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Department of Health & Human Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
233 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 600
Chicago, Illinois 60601-5519

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

June 15, 2017

Barbara R. Sears, Director
Ohio Department of Medicaid
P.O. Box 182709

50 West Town Street, Suite 400
Columbus, Ohio 43218

RE: State Plan Amendment Transmittal Number 17-010

Dear Ms. Sears:

Enclosed for your records is an approved copy of the following State Plan Amendment:

Transmittal #17-010 - Coverage & Limitations and Payment for Services:
Non-Institutional Fee Schedule Updates; Advanced Imaging
Multiple Procedure Reduction; Removal of Scope of Practice
Limitations
- Effective Date: January 1, 2017
- Approval Date: June 15, 2017

If you have any questions regarding this State Plan Amendment, please have a member of your
staff contact Christine Davidson at (312) 886-3642 or by email at

christine.davidson@cms.hhs.gov.

Enclosure

cc: Sarah Curtin, ODM
Carolyn Humphrey, ODM
Becky Jackson, ODM
Greg Niehoff, ODM

Sincerely,
Is/
Alan Freund

Acting Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations
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January 1, 2017
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42 CFR Part 447
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a. FFY 2017 $31.25 thousands
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Revision: HCFA-PM-86-20 (BERC) Attachment 3.1-A
SEPTEMBER 1986 Page 7
OMB NO.: 0938-0193

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL
AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

15.a. Intermediate care facility services (other than such services in an institution for mental
diseases) for persons determined, in accordance with section 1902(a)(31)(A) of the Act,
to be in need of such care.

X Provided: [ ] No limitations [X] With limitations*
] Not provided

b. Including such services in a public institution (or distinct part thereof) for the mentally
retarded or persons with related conditions.

X Provided: [ ] No limitations [X] With limitations*
[] Not provided

16.  Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals under 22 years of age.

Provided: [_] No limitations [X] With limitations*
[] Not provided

17. Nurse-midwife services.

Xl Provided: [X] No limitations [_] With limitations*
] Not provided

18.  Hospice care (in accordance with section 1905(0) of the Act).

X Provided: [ ] No limitations With limitations*
] Not provided

*Description provided on attachment.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: 6/15/17

TN: 95-16 Effective Date: 07/01284F 0} /oy /,,
QLI 0) /o f207




Revision: HCFA-PM-4 (BPD) Attachment 3.1-A
August 1991 Page 8a
OMB NO.: 0938-

State/Territory: Ohio

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL
AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

21.  Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished during a presumptive
eligibility period by a qualified provider (in accordance with section 1920 of the Act).

IX] Provided: [X] No limitations [ ] With limitations*
[ ] Not provided

22. Respiratory care services (in accordance with section 1902(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the
Act).

[ ] Provided: [ ] No limitations [ ] With limitations*
<] Not provided

23.  Certified pediatric or family nurse practitioners’ Services.

X Provided: [X] No limitations [_] With limitations*
[ ] Not provided

*Description provided on attachment.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 12-003 Effective Date: 01/01/2017

HCFA ID: 7986E



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 3
Page 1 of 1

3. Other laboratory and x-ray services.

Other laboratory and x-ray services under this section are covered by Ohio
Medicaid in accordance with 42 CFR 440.30.

Payment for other laboratory and x-ray services is the lesser of the billed charge or an
amount, based on the Medicaid maximum for the service, that is not to exceed the
Medicare rate on a per-test basis. The Medicaid maximum for other laboratory
services is the amount listed on the Department's laboratory services fee schedule. The
Medicaid maximum for x-ray services is the amount listed on the Department's x-ray
services fee schedule.

A payment reduction provision applies when more than one advanced imaging procedure
is performed by the same provider or provider group for an individual patient in the same
session. Payment is made for the primary procedure at 100%, payment for each
additional technical component is made at 50%, and payment for each additional
professional component is made at 95%. This payment provision takes effect on January
1, 2017.

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's laboratory services fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2017 and is
effective for services provided on or after that date. The agency's x-ray services fee
schedule was set as of January 1, 2017 and is effective for services provided on or after
that date.

By-report services require manual review by the appropriate single state agency
staff. The reimbursement rate for these services is determined using one of a
variety of different payment methodologies. Examples of the possible
methodologies are pricing using a similar service, product, or procedure that has
an established reimbursement rate, or a percentage of charges. The specific
methodology utilized depends on the service, product, or procedure performed.

Except as otherwise noted in the state plan, state-developed fee schedules and
rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.

Clinical Diagnostic Lab (CDL) rates attestation

The state attests that it complies with section 1903(i)(7) of the Social Security Act and limits
Medicaid payments for clinical diagnostic lab services to the amounts paid by Medicare for those
services on a per-test basis (or per billing code basis for a bundled/panel of tests).

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 16-019 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 6-a
Page 1 of 2

6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished
by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law.

a. Podiatrists' services.

Payment for Podiatrists' services is the lesser of the billed charge or an amount based on
the Medicaid maximum for the service. The Medicaid maximum is the amount listed on
the Department's Podiatrists' services fee schedule.

For a covered procedure, service, or supply represented by a new HCPCS procedure code
that takes effect at the beginning of a calendar year, the initial maximum payment amount
is set at 80% of the Medicare allowed amount.

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's podiatrists’ services fee schedule rate was set as of on January 1, 2017, and
is effective for services provided on or after that date. The site differential payment was
set as of January 1, 2014 and is effective for services provided on or after that date.

By-report services require manual review by the appropriate single state agency staff.
The reimbursement rate for these services is determined using one of a variety of
different payment methodologies. Examples of the possible methodologies are a
percentage of charges and pricing using a similar service, product, or procedure that has
an established reimbursement rate. The specific methodology utilized depends on the
service, product, or procedure performed.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, State-developed fee schedules and rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _ 6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 16-016 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 9-a
Page 1 of 1

0. Clinic services.
a. Free-standing ambulatory health care clinics (AHCCs).

Dialysis

The State uses the Medicare PPS rate as the basis for establishing Medicaid payment to dialysis
clinics for dialysis services. The 2003 Medicare PPS rate was used to establish the initial
Medicaid rate. The State divides the Medicare monthly PPS rate by 4 to determine the weekly rate
and divides the weekly rate by 3 to establish the treatment rate.

Payment for all other AHCCs’ services is the lesser of the billed charge or an amount based on the
Medicaid maximum for the service. The Medicaid maximum is the amount listed on the
Department's AHCCs’ services fee schedule.

For a covered procedure, service, or supply represented by a new HCPCS procedure code that
takes effect at the beginning of a calendar year, the initial maximum payment amount is set at 80%
of the Medicare allowed amount.

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's Clinic services fee schedule rate was set as January 1, 2017 and is effective for
services provided on or after that date.

By-report services require manual review by the appropriate single state agency staff. The
reimbursement rate for these services is determined using one of a variety of different payment
methodologies. Examples of the possible methodologies are pricing using a similar service,
product, or procedure that has an established reimbursement rate or a percentage of charges. The
specific methodology utilized depends on the service, product, or procedure performed.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, State-developed fee schedules and rates are the same for
both governmental and private providers.

TN:17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN:16-016 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 11-a
Page 1 of 1

Physical therapy and related services.
a. Physical therapy.

Physical therapy services are covered as hospital, home health agency, physician, limited
practitioner, nursing facility, clinic, or Medicaid School Program (MSP) services. See
items (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (9) for reimbursement provisions.

Payment for physical therapy services provided by outpatient hospitals, physicians,
limited practitioners, and clinics is the lesser of the billed charge or an amount based on
the Medicaid maximum for the service. The Medicaid maximum is the amount listed on
the Department's fee schedule.

A payment reduction provision applies when more than one therapy procedure or
unit of service within the same therapy discipline or same therapy plan of care is
performed by the same provider or provider group for an individual patient on the
same date of service. Payment is made for the primary procedure at 100%;
payment for each additional unit or procedure is 80%. This payment reduction
provision takes effect on January 1, 2014,

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's physical therapy fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2017 and is
effective for services provided on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the state plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are
the same for both governmental and private providers.

Payment for physical therapy services provided by inpatient hospitals is subject to
Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) prospective payment, or cost if DRG-exempt.

Payment for physical therapy services provided to residents of intermediate care facilities
for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF-11D) is included in the facility per diem.

For residents of nursing facilities (NFs), physical therapy services are billed by NFs on a
fee-for-service basis and reimbursed at the lesser of the billed charges or 85% of the
Medicaid maximum. For dates of service on or after 8/1/09, payment for physical therapy
services provided to residents of NFs is included in the facility per diem.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 14-024 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 11-b
Page 1 of 1

11.  Physical therapy and related services, continued.
b. Occupational therapy.

Occupational therapy services are covered as hospital, home health agency, physician,
limited practitioner, nursing facility, clinic, or Medicaid School Program (MSP) services.
See items (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (9) for reimbursement provisions.

Payment for occupational therapy services provided by outpatient hospitals, physicians,

limited practitioners, and clinics is the lesser of the billed charge or an amount based on

the Medicaid maximum for the service. The Medicaid maximum is the amount listed on
the Department's fee schedule.

A payment reduction provision applies when more than one therapy procedure or
unit of service within the same therapy discipline or same therapy plan of care is
performed by the same provider or provider group for an individual patient on the
same date of service. Payment is made for the primary procedure at 100%;
payment for each additional unit or procedure is 80%. This payment reduction
provision takes effect on January 1, 2014,

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's occupational therapy fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2017 and is
effective for services provided on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the state plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are
the same for both governmental and private providers.

Payment for occupational therapy services provided by inpatient hospitals is subject to
Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) prospective payment, or cost if DRG exempt.

Payment for occupational therapy services provided to residents of intermediate care
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF-11D) is included in the facility
per diem.

For residents of nursing facilities (NFs), occupational therapy services are billed by NFs on a
fee-for-service basis and reimbursed at the lesser of the billed charges or 85% of the Medicaid
maximum. For dates of service on or after 8/1/09, payment for occupational therapy services
provided to residents of NFs is included in the facility per diem.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 14-018 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 11-c
Page 1 of 1

Physical therapy and related services, continued.

c. Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or
under the supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist).

Speech-language pathology and audiology (SLPA) services are covered as hospital, home
health agency, physician, nursing facility, clinic, or Medicaid School Program (MSP)
services. See items (1), (2), (5), (7), and (9) for reimbursement provisions.

Payment for speech-language pathology and audiology (SLPA) services provided by
outpatient hospitals, physicians, limited practitioners, and clinics is the lesser of the billed
charge or an amount based on the Medicaid maximum for the service. The Medicaid
maximum is the amount listed on the Department's fee schedule.

A payment reduction provision applies when more than one therapy procedure or
unit of service within the same therapy discipline or same therapy plan of care is
performed by the same provider or provider group for an individual patient on the
same date of service. Payment is made for the primary procedure at 100%;
payment for each additional unit or procedure is 80%. This payment reduction
provision takes effect on January 1, 2014.

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's speech, hearing, and language disorders services fee schedule rate was set
as of January 1, 2017 and is effective for services provided on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the state plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are
the same for both governmental and private providers.

Payment for SLPA services provided by inpatient hospitals is subject to Diagnostic
Related Group (DRG) prospective payment, or cost if DRG exempt.

Payment for SLPA services provided to residents of intermediate care facilities for
individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF-1ID) is included in the facility per diem.

For residents of nursing facilities (NFs), SLPA services are billed by NFs on a fee-for-
service basis and reimbursed at the lesser of the billed charges or 85% of the Medicaid
maximum. For dates of service on or after 8/1/09, payment for SLPA services provided to
residents of NFs is included in the facility per diem.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 14-018 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 12-c
Page 1 of 1

12.  Prescribed drugs, dentures, and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a
physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an optometrist, continued.

c. Prosthetic devices.

Payment is the lesser of the billed charge or an amount based on the Medicaid maximum
for the service or item. The Medicaid maximum is the amount listed on the Department's
fee schedule. Where no Medicaid maximum is specified, the provider must submit either
the list price or the invoice price. The Medicaid agency will pay 72 per cent of the list
price or 147 per cent of the invoice price.

All rates are published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's prosthetic devices fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2017, and is
effective for services provided on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17

Supersedes:
TN: 16-016 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



17.

State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B

Item 17
Page 1 of 2

Nurse-midwife services.

Unless otherwise specified, the maximum payment amount for a service furnished by a
certified nurse-midwife (CNM) in a non-hospital setting is the lesser of the submitted
charge or the Medicaid maximum listed on the agency's Medicine, Surgery, Radiology
and Imaging, and Additional Procedures (MSRIAP) fee schedule; for a service furnished
in a hospital setting, the maximum payment amount is 85% of the Medicaid maximum
listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule.

Payment for services rendered by a hospital-employed CNM will be made to the hospital.

The maximum payment amount for a procedure performed bilaterally on the same patient
by the same provider is the lesser of the submitted charge or 150% of the Medicaid
maximum allowed for the same procedure performed unilaterally.

The maximum payment amount for designated surgical procedures performed on the
same patient by the same provider is the lesser of (1) the submitted charges or (2) for the
primary procedure (the procedure having the highest Medicaid maximum payment),
100% of the Medicaid maximum from the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule; for the
secondary procedure, 50%; and for each additional procedure, 25%.

The maximum payment amount for maternity delivery is the lesser of (1) the submitted
charge or (2) for a single delivery or the first delivery of a multiple birth, 100% of the
Medicaid maximum from the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule; for the second delivery of
a multiple birth, 50%; for the third delivery of a multiple birth, 25%; and for each
additional delivery of a multiple birth, zero.

For a covered procedure, service, or supply represented by a new HCPCS procedure code
that takes effect at the beginning of a calendar year, the initial maximum payment amount
listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule is set at 80% of the Medicare allowed
amount.

By-report services require manual review by the appropriate agency staff. Payment for
these services is determined on a case-by-case basis. The specific method used depends
on the service; examples include comparison with a similar service that has an
established maximum payment rate and application of a percentage of charges.

TN:17-010 Approval Date: _6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN:16-016 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 17
Page 2 of 2

17. Nurse-midwife services, continued.

Specific physician groups

The maximum payment amount for a service is the lesser of the submitted charge or
140% of the Medicaid maximum listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule if the
provider is a physician group that (1) contracts with a hospital to provide physician
hospital clinic services in the physician group practice setting and (2) provides 40%
of the Medicaid physician visits in the county of location and 10% of the visits in
contiguous counties.

The agency's nurse-midwife services rates can be found on the MSRIAP fee
schedule published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's nurse-midwife services rates found on the MSRIAP fee schedule was set as
of January 1, 2017, and is effective for services provided on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers.

TN:17-010 Approval Date: 6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN:12-005 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



23.

State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B

Item 23
Page 1 of 2

Certified pediatric and family nurse practitioners' services.

Unless otherwise specified, the maximum payment amount for a service furnished by a
certified nurse practitioner (CNP) in a non-hospital setting is the lesser of the submitted
charge or the Medicaid maximum listed on the agency's Medicine, Surgery, Radiology
and Imaging, and Additional Procedures (MSRIAP) fee schedule; for a service furnished
in a hospital setting, the maximum payment amount is 85% of the Medicaid maximum
listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule.

Payment for services rendered by a hospital-employed CNP will be made to the hospital.

The maximum payment amount for a procedure performed bilaterally on the same patient
by the same provider is the lesser of the submitted charge or 150% of the Medicaid
maximum allowed for the same procedure performed unilaterally.

The maximum payment amount for designated surgical procedures performed on the
same patient by the same provider is the lesser of (1) the submitted charges or (2) for the
primary procedure (the procedure having the highest Medicaid maximum payment),
100% of the Medicaid maximum from the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule; for the
secondary procedure, 50%; and for each additional procedure, 25%.

The maximum payment amount for maternity delivery is the lesser of (1) the submitted
charge or (2) for a single delivery or the first delivery of a multiple birth, 100% of the
Medicaid maximum from the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule; for the second delivery of
a multiple birth, 50%; for the third delivery of a multiple birth, 25%; and for each
additional delivery of a multiple birth, zero.

For a covered procedure, service, or supply represented by a new HCPCS procedure code
that takes effect at the beginning of a calendar year, the initial maximum payment amount
listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule is set at 80% of the Medicare allowed
amount.

By-report services require manual review by the appropriate agency staff. Payment for
these services is determined on a case-by-case basis. The specific method used depends
on the service; examples include comparison with a similar service that has an
established maximum payment rate and application of a percentage of charges.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: _ ¢/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 16-016 Effective Date: 01/01/2017



State of Ohio Attachment 4.19-B
Item 23
Page 2 of 2

23.  Certified pediatric and family nurse practitioners' services, continued.

Specific physician groups

The maximum payment amount for a service is the lesser of the submitted charge or
140% of the Medicaid maximum listed on the agency's MSRIAP fee schedule if the
provider is a physician group that (1) contracts with a hospital to provide physician
hospital clinic services in the physician group practice setting and (2) provides 40%
of the Medicaid physician visits in the county of location and 10% of the visits in
contiguous counties.

The agency's certified pediatric and family nurse practitioners’ services rates can
be found on the MSRIAP fee schedule published on the agency's website at
medicaid.ohio.gov/PROVIDERS/FeeScheduleandRates.aspx.

The agency's certified pediatric and family nurse practitioners’ services rates found on the
MSRIAP fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2017 and is effective for services provided
on or after that date.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedules and rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers.

TN: 17-010 Approval Date: 6/15/17
Supersedes:
TN: 12-005 Effective Date: 01/01/2017
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