STATE: <u>MINNESOTA</u> Effective: January 1, 2011 TN: 10-27 Approved: FEB 15 2011 Supersedes:

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A Page 79a

28. Freestanding Birth Center services.

Freestanding birth center means a facility licensed as a birth center under Minnesota law that is not a hospital or licensed as part of a hospital.

The following items and services are included in the freestanding birth center facility services payment:

- 1) Birthing center facility services
- 2) <u>Nursery care facility services</u>

Services in freestanding birth centers are provided by certified nurse midwives as described in item 17 and traditional nurse midwives providing traditional midwifery services.

Traditional midwifery services are limited to:

- 1) services performed by a licensed traditional midwife in a licensed birth center; and
- 2) the types of services within the scope of practice of traditional midwifery under state statute or rule.

STATE: MINNESOTA Effective: January 1, 2011 TN: 10-27 Approved: Supersedes:FEB 15 2011 ATTACHMENT 3.1-B Page 78a

28. Freestanding Birth Center services.

Freestanding birth center means a facility licensed as a birth center under Minnesota law that is not a hospital or licensed as part of a hospital.

The following items and services are included in the freestanding birth center facility services payment:

- 3) Birthing center facility services
- 4) Nursery care facility services

Services in freestanding birth centers are provided by certified nurse midwives as described in item 17 and traditional nurse midwives providing traditional midwifery services.

Traditional midwifery services are limited to:

- 3) services performed by a licensed traditional midwife in a licensed birth center; and
- 4) the types of services within the scope of practice of traditional midwifery under state statute or rule.

STATE: <u>MINNESOTA</u> Effective: January 1, 2011 TN: 10-27 Approved: **FEB 15 2011** Supersedes: . ATTACHMENT 4.19-B Page 76

28. Freestanding birth center services.

Traditional midwives are paid the lower of the:

- 1) submitted charge; or
- 2) 100% of the rate paid to a physician performing the same services, using the same methodology as item 5.a., Physician services.

Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2011, payment for birth center facility services is the lower of:

- (1) the submitted charge;
- (2) 70 percent of the statewide average for a facility payment rate made to a hospital for an uncomplicated vaginal birth as determined using the most recent calendar year for which complete claims data is available; or
- (3) <u>15 percent of the average facility payment made to a hospital for the services provided for an uncomplicated vaginal delivery as determined using the most recent calendar year for which complete claims data is available, when a recipient is transferred to a hospital prior to the delivery.</u>

Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2011, payment for nursery care facility services provided by a birth center is the lower of:

- (1) the submitted charge; or
- (2) 70 percent of the statewide average for a payment rate paid to a hospital for nursery care as determined using the most recent calendar year for which complete claims data is available.