Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Utah

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: UT-12-001

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)

3) Approved SPA Pages

TN: UT-12-001 **Approval Date:** 04/02/2012 **Effective Date** 04/01/2012

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 1600 Broadway, Suite 700 Denver, CO 80202-4967



Region VIII

April 2, 2012

W. David Patton, Ph.D. Utah Department of Health 288 North 1460 West PO Box 143102 Salt Lake City, UT 84114

RE: Utah #12-001

Dear Dr. Patton:

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 12-001. This State Plan Amendment allows presumptive eligibility for individuals in Medicaid who are under 19 years of age if a qualified entity determines that they are eligible for Medicaid services. This expansion is one of 5 requirements necessary for the State to receive the Performance Bonus payments.

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment is approved effective April 1, 2012. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s).

If you have any questions concerning this amendment, please contact Betty Strecker at (701) 540-4118.

Sincerely,

/s/

Richard C. Allen Associate Regional Administrator Division for Medicaid and Children's Health

CC: Michael Hales, Medicaid Director, UT Craig Devashrayee, UT

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES HEALTHCARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193
RANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL OR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE: Utah
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTHCARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE April 1, 2012
i. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)	
- <u></u>	TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)
 FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 1920A of the Social Security Act 	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2012 +\$25,790 b. FFY 2013 +\$51,579
3. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
Page 23d of ATTACHMENT 2.2-A	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): X GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTA	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
12.	16. RETURN TO:
13. TYPED NAME: W. David Patton, Ph.D.	Craig Devashrayee, Manager Technical Writing Unit Utah Department of Heath P.O. Box 143102 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102
14. TITLE: Executive Director, Utah Department of Health	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: February 15, 2012	
16.	
17. DATE RECEIVED: 2/15/12 FOR REGION	18. DATE APPROVED: 4/2//2
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	AL OFFICIAL:
4/1/12	
21. TYPED NAME:	22. IIIEE
RICHARD C. ALLEN	A-RA, DMCHO
PLAN APPRÖVED - ON 3. REMARKS	VE COPY ATTACHED

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

	State:	UTAH	
	cov	OVERAGE AND CONDITIONS OF ELIGIBILITY	
Citation(s)		Groups Covered	
4000 (1)	B.	Optional Coverage Other Than the Medically Needy (Continued)	
1920A of the Act	X	25. Presumptive Eligibility for Children Children under age 19 (no more than age 19) who are determined by a "qualified entity" (as defined in §1920A(b)(3)(A) of the Act) based on preliminary information, to meet the highest applicable income criteria specified in this plan under <u>ATTACHMENT 2.6-A</u> and are therefore determined to be presumptively eligible during a presumptive eligibility period in accordance with §1920A of the Act.	
		The presumptive period begins on the day that the determination is made. If an application for Medicaid is filed on the child's behalf by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility was made, the presumptive period ends on the day that the State agency makes a determination of eligibility based on that application. If an application is not filed on the child's behalf by the last day of the month following the month the determination of presumptive eligibility was made, the presumptive period ends on that last day.	
	The following types of "qualified entities" are used to determine presumptive eligibility: Medicaid eligibility workers with the Divisions of Child and Family Services or Juvenile Justice Services.		
		The State requires that a written application be completed and signed by the child's parent or other representative:	
		X Yes □ No	
		The written application requests the following identifying information: Names of children; birth date; gender; household members and relationship to children; state residency; household income; citizenship or legal alien status.	
T.N.#	12-001	Approval Date 4/2/12	
Supersedes T.N. # _	_New	Effective Date4-1-12	