Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Montana

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 17-0026

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
179
Approved SPA Pages

TN: MT-17-0026

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Denver Regional Office 1961 Stout Street, Room 08-148 Denver, CO 80294



REGION VIII - DENVER

March 8, 2018

Marie Matthews, Medicaid & CHIP Director Montana Department of Public Health & Human Services P.O. Box 4210 Helena, MT 59604

Re: SPA MT-17-0026

Dear Ms. Matthews:

We have approved the State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number MT-17-0026. The amendment implements a statewide 2.99% rate reduction for Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and Supplies, with the effective fee schedule date reflected on Montana's Attachment 4.19B Introduction Page.

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved on March 7, 2018, with an effective date of January 1, 2018. We are enclosing the summary page and the amended plan page(s).

The State assures that the change in reimbursement for DME and Supplies is not expected to have an effect on access to care for Medicaid beneficiaries. The State provided evidence from analysis reflected in a revised Addendum to Montana Medicaid 2016 Access Monitoring Plan that revealed consistent beneficiary utilization and provider enrollment for the benefit. Based on this information, CMS infers that the amendment does not affect consistency with the access to care requirements described in \$1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act. While this SPA results in an overall decrease in State expenditures for DME and Supplies, it was determined to be a nominal change in overall reimbursement as described in State Medicaid Director Letter (SMDL) #17-004.

In order to track expenditures associated with this amendment, Montana should follow the CMS-64 reporting instructions outlined in Section 2500 of the State Medicaid Manual (SMM).

For those individuals whose expenditures qualify for the newly eligible federal medical assistance percentage, report on the Form CMS-64.9 VIII and those not enrolled in the new adult group, claims should be reported on the Form CMS-64.9.

For DME and Supplies, the expenditures should be reported on: Line 12 – Home Health Services.

If you have any questions regarding this SPA please contact Barbara Prehmus at (303) 844-7472.

Sincerely,



Richard C. Allen Associate Regional Administrator Division for Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

cc: Sheila Hogan, Department Director Mary Eve Kulawik

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17-0026	Montana
STATE I EMIN MARIE		
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	01/01/2018	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		·····
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	🗷 AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AM		·····
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	amenameni)
0. TEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION.	a. FFY 2018: \$ 0	
SECTION 1902(a)(30)(A)	b. FFY 2019: \$ 0	
42 CFR 440.70(3)	c. FFY 2020: \$ 0	
	Amounts are reflected on the MT 17-0003	3 Reimbursement
	Introduction Page.	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEI	DED PLAN SECTION
ATTACHMENT:	OR ATTACHMENT (<i>If Applicable</i>):	
Attachments 4.19 B, Methods and Standards for Establishing	Attachments 4.19 B, Methods and Standa	rds for Establishing
Payment Rates, Service 7.C, Durable Medical Equipment and	Payment Rates, Service 7.C, Durable Medical Equipment and	
Supplies, Pages 1 & 2 of 2	Supplies, Pages 1 & 2 of 2	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:		
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT.		
Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies Medicare payment rates will decrease to 97.01%; and services paid by Manufacturer's Suggested		
Retail Price and a provider's usual and customary charge methods will decrease to 72.8%.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED	Single Agency Director Review	
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAI	۔	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
12. BIGHARDINE OF BIATE AGENCET OFFICIAE.	Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services	
	Marie Matthews	
13. TYPED NAME: Marie Matthews	Attn: Mary Eve Kulawik	
	PO Box 4210	
14. TITLE: State Medicaid Director	Helena MT 59620	
	-	
15. DATE SUBMITTED:		
2-2-1-18		
FOR REGIONAL O	FFICE USE ONLY	
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED:	
December 26, 2017	March 7, 20	018
PLAN APPROVED - O	1	OT 4 T
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20. SIGN	JIAL:
January 1, 2018	22. TITLE:	
21. TYPED NAME: Richard C. Allen	ARA, DMCHO	
23. REMARKS:		

Page 1 of 2 Attachment 4.19B Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates Service 7.C Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies

MONTANA

- I. Reimbursement for Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies shall not exceed the lower of:
 - A. The provider's Usual and Customary Charge (UCC) amount submitted on the claim to Medicaid; or
 - B. The Department's Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) Fee Schedule, which will include fees set and maintained according to the following methodology:
 - 1. 97.01% of the Medicare Region D allowable fee;
 - 2. For all items for which no Medicare allowable fee is available, the Department's fee schedule amount will be 72.8% of the provider's usual and customary charge;
 - 3. The amount of the provider's usual and customary charge may not exceed the reasonable charge usually and customarily charged by the provider to all payers:
 - The charge will be considered reasonable if less than or equal to the manufacturer's suggested list price. The Department's policy base for the percentage of charges methodology is the MSRP. A similar method is used by Noridian, the Jurisdiction D, DME MAC.
 - For items without a manufacturer's suggested list price, the charge will be considered reasonable if the provider's acquisition cost from the manufacturer is at least 50% of the charge amount.
 - For items that are custom fabricated at the place of service, the amount charges will be considered reasonable if it does not exceed the average charge of all Medicaid provider's by more than 20%.
 - Items having no product retail list price, such as items customized by the provider, will be reimbursed at 72.8% of the provider's usual and customary charge as defined above; or
 - 4. The Department's DMEPOS Fee Schedule for items billed under generic or miscellaneous codes will be 72.8% of the provider's usual and customary charge as defined above.
 - 5. Rental items are limited to a 13-month rental period.
 - Rental for items needing frequent servicing as classified by Medicare can be rented as long as the medical necessity exists.

TN 17-0026 Supersedes TN 14-005 Approved Date: 03/07/2018 Effective Date: 01/01/2018

Page 2 of 2 Attachment 4.19B Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates Service 7.C Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies

MONTANA

- Rental fees include all necessary supplies needed to operate rented equipment for the month unless supplies are allowed by Medicare.
- Total Medicaid rental reimbursement for items in Medicare's capped rental program or classified by Medicare as routine and inexpensive rental will be limited to 105% of the purchase price for that item. Monthly rental fees will be limited to 10% of the purchase price and payments will be limited up to 13 months or less as outlined in Chapter 5 of the Region D Medicare Supplier Manual. Items will be paid on a rental basis for up to 13 months or up to purchase price, whichever comes first. For purposes of this limit, the purchase price is the purchase fee specified in the department's fee schedule. Rental fees can be found on the Department's fee schedule under the appropriate HCPCS code with an RR modifier attached.
- II. Reimbursement for home infusion therapy shall not exceed the lowest of:
 - 1. The provider's usual and customary charge of the therapy to the general public; or
 - 2. The Medicaid fee established and listed on the fee schedule as a daily rate for home infusion therapy providers. Daily rates for various therapies were established based on the usual and customary charges reported by home infusion therapy providers in the State of Montana. The daily rate for each therapy was derived by averaging the individual provider charges. The Department worked with providers to reach agreement on reimbursement for individuals' infusion therapies.
- III. The agency's rates were set as of the date on the Attachment 4.19B Introduction Page and are published on the agency's website <u>www.medicaidprovider.mt.gov</u>. Unless otherwise noted in the plan, State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.

TN 17-0026 Approved Date: 03/07/2018 Effective Date: 01/01/2018 Supersedes TN 14-005