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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

APR lo 2019 
Courtney Miller, Deputy Director 
Division of Medicaid and Long Term Care 
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services 
301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE 68509 

RE: Nebraska State Plan Amendment TN: 14-010 

Dear Mr. Palmer: 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 14-010. This amendment increases aggregate·payment 
rates by 2.25% for nursing facility and intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities services. The amendment also adds clarifying language regarding the current treatment of 
fixed costs in the rate setting process, and clarifies the quality assessment component of the NF rate 
for providers exempt from the provider tax. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing 
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan 
amendment 14-010 is approved effective July 1, 2014. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the 
amended plan page. 

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429. 

Enclosures 

Sincerely, 

T~mothy HilV 
Dtrector O 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 

l. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
NE 14-010 

FORM APPROVED 
OMB NO. 0938-0193 

2. STATE 
Nebraska 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
July 1, 2014 

0 NEW STATE PLAN 0 AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN 181 AMENDMENT 
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT lie arat(f Transmittal Qr each amendmettt) 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: 
a. FFY 2014 $1,334,320.25 
b. FFY 2015 $4,002,960.75 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
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10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Nursing home & ICF/DD Reimbursement 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 
0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92) 

OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 

Attachment 4.19-D, pp 9, 15, 22, 60, 67,73
1 

S 
1 

55 
f?e!U 1-7: rvt.. cQ,~aL- "'A Jd t "'':=> P ~ 
5~S!J 0 

181 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
Governor has waived review 

16. RETURN TO: 



ATIACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 22 

12-011.09C Buildings and Equipment: An appropriate allowance for depreciation on 
buildings and equipment is an allowable cost. The depreciation must be: 

1. Identifiable and recorded in the provider's accounting records; 
2. Based on book value ofthe asset(s) in use before July 1, 1976. Book value for these 

purposes is defined as cost less depreciation allowed or allowable per American 
Hospital Association or Internal Revenue Service guidelines; 

3. Based on the lesser of cost or fair market value at the time of purchase for a facility 
purchased or constructed after June 30, 1976. The basis for facility purchases or 
new construction may be subject to limitation (see 471 NAC 12-011.06H and J); 

4. Based on the fair market value at the time of donation for donated assets without a 
prior Medicaid basis; or based on the donor's Medicaid net book value at the time 
of 1he donation for donated assets without a prior Medicaid basis. Depreciation on 
donated assets must be funded in order to be allowed; this requires that money be 
segregated and specifically dedicated for the purpose of replacing the asset; and 

5. Prorated over the estimated useful life of the asset using the straight-line method of 
depreciation. 

12-011.09D (Reserved) 

12-011.09E Recapture of Depreciation: Depreciation in 471 NAC 12-011.08E refers to real 
property only. A nursing facility which converts all nursing facility beds to assisted living beds 
is not subject to recapture provisions. A nursing facility which is sold for a profit and has 
received NMAP payments for depreciation must refund to the Department the lower of: 

1. The amount of depreciation allowed and paid by the Department between October 
17, 1977, and the time of sale of the property; or 

2. The product of the ratio of depreciation paid by the Department since October 17, 
1977, to the total depreciation accumulated by the facility (adjusted to total 
allowable depreciation under the straight-line method, if any other method has 
been used) times the difference in the sale price of the property over the book 
value of the assets sold. 

Depreciation Paid by State 
X (Sales Price- Book Value) 

Accumulated Depreciation 

If the recapture of depreciation in any or all years before August 1, 1982, would have resulted 
in additional return on equity as allowed by the reimbursement plan then in effect, the amount 
of return on equity must be offset against the amount of recapture. In the above calculations 
of the recapture of depreciation, if a facility has been limited to the maximum payment for the 
fixed cost component (see 471 NAC 12-011.0803), then that facility's allowable individual 
expense categories of the fixed cost component must be proportionately prorated to 
determine the amount that is attributable to depreciation. 

TN#. NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN #. MS-08-06 

APR li 20t5 
Approval Date ____ _ 

JUL 0 1 Z014 
Effective Date-----



ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 60 

31-008.05H Interest Expense: For rate periods beginning January 1, 1985, interest cost will not 
be allowed on loan principal balances which are in excess of 80 percent of the fixed asset cost 
recognized by the Department for ICF/MR care. This limitation does not apply to government 
owned facilities. 

31-008.05J Recognition of Fixed Cost Basis: The fixed cost basis of real property (land, land 
improvements, buildings and equipment permanently attached to the building) for facilities 
purchased as an ongoing operation or for newly constructed facilities or facility additions is the 
lesser of: 

1. The acquisition post of the asset to the new owner; 
2. The acquisition cost which is approved by the Nebraska Department of Health and 

Human Services, Division of Public Health Certificate of Need process; or 
3. For facilities purchased as an ongoing operation on or after December 1, 1984, the 

allowable cost of the asset to the owner of record as of December 1, 1984, or for assets 
not in existence as of December 1, 1984, the first owner of record thereafter. 

471 NAC 31-008.07E, Recapture of Depreciation, will apply to this part. 

The fixed cost basis of personal property (furniture, moveable equipment and vehicles) for 
facilities purchased as an ongoing operation or for newly constructed facilities or facility additions 
is the lesser of: 
1. The acquisition cost of the asset to the new owner; 
2. The acquisition cost which is approved by the Division of Public Health Certificate of Need 

process; or 
3. For facilities purchased as an ongoing operation on or after December 1, 1984, the seller's 

Medicaid net book value at the time of purchase. 

471 NAC 31-008.07E, Recapture of Depreciation, does not apply to personal property. 

Costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs, travel costs, and the costs of 
feasibility studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset (by acquisition or merger) for which any payment has previously been made are not 
allowable. 

This part will not apply to changes of ownership of assets pursuant to an enforceable agreement 
entered into before December 1, 1984. 

TN# NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN# 09-05 

Approved APR 15 201! Effective JUL 0 12014 



31-008.06C4b ICFIIIOs with 4-15 beds: 

ATIACHMENT 4.19-0 
Page 67 

The Non-Personnel Operating Cost Component of the Final Rate is the allowable non-personnel 
operating cost per day as computed for the ICFIIIO_provider's most recent cost report period. 

31-008.06C5 ICF/110 Fixed Cost Component: This component includes the interest, depreciation, 
amortization, long~term rent/lease payments, personal property tax, real estate tax, gross revenue tax, and 
other fixed costs. The fixed cost component is the allowable fixed cost per day as computed for the facility's 
most recent cost report period. 

31-008.06C6 ICF/110 Ancillary Cost Component: The ancillary cost component of the rate is the allowable 
ancillary cost per day as computed for the facility's most recent report period. 

31-008.06C7 ICF/110 Inflation Factor: The Inflation Factor is determined from spending projections 
computed using: 

1. Audited cost and census data following the initial desk audits; 
2. Budget directives from the Nebraska Legislature; and 
3. Effective for the rate period beginning July 1, 2015 and for subsequent rate periods, proceeds from 

the ICF/00 Reimbursement Protection Fund as specified in Nebraska Revised Statute 68-1804(4)(e). 

For the Rate Period of July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, the inflation factor is positive 3.18%. 

31-008.06C81CF/110 Revenue Tax Cost Component: 

31-008.06C8a ICF/IIDs with 16 or more beds: 
Under the ICFIOD Reimbursement Protection Act, the ICF/110 revenue tax per diem is computed as the 
prior report period net revenue times the applicable tax percentages(s) divided by the prior report period 
facility resident days. (See 405 NAC 1-003.).The Tax Cost Component shall be prorated when the 
revenue tax is based on less than a full fiscal year's data. 

31-008.06C8b ICF/IIDs with 4-15 beds: 
Under the ICF/00 Reimbursement Protection Act, the ICF/110 revenue tax per diem is computed as the 
prior report period net revenue times the applicable tax percentage(s) divided by the prior report period 
facility resident days. (See 405 NAC 1-003.). The Tax Cost Component shall be prorated when the 
revenue tax is based on less than a full year's data. 

31-008.06C9 ICF/110 Exception Process: An individual facility may request, on an exception basis, the 
Director of the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term Care to consider specific facility circumstance(s), which 
warrant an exception to the facility's rate computed for its Fixed Cost Component. An exception may only 
be requested if the facility's total fixed costs (total costs, not per diem rate), as compared to the immediately 
prior report period, have increased by ten percent or more, In addition, the facility's request must include: 

1. Specific identification of the increased cost(s) that have caused the facility's total fixed costs to 
increase by 10 percent or more, with justification for the reasonableness and necessity of the increase; 

2. Whether the cost increase(s) are an ongoing or a one-time occurrence in the cost of operating the 
facility; and 

3. If applicable, preventive management action that was implemented to control past and future cause(s) 
of identified cost increases(s). 

TN# NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 13-20 

Approved APR 1 § Z01S Effective _JU_t_O_l_l0_14 



ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 5 

12-011.04E Payments to Nursing Facility Provider SEPARATE from Per Diem Rates: Items for 
which payment may be made to -Nursing Facility providers and are not considered part of the 
facility's Medi~aid per diem are listed below. 

To be covered, the client's condition must meet the criteria for coverage for the item outlined in 
the appropriate Medicaid provider chapter. 

1. Non-standard wheelchairs, including power-operated vehicles, and wheelchair seating 
systems, including certain pressure reducing wheelchair cushions, needed for the client's 
permanent and full time use (see 471 NAC 7-000); 

2. Air fluidized bed units and low air loss bed units (see 47~ NAC 7-000); and 
3. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy, See 471 NAC 7-000}. 

Reimbursement to Nursing Facility providers separate from per diem rates is based on a Medicaid fee 
schedule. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 
governmental and private providers of nursing facility services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set 
as of July 1, 2014 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on 
the agency's website at 
http://dhhs.ne.gov/medicaid/Pages/med practitioner fee schedule.aspx. 

12-011.05 Unallowable Costs: The following costs are specifically unallowable: 
1. Provisions for income tax; 
2. Fees paid board of directors; 
3. Non-working officers' salaries; 
4. Promotion expenses, except for promotion and advertising as allowed in HIM-15. Yellow 

Page display advertising is not allowable; one Yellow Page informational listing per local 
area telephone directory is allowable; 

5. Travel and entertainment, other than for professional meetings and direct operations of 
facility. This may include costs of motor homes, boats, and other recreational vehicles, 
including operation and maintenance expenses; real property used as vacation facilities; etc.; 

6. Donations; 
7. Expenses of non-nursing home facilities and operations included in expenses; 
8. Insurance and/or annuity premiums on the life of the officer or owner; 
9. Bad debts, charity, and courtesy allowances; 
1 0. Costs and portions of costs which are determined by the Department not to be reasonably 

related to the efficient production of service because of either the nature or amount of the 
particular expenditure; 

11. Services provided by the clients' physicians, therapists or dentists, drugs, laboratory services, 
radiology services, or services provided by similar independent licensed providers, except 
services provided by state operated facilities. These exclusions are paid separately; 

12. Return on equity; 

TN#. NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN#. NE 13-07 

Approval Date APR 15 2019' . JUt n 1 l014 Effective Date · v ----



ATTACHMENT 4.19~D 
Page 55 

3. Transportation: The facility is responsible for ensuring that all clients receive appropriate 
medical care. The facility must provide transportation to client services that are 
reimbursed by Medicaid (i.e., physician, dental, etc.). The reasonable cost of maintaining 
and operating a vehicle for patient transportation is an allowable cost and is reimbursable 
under the long term care reimbursement plan. 

31~008.03C Ancillary Services: Ancillary services are those services which are either provided by or 
purchased by an ICFIIDD and are not properly classified as "routine services." The ICFIIDD must 
contract for ancillary services not readily available in the ICFIIDD. · · 

If ancillary services are provided by a licensed provider, e.g., physician, dentist, etc., the provider 
must submit a separate claim for each client served. 

Occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech pathology, audiology, psychological, and resident 
transportation services are considered routine operating costs for ICF/IDDs. 

Department~required independent QMRP assessments are considered ancillary services. 

31-008.030 Pavment to ICFIIDD Provider SEPARATE from Per Diem Rates: Items for which 
payment may be made to ICFIIDD Facility providers and are not considered part of the facility's 
Medicaid per diem are listed below. To be covered, the client's condition must meet the criteria for 
coverage for the item outlined in 471 NAC 7-000. 

1. Non-standard wheelchairs and components; 
2. Air fluidized bed units and low air loss bed units; and 
3. Negative Pressure Wound Therapy. 

Reimbursement to ICFIIDD providers separate from per diem rates is based on a Medicaid fee 
schedule. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same 
for both governmental and private providers of ICFIIDD services. The agency's fee schedule rate 
was set as of July 1, 2014 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are 
published on the agency's website at 
http:l/dhhs.ne.gov/medicaid/Pages/med practitioner fee schedule.aspx. 

31-008.03E Payments to Other Providers: Items for which payment may be authorized to non~ 
ICFIIDD providers and are not considered part of the facility's Medicaid per diem are listed below. 
To be covered, the client's condition must meet the criteria for coverage for the item as outlined in 
the appropriate Medicaid provider chapter. The provider of the service may be required to request 
prior authorization of payment for the service. 

1. Legend drugs, OTC drugs*, and compounded prescriptions, including intravenous 
solutions and dilutants (see 471 NAC 16-000). *Note: Bulk supply OTC drugs may be 
provided by the facility in accordance with physician orders and then become an 
allowable cost on the facility's cost report; 

2. Personal appliances and devices, if recommended in writing by a physician, such as 
eye glasses, hearing aids, etc.; 

3. Orthoses (e.g. lower and upper limb, foot and spinal) as defined in 471 NAC 7~000; 
4. Prostheses (e.g. breast, eye, lower and upper limb) as defined in 471 NAC 7-000; 

TN#. NE 14~010 

Supersedes 
TN #. NE 13-07 

Approval Date APR li t015. Effective Date JUL () 1 Z014 



ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page9 

12-011.06G Interest Expense: Interest cost will not be allowed on loan principal balances which are in 
excess of 80 percent of the fixed asset cost recognized by the Department for nursing facility care. This 
limitation does not apply to government owned facilities. 

12-011.06H Recognition of Fixed Cost Basis: The fixed cost basis of real property (land, land 
improvements, buildings, and equipment permanently attached to the building) for facilities purchased 
as an ongoing operation or for newly constructed facilities or facility additions is the lesser of: 

1. The acquisition cost of the asset to the new owner; 
2. The acquisition cost which is approved by the Division of. Public Health Certificate of Need 

process; or 
3. For facilities purchased as an ongoing operation of or after December 1, 1984, the allowable 

cost of the asset to the owner of record as of December 1 , 1984, or for assets not in existence 
as of December 1, 1984, the first owner of record thereafter. 

471 NAC 12-011.09E, Recapture of Depreciation, will apply to this part. 

The fixed cost basis of personal property (furniture, moveable equipment and vehicles) for facilities 
purchased as an ongoing operation or for newly constructed facilities or facility additions is the lesser of: 

1. The acquisition cost of the asset to the new owner; 
2. The acquisition cost which is approved by the Division of Public Health Certificate of Need 
process; or 
3. For facilities purchased as an ongoing operation on or after December 1, 1984, the seller's 
Medicaid net book value at the time of purchase. 

471 NAC 12-011.09E, Recapture of Depreciation, does not apply to personal property. 

Costs (including legal fees, accounting and administrative costs, travel costs, and the costs of feasibility 
studies) attributable to the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset (by 
acquisition or merger) for which any payment has previously been made are not allowable. 

This part will not apply to changes of ownership of assets pursuant to an enforceable agreement entered 
into before December 1, 1984. 

12-011.06J Certificate of Need Approved Projects: Notwithstanding any other provision of 471 NAC 12-
011, the fixed costs reported to the Department for a Division of Public Health Certificate of Need 
reviewed project must not exceed the amount that would result from the application of the approved 
project provisions including the estimated interest rates and asset lives. 

Certificate of Need provisions recognized by the Department for the purposes of rate setting are the 
original project as approved, the approved project amendments submitted within 90 days of the transfer 
of ownership or opening of newly constructed areas, and the allowable cost overruns disclosed in a final 
project report submitted to the Division of Public Health within 180 days of the opening of newly 
constructed areas. Project amendments and project reports submitted to the Division of Public Health 
Certificate of Need after the periods defined above will be recognized upon approval beginning on the 
date that the amendment or report is received by the Division of Public Health. The added costs incurred 
before the date the late amendment or report is filed will not be recognized retroactively for rate setting. 

TN#. NE 14-010 

Supersedes 
TN#. MS-07-04 

Approval Date APR 15 ~015 Effective Date JUL 0 1 Z014 



ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 15 

12-011.08D3 Fixed Cost Component: This component of the prospective rate is computed by dividing the 
facility's allowable interest, depreciation, amortization, long-term rent/lease payments, personal property 
tax, real estate tax, and other fixed costs by the facility's total inpatient days (see 471 NAC 12-011.06B). 
Rate determination for the Fixed Cost Component for an individual facility is computed using the lower of 
its own per diem as computed above, or a maximum per diem of $27.00 excluding personal property and 
real estate taxes. 

12-011.08D4 Nursing Facility Quality Assessment Component: The Nursing Facility Quality Assessment 
component shall not be subject to any cost limitation or revenue offset. 

For purposes of this section, facilities exempt from the Quality Assurance Assessment are: 
1. State-operated veterans homes; 
2. Nursing facilities and skilled nursing facilities with twenty-six or fewer licensed beds; and 
3. Continuing care retirement communities. 

The quality assessment component rate will be determined by calculating the 'anticipated tax payments' 
during the rate year and then dividing the total anticipated tax payments by 'total anticipated nursing 
facility/skilled nursing facility patient days,' including bed hold days and Medicare patient days. 

For each rate year, total facility patient days, including bed hold days, less Medicare days, for the four most 
recent calendar quarters available at the time rates are determined will be used to calculate the 'anticipated 
tax payments.' Total facility patient days, including bed hold days and Medicare days, for the same four 
calendar quarters will be used to calculate the 'anticipated nursing facility/skilled nursing facility patient 
days.' 

New providers entering the Medicaid program to operate a nursing facility not previously enrolled in 
Medicaid: 
For the Rate Period beginning on the Medicaid certification date through the following June 30, the quality 
assessment rate component is computed as the Quality Assurance Assessment Amount Due from the 
provider's first Quality Assurance Assessment Form covering a full calendar quarter, divided by Total 
Resident Days in Licensed Beds from the same Quality Assurance Assessment Form. 

Existing providers changing from exempt to non-exempt status: 
For the Rate Period beginning on the first day of the first full month the provider is subject to the Quality 
Assurance Assessment through the following June 30, the quality assessment rate component is computed 
as the Quality Assurance Assessment Amount Due from the provider's first Quality Assurance Assessment 
Form covering a full calendar quarter, divided by Total Resident Days in Licensed Beds from the same 
Quality Assurance Assessment Form. 

Existing providers changing from non-exempt to exempt status: 
For Rate Periods beginning with the first day of the first full month the provider is exempt from the Quality 
Assurance Assessment, the quality assessment rate component will be $0.00 (zero dollars). 

12-011.08D51nflation Factor: For the Rate Period of July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, the inflation factor 
is positive 2.13%. 

12-011.08D6 Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Rate Add-on: Effective August 1, 2013, nursing facilities 
are responsible for costs of certain durable medical equipment. To account for these increased costs on 
prospective rates only: 

1. For the rate period August 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, prospective rates will be increased by 
$.90/day. 

2. For the rate period July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, prospective rates will be increased by 
$.90/day. 

TN# NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN# NE 13-20 

Approved APR 16 201S Effective JUL 0 1l014 



A IT ACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 73 

3. Based on the lesser of cost or fair market value at the time of purchase for a facility 
purchased or constructed after June 30, 1976. The basis for facility purchases or new 
construction may be subject to limitation (see 471 NAC 31-008.05J and K) 

4. Based on the fair market value at the time of donation for donated assets without a prior 
Medicaid basis; or based on the donor's Medicaid net book value at the time of the donation 
for donated assets with a prior Medicaid basis. Depreciation on donated assets must be 
funded in order to be allowed; this requires that moneY. be segregated and specifically 
dedicated for the purpose of replacing the asset; and 

5. Prorated over the estimated useful life of the asset using the straight-line method of 
depreciation. 

31-008.07D (reserved) 

31-008.07E Recapture of Depreciation: Depreciation in 471 NAC 31-008.07E refers to real 
property only. An ICF/DD which is sold for a profit and has received NMAP payments for 
depreciation must refund to the Department the lower of: 

1. The amount of depreciation allowed and paid by the Department between October 17, 
1977, and the time of sale of the property; or 

2. The product of the ratio of depreciation paid by the Department since October 17, 1977, to 
the total depreciation accumulated by the facility (adjusted to total allowable depreciation 
under the straight-line method, if any other method has been used) times the difference in 
the sale price of the property over the book value of the assets sold. 

Depreciation Paid by State 
X (Sales Price- Book Value) 

Accumulated Depreciation 

If the recapture of depreciation in any or all years before August 1, 1982, would have resulted 
in additional return on equity as allowed by the reimbursement plan then in effect, the amount 
of return on equity must be offset against the amount of recapture. 

TN# NE 14-010 
Supersedes 
TN# 09-05 

Approved A.PR Hi 2015 Effective _JU_L_O _1_2014 
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