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Department of Health & Human Services        

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
233 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois  60601-5519 

 

  

 

May 21, 2018 

 

 

 

Marie Zimmerman, State Medicaid Director 

Minnesota Department of Human Services 

P.O. Box 64983 

St. Paul, MN  55164-0983 

 

Dear Ms. Zimmerman: 

 

Enclosed for your records is an approved copy of the following State Plan Amendment: 

 

 Transmittal #15-0024  --Revises cost sharing for disabled employed   

     individuals under the Balanced Budget Act. 

   

     --Effective Date: September 1, 2015 

 

            --Approval Date:  May 19, 2018 

 

If you have any additional questions, please have a member of your staff contact Sandra Porter at 

(312) 353-8310 or via e-mail at Sandra.Porter@cms.hhs.gov. 

 

     Sincerely, 

      

       

      /s/ 

     Ruth A. Hughes 

     Associate Regional Administrator 

     Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations 

 

Enclosures 

 

cc:   Ann Berg, DHS 

 Pat Callaghan, DHS         
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September 1, 2015 /s/

Ruth A. Hughes       Associate Regional Office
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_____________________________________________________________________ 
Citation    Condition or Requirement 
_____________________________________________________________________ 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIII) Payment of Premiums or Other Cost Sharing Charges 
of the Act 

For individuals eligible under the BBA eligibility group 
described in No. 23 on page 23d of Attachment 2.2-A: 

__X_ The agency requires payment of premiums or other 
cost-sharing charges on a sliding scale based on income.  
The premiums or other cost-sharing charges, and how they 
are applied, are described below: 

Payment of a minimum premium of $3565 per month or a 
premium on a sliding scale, whichever is greater, applies to 
all individuals.  The sliding scale premium amount is based 
on a person’s income, the applicable family size and a 
sliding fee scale that begins at one percent of income at 100 
percent of the Federal poverty guidelines and increases to 
7.5 percent up to income of 300 percent of the Federal 
poverty guidelines, and remains at 7.5 percent for income 
above 300 percent of the Federal poverty guidelines.   

Annual adjustments based upon changes in the federal 
poverty guidelines are effective July 1 of each year.   

All individuals pay a cost-sharing charge of one-half of one 
five percent of income. 
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