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Department of Health & Human Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
233 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 600
Chicago, Illinois 60601-5519

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

April 27, 2016

John B. McCarthy, Director
Ohio Department of Medicaid
P.O. Box 182709

50 West Town Street, Suite 400
Columbus, Ohio 43218

RE: TN 16-004

Dear Mr. McCarthy:

Enclosed for your records is an approved copy of the following State Plan Amendment (SPA):

Transmittal #16-004 - Coverage & Limitations and Payment: Other Licensed

Practitioner Services

- Effective Date: July 1, 2016

If you have any questions regarding this SPA, please have a member of your staff contact
Christine Davidson at (312) 886-3642 or by email at christine.davidson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

/sl Alan Freund, Acting ARA

Ruth A. Hughes

Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations

Enclosure

cc: Sarah Curtin, ODM
Carolyn Humphrey, ODM
Becky Jackson, ODM
Greg Niehoff, ODM


mailto:christine.davidson@cms.hhs.gov

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

I. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE
16-004 OHIO

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
07/01/16

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[ ] NEW STATE PLAN

[] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

Xl AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
1905(a)(6) of the Act
42 CFR 440.60

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
a. FFY 16 $ 32.643 thousands
b. FFY 17 $ 130.572 thousands

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 3.1-A, Item 6-d-2, pages | and 2 of 2
Attachment 4.19-B, Item 6-d-(2), page 1 and 2 of 2

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (iIf Applicable):

Attachment 3.1-A, Item 6-d-2, pages 1 and 2 of 2 (TN 15-018)
Attachment 4.19-B, Item 6-d-(2), page 1 and 2 of 2 (TN 15-018)

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Coverage and Limitations and Payment for Services: OLP: New Provider Types

11. GOVERNOR'’S REVIEW (Check One):
[[] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[l NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

<] OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:

The State Medicaid Director is the Governor’s designee

12. SIGNATURE OF

13. TYPED NAME:

14, TITLE: STATE MEDICAID DIRECTOR

15. DATE SUBMITTED: April 14, 2016

16. RETURN TO:

Carolyn Humphrey

Ohio Department of Medicaid
P.O. BOX 182709

Columbus, Ohio 43218

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
April 14,2016

18. DATE APPROVED:
April 27, 2016

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
July 1, 2016

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:
s/

21. TYPED NAME:
Alan Freund

22. TITLE:
Acting Associate Regional Administrator
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State of Ohio Attachment 3.1-A
Item 6-d-2
Page 1 of 2

6. Medical care and any other types of remedial care recognized under state law furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law.

d. Other practitioners’ services — 42 CFR 440.60
2. Non-Physician Licensed Behavioral Health Practitioners

A non-physician licensed behavioral health practitioner (NP-LBHP) is an individual who is licensed
in the State of Ohio to prescribe, diagnose and/or treat behavioral health conditions and/or substance
use disorders, operating within the scope of practice defined in State law and in any setting
permissible under State practice law.

NP-LBHPs include individuals licensed and able to practice independently as:
e Licensed psychologists;
e Board-licensed school psychologists;
Licensed professional clinical counselors (LPCCs);
Licensed independent social workers (LISWSs); and
Licensed independent marriage and family therapists (LIMFTS).
Licensed independent chemical dependency counselors (LICDCs)

NP-LBHPs also include the following professionals, licensed by a professional Board in the state of
Ohio and authorized to practice under full or partial clinical supervision of an advanced practice
nurse or independent NP-LBHP as outlined in state law:

Licensed professional counselors;

Licensed chemical dependency counselors 1ll;

Licensed chemical dependency counselors I,

Licensed social workers; and

Licensed marriage and family therapists.

NP-LBHPs also include the following professionals who are in licensure Board-approved training
and under the supervision of a psychologist authorized to do so under state law:

e Doctoral psychology trainees; and

e Board-registered psychology assistants.

NP-LBHPs also include the following professionals who are in licensure Board-approved training
and under the supervision of an advanced practice nurse or independent NP-LBHP authorized to do
so under state law:

e Registered counselor trainees;

e Registered social work trainees; and

e Registered marriage and family therapist trainees.

Any practitioner other than licensed psychologists, board-licensed school psychologists, LPCCs,
LISWs, LIMFTs, and LICDCs providing behavioral health services must operate within a provider
agency licensed, certified or designated by ODM or its designee in settings permissible by that

designation.
TN: 16-004 Approval Date: _4/27/16
Supersedes:

TN: 15-018 Effective Date: 07/01/2016



State of Ohio Attachment 3.1-A
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6. Medical care and any other types of remedial care recognized under state law furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law.

d. Other practitioners’ services — 42 CFR 440.60
2. Non-Physician Licensed Behavioral Health Practitioners

Limitations:

1. Psychological testing is limited to a maximum of eight hours per twelve-month period per
recipient in a non-hospital setting.

2. Therapeutic visits in excess of a combined 25 dates of service per recipient in a 12-month
period in a non-hospital setting are not covered.

3. Diagnostic interview examinations will be limited to one per recipient per 12-month period
and may not be billed on the same date of services as a therapeutic visit.

Additional services beyond the established limits may be allowed when medically necessary and
approved through the prior authorization process.

A unit of service is defined according to the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) or Healthcare
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) approved code set consistent with the National Correct
Coding Initiative unless otherwise specified.

Beneficiaries younger than age twenty-one can access other psychologists’ services without
limitation when such services are medically necessary.

NP-LBHP services by any independent practitioner as incident to other provider services (e.g.,
physician offices, FQHCs) are allowed except as follows: If the individual is enrolled in a Medicaid
managed care plan (MCP) and the MCP elects to continue to cover adult independent NP-LBHP
services, or, if the individual is covered under Medicare, Medicaid will continue to pay Medicare cost
sharing for independent NP-LBHP services covered by Medicare.

TN: 16-004 Approval Date: _4/27/16
Supersedes:
TN: 15-018 Effective Date: 07/01/2016



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B

Item 6-d-(2)
Page 1 of 2
6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by
licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law, continued.
d. Other Licensed practitioners' services, continued.
(2) Non-Physician Licensed Behavioral Health Practitioners
Payment for services delivered by Non-Physician Licensed Behavioral Health
Practitioners (NP-LBHP), as outlined in Attachment 3.1-A, is the lesser of the billed
charge or the Medicaid fee schedule established by the State of Ohio.
All rates are published on the Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) Fee Schedule and
Rates website at: http://medicaid.ohio.gov/providers/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.
The agency’s fee schedule rate was set as of January 14, 2016 and is effective for
services provided on or after that date.
Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, the State-developed fee schedule is the
same for both governmental and private individual providers.
If a Medicare fee exists for a defined covered procedure code, the State will pay the
following licensed practitioners at 100% of the Medicaid maximum for the service:
e Psychologists;
e Doctoral psychology trainees who are under the supervision of a licensed
psychologist; and
e Board-registered psychology assistant who are under the supervision of a
licensed psychologist.
If a Medicare fee exists for a defined covered procedure code, the State will pay the
following independent practitioners at 85% of the Medicaid maximum for the service:
e Board-licensed school psychologists;
e Licensed professional clinical counselors (LPCCs);
e Licensed independent social workers (LISWSs);
e Licensed independent marriage and family therapists (LIMFTSs); and
e Licensed independent chemical dependency counselors (LICDCs).
If a Medicare fee exists for a defined covered procedure code, the State will pay the
following practitioners requiring supervision at 85% of the Medicaid maximum for the
service:
e Licensed professional counselors;
e Licensed chemical dependency counselors IlI;
e Licensed chemical dependency counselors II;
e Licensed social workers;
e Licensed marriage and family therapists;
TN: 16-004 Approval Date: _4/27/16
Supersedes:

TN: 15-018 Effective Date: 07/01/2016
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6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by
licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law, continued.

d. Other Licensed practitioners' services, continued.
(2) Non-Physician Licensed Behavioral Health Practitioners

Registered counselor trainees;

Registered chemical dependency counselor assistants and trainees;
Registered social work trainees; and

Registered marriage and family therapist trainees.

The State will pay 100% of the Medicaid maximum fee for psychological testing
regardless of the eligible mental health professional providing the service.

Any practitioner other than licensed psychologists, board-licensed school
psychologists, LPCCs, LISWSs, LIMFTs, and LICDCs providing behavioral health
services must operate within a provider agency licensed, certified or designated by
ODM or its designee in settings permissible by that designation.

TN: 16-004 Approval Date: _4/27/16
Supersedes:
TN: 15-018 Effective Date: 07/01/2016
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