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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAII) SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
November 05, 2019

Womazetta Jones, Secretary

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
State of Rhode Island

3 West Road, Virks Building

Cranston, R1 02920

RE: Rhode Island SPA 19-0008
Dear Secretary Jones:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 19-0008. Effective October 1, 2019, this amendment
revises reimbursement for nursing facility services. Specifically, it provides for a one percent
increase to the base per diem rate in lieu of inflation adjustment.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30) and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State
plan amendment 19-0008 is approved effective October 1, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179

and the amended plan pages.
If you have any questions, please call Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291.

Sincerely,

1stin Fan
Director

oes
Avery Stahlecker
Novena James-Hailey
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[1 Exceptions to price increases

Annual adjustments to the base per diem rates stated above will not occur in the following years, and
will instead be adjusted as noted below:

-2015 no increase

-2017 no increase

-2018 base rates increased by 1.5% effective July 1 and 1% effective October 1

-2019 base rates increased by 1% effective October 1

C. Transition Adjustments

In recognition of the impact this change will have on nursing homes, the state has implemented a
transition plan of at least four years in length. This change will be completed after October 1, 2016. The
features of this transition are described below.

{'} Adjustment to Direct Care (Direct Nursing Care and Other Direct Care components)

For those nursing homes whose Direct Care per diem costs are greater than the Direct Care base rates, i.e
the sum of the Direct Nursing Care and Other Direct Care base rate components, which would result in a
loss in reimbursement, the state has added a policy adjustment to fully compensate for that loss. This
will ensure that patient care is not adversely impacted. See example below:

Actual Direct Care cost: $130.00
Minus Direct Nursing Care rate: ($100.44)
Minus Other Direct Care rate: ($23.74)
Policy adjustment equals: $5.82
This policy adjustor will be phased out over the transition period as follows:
e 10/1/16 100%
s 10/1/17 75%
o 10/1/18 50%
e 10/1/19 25%
e 10/1/20 0%

[1 Adjustment to Overali Care

In addition to the above policy adjustment, the state has also 1mplemented a gain/loss pollcy ad_}ustment
ensuring that, exclusive of the direct care policy adjustment, no nursing home will experience a gain or
loss in year one of the transition of greater than $5.00 per day. See example below:

Direct and Indirect Care base rate: $177.71
Actual Direct and Indirect Care costs:  $160.00
Rate variance: $17.71
Maximum gain/loss $5.00
Gain/loss policy adjustment ($12.71)
This policy adjustor will be phased out over the transition period as follows:

s 10/1/12 100% ($12.7H)

e 10/1/13 75% ($9.53)

o 10/1/14 50% ($6.36)

e 10/1/16 25% ($3.18)

e 10/1/17 0% $0.00

D. Periodic Rate Review

TN: 19-008 NOV 0.5 2019
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The property tax component is facility specific, i.e. based on actual property taxes assessed and paid.

L] Provider Assessment

The provider assessment is an amount equal to 5.82% of the sum of the above components to recognize
the state’s Provider Assessment Tax. Should the state’s 5.5% Provider Assessment Tax rate change, this
add-on will be adjusted accordingly. Below is an example of the adjustment to the add-on in the
provider tax were to be changed to 4.0%.

1. Per diem base rate (excl. provider tax}): $200.00

2. Calcuiate per diem rate with 4.0% tax: $200.00 divided by .96 = $208.33
3.  Calculate provider tax amount: $208.33 minus $200.00 = $8.33

4,  Calculate add-on percent: - $8.33 divided by $200.00 = 4.165%
5.  Calculate provider tax add-on: $200.00 times 4.165% = $8.33

6.  Calculate per diem rate incl. tax: $200.00 plus $8.33 =$208.33

B. Adjustments to Base Rate

{1 Patient Acuity

Recognition of patient acuity in the payment methodology is being incorporated through the use of a
RUG-1V case-mix classification system. The case-mix classification system uses clinical data from the
MDS assessment to assign a case-mix group to each patient that is then used to adjust a portion of the per
diem payment based on patient resource use. (This is similar to how Medicare reimburses for care in a
skilled nursing facility.) Each patient will be assigned one of forty-eight (48) RUG categories by the
grouper based on his/her MDS record. A patient’s MDS record is to be updated every ninety (90) days
or in the event of a significant change in condition. Acuity will be based on the patient specific RUG
category, i.e. full RUG-based system. The acuity factor (RUG weight) will be applied only to the Direct
Nursing Care component.

To allow for necessary modifications to the state’s MMIS claims processing system, full implementation
of the RUG-based process will be implemented on June 1, 2013. In the interim, a facility specific case
mix index was being used.

(1 Price Increases
Unless otherwise stated, the components of the base per diem rate will be increased annually, effective

October 1 of each year, as follows:

1. Direct Nursing, Other Direct Care, and Indirect Care:
Global Insight/CMS Skilled Nursing Facility Market Basket

2. Fair Rental Value:
Global Insight Nursing Home Capital Cost Index

3. Property Taxes:
Facility specific property tax payments

The Fair Rental Value rate for each nursing home was most recently increased effective 7/1/2012. The
Property Tax rates are based on allowable tax payments and total patient days reported in each facility’s
most recently filed cost report.
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