# **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name: OH** 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 18-027

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



# **Financial Management Group**

January 10, 2019

James Tassie, Acting Director Ohio Department of Medicaid P.O. Box 182709 50 West Town Street, Suite 400 Columbus, Ohio 43218

RE: Ohio State Plan Amendment (SPA) 18-027

Dear Mr. Tassie:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 18-027. Effective November 1, 2018, this State Plan Amendment removes the Nursing Facility cost report and chart of accounts from the State Plan.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We hereby inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 18-027 is approved effective November 1, 2018. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please contact Fred Sebree at (217) 492-4122 or Fredrick.sebree@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan, Director

Enclosure

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 18-027	2. STATE OHIO		
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)			
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE November 1, 2018			
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):				
□ NEW STATE PLAN □ AMENDMENT TO BE C	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	<b>⋈</b> AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME	NDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	amenament)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Section 1905(a)(4)(A) of the Social Security Act	a. FFY 2019 \$0 thousands			
Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act	b. FFY 2020 \$0 thousands			
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):			
Attachment 4.19-D, Supplement 1 Section 001.17, Pages 1-2 of 2 Section 001.27, page 1 of 2	Attachment 4.19-D, Supplement 1 Section 001.17, Pages 1-2 of 2 (TN 18-020) Section 001.27, page 1 of 2 (TN 17-003) Section 001.27 Appendix A, Pages 1-61 of 61 (TN 18-003) Delete			
	Section 001.28, page 1 of 1 (TN 17-003) Delete Section 001.28 Appendix A, Pages 1-51 of 51 (TN 18-003) Delete			
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Payment for Services: Nursing Faci	7			
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):  GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		CIFIED: tor is the Governor's designee		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:			
13. TYPED NAME: BARBARA R. SEARS	Carolyn Humphrey Ohio Department of Medicaid P.O. BOX 182709 Columbus, Ohio 43218			
14. TITLE: STATE MEDICAID DIRECTOR				
15. DATE SUBMITTED: November 7,2018				
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY				
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: JAN 1	0 2019		
PLAN APPROVED – ON	IE COPY ATTACHED  20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OF	EICIAL		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MACRAIL AND A STATE OF A STATE		SA MARETTONIO		
21. TYPED NAME: Kristin Fan	22, TITLE: Director, FM	.6		
23. REMARKS:				

## Quality Indicators and Quality Payment Rate

#### **Quality Indicators**

Department of Medicaid determines the per Medicaid day quality payment rate for nursing facilities based on the number of quality points nursing facilities earn for meeting various quality indicators.

The Department of Medicaid will use data from the following measurement periods to determine quality points:

- 1) For state fiscal year 2017, the period beginning July 1, 2015 and ending December 31, 2015.
- 2) For each subsequent state fiscal year, the calendar year immediately preceding the calendar year in which the state fiscal year begins.

A nursing facility may earn a maximum of one point for each of the following quality indicators during the measurement period. For the pressure ulcer quality indicator and the antipsychotic medication quality indicator, nursing facilities may earn a maximum of one point each for rates for short-stay residents and a maximum of one point each for rates for long-stay residents. Based on the number of quality indicator points earned, the Department of Medicaid will calculate a per Medicaid day quality payment rate for each nursing facility. To earn a point for each of the quality indicators, the nursing facility shall meet the following criteria.

1) Pressure Injuries

Score no more than the 40<sup>th</sup> percentile for pressure injury rates. The Department of Medicaid obtains pressure injury rates from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website using the CMS quality measure for short-stay residents who have a new or worsened pressure ulcer, and the CMS quality measure for long-stay residents with pressure ulcers. If a nursing facility has insufficient data to calculate a pressure injury rate, the facility shall not receive a quality point for this indicator.

- 2) Antipsychotic Medications
  - Score no more than the 40th percentile, as established by ODM, for antipsychotic medication use rates. If a nursing facility has insufficient data to calculate an antipsychotic medication use rate, the facility shall not receive a quality point for this indicator. The antipsychotic medication use rates shall not include short-stay nursing facility residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication in conjunction with hospice care, or long-stay nursing facility residents who received an antipsychotic medication in conjunction with hospice care.
- 3) Unplanned Weight Loss
  Score no more than the 40th percentile of the long-stay nursing facility residents'
  unplanned weight loss rate. The Department of Medicaid obtains the unplanned weight loss rate from the CMS website using the CMS quality measure for long-stay residents
  who lose too much weight.
- 4) Employee Retention
  Attain an employee retention target rate of at least the 75th percentile. The Department
  of Medicaid calculates the percentile using the employee retention rates from all
  Medicaid nursing facility annual cost reports. If a nursing facility enters a "NO"

		JAN	10	Zni
TN <u>18-027</u>	Approval Date			_
Supersedes				
TN <u>18-020</u>	Effective Date 1	1/01/	<u> 2018</u>	

response or does not provide a response in the employee retention portion of the Medicaid nursing facility annual cost report, the facility shall not receive a quality point for this indicator.

5) Preferences for Everyday Living Inventory (PELI)

Utilize the nursing home version of the PELI for all of its residents, and indicate in the nursing facility's annual cost report that it was used. If a nursing facility enters a "NO" response or does not provide a response in the PELI portion of the Medicaid nursing facility annual cost report, the facility shall not receive a quality point for this indicator.

Religious nonmedical health care institutions (RNHCIs) shall receive one point each for the pressure injury, antipsychotic medication, and unplanned weight loss quality indicators.

TN <u>18-027</u> Supersedes TN <u>18-020</u> Approval Date JAN 10 2019

#### Cost Reports

# Cost Report Filing

Nursing facilities shall file annual Medicaid cost reports not later than 90 days after the end of the calendar year using software that is available on the Department of Medicaid's website at <a href="https://medicaid.ohio.gov/Provider/ProviderTypes/LongTermCareFacilities/AutomatedCostReporting">https://medicaid.ohio.gov/Provider/ProviderTypes/LongTermCareFacilities/AutomatedCostReporting</a> at least 60 days before the due date of the cost report for each cost reporting period via the Medicaid information technology system (MITS) web portal or other electronic means designated by the Department.

The cost reports shall cover a calendar year or portion of a calendar year during which the nursing facility participated in the Medicaid program.

- 1) In the case of a nursing facility that has a change of operator during a calendar year, the cost report by the new provider shall cover the portion of the calendar year following the change of operator encompassed by the first day of participation up to and including December 31st.
- 2) In the case of a new nursing facility with an initial provider agreement that goes into effect after October 1<sup>st</sup>, the provider shall file the first cost report for the immediately following calendar year.
- 3) In the case of a nursing facility that begins participation after January 1<sup>st</sup> and ceases participation before December 31<sup>st</sup> of the same calendar year, the reporting period shall be the first day of participation to the last day of participation.
- 4) In the case of a state-operated nursing facility, the annual cost report shall cover the 12-month period ending June 30<sup>th</sup> of the preceding year, or portion thereof, if Medicaid participation was less than 12 months.

The minimum level of detail to be included in the Medicaid nursing facility cost report shall be established using a chart of accounts. A chart of accounts is a numbered list of accounts that categorizes each class of nursing facility costs for which money is spent. The accounts include the four main cost centers: ancillary costs, capital costs, direct care costs and tax costs.

#### Filing Extensions

A nursing facility may submit a cost report within 14 days after the original due date if the facility receives written approval from the Department prior to the original due date of the cost report. Extension requests must be in writing and explain the need for an extension. If a nursing facility does not submit the cost report within fourteen days after the original due date or by an approved extension due date, or if the nursing facility submits an incomplete or inadequate cost report, the Department shall provide immediate written notice to the facility that its provider agreement will be terminated in 30 days unless the facility submits a complete and adequate cost report within 30 days of receiving the notice.

## Late File Penalty

If a cost report is not received by the original due date or by an approved extension due date, the Department may assess a late file penalty of \$2.00 for each day a complete and adequate cost report is not received beginning on the day after the original due date or the day after the extension due date, whichever is applicable, and shall continue until the complete and adequate cost report is received or the nursing facility is terminated from the Medicaid program. The late file penalty shall

TN <u>18-027</u> Approval Date <u>JAN</u> **1 0 2019** Supersedes

TN 17-003 Effective Date 11/01/2018