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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Dallas Regional Office 
1301 Young Street, Suite 833 
Dallas, Texas 75202 

DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN'S HEALTH -REGION VI 

May 21,2013 

Our Reference: SPA TX 12-037 

Ms. Kay Ghahremani 
State Medicaid/CHIP Director 
Health and Human Services Commission 
Post Office Box 13247 
Mail Code H 100 
Austin, Texas 78711 

Dear Ms. Ghahremani: 

CMS 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAl!) SERVICES 

CONSORTIUM FOR MEDICAID 
& CHILDREN'S HEALTH OPERATIONS 

We have reviewed the State's proposed amendment to the Texas State Plan submitted under 
Transmittal Number 12-037, dated October 12, 2012. This state plan amendment updates the 
State's plan language for hearing aids for the EPSDT population and limits the provision of 
hearing aids for adults. Hearing aids for adults will be limited to persons with hearing loss in both 
ears and only one hearing aid will be provided. 

Based on the information submitted, we have approved the amendment for incorporation into the 
official Texas State Plan with an effective date change of October 1, 2012. A copy of the CMS-
179 and approved plan pages are enclosed with this letter. 

If you have questions, please contact Cheryl Rupley at (214) 767-6278. 

Associate Regional Administrator 

cc: Becky Brownlee, Policy Development Support 
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4.b. EPSDT Services (Continued) 

Audiology and Hearing Services 

Definition: 

State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 7b 

Audiology and hearing services outlined in this section of the state plan are available to 
Medicaid-eligible recipients under the age of 21 years who are eligible for Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services and for whom services are medically 
necessary. 

Services: 
Audiology Services 
Pursuant to 42 CFR § 440.110, medically necessary audiology services include. but are not 
limited to: 

1 . Identification of children with hearing loss; 
2. Determination of the range, nature and degree of hearing loss, including the referral for 

medical or other professional attention for the amelioration of hearing; 
3. Provision of amelioration activities, such as language amelioration, auditory training, 

speech reading (lip reading}, hearing evaluation and speech conversation; 
4. Determination of the child's need for group and individual amplification; and 
5. Hearing aid services, including necessary equipment and supplies (hearing aid 

instruments are described under "Prosthetics"). 

Hearing Services 
Hearing aid and audiometric evaluation services for Medicaid clients younger than 21 years of 
age are reimbursed to willing and qualified Medicaid providers, meeting the qualifications 
described below. 

Audiology and hearing services may be provided in an individual or group setting. 

Audiology and hearing services must be prescribed by a physician or by another licensed 
practitioner within the scope of his or her practice under state law. 

Providers: 
Audiology and hearing services must be provided by a qualified audiologist who meets the 
requirements of 42 CFR § 440.11 O(c)(3) and in accordance with applicable state and federal 
law or regulation. 

Services may be provided by: 
• A qualified audiologist licensed by the state to furnish audiologist services; or 
• A qualified audiology assistant licensed by the state, when the services are provided in a 

facility setting (such as a comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility, an outpatient 
rehabilitation facility, an outpatient hospital. an inpatient hospital, or a school) and when 
the assistant is acting 

Approval Date: 5-21- 12 Ufecti\L' Date: IQ -=-L:-J_~ 
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State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 7t 

4b. EPSDT Services (continued) 

Tl\: 

Prosthetics 

a) Definition 

Prosthetics outlined in this section of the state plan include orthotic devices and prosthetic 
devices and are available to Medicaid-eligible recipients under the age of 21 years who are 
eligible for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services and 
for whom services are medically necessary. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are defined as replacement, correction, or support devices 
prescribed by the physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope 
of professional practice as defined by Texas law to: 

(1) artificially replace a missing portion of the body; 

(2) prevent or correct physical deformity or malfunction; or 

(3) support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

Hearing aids are considered prosthetic devices and defined as an electronic device that 
amplifies sound to compensate for impaired hearing. 

b) Services 

( 1) Hearing Aids. 
Medical necessity for hearing aids must be determined through an examination 
conducted by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the 
scope of his practice as defined by State law. 

(2) Prosthetics/Orthotics. 
Orthotic and prosthetic devices require prior authorization and must be medically 
necessary. The services are provided under 42 CFR §§440.120(c) and 440.225 and in 
accordance with applicable state and federal law and regulation. Orthotic and 
prosthetic devices are available to Medicaid EPSDT -eligible recipients under the age of 
21 years when medically necessary and eligible for federal financial participation. 

Other prosthetics, which are not limited to Medicaid EPSDT-eligible recipients, are described 
in item 12c of this section. --·----· 7--A 
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c) Providers 

State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 7u 

Hearing aids must be furnished by an audiologist or by approved hearing aid fitter and 
dispenser providers. Providers must meet all federal and state licensing laws and 
regulations applicable to provision of the service. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are a benefit of the Texas Medicaid Program when provided 
by a 

• Medicaid-enrolled orthotist, prosthetist, or a prosthetist/orthotist licensed by the state 
and in accordance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations; 

• Physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of 
professional practice as defined by Texas law; or 

• Medicaid-enrolled provider of durable medical equipment and supplies. 

These devices may also be provided by physicians or other licensed practitioners of the 
healing arts within the scope of professional practice as defined by Texas law. 

Approval Date: _5 -~(,_.1_.3_ Hfec:tive Date JQ__: L-::-L(;J_ 
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12.c. Prosthetics 
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Prosthetics outlined in this section of the state plan include orthotic devices and prosthetic 
devices. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are defined as replacement, correction, or support devices 
prescribed by the physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope 
of professional practice as defined by Texas law to: 

(1) artificially replace a missing portion of the body; 

(2) prevent or correct physical deformity or malfunction; or 

(3) support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

Hearing aids are considered prosthetic devices and defined as an electronic device that 
amplifies sound to compensate for impaired hearing. 

External breast prosthesis is defined as an external prosthetic device that is used to replace 
breast tissue and to produce a symmetrical appearance of the breasts. 

b) Services 

( 1) Hearing Aids. 
Medical necessity for a hearing aid must be determined through an examination 
conducted by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the 
scope of his practice as defined by State law. Coverage for eligible recipients age 21 
and older who have hearing loss in both ears is limited to one hearing aid. Coverage is 
not available for recipients age 21 and older who have hearing loss in only one ear. 

(2) External Breast Prostheses. 

('N ~~ w_ 31 

External breast prostheses are a benefit tor all Medicaid eligible recipients with a 
history of medically necessary mastectomy procedure(s). This benefit includes external 
breast prostheses for the breast(s) on which medically necessary mastectomy 
procedure(s) have been performed. Medical necessity for an external breast prosthesis 
must be determined through an examination, conducted by a physician licensed to 
practice medicine or osteopathy in the state where and when the service is performed. 

Approval Date: _Q :~1 - (3 __ EffcL"tivc Date: I(J -1-1~ 
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Audiology and Hearing Services 

Definition: 

State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B 

Page 7b 

Audiology and hearing services outlined in this section of the state plan are available to 
Medicaid-eligible recipients under the age of 21 years who are eligible for Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services and for whom services are medically 
necessary. 

Services: 
Audiology Services 
Pursuant to 42 CFR § 440.110, medically necessary audiology services include, but are not 
limited to: 

1 . Identification of children with hearing loss; 
2. Determination of the range, nature and degree of hearing loss, including the referral for 

medical or other professional attention for the amelioration of hearing; 
3. Provision of amelioration activities, such as language amelioration, auditory training, 

speech reading (lip reading), hearing evaluation and speech conversation; 
4. Determination of the child's need for group and individual amplification; and 
5. Hearing aid services, including necessary equipment and supplies (hearing aid 

instruments are described under "Prosthetics"). 

Hearing Services 
Hearing aid and audiometric evaluation services for Medicaid clients younger than 21 years of 
age are reimbursed to willing and qualified Medicaid providers, meeting the qualifications 
described below. 

Audiology and hearing services may be provided in an individual or group setting. 

Audiology and hearing services must be prescribed by a physician or by another licensed 
practitioner within the scope of his or her practice under state law. 

Providers: 
Audiology and hearing services must be provided by a qualified audiologist who meets the 
requirements of 42 CFR § 440.11 O(c)(3) and in accordance with applicable state and federal 
law or regulation. 

Services may be provided by: 
• A qualified audiologist licensed by the state to furnish audiologist services; or 
• A qualified audiology assistant licensed by the state, when the services are provided in a 

facility setting (such as a comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility, an outpatient 
rehabilitation facility, an outpatient hospital. an inpatient hospital, or a school) and when 
the assistant is acting 
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State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B 

Page 7t 

4b. EPSDT Services (continued) 

Prosthetics 

a) Definition 

Prosthetics outlined in this section of the state plan include orthotic devices and prosthetic 
devices and are available to Medicaid-eligible recipients under the age of 21 years who are 
eligible for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services and 
for whom services are medically necessary. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are defined as replacement, correction, or support devices 
prescribed by the physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope 
of professional practice as defined by Texas law to: 

(1) artificially replace a missing portion of the body; 

{2) prevent or correct physical deformity or malfunction; or 

(3) support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

Hearing aids are considered prosthetic devices and defined as an electronic device that 
amplifies sound to compensate for impaired hearing. 

b) Services 

( 1) Hearing Aids. 
Medical necessity for hearing aids must be determined through an examination 
conducted by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the 
scope of his practice as defined by State law. 

(2) Prosthetics/Orthotics. 
Orthotic and prosthetic devices require prior authorization and must be medically 
necessary. The services are provided under 42 CFR §§440.120(c) and 440.225 and in 
accordance with applicable state and federal law and regulation. Orthotic and 
prosthetic devices are available to Medicaid EPSDT-eligible recipients under the age of 
21 years when medically necessary and eligible for federal financial participation. 

Other prosthetics, which are not limited to Medicaid EPSDT-eligible recipients. are described 
in item 12c of this section. r ..... _. --.. ------;,-----, 
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c) Providers 

State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3. 1-B 

Page 7u 

Hearing aids must be furnished by an audiologist or by approved hearing aid fitter and 
dispenser providers. Providers must meet all federal and state licensing laws and 
regulations applicable to provision of the service. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are a benefit of the Texas Medicaid Program when provided 
by a 

• Medicaid-enrolled orthotist, prosthetist, or a prosthetist/orthotist licensed by the state 
and in accordance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations; 

• Physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of 
professional practice as defined by Texas law; or 

• Medicaid-enrolled provider of durable medical equipment and supplies. 

These devices may also be provided by physicians or other licensed practitioners of the 
healing arts within the scope of professional practice as defined by Texas law. 
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State of Texas 
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B 
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12.c. Prosthetics 

TN: 

a) Definition 

Prosthetics outlined in this section of the state plan include orthotic devices and prosthetic 
devices. 

Orthotic and prosthetic devices are defined as replacement, correction, or support devices 
prescribed by the physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope 
of professional practice as defined by Texas law to: 

(1) artificially replace a missing portion of the body; 

(2) prevent or correct physical deformity or malfunction; or 

(3) support a weak or deformed portion of the body. 

Hearing aids are considered prosthetic devices and defined as an electronic device that 
amplifies sound to compensate for impaired hearing. 

External breast prosthesis is defined as an external prosthetic device that is used to replace 
breast tissue and to produce a symmetrical appearance of the breasts. 

b) Services 

(1) Hearing Aids. 
Medical necessity for a hearing aid must be determined through an examination 
conducted by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the 
scope of his practice as defined by State law. Coverage for eligible recipients age 21 
and older who have hearing loss in both ears is limited to one hearing aid. Coverage is 
not available for recipients age 21 and older who have hearing loss in only one ear. 

(2) External Breast Prostheses. 

JJ--8'1 

External breast prostheses are a benefit for all Medicaid eligible recipients with a 
history of medically necessary mastectomy procedure(s). This benefit includes external 
breast prostheses for the breast(s) on which medically necessary mastectomy 
procedure(s) have been performed. Medical necessity for an external breast prosthesis 
must be determined through an examination, conducted by a physician licensed to 
practice medicine or osteopathy in the state where and when the service is performed. 
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