Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: OH

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 17-026

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



AUG 31 2017

Barbara Sears, Director Ohio Department of Medicaid P.O. Box 182709 50 West Town Street, Suite 400 Columbus, Ohio 43218

RE: Ohio State Plan Amendment (SPA) 17-026

Dear Ms. Sears:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-026. Effective August 31, 2017, this SPA updates provisions to a narrative format and the section numbers as part of Ohio's 5 year Review.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We hereby inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 17-026 is approved effective August 31, 2017. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please contact Fred Sebree at (217) 492-4122 or Fredrick.sebree@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan,

Director

Enclosure

3TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17-026	OHIO
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	August 31, 2017	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
☐ NEW STATE PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
Section 1905(a)(4)(A) of the Social Security Act	a. FFY 2017 \$0 thousands	
	b. FFY <u>2018</u> \$0 thousands	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMEN	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	
Attachment 4.19-D, Supplement 1:	Attachment 4.19-D, Supplement 1:	
Section 001.31, page 1 of 1	Section 5111.02.002, pages 1 and 2 of 2 (TN 06-010)	
Section 001.32, pages 1 and 2 of 2	Section 5111.28.000, pages 1 and 2 of 2 (TN 06-010)	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Payment for Services: Nursing Facility Services - Rate Recalculations, Overpayments and Penalties		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):	Maryun Jaansa	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	○ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: The State Medicaid Director is the Governor's designee	
☐ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	the State Medicald Director is the Governor's designee	
I NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 43 DATS OF SOBMITTAL		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	8
	Carolyn Humphrey	
13. TYPED NAME: BARBARA R. SEARS	Ohio Department of Medicaid	
14. TITLE: STATE MEDICAID DIRECTOR	P.O. BOX 182709	
	Columbus, Ohio 43218	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: July 17, 2017		
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: AUG 31	2017
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: AUG 31 2017	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFF	ICIAL:
21. TYPED NAME: TRISTIN FAN	Director Fuce	
23. REMARKS:		
		200

Instructions on Back

FORM CMS-179 (07-92)

Rate Recalculations and Overpayments

The Ohio Department of Medicaid may recalculate a nursing facility's rate if the Department determines the facility has received a higher rate than it was entitled to receive. Any of the following may result in such a determination:

- 1) A nursing facility provider properly amends its cost report.
- The Department of Medicaid makes a finding based on an audit.
- The Department of Medicaid makes a finding based on an exception review of resident assessment data conducted after the effective date of the rate for direct care costs that is based on the assessment information.
- 4) The department makes a finding based on a post-payment review.

The Department of Medicaid will apply the recalculated rate to the periods when the nursing facility received the incorrect rate to determine the amount of the overpayment that must be refunded by the nursing facility. In addition to requiring a refund, the Department may charge the nursing facility interest at the following rates from the time the overpayment was made:

- The interest shall be no greater than two times the average bank prime rate if the overpayment was equal to or less than 1% of the total Medicaid payments to the provider for the fiscal year for which the overpayment was made.
- The interest shall be no greater than two and one-half times the average bank prime rate if the overpayment was greater than 1% of the total Medicaid payments to the provider for the fiscal year for which the overpayment was made.

The Department will deduct any amount a facility is required to refund, along with the amount of any interest charged, from the next available Medicaid payment to the facility.

TN <u>17-026</u> Approval Date AUG **31** 2017
Supersedes
TN 06-010 Effective Date <u>08/31/2017</u>

Penalties

The Ohio Department of Medicaid may impose the following penalties and fines:

- If a nursing facility provider does not furnish invoices or other documentation that the Department requests during an audit within 60 days after the request, no more than the greater of \$1,000 per audit or 25% of the cumulative amount by which the costs for which documentation was not furnished increased the total Medicaid payments to the provider during the fiscal year for which the costs were used to establish a rate.
- 2) If a nursing facility owner or operator fails to provide notice of a facility closure, voluntary withdrawal or voluntary termination of participation in the Medicaid program, or change of operator, no more than the current average bank prime rate plus 4% of the last two monthly Medicaid payments.
- The Department shall fine a nursing facility provider if the report of an audit regarding a cost report for the facility includes either of the following:
 - a) Adverse findings that exceed 3% of the total amount of Medicaidreimbursable costs reported in the cost report.
 - b) Adverse findings that exceed 20% of Medicaid-reimbursable costs for a particular cost center reported in the cost report.
- 4) A fine issued under paragraph 3) above shall equal the greatest of the following:
 - a) If the adverse findings exceed 3% but do not exceed 10% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report, the greater of 3% of those reported costs or \$10,000.
 - b) If the adverse findings exceed 10% but do not exceed 20% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report, the greater of 6% of those reported costs or \$25,000.
 - c) If the adverse findings exceed 20% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report, the greater of 10% of those reported costs or \$50,000.
 - d) If the adverse findings exceed 20% but do not exceed 25% of Medicaid-reimbursable costs for a particular cost center reported in the cost report, the greater of 3% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report or \$10,000.
 - e) If the adverse findings exceed 25% but do not exceed 30% of Medicaid-reimbursable costs for a particular cost center reported in the cost report, the greater of 6% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report or \$25,000.
 - f) If the adverse findings exceed 30% of Medicaid-reimbursable costs for a particular cost center reported in the cost report, the greater of 10% of the total amount of Medicaid-reimbursable costs reported in the cost report or \$50,000.

The Department may not collect a fine issued according to paragraph 3) of this section until all appeal rights relating to the audit report that is the basis for the fine are exhausted. The Department will deduct the amount of any penalties or fines imposed on a facility according to this section from the next available Medicaid payment to the facility. The Department and the provider may enter into an agreement under which the amount, together with the interest, is deducted in installments from Medicaid payments to the provider.

TN <u>17-026</u> Supersedes

Approval Date AUG 31 2017

TN 06-010

Effective Date <u>08/31/2017</u>

Fines issued under paragraph 3) of this section that have been paid shall be deposited into the State's Health Care Services Administration Fund. The Department shall transmit all other refunds and penalties issued under this section to the Ohio Treasurer of State for deposit in the General Revenue Fund.

TN <u>17-026</u> Supersedes TN <u>06-010</u> Approval Date AUG 31 2017