Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: OH

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 19-0020

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
 CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
 Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

December 10, 2019

Maureen Corcoran, Director Ohio Department of Medicaid 50 West Town Street, Suite 400 Columbus, Ohio 43215

RE: Ohio State Plan Amendment (SPA) 19-0020

Dear Ms. Corcoran:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number 19-0020. Effective July 1, 2019, this SPA proposes to implement changes to ICF payment rates for SFY 2020.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date of July, 1, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages.

If you have any questions, please contact Fredrick Sebree at Fredrick.sebree@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan Director

cc: Fredrick Sebree Tom Caughey

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	19-020	OHIO
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	,
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	July 1, 2019	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		2. s
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 42 CFR 440.150; 447 Subpart C; 483 Subpart I	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2019 \$ 1,513 thousands	
42 CFR 440.150, 447 Subpart C, 465 Subpart 1	b. FFY 2020 \$ 10,038 thousands	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	
	Attachment 3.1 A	
	Supplement 2, Page 19a (TN 14-023) (Remove)	
Attachment 4.19-C	Attachment 4.19-C	
Supplement 2, Page 1	Supplement 2, Page 1 of 1 (TN 13-007)	
Supplement 3, Page 1 (New)		
Attachment 4.19-D	Attachment 4.19-D	
Supplement 2, Page 6	Supplement 2, Page 6 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 6a	Supplement 2, Page 6a (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 8	Supplement 2, Page 8 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 8a	Supplement 2, Page 8a (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 8b	Supplement 2, Page 8b (TN 18-019)	
	Supplement 2, Page 8c (TN 18-019) (Remove)	
Supplement 2, Pages 10a-b, 10d-e	Supplement 2, Pages 10a-b, 10d-e (TN 18-019) Supplement 2, Page 13 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 13 Supplement 2, Page 13a	Supplement 2, Page 13 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 14	Supplement 2, Page 14 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 16	Supplement 2, Page 16 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 21	Supplement 2, Page 21 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 2, Page 22	Supplement 2, Page 22 (TN 18-019)	
Supplement 3, Page 4	Supplement 3, Page 4 (TN 18-026)	
Supplement 3, Page 10	Supplement 3, Page 10 (TN 18-026)	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Payment for Services: Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF-IID)		
Payment Changes.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):	*	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: The State Medicaid Director is the Governor's designee	
 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 	The State Medicaid Director	r is the Governor's designee
12. SIGNATURE OF CELETE LODVOL OFFICIAL	16. RETURN TO:	
	Carolyn Humphrey	
13. TYPED NAME: MAUREEN M. CORCORAN	Ohio Department of Medicaid	
14. TITLE: STATE MEDICAID DIRECTOR	P.O. BOX 182709	
	Columbus, Ohio 43218	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: September 17,2019		-
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: DEC	1 0 2019
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROYED MATERIAL:	20. SI	
	- <u> </u>	
21. TYPED NAME: Kristin Fan	22. TI DIrector, FM	E

Applies to New and Retired Methodologies

Coverage and Payment for Bed Hold Days

ICF-IID providers are eligible for payment to reserve a bed for a resident who is away from the facility for hospital leave, visits with friends and family, therapeutic leave, and trial visits to home and community-based settings. Up to 30 days are granted automatically per calendar year per resident. Any requests beyond 30 days require prior approval from the Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD) except for emergency hospital stays which must be requested within one business day of the start of the leave period. Payment for all allowable bed hold days is equal to 100% of the provider's per diem rate.

.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>13-007</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Coverage and Payment of Bed Hold Days

State-operated intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF-IID) providers are eligible for payment to reserve a bed for a resident who is away from the facility for hospital leave, visits with friends and family, therapeutic leave, and trial visits to home and community-based settings. Up to 30 days are granted automatically per calendar year per resident. Any requests beyond 30 days require prior approval from the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD) except for emergency hospital stays which must be requested within one business day of the start of the leave period. Payment for all allowable bed hold days is equal to one hundred percent of the provider's per diem rate.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>NEW</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

<u>Retiring Methodology</u>

Calculation of Direct Care Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-B, 2-B, and 3-B

A direct care per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID using allowable direct care costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Calculate the direct care cost per diem for each provider by dividing the allowable direct care costs by the inpatient days reported on the same cost report.
- 2) Calculate the direct care cost per case mix unit for each provider by dividing the provider's direct care costs per diem by the annual average case mix score for the provider. The annual average case mix score is the average of the provider's scores for the March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 reporting period end dates for the calendar year corresponding to the calendar year for which costs are reported.
- 3) Determine the maximum cost per case mix unit for each peer group:
 - a. The maximum cost per case mix unit for Peer Group 1-B is \$110.78.
 - b. The maximum cost per case mix unit for Peer Group 2-B is \$115.99.
 - c. The maximum cost per case mix unit for Peer Group 3-B is equal to the cost per case mix unit of the provider at the 95th percentile of all providers in Peer Group 3-B for the calendar year preceding the fiscal year in which the rate will be paid.
- 4) The allowable cost per case mix unit is the lesser of the facility cost per case mix unit or the maximum cost per case mix unit for the peer group.
- 5) Multiply the allowable cost per case mix unit by the annual average case mix score for the provider and then multiply the product by an inflation factor to determine the direct care per diem for the facility.
 - a. For Peer Groups 1-B, 2-B and 3-B the inflation factor is 1.0140.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 10 2019

<u>New Methodology</u>

Calculation of Direct Care Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A

A direct care per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID using allowable direct care costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Calculate the direct care cost per diem for each provider by dividing the allowable direct care costs by the inpatient days reported on the same cost report.
- 2) Calculate the direct care cost per case mix unit for each provider by dividing the provider's direct care costs per diem by the annual average case mix score for the provider. The annual average case mix score is the average of the provider's scores for the March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 reporting period end dates for the calendar year corresponding to the calendar year for which costs are reported.
- 3) Determine the maximum cost per case mix unit for each peer group:
 - a. The maximum cost per case-mix unit for a peer group for a fiscal year, other than Peer Group 5-A is the following percentage above the peer group's median cost per case-mix unit for that fiscal year.
 - *i.* For Peer Group 1-A use 16%.
 - *ii.* For Peer Group 2-A use 14%.
 - *iii.* For Peer Group 3-A use 18%.
 - iv. For Peer Group 4-A use 22%.
 - b. The maximum cost per case mix unit for Peer Group 5-A is equal to the cost per case mix unit of the provider at the 95th percentile of all providers in Peer Group 5-A for the calendar year preceding the fiscal year in which the rate will be paid.
- 4) The allowable cost per case mix unit is the lesser of the facility cost per case mix unit or the maximum cost per case mix unit for the peer group.
- 5) Multiply the allowable cost per case mix unit by the annual average case mix score for the provider and then multiply the product by an inflation factor to determine the direct care per diem for the facility.
 - a. For Peer Group 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A the inflation factor is 1.0438.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Retiring Methodology

Calculation of Indirect Care Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-B, 2-B, and 3-B

An indirect care per diem rate is established for each intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual disabilities using allowable indirect care costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Divide the allowable indirect care costs by the greater of the inpatient days reported on the same cost report or imputed occupancy.
 - a. Imputed Occupancy is 85% of the total number of bed days available based on the number of certified beds for the facility
- 2) Multiply the result above by an inflation factor to determine the inflated indirect care costs per diem.
 - a. For Peer Groups 1-B,2-B and 3-B the inflation factor is 1.0140.
- 3) Determine the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for each peer group:
 - a. The maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for Peer Group 1-B and Peer Group 2-B shall be calculated as follows:
 - (i) Have the amount so determined result in payment of all desk-reviewed, actual, allowable indirect care costs for the same percentage of Medicaid days for ICF's-IID in Peer Group 1-B as for ICF's-IID in Peer Group 2-B as of July 1, 2019, based on May 2019 Medicaid days.
 - (ii) Avoid rate adjustments under paragraph 1) of page 19 of Attachment 4.19-D, Supplement 2.
 - b. The maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for Peer Group 3-B shall be the rate that is no less than 10.3% above the median desk-reviewed, actual, allowable, per diem inflated indirect care cost for all providers in Peer Group 3-B (excluding providers whose inflated indirect care costs are more than three standard deviations from the mean desk-reviewed, actual, allowable, per diem inflated indirect care cost for all providers in Peer Group 3-B (for all providers in Peer Group 3-B) for the calendar year immediately preceding the fiscal year in which the rate will be paid.
- 4) Determine the maximum efficiency incentive for each peer group:
 - a. The maximum efficiency incentive for Peer Group 1-B is \$3.69.
 - b. The maximum efficiency incentive for Peer Group 2-B is \$3.19.
 - c. The maximum efficiency incentive for Peer Group 3-B is 7% of the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem.
- 5) The allowable indirect care per diem rate is:
 - a. If the inflated indirect care cost per diem is higher than the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group, the indirect care per diem rate is equal to the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group.
 - b. If the inflated indirect care cost per diem is lower than the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group, the indirect care cost per diem is equal to the sum of:
 - i. The inflated indirect care cost per diem
 - ii. The efficiency incentive per diem
 - 1) If the difference between the allowable indirect care per diem and the peer group ceiling is equal to or less than zero the efficiency incentive per diem equals zero.
 - 2) If the difference between the allowable indirect care per diem and the peer group ceiling is greater than zero the efficiency incentive per diem equals the lower of the calculated difference or the maximum efficiency incentive ceiling as outlined in Item 4 above.

Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

Retiring Methodology, continued

- 3) For Peer Group 1-B an efficiency incentive equal to either one half of the maximum efficiency incentive for the peer group; or an efficiency incentive equal to one half of the reduced efficiency incentive if the maximum efficiency incentive would cause the indirect care per diem rate to be above the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group.
- 4) For Peer Groups 2-B and 3-B an efficiency incentive equal to either the maximum efficiency incentive for the peer group or a reduced efficiency incentive if the maximum efficiency incentive would cause the indirect care per diem rate to be above the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

<u>New Methodology</u>

Calculation of Indirect Care Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A

An indirect care per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID using allowable indirect care costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Divide the allowable indirect care costs by the greater of the inpatient days reported on the same cost report or imputed occupancy.
 - a. Imputed occupancy is 85% of the total number of bed days available based on the number of certified beds for the facility.
- 2) Multiply the result above by an inflation factor of 0.993 to determine the inflated indirect care costs per diem.
- 3) The maximum rate for an ICF-IID's peer group shall be the following percentage above the peer group's median per diem indirect care costs for the applicable cost report year:
 - a. For Peer Group 1-A that percentage is 8%;
 - b. For Peer Group 2-A and Peer Group 3-A that percentage is 10%;
 - c. For Peer Group 4-A and Peer Group 5-A that percentage is 12%.
- 4) Determine the maximum efficiency incentive for each peer group:
 - a. The maximum efficiency incentive for Peer Group 1-A is 5% of the maximum per diem calculated for the peer group in Item 3 above.
 - b. The maximum efficiency incentive for Peer Groups 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A is 6% of the maximum per diem calculated for the peer group in Item 3 above.
- 5) The allowable indirect care per diem rate is:
 - a. If the inflated indirect care cost per diem is higher than the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group, the indirect care per diem rate is equal to the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group.
 - b. If the inflated indirect care cost per diem is lower than the maximum inflated indirect care cost per diem for the peer group, the indirect care cost per diem is equal to the sum of the following:
 - i. The inflated indirect care cost per diem;
 - ii. The efficiency incentive calculated as the difference between the amount of the per diem indirect care costs for the applicable cost report year and the maximum rate established for the ICF/IID peer group under Section 4 above.

Approval Date: DEC 10 2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

New Methodology

Calculation of Capital Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A

A capital per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID based on the determined fair rental value of the facility, allowable secondary buildings, and equipment costs. The result is compared to the facility's actual allowable reported capital costs and limited if the result is greater than costs. Any non-extensive renovations approved under the Retiring Methodology and not covered in this calculation are grandfathered in. The details are as follows:

Facility Fair Rental Value Calculation

- 1. Square footage cap
 - a. From the cost report, determine the total square footage of the facility and the number of beds.
 - b. Divide the total square footage by the number of beds to get the number of square feet per bed.
 - c. The minimum limit for square feet per bed is 200.
 - d. The maximum limit for square feet per bed is set by peer group as follows:
 - i. Peer Group 1-A provider has downsized or partially converted five beds or 10% of the previous capacity, whichever is less: 1000
 - ii. Peer Group 1-A provider has not downsized or partially converted the minimum required in (d.i.) above: 550
 - iii. Peer Group 2-A provider has downsized or partially converted five beds or 10% of the previous capacity, whichever is less: 1000
 - iv. Peer Group 2-A provider has not downsized or partially converted the minimum required in (d.iii.) above: 750
 - v. Peer Group 3-A: 850
 - vi. Peer Group 4-A: 900
 - vii. Peer Group 5-A: 900
 - e. For purposes of the fair rental value calculation the facility's allowable square footage shall be adjusted to reflect the minimum or maximum limits described above if the facility's calculated square feet per bed falls outside those limits.
- 2. Value per square foot
 - a. The value per square foot is based on the provider's peer group and county.
 - b. Use the following values by peer group (updated annually):
 - i. Peer Groups 1-A and 2-A: RS Means Construction Cost Estimating Data for Assisted Living, use \$184.36;

Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

New Methodology, continued

- ii. Peer Groups 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A: RS Means Construction Cost Estimating Data for Nursing Home, use \$211.12.
- c. The amount in (2b) is adjusted by a modifier published for each major metropolitan area by RS Means. The modifier applies to the county or counties that contain the metropolitan area. An appropriate proxy is assigned pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 5124.17 (effective July 1, 2018) for those counties that do not contain a metropolitan area as published.
- 3. Effective Age calculation
 - a. The initial construction year is assumed as the effective age unless renovations and/or additions have been reported.
 - i. Age is based on the cost report year. For example, a facility built in the cost report year would have the age of zero.
 - ii. Maximum age of a facility is 40 years.
 - iii. Minimum age of a facility is zero.
 - b. Each reported renovation or addition re-ages the facility. The re-aging is calculated as follows:
 - c. Additions:
 - i. For each square footage addition (positive value) the provider reports calculate the new bed equivalent.
 - 1. Multiple the square footage of the addition by the value per square foot from Item 2 above.
 - 2. Divide that amount by \$70,000 to get the new bed equivalent.
 - 3. Multiply the new bed equivalent by the project age to get the weighted new bed equivalent.
 - ii. For each bed addition (positive value, ignore reductions) the provider reports calculate the weighted new bed equivalent by multiplying the number of beds added by the age of the addition.
 - iii. Total the weighted new bed equivalent of all bed and square footage additions for each provider
 - d. Renovations:
 - i. Disregard any renovations reported which are 40 or more years old
 - ii. For each allowable renovation reported take the project cost and divide by \$70,000 to get the new bed equivalent.
 - iii. Multiple the new bed equivalent by the age of the renovation to get the weighted age of the renovation.

Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

New Methodology, continued

- 1. The current asset value is equal to the cost per square foot type (set at \$112.11 for FY20 for home office/record storage and updated annually) times by the allowable square footage.
- 2. Calculate the depreciation by multiplying the current asset value by the product of the building age (maximum of 40) times the depreciation rate (set at 1.6%).
- 3. Subtract from the current asset value to get the depreciated asset value.
- 4. Calculate the land value as 10% of the current asset value and add to the depreciated asset value to get the total base value
- 5. Calculate the secondary building fair rental value by multiplying the total base value by the rental rate (equal to 11%).
- 6. Calculate imputed occupancy for capital as 92% of the total bed days available reported. If the cost report covers less than a full year annualize both the total bed days available and the inpatient days.
- 7. Divide the secondary building fair rental value by the greater of annualized inpatient days or annualized imputed occupancy to get the secondary building fair rental value per diem.

Equipment Per Diem Calculation

- 1. Sum the equipment costs reported for the provider on the cost report.
- 2. Calculate imputed occupancy for equipment costs as 92% of the total bed days available reported.
- 3. Divide the equipment costs by the greater of inpatient days or imputed occupancy to get the equipment per diem.
- 4. Compare the equipment costs per diem to the ceiling for the provider's peer group as follows:
 - a. Peer Group 1-A: \$5.00
 - b. Peer Group 2-A: \$6.50
 - c. Peer Group 3-A: \$8.00
 - d. Peer Groups 4-A and 5-A: \$9.00
- 5. The allowable equipment cost per diem is equal to the lesser of the provider's equipment cost per diem and the ceiling for the provider's peer group.

Full Capital Rate Per Diem Calculation

- 1. Calculate the total fair rental value rate as the sum of the facility fair rental value rate, the secondary building fair rental value rate, and the equipment rate.
- 2. Calculate the capital cost per diem.
 - a. Sum the total allowable capital costs as reported on the cost report.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 10 2019

New Methodology, continued

- b. Divide by the greater of inpatient days or imputed occupancy to get the capital cost per diem
- 3. Compare the total fair rental value rate with the capital cost per diem
 - a. Calculate the rate difference as the total fair rental value rate minus the capital cost per diem
 - b. Determine the allowable dollar increase as follows:
 - i. Peer Groups 1-A and 2-A: \$3.00
 - ii. Peer Groups 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A: \$5.00
 - c. The provider is able to receive the amount of the allowable dollar increase plus 10% of any additional surplus if it exists beyond the allowable dollar increase.
 - i. Calculate the surplus amount as the rate difference minus the allowable dollar increase.
 - ii. Calculate the retained surplus as 10% of the surplus amount (only if it's a positive value).
 - d. The total capped rate is equal to the total fair rental value rate plus the allowable dollar increase plus the retained surplus.

Non-Extensive Renovations

Non-extensive renovations are projects approved by the Department of Developmental Disabilities prior to July 1, 2018 for the betterment, improvement, or restoration of a facility beyond its functional capacity through a structural change that costs at least \$500 per bed. Under the new methodology, non-extensive renovations are not reimbursed separately with other capital costs. However, providers whose projects were approved prior to the implementation of the new methodology are held harmless if the new methodology does not fully cover the non-extensive renovations.

Non-Extensive Renovations "Grandfathering" Calculation

- 1. Calculate the provider's total cost of ownership from the cost report.
- 2. Calculate the cost of ownership per diem by taking the total cost of ownership costs and dividing by the greater of inpatient days or imputed occupancy.
- 3. Calculate the rate above cost of ownership capped by subtracting the cost of ownership per diem from the total capped rate (cannot be less than \$0).
- 4. Calculate the non-extensive renovations cost per diem by taking the amount of nonextensive renovations costs reported on the cost report and dividing by the greater of inpatient days or imputed occupancy.
- 5. If the rate above cost of ownership is greater than the non-extensive renovations cost per diem, the allowable non-extensive renovations cost per diem is equal to \$0.

Approval Date: DEC 10 2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

Retiring Methodology

Calculation of Other Protected Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-B, 2-B, and 3-B

The other protected per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID using allowable other protected costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Subtract allowable franchise permit fee costs from the total allowable other protected costs;
- 2) Divide the amount in Item 1 above by the total inpatient days reported on the same cost report for the facility to determine the other protected costs per diem;
- 3) Multiply the other protected costs per diem by an inflation factor which is 1.0140;
- 4) Add Medicaid's portion of the franchise permit fee per diem rate to determine the other protected costs per diem rate.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

New Methodology

Calculation of Other Protected Per Diem for Peer Groups 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A

Another protected per diem rate is established for each ICF-IID using allowable other protected costs as reported by each facility in accordance with the following calculation:

- 1) Subtract allowable franchise permit fee costs from the total allowable other protected costs;
- 2) Divide the amount in Item 1 above by the total inpatient days reported on the same cost report for the facility to determine the other protected costs per diem;
- 3) For Peer Groups 1-A, 2-A, 3-A, 4-A, and 5-A multiply the other protected costs per diem by an inflation factor which is 1.0215;
- 4) Add Medicaid's portion of the franchise permit fee per diem rate to determine the other protected costs per diem rate.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Applies to New and Retiring Methodologies

Franchise Permit Fee

The State assesses all providers of ICF-IID services a franchise permit fee based on the provider's monthly reported inpatient days. If inpatient days are not reported timely, days for that month are calculated based on the ICF-IID's certified bed count. The franchise permit fee is calculated using projected net patient revenue and bed counts for the provider class, in accordance with the Indirect Guarantee Percentage as defined in section 1903(w)(4)(C)(ii) of the Social Security Act, 120 Stat. 2994 (2006) and 42 U.S.C. 1396b(w)(4)(C)(ii), as amended. The amount of the franchise fee is \$23.95 per bed per day.

Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Effective Date: 07/01/2019

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u>

This page intentionally left blank.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Applies to New and Retiring Methodologies

Outliers

An outlier is a facility or unit in a facility serving residents with diagnoses or special care needs that require direct care resources not measured adequately by the Individual Assessment Form or Ohio Development Disabilities Profile that serves residents with special care needs otherwise qualifying for consideration. An outlier rate is a contracted rate and may differ from standard rates.

- 1) For the Ventilator Services outlier, the State provides an add-on payment of \$300 per day for each individual authorized to receive ventilator services in the facility.
- For the Intensive Behavioral Services outlier, the State provides an add-on payment of \$300 per day for each individual authorized to receive intensive behavioral health support services in the facility.

Individuals must receive prior approval from DODD for payment of ventilator and/or intensive behavioral outlier services.

Approval Date: DEC 10 2019

Effective Date: <u>07/01/2019</u>

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes TN: <u>18-019</u>

This page intentionally left blank

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes TN: <u>18-019</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Direct Care Costs

<u>Allowable costs for direct care</u>

Costs included in direct care are reasonable costs incurred for wages, taxes, benefits, staff development and contracting/consulting expenses for the following:

- 1) Registered nurses, licensed practical nurses and nurse aides
- 2) Administrative nursing staff and medical directors
- 3) Psychologist and psychology assistants
- 4) Respiratory therapist, physical therapist, physical therapy assistant, occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant, speech therapist, audiologist and other persons holding degrees qualifying them to provide therapy
- 5) Qualified Intellectual Disabilities Professionals
- 6) Habilitation staff and supervisor
- 7) Program director, program specialist, activity director and activity staff
- 8) Social work/counseling, social services and pastoral care
- 9) Active treatment off-site day programming
- 10) Quality assurance and other home office costs related to direct care
- 11) Franchise Permit Fee (FPF)
- 12) Other direct care costs

Franchise Permit Fee

The State assesses all providers of (ICF-IID) services a franchise permit fee based on the provider's monthly reported inpatient days. If inpatient days are not reported timely, days for that month are calculated based on the ICF-IID's certified bed count. The franchise permit fee is calculated using projected net patient revenue and bed counts for the provider class, in accordance with the Indirect Guarantee Percentage as defined in federal regulations (section 1903(w)(4)(C)(ii) of the Social Security Act, 120 Stat. 2994 (2006), 42 U.S.C. 1396b(w)(4)(C)(ii), as amended). The amount of the franchise fee is \$23.95 per bed per day.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-026</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019

Coverage and payment for short term respite stays

State-operated ICF-IID providers are eligible for payment for an individual on a home and community-based waiver to temporarily reside in the facility for up to 90 days in a calendar year. The state-operated ICF-IID provider shall be paid at the per diem rate for any individual residing in a Medicaid certified state-operated ICF-IID bed. Payment for the individual shall cease after 90 days in a calendar year unless the individual disenrolls from the home and community-based waiver and becomes a permanent resident of the facility.

TN: <u>19-020</u> Supersedes: TN: <u>18-026</u> Approval Date: DEC 1 0 2019