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Department of Health & Human Services 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
233 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois  60601-5519 

  

 

October 22, 2018 

 

 

 

Barbara R. Sears, Director 

Ohio Department of Medicaid 

P.O. Box 182709 

50 West Town Street, Suite 400 

Columbus, Ohio  43218 

 

RE:  State Plan Amendment Transmittal Number 18-018 

 

Dear Ms. Sears: 

 

Enclosed for your records is an approved copy of the following State Plan Amendment: 

 

Transmittal #18-018   -   Coverage & Limitations: Physical Therapy and Related Services                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

-  Effective Date: October 1, 2018 

-  Approval Date: October 22, 2018 

 

If you have any questions regarding this State Plan Amendment, please have a member of your staff 

contact Christine Davidson at (312) 886-3642 or by email at christine.davidson@cms.hhs.gov. 

  

      Sincerely, 

 

                        

      /s/ 

     Ruth A. Hughes   

      Associate Regional Administrator     

     Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations 

 

Enclosure 

 

cc: Carolyn Humphrey, ODM 

 Becky Jackson, ODM 

            Greg Niehoff, ODM 
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September 11, 2018 October 22, 2018

October 1, 2018 /s/

Ruth A. Hughes Associate Regional Administrator
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TN:   18-018 

Supersedes: 

TN:   13-013 

Approval Date:   ________ 

Effective Date:   10/1/2018 

11. Physical Therapy and related services.

a. Physical therapy services

Physical therapy services are covered by Ohio Medicaid in accordance with 42 CFR §

440.110.

Beneficiaries younger than age 21 can access physical therapy services without limitation

when such services are medically necessary.

Physical therapy services determined by the department as not medically necessary will

not be covered.

Limitations:

Physical therapy services must be provided by a physical therapist, a physical therapist

assistant, or a physical therapy student who is completing an internship, providing

physical therapy services in accordance with Ohio law, who meets the provider

qualifications outlined in 42 CFR 440.110.

Licensed physical therapist assistants must provide physical therapy only under the direct

supervision of a physical therapist who will conduct face-to-face client evaluations

initially and periodically (not less than annually) thereafter.

Physical therapy services must be for a reasonable amount, frequency, and duration.

Physical therapy services must be provided in accordance with a documented treatment

plan that is based on a documented clinical evaluation and assessment.

For rehabilitative services, reevaluation may not be made more frequently than 30 days

and the maximum period without reevaluation is 60 days; for developmental services for

children and habilitative services for adults, reevaluation may not be made more

frequently than 30 days and the maximum period without reevaluation is six months.

Ohio Medicaid covers 30 physical therapy service visits in the non-institutional setting

per benefit year without prior authorization.  Additional visits may be provided in an

amount beyond established limits with prior authorization, upon a demonstration of medical

necessity.
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TN:  18-018 Approval Date:  _________ 

Supersedes: 

TN:  13-013 Effective Date:  10/1/2018 

11. Physical Therapy and related services, continued.

b. Occupational therapy services

Occupational therapy services are covered by Ohio Medicaid in accordance with 42 CFR

§ 440.110.

Beneficiaries younger than age 21 can access occupational therapy services without 

limitation when such services are medically necessary. 

Occupational therapy services determined by the department as not medically necessary 

will not be covered. 

Limitations: 

Occupational therapy services must be provided by an occupational therapist, an 

occupational therapist assistant, or an occupational therapy student who is completing an 

internship, providing occupational therapy services in accordance with Ohio law, who 

meets the provider qualifications outlined in 42 CFR 440.110. 

Licensed occupational therapy assistants must provide occupational therapy only under 

the direct supervision of an occupational therapist who will conduct face-to-face client 

evaluations initially and periodically (not less than annually) thereafter. 

Occupational therapy services must be for a reasonable amount, frequency, and duration. 

Occupational therapy services must be provided in accordance with a documented 

treatment plan that is based on a documented clinical evaluation and assessment.  

For rehabilitative services, reevaluation may not be made more frequently than 30 days 

and the maximum period without reevaluation is 60 days; for developmental services for 

children and habilitative services for adults, reevaluation may not be made more 

frequently than 30 days and the maximum period without reevaluation is six months. 

Ohio Medicaid covers 30 occupational therapy service visits in the non-institutional 

setting per benefit year without prior authorization.  Additional visits may be provided in 

an amount beyond established limits with prior authorization, upon a demonstration of 

medical necessity.
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TN:  18-018 Approval Date:  _________ 

Supersedes: 

TN:  13-013 Effective Date:  10/1/2018 

11. Physical Therapy and related services, continued.

c. Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or

under supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist)

Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or

under supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist) are covered by Ohio Medicaid

in accordance with 42 CFR § 440.110.

Beneficiaries younger than age 21 can access services for individuals with speech,

hearing, and language disorders (provided by or under supervision of a speech

pathologist or audiologist) without limitation when such services are medically

necessary.

Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or

under supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist) determined by the department as

not medically necessary will not be covered.

Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or

under supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist) are speech-language pathology

services and audiology services.

Limitations:

Speech-language pathology services:

Speech-language pathology services must be provided by a speech-language pathologist

(SLP), a speech-language pathology aide (SLPA), a speech-language pathology (SLP)

student who is completing an internship, or a person holding a conditional license to

practice speech-language pathology, providing speech-language pathology services in

accordance with Ohio law and 42 CFR 440.110.

An SLPA must provide SLP services under the direct supervision of a speech-language

pathologist who conducts face-to-face client evaluations initially and periodically (not

less than annually) thereafter.

SLP services must be for a reasonable amount, frequency, and duration.  SLP services

must be provided in accordance with a documented treatment plan that is based on a

documented clinical evaluation and assessment.

For rehabilitative services, reevaluation may not be made more frequently than 30 days

and the maximum period without reevaluation is 60 days; for developmental services for

children and habilitative services for adults, reevaluation may not be made more

frequently than 30 days and the maximum period without reevaluation is six months.
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c. Services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders (provided by or

under supervision of a speech pathologist or audiologist), continued.

Ohio Medicaid covers 30 service visits provided by or under supervision of a speech

pathologist or audiologist per Medicaid beneficiary in non-institutional settings per

benefit year without prior authorization.  Additional visits may be provided in an amount

beyond established limits with prior authorization, upon a demonstration of medical

necessity.

Audiology services:

Audiology services must be provided by an audiologist, an audiology aide, an audiology

student who is completing an internship, or a person holding a conditional license to

practice audiology, providing audiology services in accordance with Ohio law, who

meets the provider qualifications outlined in 42 CFR 440.110.

Audiology aides must provide audiology services under the direct supervision of an

audiologist who will conduct face-to-face client evaluations initially and periodically (not

less than annually) thereafter.

Audiology services must be for a reasonable amount, frequency, and duration.

Audiology services must be provided in accordance with a documented treatment plan

that is based on a documented clinical evaluation and assessment.

For rehabilitative services, reevaluation may not be made more frequently than 30 days

and the maximum period without reevaluation is 60 days; for developmental services for

children and habilitative services for adults, reevaluation may not be made more

frequently than 30 days and the maximum period without reevaluation is six months.

Ohio Medicaid covers 30 service visits provided by or under supervision of a speech

pathologist or audiologist per Medicaid beneficiary in non-institutional settings per

benefit year without prior authorization.  Additional visits may be provided in an amount

beyond established limits with prior authorization, upon a demonstration of medical

necessity.
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