Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Maine

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 19-015

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

January 30, 2020

VIA E-Mail Jeanne Lambrew, Commissioner Department of Health and Human Services 221 State Street Augusta, Maine 04333-0011

Dear Commissioner Lambrew:

We are pleased to enclose an approved copy of the Maine State Plan Amendment (SPA) 19-015, received on December 27, 2019. The SPA transmitted a proposal to amend Attachment 4.22-B, page 1 of the Title XIX State plan to comply with changes to the TPL pay and chase timeline requirements of Section 53102(b)(2) of the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018, P.L. 115-123.

The State indicated there is no fiscal impact since the SPA simply brings its State plan into compliance with federal requirements. This SPA was approved on January 28, 2020, effective on October 1, 2019, as requested by your agency.

If you have questions concerning this letter, please Nancy Grano at 617-565-1695 or at Nancy.Grano@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

/s/

James G. Scott, Division Director Division of Program Operations

| DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES | | OMB No. 0938-0193 | |
|---|---|---|--|
| TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL O STATE PLAN MATERIAL | | 2. STATE Maine | |
| FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES | SECONT ACT (MEDICAE) | XIX OF THE SOCIAL | |
| TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES | 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 10/1/2019 | | |
| 5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One) | | | |
| | | AMENDMENT | |
| COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMEN | Γ (Separate transmittal for each amendmen | <i>t</i>) | |
| 6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION | 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT | | |
| Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 (Pub. L. 115-123) | a FFY\$0 b FFY\$0 | | |
| | M 111 | | |
| 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT | 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) | EDED PLAN SECTION | |
| Attachment 4.22-B page 1 | Attachment 4.22-B page 1 | | |
| | 7.000 | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| 10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT Changes to comply with TPL pay and chase timeline requi | rements of section 53102(b)(2) of the | Bipartisan Budget Act of | |
| 2018 | | | |
| 2018 | | | |
| | | | |
| 11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) | | | |
| GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT | | OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: | |
| COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED | | Michelle Probert, Director, MaineCare Services | |
| ☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL | MaineCare Service | 5 | |
| 12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL | 16. RETURN TO: | | |
| 12. SIGNATORE OF STATE AGENOT OF HOME | | | |
| | _Michelle Probert Director, MaineCare Services | | |
| 13. TYPED NAME | #11 State House Station | | |
| Michelle Probert | | 242 State Street | |
| Director, MaineCare Services | Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 | Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 | |
| 15. DATE SUBMITTED | | | |
| 12/27/2019 | | | |
| | ASSIAS LIAS ANU V | | |
| | OFFICE USE ONLY | | |
| 17. DATE RECEIVED 12/27/19 | 18. DATE APPROVED 1/28/20 | | |
| | 18. DATE APPROVED 1/28/20 | | |
| | 18. DATE APPROVED 1/28/20 | CIAL /s/ | |
| PLAN APPROVED - | 18. DATE APPROVED 1/28/20 | | |
| PLAN APPROVED - 19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 10/01/19 | 18. DATE APPROVED 1/28/20 ONE COPY ATTACHED 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFIC 22. TITLE Division Director, Division | | |

FORM APPROVED OMB No. 0938-0193

Revision:

OFFICIAL

Requirements Used In Determining Whether To Seek Reimbursement From Liable Third Parties

433.139 (f) (2)

Action is taken to recover payments in excess of \$200.00 for claims associated with accident / casualty situations.

Action is also taken to recover on accident / casualty claims below \$200.00 that accumulate to \$500.00 within any consecutive six (6) month period. Recovery activity is initiated within 60 days of the end of the month in which claims accumulate to \$500.00 within the above-mentioned period.

433.139 (f) (3)

Action is taken to recover payments in excess of \$50.00 with any particular third party in all cases when health insurance is discovered subsequent to payment, and in all cases in which the State has regulatory authority to pay and chase.

Action is taken to recover on claims below \$50.00 with any particular third party that accumulates to \$50.00 within any twelve (12) month calendar period. Recovery activity is initiated within 60 days of the end of the month in which claims accumulate to \$50.00 within the above-mentioned period.

(d) (1) Method to Determine Provider Compliance 433.139 (b) (3) (ii) (B)

Providers who have billed a third party prior to billing Medicaid must certify on the Medicaid claim that a third party has been billed, that payment has not been received from the third party, and that 100 days have elapsed from the date of service.

TN No. <u>19-0015</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>92-014</u>

Approval Date <u>1/28/20</u>

Effective Date 10/01/19

HCFA ID: 1076P/0019P