Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: NH

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 13-012

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



FEB 06 2014

Nicholas A. Toumpas, Commissioner Department of Health and Human Services State of New Hampshire 129 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03301

RE: New Hampshire SPA 13-012

Dear Mr. Toumpas:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid state plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 13-012. Specifically, this amendment adjusts the Psychiatric Designated Receiving Facility (DRF) price per point rate for eligible inpatient acute hospitals.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a) and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 13-012 is approved effective August 1, 2013. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291.

Circle Mana

Cindy Mann Director

OMB NO. 0938-0193 2. STATE NH
TITLE XIX OF THE CAID)
CAID)
ch amendmeni)
RSEDED PLAN SECTION e):
I pending
ECIFIED: comments, if any,
Building
n Building rvices
rvices
2014
rvices

- d. Other relevant calculations:
 - (1) The Department separates inpatient hospital providers into peer groups according to the intensity of care provided in each. The peer groups are set up for general acute care, critical access hospitals (CAH), distinct part units for psychiatric care, rehabilitative care and maternity care in the northern county. The Department sets a base rate (Price per Point) for each peer group. The Price per Point values for hospital peer groups are accessible at:

http://www.nhmmis.nh.gov (go to "documents and forms" under the "documentation" tab)

(2) The current Price per Point rates are as follows:

Acute Care = \$2,832.85 CAH = \$3,147.61 Psych DPU = \$3,114.01 Psych DRF = \$7,200.00 Rehab = \$14,514.98 Maternity = \$3,147.61

- (3) DRG reimbursement is calculated by multiplying the Price per Point for the appropriate peer group times the relative weight assigned to the DRG.
- (4) The DRG amount determined above is multiplied by the reimbursement percentage assigned to the provider. The reimbursement percent is 100% except for maternity which is a 300% multiplier effective 7/1/09 as specified in item 3.a.(5) above.
- (5) The per diem price associated with a given DRG shall be calculated by dividing the price for that DRG by the geometric mean length of stay associated with that DRG.
- 4. Direct medical education costs shall be allowed as a pass through payment in accordance with Department guidelines which shall be based on Medicare guidelines established at 42 CFR 412.2, except that direct medical education pass through payments shall be suspended for the period beginning July 1, 2013 and ending June 30, 2015.
- 5. Day outliers shall be reimbursed on a per diem DRG payment unless payment is suspended in accordance with 3. b. (2). Cost outliers shall not be recognized nor reimbursed. (also, see 3.b.(2) and 3.d. for day outliers.)
- 6. Periodic interim payments as made under the Medicare Program shall not be made by the Medicaid Program.
- 7. Pricing shall be prospective and payment shall be retrospective.
- 8. Payment rates shall be based on the relative weights and payment rates in effect at the time of discharge, taking into account the requirement to pay the lesser of the usual and customary charge or the computed rate, in accordance with 42 CFR 447.271 and RSA 126-A:3.
- Providers of hospital services shall make quarterly refunds of Medicaid payments that are in excess of the Medicaid allowed amounts.

TN No: 13-012

Supersedes

TN No: 13-011 pending

Approval Date B 0 6 2014

Effective Date: 08/01/2013