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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services CMJ

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 CENTERS for MEDICARE 8 MEDICAID SERVICES
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850

]
Center for Medicaid & State Operations

¢ Disabled and Elderly Health Program Group

Maggie D. Anderson, Director

Division of Medical Services

North Dakota Department of Human Resources
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 325
Bismarck, ND. 58505-0250

Dear Ms. Anderson:

We have reviewed North Dakota’s State Plan Amendment (SPA) 09-019. The SPA
decreases the Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) from WAC + 12% to WAC + 8%,
We are pleased to inform you that the amendment is approved effective January 1. 2010.

A copy of the CMS-170 form with pen and ink changes to block 6. as well as the pages
approved for incorporation into the North Dakota State Plan, will be forwarded by the
Denver Regional office.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact David Moscovic at
(410) 786-4693.

Sincerely,

Larry Reed
Director
Division of Pharmacy

cc: Diane Dunstan-Murphy. Denver Regional Office
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - OTHER TYPES OF CARE

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

15)

Transportation by common carrier will be reimbursed at the going rate or fare established for the
general public. Ambulance services will be paid at the lower of actual billed charges or the
maximum allowable charge established by the state. Private vehicles when utilized by a third
party to provide transportation to a Medicaid recipient will be paid at the lower of billed charges
or the mileage rate up to an upper limit periodically established by the state agency, not to
exceed the mileage established by the state legislature. The payment for all meals necessary
for recipients and attendants cannot exceed the amount allowed for state employees while they
are traveling in the state of North Dakota. The payment for necessary lodging for recipients and
attendants traveling within North Dakota cannot exceed the amount allowed for state
employees. The payment for necessary lodging for recipients and attendants traveling outside
of North Dakota will be limited by a maximum established by the single state agency.

Family planning services provided by local health departments under the auspices of the
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Division of the State Department of Health will be paid the
lower of billed charge of maximum established by the MCH Division.

Home Health Agency services including nursing care, home heaith aide services, physical
therapy, occupational therapy, speech pathology or audiology services, reimbursement will be at
the lowest of the billed charge or maximum allowable charge established by the State.

For prescribed drugs, including non-legend drugs that are prescribed by a physician and legend
drugs, Medicaid will reimburse at the lower of 1) the Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC) for that
drug plus a dispensing fee, 2) the Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for that drug plus a dispensing fee,
3) North Dakota Medicaid's established Maximum Allowable Cost (MAC) for that drug plus a
dispensing fee, or 4) the provider's usual and customary charges to the general public. The
dispensing fee for legend drugs is $4.60 for brand name drugs and $5.60 for generic drugs.
The dispensing fee for non-legend drugs that are prescribed by a physician is calculated at 1.5
times the allowed amount (EAC, FUL, or MAC) up to a maximum of $4.60.

The ingredient cost for multiple source drugs identified and listed by CMS as having Federal
Upper Limit (FUL) will not exceed, in the aggregate, the level of payment for those drugs as
calculated by the current FUL methodology used by CMS.

Estimated acquisition cost (EAC) will be this agency's best estimate of the price generally and
currently paid by providers for a drug marketed or sold by a particular manufacturer or labeler.
EAC is defined as the lesser of Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus ten percent (10%) or
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% as determined by First Data Bank on a weekly
basis.

A fee of fifteen cents per pill will be added to the dispensing fee for the service of pill splitting.
Pill splitting is entirely voluntary for the patient and the pharmacist. Pill splitting will only be
permitted under the following circumstances: when Medical Services determines it is cost
effective, the pill is scored for ease of splitting, and the pharmacy staff splits the pill. This fee will
only be allowed for medications that have been evaluated by the state for cost-effectiveness and
entered into the Point-of-Sale system.

For hospice services Medicaid will pay the amounts established by HCFA at Sections 4306,
4307, and 4308 Part 4 of the State Medicaid Manual.

Nurse-Midwife services will be paid at the 85% level of the payment made for covered pre-natal,
delivery and postpartum services provided by physicians, i.e., the lower of actual charge or 85%
of the allowable amount established by the state agency for payment of physician services.
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delivery and postpartum services provided by physicians, i.e., the lower of actual charge or 85%
of the allowable amount established by the state agency for payment of physician services.
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