per FTE) $ 3,628.80
Cellular Phone, Internet & Communications (@$110/month per
FTE) $ 2,217.60
Office supplies and maintenance (paper, postage, pens, printing,
copier/fax) @ $750 per FTE $ 1,260.00
Mileage (20,000 miles per year @ $0.555/mile) $ 11,100.00
Management Information System @$150 per FTE $ 252.00
Insurance (general liability, professional liability) @ $1,000 per
FTE $ 1,680.00
Indirect Cost (7% of salaries) $ 6,482.00
Total Cost for 1 FTE Therapist $ 142,370.40
Weekly rate (Total Cost/52 weeks/11 clients) $ 248.90
Assumptions:

Caseload of 11 clients
Supervisor caseload of 5 therapists
Maximum length of service is 16 weeks

Intensive In-Home Services (IIHS) providers may be reimbursed at a regular weekly
rate of service. The approved IIHS providers will bill the Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene directly for the services rendered. No more than one unit of service
may be billed for services delivered at the same time by the same staff. Private and
public ITHS providers will be reimbursed at the same rate.

The rate development adheres to the CMS-accepted methodology for cost-based
rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect costs, and transportation costs
based on an average of the mileage experience in current [IHS program. Cost
estimates conform to our experience with programs similar to IIHS in Maryland,
including the salaries paid.

An IIHS provider may bill for a week only if an IIHS activity occurred for the
covered youth on at least one day of the billable week. A minimum of one (1) face-
to-face contact is required per week. At least fifty percent (50%) of therapist’s
contacts with the youth and/or family must be face-to-face. A minimum of fifty
percent (50%) of the therapist’s time must be spent working outside the agency and
in the youth’s home or community, as documented in the case notes. An individual
can only receive IIHS services from one provider at a time. Partial
hospitalization/day treatment, mobile crisis response services (MCRS), and other
family therapies cannot be charged at the same time. IIHS providers are expected to
provide crisis response services for the youth on their caseload.

An evidence-based practice (EBP) is defined as a program, intervention or service
that:

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
Supersedes TN #: 14-05
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1. isrecognized by DHMH as an EBP for youth;

a. are derived from rigorous, scientifically controlled research; and
b. can be applied in community settings with a defined clinical
population;
2. has a consistent training and service delivery model;
utilizes a treatment manual; and
4. has demonstrated evidence that successful program implementation results
in improved, measureable outcomes for recipients of the service
intervention.

(98]

The rate for the IIHS-EBP (and, in particular, the caseload used) was based on
Functional Family Therapy, an established EBP in Maryland. The rate is higher for
those programs that are identified as an EBP, in keeping with the established practice
of different reimbursement rates for an EBP versus non-EBP service (e.g., Mobile
Treatment Services and Assertive Community Treatment).

The weekly rate for the [IHS-EBP program is based on the cost of a therapist with a
maximum caseload of 11 and a maximum length of stay in the program of 16 weeks.
The supervisor caseload is a ratio of 1:5. The rate includes other costs, including
mileage costs (at least 50% of face-to-face contacts must be in the home or
community, and the therapist must see the youth and family face-to-face at least
once each week), rent, and communications costs.

Payment for Intensive In-Home service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page 15-16
and is reimbursed a weekly unit of service. Intensive In-Home providers are defined
per Attachment 3.1-i page 16-19.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the
agency’s fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i)
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's
website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the
fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published
at the above website address.

INTENSIVE IN-HOME SERVICES (ITHS)--NON

EBP
Fringe
Annual % Benefit
Amount | FT Salary s Salary +
Personnel or Rate E Cost (25%) | Fringe Cost
$
Therapist $ 50,000 | 0.50 | $25,000 | 6,250 $31,250.00
Supervisor/Clinical $
Lead $ 75,000 | 0.20 | $ 15,000 | 3,750 $ 18,750.00
In-Home Stabilizer $40,000 | 0.50 | $20,000 | $ $ 25,000.00
TN # 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018

Supersedes TN #: 14-05
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5,000
$ $
Clinical Director 100,000 | 0.08 | $8,000 | 2,000 $ 10,000.00
$
Admin. Assistant $ 35,000 | 0.25 | $8,750 | 2,188 $10,937.50
Billing Support
Specialist $ 35,000 | 0.05 | $1,750 $ 438 $2,187.50
$19,62
Total 1.58 | $78,500 |5 $ 98,125
Other Costs
Rent ($15/sq ft, 144 sq ft per FTE) $3,412.80
Cellular Phone, Internet & Communications (@$110/month
per FTE) $ 2,085.60
Office supplies & maintenance (paper, postage, pens, printing,
copier/fax) @ $750 per FTE $ 1,185.00
Mileage (20,000 miles per year @ $0.555/mile) $ 11,100.00
Management Information System @$150 per FTE $237.00
Insurance (general liability, professional liability) @$1,000 per
FTE $ 1,580.00
Indirect Cost (7% of salaries) $ 5,495.00
Total Cost FTE $123,220.40
Weekly rate (total cost/(52*12)) | $197.47
Assumptions:

Caseload of 12 clients

Supervisor caseload of 5 therapists
Youth may stay in for a year
Clients are supported by .5 FTE therapist, .5FTE in-home stabilizer, .2 supervisor/clij
lead, and .08 clinical director

Intensive In-Home Services (IIHS) providers may be reimbursed at a regular weekly
rate of service. The approved IIHS providers will bill the Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene directly for the services rendered. No more than one unit of service
may be billed for services delivered at the same time by the same staff. Private and
public ITHS providers will be reimbursed at the same rate.

The rate development adheres to the CMS-accepted methodology for cost-based
rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect costs, and transportation costs
based on an average of the mileage experience in current [IHS program. Cost
estimates conform to our experience with programs similar to I[ITHS in Maryland,
including the salaries paid.

An ITHS provider may bill for a week only if an [IHS activity occurred for the
covered youth on at least one day of the billable week. A minimum of one (1) face-

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: Julyl, 2018
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to-face contact is required per week. At least fifty percent (50%) of therapist’s
contacts with the youth and/or family must be face-to-face. A minimum of fifty
percent (50%) of the therapist’s time must be spent working outside the agency and
in the youth’s home or community, as documented in the case notes. An individual
can only receive IIHS services from one provider at a time. Partial
hospitalization/day treatment, mobile crisis response services (MCRS), and other
family therapies cannot be charged at the same time. IIHS providers are expected to
provide crisis response services for the youth on their caseload.

The weekly rate for the IIHS program is based on the cost of a therapist (.5 FTE) and
in-home stabilizer (.5 FTE) with a shared caseload of 1:12. An in-home stabilizer
provides some of the face-to-face services. The supervisor caseload is a ratio of 1:5.
The rate includes other costs, such as rent, communications (phone, internet), and
mileage.

Payment for Intensive In-Home service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page 15-16
and is reimbursed a weekly unit of service. Intensive In-Home providers are defined
per Attachment 3.1-i page 16-19.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the
agency’s fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i)
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's
website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the
fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published
at the above website address.

MOBILE CRISIS RESPONSE SERVICES

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
Supersedes TN #: 14-05
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MOBILE CRISIS & STABILIZATION SERVICES (MCRS)
Annual Fringe
Amount or Benefits Salary +
Rate %FTE Salary Cost (30%) Fringe Cost
Crisis Responder $ 50.000.00 075 5 37.500.00 5 11.250.00 $ 48.750.00
Clinical Supenisor $ 65.000.00 017 5 10,833.33 5 3.25000 § 14.083.33
Crisis Stabilizer $ 35.000.00 025 % 875000 § 262500 § 11.375.00
Administrative Support $ 35.000.00 017 5 583333 § 175000 § 758333
Clinical Director $100,000.00 0.06 5 6.250.00 § 1.875.00 § 8.125.00
Total 140 § 69.166.67 § 20,750.00 § 89.916.67
Other Costs (based on FTE)
Rent (144 Square Feet @ 515 per square foot per FTE) ] 3.015.00
Cellular Phone, Internet & Communications (@5110/month per FTE) ] 1.842.50
Mileage (10,000 miles per year @ 50 555/mile) 5 5,550.00
Insurance (general liability, professional liability) @351.000 per FTE 5 1,395.83
Indirect Cost (7% of salaries) 5 4 84167

Total cost for 1 FTE crisis responder/stabilizer 106,561.67

T

o
Hourly rate ] 102.46
30 minute rate ] 51.23
15 minute rate $ 25.62
Assessment Rate: 3 hours $ 307.29

Assumptions:
50% time billable, assuming non-face to face crisis response and stabilization (e.g., crisis call, decumentation, etc) is billable
kased on input from Milwaukee's Urgent Treatment Team experience

Clinical supervisor oversees 6 crisis responders and 2 crisis stabilizers

Mobile Crisis Response and Stabilization (MCRS) providers may be reimbursed at a
15 minute service interval. There is also a single assessment rate for the
development of the initial crisis plan with the care coordinator and family at the
beginning of services under the 1915(i) HCBS benefit. The approved MCRS
providers will bill the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene directly for the
services rendered. No more than one unit of service may be billed for services
delivered at the same time by the same staff. Private and public MCRS providers
will be reimbursed at the same rate.

The rate development adheres to the CMS-accepted methodology for cost-based
rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect costs, and transportation costs
based on an average of the mileage experience in similar non-office based programs.
(Salaries are assumed based on the credentials for the personnel and the salaries paid
to similar individuals in other programs.)

The design of MCRS was based in part on the Mobile Urgent Treatment Team
(MUTT) in Milwaukee, which is a part of Wraparound Milwaukee. MUTT has
identified that approximately 50% of a MUTT clinician’s time is spent in face-to-
face clinical care, with the remaining time spent in travel, documentation, and non-
face to face activities. For every crisis responder that is employed, there needs to
be a percentage of a clinical supervisor and a crisis stabilizer to ensure that the crisis
calls are appropriately triaged and the necessary level of clinical expertise is
available.

Payment for Mobile Crisis Response service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page
19 and is reimbursed per fifteen minute unit of service. Mobile Crisis Response
providers are defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 21-22.

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
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The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the
agency’s fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i)
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's
website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the
fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published
at the above website address.

EXPRESSIVE AND EXPERIENTIAL BEHAVIORAL SERVICES

Proposed Rates
Expressive Therapies--Individual, LMHP 45-50 minutes $68.41
Expressive Therapies--Individual, LMHP 75-80 minutes $89.62

Expressive Therapies--Individual, non LMHP | 45-50 minutes $62.19
Expressive Therapies--Individual, non LMHP | 75-80 minutes $80.85

Expressive Therapies--Group, LMHP 45-60 minutes $24.16
Expressive Therapies--Group, LMHP 75-90 minutes $31.41
Expressive Therapies--Group, non LMHP 45-60 minutes $27.20
Expressive Therapies--Group, non LMHP 75-90 minutes $35.36

LMHP=Licensed Mental Health Practitioner

Rates from FY13 PMHS:
45-50 minute rate for an individual clinician in the PMHS, FY 13 | 62.19

75-80 minute rate for C&A Prolonged Psychotherapy 80.85
45-60 minute rate for C&A group psychotherapy 27.2
Prolonged rate for C&A Group Psychotherapy 35.36

The approved expressive & experiential behavioral therapy providers will bill the
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene directly for the services rendered. No
more than one unit of service may be billed for services delivered at the same time
by the same staff. Private and public expressive and experiential behavioral therapy
providers will be reimbursed at the same rate.

Rate development: The following details the rate development for expressive and
experiential behavioral therapy services. Expressive and Experiential Behavioral
Therapy Services Providers must have a) A bachelor's or master's degree from an
accredited college or university; and (b) Current registration in the applicable
association. The applicable registrations and associations include the following:
- Dance Therapist Registered or Academy of Dance Therapists Registered in
The American Dance Therapy Association
- Certified by The Equine Assisted Growth and Learning Association (EAGALA)
to provide services under the EAGALA model or The North American Handicaj
- Horticultural Therapist Registered by The American Horticultural Therapy
Association
- Music Therapist-Board Certified by the Board for Music Therapists, Inc in the
American Association for Music Therapy, Inc.

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
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- Registered Drama Therapist or Board Certified Trainer in the National
Association for Drama Therapy

These associations, registrations and certifications were identified as having
comprehensive standards, continuing education requirements, and examinations. As
such, the rate for this service has been aligned with the Medicaid rate for individual
practitioners (licensed certified social worker-clinical, nurse psychotherapist,
licensed clinical professional counselor, licensed clinical marriage and family
therapist, and certified registered nurse practitioner-psychiatric) for 45-50 minutes of
individual therapy with a child or adolescent ($62.19/hour). These rates were set by
the State of Maryland at approximately 70% of the Medicare rate for individual
therapy provided by practitioners of a similar skill level.

Expressive and experiential behavioral therapy service providers who are licensed
mental health professionals (licensed certified social worker-clinical, nurse
psychotherapist, licensed clinical professional counselor, licensed clinical marriage
and family therapist, and certified registered nurse practitioner-psychiatric) are
reimbursed for this service at a rate that is 10% greater than the standard rate for
non-mental health licensed professionals providing the same service. A differential
was selected based on the additional costs to providers to obtain and maintain their
license and the cost of and time required to obtain continuing education credits.

In the 1915(c) PRTF Demonstration Waiver (RTC Waiver), it was difficult to 1)
ascertain how many of the expressive and experiential behavioral service providers
were also licensed mental health clinicians and 2) encourage licensed mental health
clinicians who were already Public Mental Health System providers to enroll to
provide the additional service (a necessary step in helping families and youth to
identify the most appropriate provider to address their needs). As a result, the higher
rate was developed to address both of these issues through a mechanism to
encourage provider enrollment and more accurately track provider utilization. The
group rates were set based on the C&A Group Psychotherapy Rates.

Payment for Expressive and Experiential Behavioral service as outlined per
Attachment 3.1-1 page 29-30 and is reimbursed either a 45-50 unit of service or a 75-
80 unit of service. Expressive and Experiential Behavioral providers are defined per
Attachment 3.1-i page 27-29.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the
agency’s fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i)
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's
website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the
fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published
at the above website address.

FAMILY PEER SUPPORT

TN #: 16-0007 Approval Date: November 8, 2018 Effective Date: July 1, 2018
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Annual % Fringe Salary +
Amount | FT Salary Benefits Fringe
Personnel or Rate E Cost (25%) Cost
$ $
Family Support Partner | 36,000 1| $36,000 | $9,000 45,000.00
Family Support Partner | $ $
Supervisor 58,500 0.10 | $ 5,850 | $ 1,463 7,312.50
Administrative $ $
Assistant 35,000 025| $ 8,750 | $2,188 10,937.50
Billing Support $ $
Specialist 35,000 0.05]| $ 1,750 | § 438 2,187.50
$ $
Administrator 55,000 005 $ 2,750 | $ 688 3,437.50
$
Total 1.45 | $55,100 | $13,775 | 68,875.00
Billable Time
Total work hours per year (8 hour day * 260
Family Support Partner | 2080 | days)
Family Support Partner
Supervisor
Administrative Vacation, sick & holiday leave: 20 days@8
Assistant 160 | hours per day
Billing Support
Specialist 128 | Training: 16 days @8hours per day
Travel (not with client): 10 hours per week
Administrator 440 | *44 weeks
Total 728 | Total Non-Billable Time
1352 | Total Projected Billable Time
0.35 | % Non-Billable
Other Costs
Rent ($15/sq ft, 144 sq ft per FTEs) $ 3,132.00
Cellular Phone, Internet & Communications (@$110/month
per FTE) $ 1,914.00
Mileage (10,500 miles per year @ $0.555/mile) $ 5,827.50
Office supplies & maintenance (printing, copier/fax, etc) @
$750 per FTE $ 1,088
Management Information System User Fees (@$150/FTE) $ 218
Insurance (general liability, professional liability) @ $1,000
per FTE $ 1,450
Indirect Cost (7% of salaries) $ 3,857
Total Cost FTE $ 86,360.50
Hourly rate $ 63.88
30 minute rate $ 31.94
15 minute rate $ 15.97
15 minute telephonic/non-face-to-face rate $ 7.98
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Assumptions:
*Supervisor: FSP ratio is 1:10

The rate development adheres to the CMS-accepted methodology for cost-based
rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect costs, and transportation costs
based on an average of the mileage experience in current peer support programs.
Cost estimates conform to our experience with peer support in Maryland.

The 15-minute rate was calculated as the cost for one family support partner for 12
months divided by 1,352 billable service hours. This was based on the amount of
time that is spent traveling (without the family present), completing documentation,
participating in training (including the Wraparound Practitioners Certificate
Program), and leave time. Indirect costs were calculated at the standard 10% of
salaries.

The telephonic rate is established at 50% of the regular rate.

Payment for Family Peer Support service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 26-
27 and is reimbursed a fifteen minute unit of service. Family Peer Support providers
are defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 27-29.

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014. As of July 1, 2018 the
agency’s fee schedule rates increased by 3.5% and are effective for all 1915(i)
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's
website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the
fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published
at the above website address.

O | HCBS Clinic Services (whether or not furnished in a facility for CMI)

™ Other Services (specify below)

CUSTOMIZED GOODS AND SERVICES

Customized Goods and Services are those used in support of the child and family’s Plan of
Care (POC) for a participant receiving care coordination from a Care Coordination
Organization (CCO). All customized goods and services expenditures must be used to
support the individualized POC for the child and family and are to be used for reasonable
and necessary costs. Reasonable, defined as a cost that, in its nature and amount, does not
exceed that which would be incurred by a prudent person under the circumstances
prevailing at the time the decision was made to incur the cost. Necessary, defined as those
that are likely to improve outcomes or remediate a particular and specified need identified
in the POC. The CCO must have a written customized goods and services policy and
procedures to ensure accountability and comply with requirements established by DHMH.
The CCO shall submit requests for customized goods and services within the bounds of the
program to the Department or its designee for approval and purchase.
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Reimbursement for purchases under the Goods and Services benefit will require prior
approval and be reviewed on a per request basis. Prior to reimbursement, it must be
demonstrated that the purchaser received multiple quotes and paid a price that a prudent
buyer would have paid. Claims under this benefit will be capped at $2,000 per year per
beneficiary. The state must adhere to CMS record keeping requirements (42 CFR
§431.107) and providers must keep records of documented medical necessity for CGS

Unallowable costs include, but are not limited to the following: Unallowable costs for
customized goods and services include, but are not limited to the following:

(1) Alcoholic beverages;

(2) Bad debts;

(3) Contributions and donations;

(4) Defense and prosecution of criminal and civil proceedings, claims, appeals, and patent
infringement;

(5) Entertainment costs

(6) Incentive compensation to employees;

(7) Personal use by employees of organization-furnished automobiles, including
transportation to and from work;

(8) Fines and penalties;

(9) Goods or services for personal use;

(10) Interest on borrowed capital/lines of credit;
(11) Costs of organized fundraising;

(12) Costs of investment counsel/management;
(13) Lobbying; or

(14) Renovation/remodeling and capital projects

Customized Goods and Services should be used as the funding source of last resort for
those costs that cannot be covered by any other source and that are vital to the
implementation of the POC.

Payment for Customized Goods and Services as outlined per Attachment 3.1-1 page 31 and
is reimbursed for approved purchases. Customized Goods and Services providers are
defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 32-36.
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