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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services g
New York Regional Office &
26 Federal Plaza, Room 37-100

New York, NY 10278 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND CHILDREN'S HEALTH OPERATIONS

June 6, 2014

Valarie Harr, Director

State of New Jersey

Department of Human Services

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services
P.O. Box 712

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712

Dear Ms. Harr:

Enclosed is an approved copy of New Jersey’s state plan amendment (SPA) 14-0002, which was
submitted to CMS on March 11, 2014. SPA 14-0002 incorporates Presumptive Eligibility by
Hospitals (S21), into New Jersey’s Medicaid state plan in accordance with the Affordable Care
Act. The effective date of this SPA is January 1, 2014.

We are approving this SPA with the understanding that New Jersey is currently incorporating the
following system changes, to be completed by July 30, 2014:

e Correcting language on page 2 of provided screenshots stating that non-citizen child
applicants who qualify under the state’s CHIPRA 214 option only need to be lawfully
residing in the U.S., not necessarily permanently

e The following questions will be non-required questions: Social Security Number,
race/ethnicity, and questions regarding full-time student status, place of birth, and current
health insurance coverage.

e The state will add a question regarding the former foster care eligibility group to
qualifying questions on page 6 of the provided screenshots, and build logic into their
system to ensure that there is no income test for former foster care youth.

Enclosed is a copy of the new state plan pages and attachments to be incorporated within a
separate section at the end of New Jersey’s approved state plan:

. S21, pages S21-1, S21-2 and S21-3
. Attachment 1- Presumptive Eligibility Client Letter
. Attachment 2 — Presumptive Eligibility Training for Providers/Determining Entities
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CMS appreciates the significant amount of work your staff dedicated to preparing this state plan
amendment. If you have any questions concerning this SPA, please contact Patricia Ryan at
(212) 616-2436 or at Patricia.Ryan@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,
/s/

Michael Melendez

Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children Health
Enclosure
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Medicaid State Plan Eligibility: Summary Page (CMS 179)

State/Territory name: New Jersey

Transmittal Number:
Please enter the Transmittal Number (TN) in the format ST-YY-0000 where ST= the state abbreviation, YY = the last two digits of
the submission year, and 0000 = a four digit number with leading zeros. The dashes must also be entered.

NJ-14-0002

Proposed Effective Date
01/01/2014 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation
42 CFR 435.1110

Federal Budget Impact
Federal Fiscal Year Amount
First Year 2014 $0.00
Second Year 2015 $0.00

Subject of Amendment
Presumptive Eligibility by Hospitals (S21)

Governor's Office Review
Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal
%’ Other, as specified

Describe:

Not required pursuant to Section 7.4 of the plan.

Signature of State Agency Official

Submitted By: Julie Hubbs
Last Revision Date: Jun 2, 2014
Submit Date: Mar 11, 2014

https://wms-mmdl.cdsvdc.com/MMDL/faces/protected/mac/c01/print/PrintSelector.jsp 06/09/2014




TS Medicaid Eligibility
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OMB Control Number 0938-1148
OMB Expiration date: 10/31/2014

S21

42 CFR 435.1110

One or more qualified hospitals are determining presumptive eligibility under 42 CFR 435.1110, and the state is providing Medicaid
coverage for individuals determined presumptively eligible under this provision.

® Yes (No

The state attests that presumptive eligibility by hospitals is administered in accordance with the following provisions:
[m] A qualified hospital is a hospital that:

Participates as a provider under the Medicaid state plan or a Medicaid 1115 Demonstration, notifies the Medicaid agency of
[W] its election to make presumptive eligibility determinations and agrees to make presumptive eligibility determinations
consistent with state policies and procedures.

Has not been disqualified by the Medicaid agency for failure to make presumptive eligibility determinations in accordance
[m] with applicable state policies and procedures or for failure to meet any standards that may have been established by the
Medicaid agency.

Assists individuals in completing and submitting the full application and understanding any documentation requirements.
@®Yes (No
[®] The eligibility groups or populations for which hospitals determine eligibility presumptively are:
[m] Pregnant Women
[M] Infants and Children under Age 19
[W] Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives
[m] Adult Group, if covered by the state
[B] Individuals above 133% FPL under Age 65, if covered by the state
[W@] Individuals Eligible for Family Planning Services, if covered by the state
[W] Former Foster Care Children
[W] Certain Individuals Needing Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer, if covered by the state
[] Other Family/Adult groups:
[7] Eligibility groups for individuals age 65 and over
[] Eligibility groups for individuals who are blind
[] Eligibility groups for individuals with disabilities
[ ] Other Medicaid state plan eligibility groups
[[] Demonstration populations covered under section 1115

The state establishes standards for qualified hospitals making presumptive eligibility determinations.

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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"CNMS Medicaid Eligibility
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®Yes (No

Select one or both:

The state has standards that relate to the proportion of individuals determined presumptively eligible who submit a regular
“~ application, as described at 42 CFR 435.907, before the end of the presumptive eligibility period.

Although not required for Presumptive Eligibility, 80 percent of the Presumptive Eligibility
applications must result in a full Medicaid application. Participating entities are required to do a
Medicaid eligibility check for 100% of Presumptive Eligibility applicants. Any PE forms
designed by the hospital must be approved by DMAHS.

Description of standards:

[ The state has standards that relate to the proportion of individuals who are determined eligible for Medicaid based on the
submission of an application before the end of the presumptive eligibility period.

[W] The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made.
[W] The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of:

The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of
the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or

The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no
application for Medicaid is filed by that date.

[®] Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows:
(" No more than one period within a calendar year.
C No more than one period within two calendar years.

o Vo more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility
period.

(" Other reasonable limitation:
The state requires that a written application be signed by the applicant, parent or representative, as appropriate.
C Yes (& No
[m] The presumptive eligibility determination is based on the following factors:

The individual’s categorical or non-financial eligibility for the group for which the individual’s presumptive eligibility is
[W] being determined (e.g., based on age, pregnancy status, status as a parent/caretaker relative, disability, or other requirements
specified in the Medicaid state plan or a Medicaid 1115 demonstration for that group)

O Household income must not exceed the applicable income standard for the group for which the individual's presumptive
eligibility is being determined, if an income standard is applicable for this group.

State residency
X Citizenship, status as a national, or satisfactory immigration status

The state assures that it has communicated the requirements for qualified hospitals, and has provided adequate training to the
hospitals. A copy of the training materials has been included.

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 | Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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"CMS Medicaid Eligibility
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PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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GOVERNORNAME State of Pew Jergey COMMISSIONERNAME
Governor DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Commissioner
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES
LT.GOVERNORNAME P.0.Box 712, Trenton, NJ 08625-0712 DIRECTORNAME
Lt. Governor ' Telephone: 1-800-356-1561 Director

Health Benefits Identification Card
Presumptive Eligibility Letter

State of New Jersey
ticaleh Rencfits Mdearification Cand

TUN 7 ARO0U0CI 2N ’

bolbas i

Date:

Dear Provider:

NEW APPLICANT: The NJFamilyCare (NJFC) client listed below has been found presumptively
eligible, and will receive a plastic Health Benefits Identification (HBID) card in the mail shortly. In
the meantime, please accept this letter in place of the client's new HBID card. For new applicants
only this letter serves as temporary verification of NJFC presumptive eligibility for the period
listed below.

If you want to register to vote, you can complete a voter registration form at
http://www.state.nj.us/state/elections/voting-information-voter-registration-forms.html.

PE Confirmation Number
Client Name
Date of Birth

Client Address

Oﬂice ame
Name of Staff Contact
Phone Number

PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY LETTER VALID FROM UNTIL

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
New Jersey S21




Presumptlve Ellglblllty
s/Determini n Entltles

Moving Forward

2~ State of New Jersey
g‘ﬁgf: Deprarryenrt or HusmaN ServicES

1
" DivisioN oF MEpIcaL AssISTANCE & Hearrn SERvICES

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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Presumptive Eligibility

Who is Eligible for PE?

e Uninsured children (CHIP) up to age 19 up to 350% FPL (355%)*
e Children up to age 1 up to 194% FPL (199%)*

e Children (Medicaid PE) up to age 19 up to 142% FPL (147%)*

* Pregnant Women up to 194% (199%)*

* Childless Adults 19-64 years old up to 133%FPL (138%)*

e Parents/Caretakers up to 133% FPL (138%)*

* Former Foster Care Children (Hospital PE, No Income Limit)

* Breast and Cervical Cancer (Hospital PE)

* 5% disregard allowed on highest thresholds

D\ STATE OF New Jersey
24ax Y )
i ;) Derarrsent of Human Services 5

=~/ Division oF MEDICAL AsSISTANCE & HEALTH SERVICES

TN: 14-0002 : Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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Presumptive Eligibility

Must be:
* New Jersey Residents
* U.S. citizens

* Noncitizen PE applicants must be lawfully
residing in the U.S.

Note: PE is self attestation-driven
No documents are required

3
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Presumptive Eligibility

* |Individuals are eligible for PE only once ina 12
month period

* Pregnant women are eligible for PE once per
pregnancy

4
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~ New Jersey Approval Date: 06/06/2014
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PE Determination Entity Requirements

Qualified entity means an entity that is determined by the State to be capable
of making determinations of presumptive eligibility and that:

* furnishes health care items and services covered under the Medicaid State
Plan and is eligible to receive payments under the approved plan;

* is authorized to determine eligibility of a child for medical assistance
under the Medicaid State plan, or eligibility of a child health assistance
under the State Children’s Health Insurance Program.

Each entity must:

° Notify DMAHS of its decision to make presumptive eligibility
determinations

* Participate in PE training

* Agree to make determinations consistent with state policies and
procedures

5
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PE Determination Entity Requirements

 100% of PE applications must be looked up on
MEVS/REVS

e Although not required for Presumptive Eligibility, 80%
of the PE applications should result in a full Medicaid
application (Hospitals only)

* Individuals are not required to apply for full Medicaid

* Third party vendors may assist hospitals/applicants
with the HPE application process, however vendors
cannot make determinations.

6
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Application Process - Providers B

* Do not complete a PE application if the

~ applicant already has PE or full Medicaid
eligibility

e PE application must be completed online by a
PE provider during a face-to-face interview

* |f applicant does not have a phone number,
the Determining Agency (DA) may use their
phone number on the PE application

AR Stare of New Jersey
i {3}'/ Derarratent of HuMaN ServICES 7
AR ~

DivisioN or MEDICAL AssisTANCE & HEeALTH SERVICES
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Application Process (cont.)

* PE on-line application must be completed the day of service.

¢ Must include a dollar amount for income. Cannot enter “$0”, unless
explanation of survival without any income

* If “S0” income, select living situation from drop down menu and/or
provide explanation in income comment text box

* The drop menu has the following options:
— Room & Board
— Homeless
— Living off Savings/Checking and Amount
— Living with Family or Friends
— Lives in shelter
— Unemployed #months

A Stare o New Jersey
B s
P Deraresent or Huasan Services 8

"2/ DivisioN oF MEDICAL AssISTANCE & HEearri SERVICES

TN: 14-0002 :
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TN: 14-0002
New Jersey

Application Process - Providers

* To ensure their income is within income guidelines,
the PE worker must manually compare the DMAHS
income standard chart to the PE online application
when entering the applicant’s household income

* Simultaneously, the on-line PE application is

received by the PE Unit and the appropriate County
Welfare Agency/Vendor who will use the PE
application to begin the process to determine full
eligibility, if the applicant wishes to apply

9
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‘ Application Process (cont.)

» Name
> Address
» County

» Modified Adjusted Gross
Income (MAGI)

> Household size

» SSN (optional)

> Citizenship Status
> Date of entry

> Date of Birth

> Race

> Insurance Information (optional)

» Marital Status

oA Stave oF New Jersty
x!}‘éﬁr] Deprarysent or Human Services
A MK

Z/ DivisioN or MEDICAL AsSISTANCE & HEALTH SERVICES

TN: 14-0002 -

New Jersey

Approval Date: 06/06/2014

521

The PE application fields that must be completed are:
NJFC

Preghant Women
>Name

»Address

»County

»>SSN (optional)

» Marital Status

» Citizenship Status
» Date of entry
>Race

>Due Date

» Date of Birth
»Household size

» Modified Adjusted Gross
Income (MAGI)

10
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TN: 14-0002

New Jersey

wbg, !)r-.m RTA
<=/ DivisioN or MLD:CAL Assxs TANCE & HEeALTH SERVICES

Application Process (cont.)

Provider should save or print a copy of the
application for patient’s file

Copy of the application and a HBID PE letter shaII
be given to the patient

State PE Unit assigns a PE number and an HBID
Card is generated and mailed to the applicant

PE Unit sends an acknowledgement letter to the
PE provider advising of PE Medicaid number,

ENT o HumaN Services 11
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PE Coordinators

PE Coordinators and staff must be trained and
knowledgeable in the determination of
Presumptive Eligibility

PE Coordinators are required to be an employee

of the Medicaid entity and monitor, onsite, the
Presumptive Eligibility determination at all times

PE Coordinators can monitor a maximum of two
sites, however a back-up person should be at
each site to oversee the PE process

Multiple sites will require additional PE
Coordinators, in order to adhere to this guideline

£\ STATE OF New Jersey
Fader) DeparTMENT OF HuMaN Services 12

\ ~
<=/ DivisioN oF MEDICAL AsSISTANCE & HEeALTH SERVICES
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PE Coordinators (cont.)

* PE Coordinators may be urged to try to follow-
up with a Medicaid application from the |
individual within 5 days as a best practice, but
a Medicaid application cannot be required

* PE Coordinators must communicate with the
DMAHS regarding any changes in staff or
location

13
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Certification & Training

* CEO or representative completes MOLINA application
for both PEPW and PEFC at www.hjmmis.com and
sends to DMAHS

* Memorandum of Understanding is signed by Entity's
CEO or representative and returned '

* DMAHS sends an email notification to Provider/Entity
regarding mandatory training

frar\ STATE oF Niw Jersey
D) Departsent or HusMAN Services 14
R .

Division or Mepicar Assistance &« HeaLrn SErvices
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Certification & Training (cont.)

* HealthStart certification (Pregnant Women
only)

* All PE staff are mandated to complete PE
training in order to determine PE

N\ STATE oF Niw Jer

x‘ﬁlf Deparrseny 01 HumaN Services 15
2/ Division oF MebicarL Assistance & Heacri SErvicEs
TN: 14-0002 ' Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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HBID Card

The client will get their Health Benefits
ldentification Card (HBID) in the mail

within two weeks.
Information/Assistance Hotline
1-877-414-9251

AN\ State of New Jersey

i ;gf DepvarrsteNt or Hunan Services 16
A4 N

/' DivisioN or Mebpicat Assistance & HEALTi SERVICES
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What happens next?

* Once full Medicaid is determined, individuals
receive a Health Plan packet

* Applicants will be notified in writing of the full
eligibility determination |

* Beneficiaries will be required to renew their
insurance yearly

* The PE staff should check MEVS/REVS system
for full eligibility when the client returns for
follow-up visit or for billing purposes (100%)

oA Svate of New Jersey
d ?ir’ DerarTMENT 0 HUMAN SERVICES 17
"z’ DivisioN or MEDICAL AssisTANCE & HEALTH SERVICES
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Applicant Responsibilities

* Must provide true and accurate statements at
the PE interview

A\ STATE OF New Jersey

géﬁ’, Derartaient or Human SERVICES
7 Division or MEDICAL ASSISTANCE & HEALTH SERVICES
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The State PE Unit’s
- Responsibilities

* Train PE providers and determining
agencies

* Monitor PE determination for accuracy
and ongoing training needs

* Offer retraining if provider or entity does
not meet the performance standards

,'g DeprartsteNt OF Husman Strvices 19
\ 3 S/ -
</ DivisioN or MepIcAL AssisTANCE & Hearrn SERVICES

TN: 14-0002 Approval Date: 06/06/2014 . Effective Date: 01/01/2014
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The State PE Unit’s
Responsibilities

* Establish PE eligibility record for the limited
PE time period

—PE is determined by the entity

—Starts the day of the PE determination

—Ends the last day of the month following

= State of N RSEY
PARTMENT OF HusaN Services 20
=/ DivisioN or MEpIcAL AsSISTANCE & HEALTH SERVICES

)
Je )

TN: 14-0002
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the month PE was determined

—Problem solve and distribute information
to all PE Providers

Approval Date: 06/06/2014 Effective Date: 01/01/2014r
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Breast and Cervical Cancer Program

The intent of the Breast and Cervical Cancer
Prevention and Treatment Act of 2000 is to
provide full Medicaid benefits to uninsured
women under the age of 65 who have been
diagnosed with breast and/or cervical cancer,
and are in need of treatment. As part of the
eligibility requirement for this program, women
must be screened through the New Jersey
Cancer Education and Early Detection Program
(NJCEED) administered by the Dept. of Health
and Senior Services.

21
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TN: 14-0002
New Jersey

Breast and Cervical Cancer Program
Eligibility Requirements

Uninsured women under age 65

Financially eligible for the NJCEED screening (income
at or below 250% FPL, no asset test required)
Screened for breast and/or cervical cancer through
one of NJCEED sites and requires cancer treatment
Do not qualify for any other Medicaid program

New Jersey resident

U.S. Citizens or qualified aliens (5 year bar applies)
Eligibility continues, regardless of any changes in
financial circumstances, until she no longer requires
cancer treatment

22
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Presumptive Eligibility for the
Breast and Cervical Cancer Program

* NJCEED site sends documentation to state PE unit

* PE unit establishes PE record

* PE period begins the date the woman is screened
for breast and/or cervical cancer by the NJCEED
program site |

* PE period ends at the end of the following month

e Health Benefits Identification (HBID) card is issued

* PE unit sends acknowledgement letters to NJCEED
program site and the County Welfare Agency
(CWA)
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