## **Table of Contents**

State/Territory Name: Utah

**State Plan Amendment (SPA) #:** UT-14-009

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)

3) Approved SPA Pages

**TN:** UT-14-009 **Approval Date:** 05/29/2014 **Effective Date** 01/01/2014

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-14-26 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



# Disabled & Elderly Health Programs Group

W. David Patton, Ph.D. Executive Director Utah Department of Health P.O. Box 143102 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 May 29, 2014

Dear Dr. Patton:

We have reviewed the Utah State Plan Amendment (SPA) 14-009 received in the Denver Regional Office on January 15, 2014. The State of Utah proposes to require that drugs purchased by covered entities under the Public Health Services Act of Section 340B be billed at no more than the 340B celling price. This amendment also proposes to create a separate dispensing fee for 340B drugs that are reimbursed at or below the 340B ceiling price. Based on the information provided, we are pleased to inform you that SPA 14-009 is approved with an effective date of January 1, 2014.

A copy of the CMS-179 form as well as the pages approved for incorporation into the state plan will be forwarded by the Denver Regional Office. If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact Madlyn Kruh at (410) 786-3239.

Sincerely,

/ s /

Joseph L. Fine Acting Director Division of Pharmacy

cc: Richard C. Allen, ARA, Denver Regional Office Sonia Hinojosa, Denver Regional Office Craig Devashrayee, Utah Department of Health

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193		
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE: Utah		
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)		
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTHCARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE January 1, 2014		
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)			
☐ NEW STATE PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT	TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS	AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:  a. FFY <u>2014</u> \$0  b. FFY <u>2015</u> \$0		
42 CFR 440.120			
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Page 19a of ATTACHMENT 4.19-B		
age 19a of ATTACHMENT 4.19-B			
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):  SOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:		
	16. RETURN TO:		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:			
13. TYPED NAME: W. David Patton, Ph.D.	Craig Devashrayee, Manager Technical Writing Unit Utah Department of Heath		
14. TITLE: Executive Director, Utah Department of Health	PO Box 143102 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102		
15. DATE SUBMITTED: January 15, 2014			
16			
17 DATE RECEIVED	18 DATE APPROVED		
01/15/14	05/29/14		
	I NAL USE ONLY		
IS EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL.	1 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL		
	<b>19</b>		
01/01/14	22°117LE:		
21, TYPED NAME			
Richard C. Allen	ARA, DMCHO DNE GOPY ATTACHED		
23: REMARKS			

S. PRESCRIBED DRUGS (Continued)

#### Utah EAC

Effective July 1, 2010, the EAC is AWP minus 17.4 percent.

For the period of July 1, 2011, through February 20, 2012, the EAC is UWP minus 17.4 percent.

#### Dispensing Fee

In setting the basic dispensing fee, the state will give consideration to costs shown on periodic operation surveys, in-house studies of dispensing costs, national and regional data, and economic trends and conditions. The Utah base dispensing fee is \$3.90 and the 340B dispensing fee is \$12.39.

### **Special Category Fees**

- 1. Payment for insulin, birth control pills, and non-legend (OTC) drugs will be the lowest of:
  - a. Billed charge;
  - b. EAC + special category fee C;
  - c. Utah MAC + special category fee C; or
  - d. AWP or UWP + special category fee not to exceed the maximum on the Federal upper limits list.
  - e. Special Category fee C = \$1.00.
- 2. Payment for non-legend OTC antacid liquids will be the lowest of:
  - a. Billed charge;
  - b. EAC + special category fee F;
  - c. Utah MAC + special category fee F; or
  - d. AWP or UWP + special category fee not to exceed the maximum on the Federal upper limit list.

Category fee F is calculated as follows: drug quantity + package size x \$0.50.

- 3. Payment for 340B priced products 340B ingredient cost submitted + 340B dispensing fee (\$12.39)
- 4. Differential fee payment for select drugs reconstituted for Home I.V. infusion as typically prepared by a specialty pharmacy. Specialty pharmacies have low volume but high overhead expenses. The Department of Justice (DOJ) in year 2000 re-priced the AWP for 437 NDC specific products. The re-priced products necessitated four new dispensing fees. The four fees are defined as category J, category K, category L, and category M.

T.N. #	14-009	Approval Date	<u>5/29/</u> 14
Supersedes T.N. #	11-014	Effective Date	<u>1-1-14</u>