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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Denver Regional Office
1961 Stout Street, Room 08-148
Denver, CO 80294

REGION VIII - DENVER

December 12, 2016

Joseph K. Miner, M.D., MSPH, Executive Director
Utah Department of Health
P.O. Box 141000
Salt Lake City, UT 84114- 1000

RE:  Utah #16-0005-MM

Dear Dr. Miner: 

Enclosed is an approved copy of Utah’s state plan amendment (SPA) 16-0005-MM, which was
submitted to CMS on December 23, 2015, and contains an amendment to the MAGI-Based
Eligibility S21 template for Hospital Presumptive Eligibility.  This amendment elects to use the
single streamline application as well as make revisions to the training materials effective January
1, 2016. 

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved December 9, 2016 with an
effective date of January 1, 2016.  We are enclosing the following: 

Summary Form (similar to the CMS-179) 
S21 template
Attachment 1 – Alternative single streamlined paper application
Attachments 2 & 3 – Hospital Presumptive Eligibility Training Materials and PowerPoint
Slides

CMS appreciates the significant amount of work your staff dedicated to preparing this state plan
amendment.  If you have any questions concerning this SPA, please contact Mandy Strom at
mandy.strom@cms.hhs.gov or (303) 844-7068. 

Sincerely, 

Richard C. Allen
Associate Regional Administrator
Division for Medicaid and Children's Health Operations

cc:  Nathan Checketts, Medicaid Director, UT
Jeff Nelson, UT

Craig Devashrayee, UT



State/Territory name: Utah

Submitted By: Craig Devashrayee

Last Revision Date: Dec 6, 2016

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2015

Medicaid State Plan Eligibility: Summary Page (CMS 179) 

Transmittal Number: 
Please enter the Transmittal Number (TN) in the format ST-YY-0000 where ST= the state abbreviation, YY = the last two digits of the submission year, 
and 0000 = a four digit number with leading zeros. The dashes must also be entered.

UT-16-0005

Proposed Effective Date

01/01/2016 ( mm/ dd/ yyyy)

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation

Pub. L. No. 111-148

Federal Budget Impact

Federal Fiscal Year Amount

First Year 2016 $ 0.00

Second Year 2017 $ 0.00

Subject of Amendment
Presumptive Eligibility by Hospitals

Governor's Office Review

Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal

Other, as specified
Describe:

Signature of State Agency Official
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State Name: Utah OMB Control Number: 0938- 1148

Transmittal Number: UT - 16- 0005 Expiration date: 10/ 31/ 2014

Presumptive Eligibility by Hospitals S21

42 CFR 435. 1110

One or more qualified hospitals are determining presumptive eligibility under 42 CFR 435. 1110, and the state is providing Medicaid

coverage for individuals determined presumptively eligible under this provision.

Yes       ' No

The state attests that presumptive eligibility by hospitals is administered in accordance with the following provisions:

F A qualified hospital is a hospital that:

Participates as a provider under the Medicaid state plan or a Medicaid 1115 Demonstration, notifies the Medicaid agency of

F its election to make presumptive eligibility determinations and agrees to make presumptive eligibility determinations
consistent with state policies and procedures.

Has not been disqualified by the Medicaid agency for failure to make presumptive eligibility determinations in accordance

F with applicable state policies and procedures or for failure to meet any standards that may have been established by the

Medicaid agency.

Assists individuals in completing and submitting the full application and understanding any documentation requirements.

Yes No

The eligibility groups or populations for which hospitals determine eligibility presumptively are:

F Pregnant Women

F Infants and Children under Age 19

F Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives

F Adult Group, if covered by the state

F Individuals above 133% FPL under Age 65, if covered by the state

F Individuals Eligible for Family Planning Services, if covered by the state

F Former Foster Care Children

Certain Individuals Needing Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer, if covered by the state

Other Family/Adult groups:

Eligibility groups for individuals age 65 and over

Eligibility groups for individuals who are blind

Eligibility groups for individuals with disabilities

Other Medicaid state plan eligibility groups

Demonstration populations covered under section 1115

Pate 1 of 4

UT-16-0005 Approval Date:  12/09/2016 Effective Date:  1/1/2016



11 I' mill mill NINE 11 NINE 11 NINE IN I' ll! 11 11 iii! 11 111, 1ii 11

Medicaid Eligibility
AW"*' 9 Y a. a CW,.  Mx+ au`Ybmi..' u.u2x' uYWu'muytN

The state establishes standards for qualified hospitals making presumptive eligibility determinations.

Yes No

Select one or both:

The state has standards that relate to the proportion of individuals determined presumptively eligible who submit a regular

application, as described at 42 CFR 435. 907, before the end of the presumptive eligibility period.

The State has set a standard for hospitals to provide 100% of all PE applications completed by

the hospital site to the Department of Workforce Services( DWS). DWS enters the PE decision

into the client eligibility system and issues medical assistance cards to eligible individuals.

The hospital PE application can be used to apply for ongoing assistance. Applicants only have to

answer the questions required to make the PE decision and sign that paper application. The

hospital staff are expected to let individuals know that they can apply for ongoing assistance

using the PE application, and must offer assistance to applicants in completing the application.

Description of standards: 
Individuals are encouraged, but not required to complete the full application if they want to use

the PE application to apply for ongoing assistance. Applicants for PE may choose not to submit a

full application at the time they are doing the PE application. The applicant may also choose to

apply later using a different application process. The hospital PE application includes a question

about using the PE application to apply for ongoing medical assistance.

DWS will accept the PE application as a full application for ongoing medical assistance when the

applicant indicates he wants to apply for ongoing assistance. If a client does not indicate he

wants to apply for ongoing assistance, DWS only enters the information about the PE decision,

and issues a medical card for presumptive eligibility only.

The state has standards that relate to the proportion of individuals who are determined eligible for Medicaid based on the

submission of an application before the end of the presumptive eligibility period.

The State has set a standard that the hospital will maintain an 85% accuracy rate for its

presumptive eligibility decisions based on the information provided by the applicant. The State

will conduct periodic reviews of PE applications received from the various sites, and randomly

select a sample of cases to review to decide if the hospital made the correct PE decision based on

the information provided by the applicant. The State will conduct additional training when a site

has a lower accuracy rate, and take corrective actions if needed, which may include disqualifying

a site if improvement does not occur. The state will increase this standard as the hospitals have

had time to learn the process, and based on the findings from reviews.

For presumptively eligible individuals who submit applications for ongoing medical assistance,

the State has set a standard that 65% of those will be determined eligible for ongoing Medicaid.

Description of standards: We have set the standard based on eligibility statistics from our Presumptive Eligibility for

Pregnant Women program. We will initially use a slightly lower standard for the hospitals than

the average rate of eligibility the state has seen for Pregnant Women cases because this is a new

process for hospitals and it includes different populations. The state will utilize data about the

number of PE cases approved and denied ongoing medical assistance to decide if a site is meeting

this standard. The state may adjust the standard in the future based on its findings. from reviews.

Based on the findings from reviews, the state will schedule additional training or take other

corrective actions to improve the success rate of hospitals that are not meeting these standards. If

a hospital continues to be unable to meet the performance standards after corrective actions have

taken place, the state can disallow the hospital from continuing to make presumptive eligibility
determinations.
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F The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made.

F The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of:

The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of

the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or

The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no

application for Medicaid is filed by that date.

F Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows:

No more than one period within a calendar year.

No more than one period within two calendar years.

No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility

period.

r Other reasonable limitation:

The state requires that a written application be signed by the applicant, parent or representative, as appropriate.

Yes       '  No

The state uses a single application form for Medicaid and presumptive eligibility, approved by CMS.

The state uses a separate application form for presumptive eligibility, approved by CMS. A copy of the application form is
included.

An attachment is submitted.

F The presumptive eligibility determination is based on the following factors:

The individual' s categorical or non-financial eligibility for the group for which the individual' s presumptive eligibility is

F being determined( e.g., based on age, pregnancy status, status as a parent/caretaker relative, disability, or other requirements

specified in the Medicaid state plan or a Medicaid 1115 demonstration for that group)

Household income must not exceed the applicable income standard for the group for which the individual's presumptive

eligibility is being determined, if an income standard is applicable for this group.

State residency

Citizenship, status as a national, or satisfactory immigration status

The state assures that it has communicated the requirements for qualified hospitals, and has provided adequate training to the

hospitals. A copy of the training materials has been included.

An attachment is submitted.
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PRA Disclosure Statement

According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a

valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938- 1148. The time required to complete

this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data

resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate( s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance

Officer, Mail Stop C4- 26- 05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244- 1850.

V.20140415
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Please tear this page off and keep it for your information.

APPLICATION INFORMATION

WHAT AM I APPLYING FOR?

CHIP | PCN | UPP | MEDICAID | HPE | BYB | PRIVATE HEALTH INSURANCE | APTC

Health coverage is important for you and your family to get the medical care you need. When you submit this application, you
will be considered for all medical programs that are now open for enrollment, including:

WHAT DO I NEED TO DO NEXT?

On your application, tell us about all of your family members who live with you.  You can apply for and get benefits for eligible
family members, even if your family includes other members who are not eligible because of their immigration status.  For
example, U.S. citizens or legal immigrant children may qualify for benefits even though their parents may not qualify.  If you file
taxes, we need you to tell us about everyone on your tax return.  (Note:  You don’t need to file taxes to get health coverage.)  The
program you qualify for depends on the number of people in your family and their income.  This information helps us make sure
everyone gets the best health coverage.

See back of this cover sheet for more instructions.

CHIP (Children’s Health Insurance Program) 
Provides medical and dental insurance for uninsured
children in families who qualify based on family size and
income.  For more information, visit: www.health.utah.gov/
chip

HPE (Hospital Presumptive Eligibility)
Provides temporary Medicaid coverage for parents/
caretaker relatives, children, pregnant women, and former
foster care individuals who qualify based on preliminary
information.

PCN (Primary Care Network) 
Provides primary preventive health coverage for uninsured
adults who qualify based on family size and income.  
For more information, visit: www.health.utah.gov/ pcn

BYB (Baby Your Baby)
Provides temporary Medicaid coverage for pregnant
women who qualify based on preliminary information.  For
more information, visit:  www.babyyourbaby.org

UPP (Utah’s Premium Partnership for Health Insurance)
Provides a monthly premium reimbursement when a
previously uninsured individual or family enrolls in their
employer’s health plan or COBRA.  For more information, 
visit: www.health.utah.gov/ upp

Private Health Insurance
Provides comprehensive coverage to help you stay
well.  This is offered through the Federally Facilitated
Marketplace (FFM).  For more information, visit:  www.
healthcare.gov

Medicaid
Provides medical benefits for low-income families, 
children, pregnant women, and disabled, blind and elderly
individuals.  For more information, visit: medicaid.utah.gov

APTC (Advanced Premium Tax Credit)
This is a tax credit that can immediately help pay your
premiums for health coverage in the Federally Facilitated
Marketplace (FFM).  For more information, visit:  www.
healthcare.gov



Follow the instructions below based on the program(s) that you are applying for:

WHAT DO I NEED TO DO NEXT? (CONT.)

CHIP, PCN, UPP, Medicaid, Private Health
Insurance, and/ or APTC

Translation services are available if you need help during the application process.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities by calling 801-526-9240.  Individuals
with speech and/ or hearing impairments may call Relay Utah by dialing 711 or Spanish Relay Utah by dialing 1-888-346-3162. 
For answers to your questions about how to complete the application, your application status, or to find out if you qualify, 
please access your information online at www.jobs.utah.gov/ mycase
If you have questions about how to complete the application and/ or you are unable to access the website, please call DWS
at 1-866-435-7414. 
For general questions about the health care services covered by Medicaid or PCN, call the Medicaid Hotline at 1-800-662-9651.
For general questions about CHIP, PCN or UPP, call the Health Information Hotline at 1-888-222-2542.

WHERE CAN I GET MORE INFORMATION OR HELP?

You may apply online at jobs.utah.gov/ mycase
OR fill out this application and return it to:

Department of Workforce Services
PO Box 143245

SLC, UT 84114-3245
Fax: 1-801-526-9505

Toll-free Fax: 1-888-522-9505

Skip page 8 of the application if you are NOT
applying for Hospital Presumptive Eligibility or
Baby Your Baby.

You may be asked to have your employer fill
out the “Employer’s Health Insurance Form” 
Attachment C).  Please keep this form in case

you are asked to do so.

If more information is needed to determine your
eligibility for benefits, an eligibility worker from
DWS will contact you.  If you have not heard
from DWS within 10 days, please call toll-free
1-866-435-7414.

HPE or BYB

We can best determine your eligibility if all
questions are answered.  However, for HPE
and BYB, at a minimum you must fill out the
questions on the four pages listed below.

Page 1 Section A:  Name, Address, Phone#            
Section B:  Question 1 Only

Page 2 Section C:  Questions 1, 6, and 9
For BYB, question 6 is not required.)

Page 8 Section K:  All Questions
For BYB, question 6 is not required.)

Page 10 Section L:  Signature

The hospital or clinic will determine HPE or BYB
eligibility and will forward your application to
the Department of Workforce Services (DWS) 
to determine continued medical benefits. DWS
will notify you of your eligibility decision.  If
more information is needed to determine your
eligibility for benefits, an eligibility worker from
DWS will contact you.  If you have not heard
from DWS within 10 days, please call toll-free
1-866-435-7414.

Applying for continued medical benefits is not a
requirement for HPE or BYB.  If you choose not
to apply, refer to number 8 on page 8.   
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HOUSEHOLDINFORMATIONB

Name:  _________________________________________________________________________________
first (start with yourself)                      middle initial maiden last

Home Address:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________
leave blank if you don’t have one)                         street apt.#                         city state zip

Mailing Address:  _____________________________________________________________________________________________
if different from home address)                             street apt.#                         city state zip

Home Phone:  (______)____________________________                Cell/ Other Phone:  (______)_____________________________

E-mail (optional):  ________________________________                   

Yes     No Do you speak English?  If no, what is your primary language?  ___________________________________________

Would you like to receive notices in English or Spanish?   English   Spanish

Name (
first, m. i., last)

Check box if
applying for coverage.

Relation
to You

1Social
Security#

Birth Date (
mm/ dd/ yy)

Sex(
f/m) 2Race 3Ethnicity

4Marital
Status

Full
Time

Student (
y/ n)

Utah Resident
1U.S. Citizen/

NationalEligibleNon-Citizen

Self
Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

Utah Resident
U.S. Citizen/ National
Eligible Non-Citizen

1.  List everyone who is living in your household.  Check the box for those applying for health coverage.

1Social Security Number &   
Citizenship

Social Security Number (SSN) and citizenship information are only needed for people applying for benefits.  SSN is not required for
people applying for presumptive eligibility.  If someone needs help getting a SSN, call 1- 800- 772- 1213 or visitsocialsecurity.gov.  TTY
users should call 1-800-325-0778.

2Race Codes
Optional)

WH: White, BL:  Black/African American,  AI:  American Indian/Alaska Native, ASI:  Asian Indian, CH:  Chinese, FI:  Filipino, 
JA:  Japanese, KO:  Korean, VI:  Vietnamese, OA:  Other Asian, NH:  Native Hawaiian, SA:  Samoan, GC:  Guamanian/Chamorro, 
OPI:  Other Pacific Islander, OT:  Other

3Ethnicity Codes
Optional)

N:  Not Hispanic/ Latino, M:  Mexican, MA:  Mexican American, CH:  Chicano/a, PR:  Puerto Rican, CU:  Cuban, 
AH:  Another Hispanic, Latino, or Spanish Origin, OT:  Other

4Marital Status Single, Married, Divorced, Widowed

APPLICANTINFORMATIONA
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2.  If you are an American Indian or Alaska Native, please complete Attachment A as this can help you
receive better benefits.

3.  If anyone in your household has an eligible immigration status and is applying for benefits, complete
the chart below.

Name

Immigration
Document

Type
Alien or
I-94#

Document ID# 
if different

from Alien#)

Lived in the U.S. 
Since 1996?  (

y/ n)

Is a veteran or an an active-duty
member of the U.S. military, or has

spouse or parent who is(
y/ n)

HOUSEHOLD INFORMATION (CONT.)B

GENERALINFORMATIONC

Please answer the following questions for anyone in your household that is applying for benefits.  This
will help us select the right medical program.

Yes     No 1. Do ALL individuals who are applying for medical benefits have a Utah Medicaid card (This card is used for
both Medicaid and PCN)?
If no, who needs a card?  _______________________________________________

Yes     No 2. Do you want help paying any medical bills from the last 3 months?
If yes, for who:____________________ For which month(s):____________________

Yes     No 3. Do you want help paying for COBRA or your employer’s health insurance plan?

Yes     No 4. Does anyone who is applying for coverage have a major medical need?  This includes
cancer, kidney disease, heart disease, etc.  (Answering this question may get you extra help.)
If yes, who:________________________________________________________________________________
What is the medical need?___________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 5. Are you the primary person taking care of a child living in your home under age 19?

Yes     No 6. Was anyone who is applying for coverage in foster care on or after his/ her 18th birthday?
If yes, who:________________________________________________________________________________
Did he/ she receive Medicaid at that time?   Yes    No

Yes     No 7. Does anyone who is applying for coverage have a disability (a physical, mental, or emotional health
condition that causes limitations in activities like bathing, dressing, daily chores, etc.)?
If yes, who:________________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 8. Is anyone who is applying for coverage living in an institution (such as a hospital, nursing home, jail, or
prison)?
If yes, who:  ____________________   When:________________  How long: __________________________

Yes     No 9. Is anyone who is applying for coverage currently pregnant or has been pregnant in the last 3 months?
If yes, who:__________________________________________________ Due date:_____________________
How many babies are expected during the pregnancy? ___________________________________________
Has she smoked or used tobacco in the past 6 months?   Yes    No
Information about tobacco use among pregnant women is needed only to determine potential eligibility

for tobacco cessation programs.  Response to this question is optional.)

Yes     No 10. Does any child who is applying for coverage have a parent living outside the home?
If yes, are you willing to cooperate with the Office of Recovery Services to establish medical support from
an absent parent(s)?  Yes     No

2



Yes     No 2. Does anyone in your household have self-employment income?
If yes, list any self-employment income received by all people who live in your home.

Self-Employed
Person (name) Company Name

Type of Business
LLC, S-Corp, etc.)

Business
Start Date

Percent of
Company
Owned

Net Income This
Month (profit once
business expenses

are paid)

3

INCOMED

Yes     No 1. Does anyone in your household have earned income?
If yes, list any earned income received by all people who live in your home.

Employed Person
name)

Employer Name, Address & 
Phone Number

Hourly Rate or
Monthly Salary
900/mo., $9/hr.)

Hours
Worked
Weekly

How Often Paid
weekly, 

monthly)

Additional Income
tips, bonus, 

commission, etc.)

Yes     No 3. Do you expect any changes in earnings or in the number of hours worked?
If yes, who:  __________________Explain change(s):________________________

Yes     No 4. In the past year, did anyone in your household change jobs, stop working or start
working fewer hours? 
If yes, who:___________________Explain change(s): _______________________

Yes    No 5. Does anyone in your household receive income from any of the following?

Check All That Apply Below:
Gross Amount Before

Any Deductions How Often

Approximate Start
Date

month/ year)
Name of Person

Receiving the Income

Unemployment

Pensions

Social Security

Retirement Accounts

Alimony Received

Net Farming/ Fishing

Net Rental/ Royalty

Other Income
Type:  _________________



DEDUCTIONSE

1.  List the amount paid and how often you pay it.  If you pay for certain things that cannot be deducted
on a federal income tax return, telling us about them could make the cost of health coverage a little
lower.  (Note:  You shouldn't include a cost already considered in your answer to net self-employment
income.)

Check All That Apply Below: Amount Paid How Often
Name of Person

Paying the Expense

Alimony Paid

Student Loan Interest
Paid

Other Deductions
Type:  _________________

4

Check All That Apply Below: Amount How Often
Name of Person

with pre-tax deduction

Health Insurance
Premium

401K Contribution

Other Pre-tax Deductions
Type:  _________________

Yes    No 2. Do you have pre-tax deductions taken out of your paycheck such as health insurance
premiums and 401K contributions.  If yes, complete the chart below.  

YEARLYINCOMEF
Complete only if your income changes from month to month.  If you don't expect changes from month to month, skip to the next
section.

Total income THIS year:  ______________________________            Total income NEXT year:  ______________________________
if you think it will be different)



TAX FILERINFORMATIONG

Please answer the following questions to help us select the program for your household.  In addition to
the questions below, please complete Attachment B of this application for all dependents that are not
living with you, but are claimed on your tax return.

Yes    No 1. Do you plan to file a federal income tax return next year or will you be claimed as
a dependent on someone's tax return next year? 
If yes, complete the chart below.  (If you are claiming more than 5 dependents on your tax

return, make a copy of this page to complete the information for the additional dependents.)

Check one:

Tax Filer OR     Tax Dependent
Applicable to Tax Filer Only:

Filing Jointly with Spouse
Applicable to Tax Filer Only:

Dependents

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Will you be claimed as a
dependent on

someone's tax return?

If yes, list name of tax filer and your
relationship to the tax filer:

Name:  ____________________________
Relationship:  ______________________

Yes    No Are you filing jointly
with your spouse?

If yes, name of spouse:  ______________

Dependent #1

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #2

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #3

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #4

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #5

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Check one:

Tax Filer OR     Tax Dependent
Applicable to Tax Filer Only:

Filing Jointly with Spouse
Applicable to Tax Filer Only:

Dependents

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Will you be claimed as a
dependent on
someone's tax return?

If yes, list name of tax filer and your
relationship to the tax filer:
Name:  ____________________________

Relationship:  ______________________

Yes    No Are you filing jointly
with your spouse?

If yes, name of spouse:  ______________

Dependent #1

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #2

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #3

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #4

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

Dependent #5

Name:  ____________________________

Yes    No Living with Tax Filer?

5



HEALTH INSURANCEINFORMATIONH

Yes     No 1. Does anyone in your household who is applying for coverage currently have
Medicaid, CHIP, or Medicare?
If yes, check the type of coverage and write their names next to the coverage
they have.

Medicaid:  ________________________________________________________
CHIP:  ____________________________________________________________
Medicare:  ________________________________________________________

Yes     No 2. Has anyone who is applying for coverage been injured in an accident or been a victim of assault in the last
12 months?

Yes     No 3. Is someone outside your home required to pay for your household's medical services?

Yes     No 4. Is anyone who is applying for coverage enrolled or eligible for COBRA coverage or continued health
insurance through an employer?  If yes, complete the chart below.

Yes     No 5. Does anyone in your household currently have health insurance (including Veterans, Tricare, or Peace
Corps.), have insurance available but not enrolled, or has had insurance in the past 6 months?  If yes, 
complete the chart below.

INSURANCE 1
Do not list Medicaid, Medicare, CHIP, or PCN)

Enrolled, start date:  ______________ Not enrolled, but available Ended, date ended:  ____________
If you checked that your insurance status is "Not enrolled, but available" and this insurance is offered through your job or someone else's

job such as a parent or spouse, please also complete Attachment C - Employer's Health Insurance Information Form attached to this

application.)

Name(s) of individuals covered:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Name of insurance company:  ____________________________________________ Phone:  _________________________

Address of insurance company:  __________________________________________ Group#:  ________________________

Policyholder name:  _____________________________________________________Policy#:  ________________________

Policyholder birth date:  _________________________________________________Policyholder SS#:  ________________

Yes    No Is this insurance through the Federally Facilitated Marketplace (FFM)?

If insurance is through an employer, list employer's name and phone#:  ____________________________________________

Type of coverage:  Comprehensive    Limited

INSURANCE 2
Do not list Medicaid, Medicare, CHIP, or PCN)

Enrolled, start date:  ______________ Not enrolled, but available Ended, date ended:  ____________
If you checked that your insurance status is "Not enrolled, but available" and this insurance is offered through your job or someone else's

job such as a parent or spouse, please also complete Attachment C - Employer's Health Insurance Information Form attached to this

application.)

Name(s) of individuals covered:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Name of insurance company:  ____________________________________________ Phone:  _________________________

Address of insurance company:  __________________________________________ Group#:  ________________________

Policyholder name:  _____________________________________________________Policy#:  ________________________

Policyholder birth date:  _________________________________________________Policyholder SS#:  ________________

Yes    No Is this insurance through the Federally Facilitated Marketplace (FFM)?

If insurance is through an employer, list employer's name and phone#:  ____________________________________________

Type of coverage:  Comprehensive    Limited
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OTHER TYPES OF MEDICAL PROGRAMS
If you or anyone applying for coverage are aged, blind, or disabled, living in a nursing home, applying
for a Medicaid waiver program, or if you are over the income for the other Medicaid programs, 
you are required to answer the following questions.  While these questions are optional to answer
upfront, providing this information now will help us to process your application more quickly. 

OTHER BENEFITS, INCOME, ANDEXPENSESI

Yes     No 1. Has anyone in your household applied for, received, or been denied Social Security Income, VA, 
Unemployment, or Worker's Compensation?
If yes, explain:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 2. Has anyone in your household been determined disabled by Social Security?
If yes, who:  _______________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 3. Does anyone in your household that has been determined disabled by Social Security pay child support or
alimony?
If yes, list name, amount paid, and how often:  __________________________________________________

Yes     No 4. If employed, do you expect any changes in earnings or in the number of hours worked?
If yes, explain:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 5. Does anyone help you pay your mortgage/ rent, food, or utility bills?
If yes, explain:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 6. Does anyone in the household work in exchange for mortgage/ rent, food, or utility bills?
If yes, explain:  ____________________________________________________________________________

Yes     No 7. Does anyone in the household pay for dependent care so he/ she can go to work?
If yes, list name, amount paid, and how often:  __________________________________________________

ASSETSJ

Yes     No 1. Do you or anyone in your household have any of the following financial assets?  Check all that apply.

Annuity 401K/ Retirement Checking Account  $________________________

IRA Money Market Fund Savings Account  $_________________________

Stock Trust Fund Other:  ___________________________________

Bond Time Certificate

Yes     No 2. Do you or anyone in your household have any of the following assets?  Check all that apply.

Land Cemetery Plot Rental/ Investment Property

Home Life Estate Burial Plan/ Fund

Tools Timeshare Other:  ___________________________________

Camper/ Trailer Livestock

Life Insurance Mineral/ Timber Right

Yes     No 3. Do you own any vehicles?
If yes, using the chart below, list any vehicles that are owned by you and anyone who lives with you.  Type
of vehicle includes all cars, trucks, vans, snow mobiles, motorcycles, motor homes, boats/ motors, ATVs, or
other vehicles.

Make Model Year
Licensed

y/ n)
License
Plate#        State Owner/ Joint Owners Amount Owed
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HOSPITAL PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (HPE) 

BABY YOUR BABY (BYB)

If there is anyone in your household who is applying for HPE or BYB, you are required to answer
questions on this page in addition to the specified questions on page 1 and 2.  Please refer to the
Application Information coversheet to identify which specific questions on page 1 and 2 you must
answer.  Make sure you sign the application on page 10.

HPE AND BYBQUESTIONSK
Yes    No 1. Does anyone in your household have earned or unearned income?   

Enter total monthly household earned income before taxes.  $_______________________ (must complete.)    
Enter total unearned income your household receives each month.  $_______________________________

Yes    No 2. Is anyone in your household who is applying for benefits, but is not a U. S. Citizen or National, an eligible
non-citizen?  If yes, complete the chart below.

Applicant's Name Eligible Non-Citizen Status Date Granted Status (month/ year)

Yes    No 3. Is anyone in the household currently on Utah Medicaid, CHIP, PCN, UPP, BYB, HPE, or has been approved
for Utah Medicaid with a spenddown?
If yes, who:  _______________________________________________________________________________

Yes    No 4. Has anyone in your household been denied Utah Medicaid, CHIP, PCN, or UPP in the last 30 days?
If yes, who:  _______________________________________________________________________________
If yes, what household circumstances changed since the denial?  __________________________________

Yes    No 5. Has anyone in your household been approved for HPE in the last calendar year or if there is anyone
pregnant, has she been approved for HPE or BYB for this pregnancy?
If yes, who:  _______________________________________________________________________________

Yes    No 6. Is there any child in the household who has a parent who is absent from the home, unable to work due to
an injury or illness, deceased, receives Unemployment Benefits, or works less than 100 hours per month.
If yes, list the child(ren)'s name(s):  ___________________________________________________________

Yes    No 7. Does anyone in your household currently have health insurance?  (This information is optional.)
If yes, complete the chart below.

Insurance Information

Name(s) of individual(s) covered:  _____________________________________________________________________________

Name of insurance company:  ___________________________________________ Phone:  ____________________________

Address of insurance company:  _________________________________________ Group#:  ___________________________

Policyholder name:  ____________________________________________________Policy#:  ____________________________

8. Applying for continued medical benefits is not a requirement for HPE and BYB.  
By checking this box, I opt out of applying for continued medical benefits.
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I UNDERSTAND THAT:L

The State of Utah (the State) referenced below includes the Utah Department of Health, 
the Department of Workforce Services and/ or the Office of Recovery Services.

The State cannot discriminate against me due to my race,   
color, national origin, sex, age, sexual orientation, gender
identity or disability as provided by federal law. I can
file a complaint by visitingwww.hhs.gov/ ocr/ office/ file
or contacting the DHHS Office for Civil Rights at 200
Independence Avenue, SW Room 509F, HHH Building, 
Washington, D.C. 20201 or 1-800-368-1019, 
1-800-537-7697 (TDD).

The Utah Clinical Health Information Exchange (cHIE) is
an electronic system that gathers my medical history
from participating cHIE healthcare providers.  The cHIE
provides a safe place for my healthcare providers to
share my medical information.  For more information
or to opt out of the cHIE participation, I can visit www.
mychie.org or contact my healthcare provider. 

If I give any false information or fail to report changes, I
may be prosecuted for fraud.  Benefits may be reduced, 
denied or stopped because of the reported information.  If
I receive benefits I am not eligible to receive, I must repay
the State.

The State has the right to recover from my estate all
money spent to pay my medical bills if I receive PCN
and/ or Medicaid at any time while I am 55 years of age or
older.  The State will only collect after my spouse and I die. 

If I receive payments under a long-term care partnership
insurance plan, some assets may not count to decide
my eligibility.  In this case, the State will not recover
medical costs from those assets after I die.

The State will not recover from my estate costs paid by the
Medicare cost-sharing programs (QMB, SLMB, QI).

I have been given a copy of the Rights and
Responsibilities and Change Reporting Requirements.

I authorize the State to tell my healthcare providers if I am
eligible for benefits.  While I am eligible, the State may
exchange information with my health insurance provider or
employer. 

The benefits I am eligible to receive may be changed
without my knowledge or consent.  I must pay any
co-pays to providers when I receive services unless I am
exempt from those co-pays.

I must cooperate with the State in pursuing any third party
responsible for medical expenses.  I must cooperate with
the State to establish medical support or paternity for my
family.  If I have good cause not to cooperate, I will not be
required to cooperate.

The medical benefits I may receive are described in the
State's Provider Manuals.  I am not eligible for services
that are not listed in these manuals.  I understand the
State may change these manuals without my consent or
knowledge.

I must report any changes within 10 days.  This includes
changes in my income, address, phone number, 
household size, and access to health insurance coverage.

I must follow the medical assistance program rules.  My
spouse and/ or children, if eligible, must also follow
these rules.

I will receive a medical card for myself or others in my
family if determined eligible.  I will only allow the person
named on the medical card to use it to receive services.

I authorize the State to verify any information provided. 
I understand this occurs when I apply for and after I
receive benefits.

I assure that all household members applying for medical
assistance are U.S. citizens or aliens in lawful immigration
status.  Someone who only needs help for a medical
emergency does not have to be a citizen or lawful alien.  
I do not have to report the citizenship information of
someone who is not applying.  The State verifies lawful
alien status with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration
Service.  The State will not report undocumented people
in my home. 

If the State pays for my medical care, I assign to it my
rights to payments for medical services from any third
party.  I will give the State any money I receive from an
insurance policy or from someone who must pay my
medical costs.  I authorize payments be made directly
to the State.  I will hold harmless any party making
payment to the State.
I may ask for a fair hearing if I disagree with the decision
made on this application.

The Utah Statewide Immunization Information System
USIIS) is an electronic registry.  It keeps complete, 

up-to-date records of my child's immunization history.  For
more information, or to withdraw my child from USIIS, I can
call 1-800-275-0659. 
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I understand the State will use Social Security Numbers for those who are applying for benefits to make
sure households are eligible for benefits.  The State uses the State Income and Eligibility Verification
System to do computer matches.  The State uses the information it finds for benefit reviews and audits.  
The agencies that may receive, provide or use this information include: Workforce Services, Health, 
Human Services, Homeland Security, Social Security, and Internal Revenue Service.  The State may
also use information from consumer reporting agencies.  The State may ask for information from
banks or credit unions, and other organizations or people who may have eligibility information about
my household.  I must give the State proof that shows my household is eligible.

I, (print name) __________________________________________________, have read the statements above or someone has
read them to me.  I understand and agree to those statements.  Under penalty of perjury, I swear that the answers I give on this
application are complete and correct.  I am the person represented by the signature on this document.  I know I may be subject
to federal or state penalties if I give false or untrue information.  Providing a Social Security Number and information pertaining
to immigration or alien status is voluntary; however, any person who wants assistance but does not provide such information may
not be eligible for benefits.  Failure to provide this information will not subject the applicant to criminal charges.

Signature (check one):     Applicant     Authorized Representative Date

RENEWAL OF COVERAGE IN FUTUREYEARSM

Yes   No Would you like someone to act as an authorized representative and have access to the information
regarding your case?  If yes, please complete Attachment D - Authorization to Disclose Medical Eligibility
Information form, attached to this application.

To make it easier to determine my eligibility for help paying for health coverage in future years, I agree to allow the Marketplace
to use income data, including information from tax returns.  I also agree to allow the Department of Workforce Services, the
Department of Human Services and the Department of Health to use information from tax returns.  I can opt out at any time.  
The Marketplace will send me a notice and let me make changes.

Yes, renew my eligibility automatically for the next
5 years (the maximum number of years allowed), or for a shorter number of years:
4 years        3 years        2 years      1 year       Don't use information from tax returns to renew my coverage.

VOTER REGISTRATIONINFORMATIONN
Yes   No If you are not registered to vote where you live now, would you like to apply to register to vote today?  If you

do not check either of these boxes, we will assume you have decided not to register to vote at this time.  You may fill out the
application form in private.  If you would like help in filling out the voter registration application form, we will help you.  The
decision to seek or accept help is yours.  Choosing to register or declining to register to vote will not affect the amount of benefit
that you will be provided by this agency.  If you believe that someone has interfered with your right to register, your right to
decline to register to vote, your right to privacy in deciding whether to register or in applying to register to vote, or your right to
choose your own political party or other political preference, you may file a complaint with the Lt. Governor, State of Utah, PO
Box 142220, SLC, UT 84114. 

RETURN COMPLETED FORM TO:O

You have now completed the application.  Please return this completed application form and any needed attachments to: 

Department of Workforce Services, PO Box 143245, SLC, UT 84114-3245
Fax: 1-801-526-9505

Toll-free Fax: 1-888-522-9505
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Please tear this page off and keep it for your information.

YOUR RIGHTS & 
RESPONSIBILITIES

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO:
Receive free language assistance services.
You have the right to an interpreter.  Free language assistance services are available to you.  Please call 801-526-0950 or
see below:

Spanish
ATENCIÓN:  si habla español, tiene a su disposición servicios gratuitos de asistencia lingüística.  Llame al 801-526-0950.

Chinese
801-526-0950.

Vietnamese
CHÚ Ý:  nói có các ngôn phí dành cho 801-526-0950.

Korean
801- 526- 0950

Navajo
Díí baa akó nínízin: Díí saad bee go Diné Bizaad, saad bee áká’ánída’ áwo’ t’áá jiik’eh, éí ná hódíílnih
801-526-0950.

801- 526-0950 Tongan FAKATOKANGA’I:  

Kapau ‘oku
ke Lea-Fakatonga, koe kau tokoni fakatonu lea ‘oku nau fai atu
ha tokoni ta’

etotongi, 
pea teke lava ‘o ma’u ia.  Telefoni mai 801-526-0950.Serbo- Croatian OBAVJEŠTENJE:  Ako govorite srpsko-hrvatski, 
usluge dostupne su

vam
besplatno.  Nazovite 801-526-0950.Tagalog PAUNAWA:  Kung nagsasalitakang Tagalog, 
maaari kang gumamit ng

mga
serbisyo ng tulongsawika nang walang bayad.  Tumawagsa801-526-0950. German
ACHTUNG:  Wenn Sie

Deutsch
sprechen, stehen Ihnen kostenlos sprachliche Hilfsdienstleistungen zur Verfügung.  Rufnummer: 801-526- 0950.Russian

801-526-0950.Cambodian

801-526-0950

French
ATTENTION : Si vous parlez français, des services d'aide linguistique vous sont proposés gratuitement. Appelez le 801- 526-

0950.



Please tear this page off and keep it for your information.

YOUR RIGHTS & 
RESPONSIBILITIES (Cont.)

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO:

Apply or re-apply any time for medical benefits.  
Some medical benefits are only available during open
enrollment periods.  If you need help to apply, ask for help
from our staff.

If you do not agree with decisions we make: 
Talk to your worker.  Make sure you understand the
decision.

Talk to your worker’s supervisor.

Talk to Constituent Services:  1-801-526-4390 or call
toll-free 1-800-331-4341

Ask for a fair hearing.  You have 90 days to ask for a
hearing.  If you ask within 10 days of the notice date, 
your benefits may continue during the hearing process.     

You cannot have a hearing if you are denied for
presumptive eligibility.

You may have a lawyer help with your fair hearing.  You
may qualify for free legal help from Utah Legal Services.  
In Ogden, call 1-801-394-9431 or in Salt Lake, call
1-801-328-8891.  The toll-free number is 1-800-662-
2538.  You may also ask for a referral for legal help
from the Salt Lake Lawyer Referral at 1-801-531-9075.

Receive a notice when we approve or deny your
application.
The notice will tell you the reason for the decision.  For
medical benefits, we have 30 days to process your
application.  We have 90 days if you claim to be disabled.  
You can ask for more time.  If you need more time, let us
know before the end of the 30 or 90 days.

Receive a notice when we reduce, stop or hold your
medical benefits. 
We will notify you 10 days in advance before we take any
negative actions.

Look at information in your case. 
Information about you and your case is confidential.  We
may give information to other agencies to decide if you are
eligible for other benefits.

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR:

Verifying information for us to decide if you are eligible
for benefits.

You must give us the Social Security Number (SSN) of
each household member who wants medical benefits
Social Security Act (U.S.C. 1320 b - 7 (a) (1)).  The

State uses your SSN to make sure you are eligible.  The
State does computer matches through the State Income
and Eligibility Verification System.  The State uses
computer match data for benefit reviews and audits.  If
you do not have a SSN, you must prove you have
applied.  You may be eligible for benefit while you wait
for your number. 

If you apply for Medicaid only to cover emergency
services, you do not have to give us a SSN.

Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS)
The State enrolls children who receive Medicaid in
USIIS.  If you do not want your children enrolled in this
system, call the USIIS HelpLine at 1-801-538-6872 or the
Immunization Hotline at 1-800-275-0659.

Utah Clinical Health Information Exchange (cHIE)
If you receive medical benefits ( Medicaid, CHIP, UPP, PCN), 
the State enrolls you in the cHIE.  The cHIE provides a safe
place for participating healthcare providers to share and
view patient medical information.  You may opt out of the
cHIE at any time.  For more information or to opt out of the
cHIE, visit www.mychie.org or call your healthcare provider.

Cooperating and providing information about other
sources of medical payments and on obtaining medical
support.
If you feel you could be harmed by giving this information, 
you can ask for a "good cause" claim.  Your worker can
explain the process.

Cooperating on reviews of your case by Quality Control, 
Recovery Services, and the Bureau of Eligibility Policy. 

Following medical benefit rules.
This applies to you and your medical household members.
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Remember you are required to report changes in your situation WITHIN 10 DAYS of the day you
learn of the change. Do not delay reporting changes. Changes can affect your eligibility. If you receive
benefits which you are not eligible to receive, you will have to repay that amount.   To report changes, 
contact DWS online at www.jobs.utah.gov/ mycase or call 1-866-435-7414.

Please tear this page off and keep it for your information.

CHANGES YOU MUST REPORT

IF YOU RECEIVE MEDICAL COVERAGE BENEFITS, YOU MUST REPORT:

Changes in Marital Status, Pregnancy Status, or Living
Arrangement
Getting married, separated, or divorced; moving in with a
roommate; changing an address or phone number; absent
parent moving in; pregnancy; birth of a baby or end of a
pregnancy; household member moving in or out; death
of a household member; hospital stays for more than 30
days; anyone in your household going to jail or prison; 
receiving help with your household expenses, etc.

Changes in Any Asset(s)
Changes in ownership or value of stocks, bonds, property, 
vehicles, life insurance, trust funds, burial plans, and
cash, etc. for all household members; opening and closing
of bank accounts. (Includes joint ownership of any asset
with spouse, parents, children, etc.)
Note:  This is not required for CHIP, PCN, UPP, Child or

Family Medicaid unless you pay a spenddown.)

Changes in Source of Income
Getting a job, terminating a job, or working for temporary
agencies; receiving educational income, SSI, SSA, or
unemployment compensation, etc.; receiving a lump sum, 
such as SSA benefits or accident/injury awards.  
Note:  For CHIP and UPP, this is only required at review.)

Changes in Insurance Coverage
Gaining or losing health insurance coverage or changing
the health insurance premium or plan. You must also
report accidents or injuries which may be payable by a
third party.   

Changes in Amount of Earned or Unearned Gross Monthly
Income
Working more OR less hours, overtime, getting a raise, 
etc.; change in the amount of SSI, SSA, Unemployment
Compensation, etc.
Note:  For CHIP and UPP, this is only required at review.)

Changes in Expenses Paid
Changes in child care expense, shelter or utility costs, or
support payments.         
Note:  This is not required for CHIP, PCN and UPP.)

FOR CHILD OR FAMILY MEDICAID, CHIP, UPP, OR PCN, YOU MUST
ALSO REPORT:

Changes in Tax Filing Status or Number of Dependents
Claimed on Your Taxes
Note:  For CHIP and UPP, this is only required at review.)

Changes in Access to Health Insurance Coverage
Gaining access to coverage under an employer sponsored
health insurance plan, COBRA, Veteran's Administration, 
or Medicare.  For PCN, this also includes health plans
offered by a college/ university.  
Note:  This is only required for CHIP, PCN and UPP.)

Changes in Earnings of a Child
Note:  For CHIP and UPP, this is only required at review.)

Changes in Student Status of a Child
Note:  For CHIP and UPP, this is only required at review.)
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ATTACHMENT A
American Indian or

Alaska Native Family Member (AI/ AN)

Complete this attachment if you or a family member are American Indian or Alaska Native.  Submit this
with your application. If you have more people to include, make a copy of this page and attach it to your
application.

Tell us about your American Indian or Alaska Native family member(s).
American Indians and Alaska Natives can get services from the Indian Health Services, tribal health programs, or urban Indian
health programs.  They also may not have to pay cost sharing and may get special monthly enrollment periods.  Answer the
following questions to make sure your family gets the most help possible.

AI/ AN Person 1 AI/ AN Person 2

1.  Name First Middle First Middle

Last Last

2.  Member of a federally recognized tribe? Yes
If yes, tribe name:     

No

Yes
If yes, tribe name:     

No

3.  Has this person ever received a service from the
Indian Health Service, a tribal health program, or
urban Indian health program, or through a referral
from one of these programs?

Yes

No
If no, is this person eligible to
get services from the Indian
Health Service, tribal health
programs, or urban Indian
health programs, or through a
referral from one of these
programs?            Yes    No

Yes

No
If no, is this person eligible to
get services from the Indian
Health Service, tribal health
programs, or urban Indian
health programs, or through a
referral from one of these
programs?            Yes    No

4.  Certain money received may not be counted for
Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance
Program (CHIP).  List any income (amount and
how often) reported on your application that
includes money from these sources:

Per capita payments from a tribe that come
from natural resources, usage rights, leases, 
or royalties.
Payments from natural resources, farming, 
ranching, fishing, leases, or royalties
from land designated as Indian Trust Land
by the Department of Interior (including
reservations and former reservations).
Money from selling things that have cultural
significance.

Amount:  $___________________

How often:  __________________

Amount:  $___________________

How often:  __________________
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ATTACHMENT B
Information About Your Dependents

That Are Not Living With You
Complete this attachment for all dependents that ARE NOT living with you, but are claimed on your tax
return. If you have more dependents that are not living with you, but are claimed on your tax return, 
please make a copy of this page and attach it to your application.

A.  GENERAL INFORMATION
Complete the following chart for your dependent:

Name of Dependent
first, m. i., last) Relationship to You

Date of Birth
mm/ dd/ yy)

Sex
f/m)

SSN# 
optional)

Yes     No 1. Is your dependent currently pregnant or has been pregnant in the last 3 months?
If yes, due date:  _____________                  How many babies are expected during the pregnancy? _______

Employer Name, Address and
Phone#

Hourly Rate or Monthly Salary
900/ mo., $9/hr.)

Hours Worked
Weekly

How Often
Paid (weekly, 

monthly)

Additional Income
tips, bonus, commission, 

etc.)

Yes     No 1. Does your dependent have earned income?  If yes, complete the chart below:

Company Name
Type of Business
LLC, S-Corp, etc.)

Business
Start Date

Company
Owned

Net Income This Month
profit once business
expenses are paid)

Yes     No 2. Does your dependent have self-employment income?  If yes, list any self-employment income received.

Yes     No 3. In the past year, did your dependent change jobs, stop working or start working fewer hours?

Yes     No 4. Does your dependent have/ receive any of the following?  Check all that apply.

B.  INCOME

Unemployment $_________ How Often:  __________ Net Farming/ Fishing $_________ How Often:  __________

Pensions $_________ How Often:  __________ Net Rental/ Royalty $_________ How Often:  __________

Social Security $_________ How Often:  __________ Other Income $_________ How Often:  __________

Alimony Received $_________ How Often:  __________ Type:  ___________

Retirement Accts.$_________ How Often:  __________

C.  DEDUCTIONS
Check all that apply, and give the amount and how often your dependent pays it.  If your dependent pays for certain things
that can be deducted on a federal income tax return, telling us about them could make the cost of health coverage a little
lower.  (Note:  You should not include a cost already considered in your answer to net self-employment income.)

Alimony Paid $_________ How Often:  __________ Other Deductions $_________ How Often:  __________

Student Loan
Interest

How Often:  __________    Type:  ____________

D.  YEARLY INCOME
Complete only if your dependent's income changes from month to month.
Total income THIS year:  ___________________                                Total income NEXT year:  ___________________

If you think it will be different)
17
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ATTACHMENT C
Employer's Health Insurance Information

You will need your employer or company’s Human Resources representative to complete this form.  
Complete this form for each employed household member.  You may copy this form.  If you need more
time to finish this form, please send us the rest of the application so that we can look at your application
as soon as possible.  However, in some situations, we will need the information from this form to help
determine your eligibility.  If you have questions regarding this form, please call 1-866-435-7414.

A.  GENERAL INFORMATION
Employee Information

Employee Name:  _____________________________________
first, m. i., last)

Employee SSN#:  _____________________________________

Employer Information

Employer Name:  _____________________________________

EIN#:  ______________________________________________ Phone#:  ____________________________________________

Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________
street apt.#                    city state zip

Who can we contact about employee health coverage at this job?

Contact Name:  ______________________________________

Phone#:  ____________________________________________E-mail address:  ______________________________________

Yes  No 1.  Does your company offer health insurance? If no, skip to section D. Sign and return the form.

Yes  No 2. Is your health insurance a state employee benefit plan?

Yes  No 3. Is your health insurance offered through Avenue H?

Yes  No 4. Is the employee eligible to enroll in any insurance plan offered? 
If no, please explain: ________________________________________________________________________
If yes, when is/ was the employee eligible to enroll? (mm/ dd/ yy)_____________________________________

Yes  No 5. Is the employee or any family member enrolled in any insurance plan offered? 
If yes, name(s) of person(s) enrolled:  __________________________________________________________

Yes  No 6. Has this employee or any family member dropped/ changed coverage in the last six months? 
If yes, name(s):  ____________________________________________________________________________
If yes, when did coverage end/ change? (mm/ dd/ yy)_______________________________________________

Yes  No 7. Does the employer offer a health plan that meets the * minimum value standard?  

8. For the lowest-cost plan that meets the * minimum value standard offered only to employee (don’t include
family plans):
If the employer has wellness programs, provide the premium that the employee would pay if he/ she
received the maximum discount for any tobacco cessation programs, and did not receive any other
discounts based on the wellness programs:
a.  How much would the employee have to pay in premiums for that plan?  $__________________________
b.  How often?     weekly     every 2 weeks     twice a month     quarterly     yearly

Yes  No 9. Do you know what change the employer will make for the new plan year?  If yes, complete the following:
Employer won’t offer health insurance
Employer will start offering health coverage to employees or change the premium for the
lowest-cost plan available only to the employee that meets the * minimum value standard.  
Premium should not reflect the discount for wellness programs.  See question 8.)

a.  How much will the employee have to pay in premiums for that plan?   $_________________________
b.  How often?     weekly     every 2 weeks     twice a month     quarterly     yearly

An employer-sponsored health plan meets the “minimum value standard” if the plan’s share of the total allowed benefit costs covered by the
plan is no less than 60% of such costs (Section 36B(c)(2)(C)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986)

DOH Form 116M 07/ 2014 Case#:  _________
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B.  EMPLOYER'S LEAST EXPENSIVE PLAN OR AVENUE H DEFAULT PLAN
Questions below refer to the employer’s least expensive plan or the Avenue H Default Plan.

Yes  No 1.Does the employee have to enroll in order to add their dependent(s)?

2. When will/ did coverage begin? (mm/ dd/ yy)__________________________________

3. When does the company’s next open enrollment begin? (mm/ dd/ yy)  ____________

4.Complete the chart below. Do not include the cost of dental, vision or other coverage

if it is separate. 

Monthly Premium

Employee’s Portion Company’s Portion

Employee $$

Employee + Spouse $

Employee + Child $

Family $

Yearly Health Plan Deductible

Individual Amount $

Family Amount $

C.  EMPLOYEE'S HEALTH PLAN CHOICE
Questions below refer to the plan that the employee has selected.  Questions 3-7 refer to “in-network” benefits.

1.Insurance company and plan name:   ___________________________________________________________

2.Policy number, if known: ______________________________________________________________________

Yes  No 3. Is the deductible $2,500 or less per individual?

Yes  No 4.Is the lifetime maximum benefit $ 1, 000, 000 or more?

Yes  No 5. Does the plan pay at least 70% of an inpatient stay (after the deductible)?

6.What benefits are covered under this plan? (Check all that apply.)
Physician visits    Hospital inpatient services           Pharmacy/ Rx

Yes  No 7. Does the plan cover abortion services?
If yes, under what circumstances:

Only in the case where the life of the mother would be endangered if the fetus were carried to
term or in the case of incest or rape
Other, please describe:____________________________________________________________________

8.Complete this chart only if it is different from the chart in Section B.  Do not include the cost of dental, vision

or other coverage if it is separate. 

Monthly Premium

Employee’s Portion Company’s Portion

Employee $$

Employee + Spouse $

Employee + Child $

Family $

Yearly Health Plan Deductible

Individual Amount $

Family Amount $

D.  SIGNATURE

Yes  No 9.Are the employee’s children currently enrolled or do they plan to enroll in your company’s
dental plan? If yes, name(s):________________________________________________________

I certify that I am a representative of the Human Resource Department, or that I am the health insurance contact person. The
information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature:  __________________________________________Date:  ______________________________________________

Name (please print):  ________________________________________________________________________________________

Title:  _______________________________________________Phone#:  ____________________________________________

Please return completed form to:
Department of Workforce Services, PO Box 143245, SLC, UT 84114-3245

Fax:  1-801-526-9500 Toll-Free Fax:  1-877-313-471720



ATTACHMENT D
Authorization to Disclose

Medical Information

DOH Form 114AR 07/ 2014

You can choose an authorized representative.
You can give a trusted person permission to talk about this application with us, see your information, 
and act for you on matters related to this application, including getting information about your
application and signing your application on your behalf.  This person is called an "authorized
representative." 

Customer Name Case #                                      Date of Birth

I, ___________________________________________, hereby give _______________________________________the authority to:
Name of Customer or Authorized Representative Name of Individual or Organization

check only one box)
Receive Medicaid, CHIP, UPP, PCN or Buyout eligibility information regarding my current application, ongoing case
or a recent case denial or closure.   This authorization is effective from the date this form is signed to whichever of
the following occurs first:

The following date:  __________________________; or
The medical application is denied*; or
30 days from the month the medical program is closed*.

If the application is denied or the case is closed, information disclosure will continue throughout
the fair hearing process.

Speak or act on my behalf as an authorized representative, which includes receiving Medicaid, CHIP, UPP, PCN or
Buyout eligibility information regarding my current application, ongoing case or a recent case denial or closure. This
authorization is effective from the date this form is signed until a written notification to revoke the authorization is
received by the Department of Workforce Services.

I understand that I may revoke this authorization at any time by sending a written notification to the Department of
Workforce Services (DWS).  I understand that a revocation is not effective to the extent that the Utah Department of
Health, through its Division of Medicaid and Health Financing (DMHF) or the DWS has relied on the disclosed health
information.  

I understand my rights and responsibilities described in the Notice of Privacy Practices.  For a duplicate Notice of Privacy
Practices, access the following URL - http:// health.utah.gov/ hipaa/ privacy.htm

I understand that I may refuse to sign this authorization.  I also understand that the DWS cannot deny eligibility for
benefits if I refuse to sign this authorization.

I understand that giving an individual authorized representative power allows them to act on my behalf, which includes
making changes to my medical case and any changes that they make, I may be liable for if an overpayment is incurred.

I understand that once information is disclosed pursuant to this authorization, it is possible that it will no longer be
protected by medical privacy laws and could be disclosed by the person or agency that receives it.
Note: DMHF and DWS will not disclose controlled documents without the consent of their Legal Departments.

By signing this form, I acknowledge I have been provided a copy of this signed authorization.

Signature of Customer, Legal Guardian, or Authorized Representative Date

If signed by other than the customer, description of authority to serve:

Equal Opportunity Employer Program:  Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities by calling (801) 526-9240.  Individuals with
speech and/ or hearing impairments may call Relay Utah by dialing 711.  Spanish Relay Utah: 1-888-346-3162

Address of Authorized Representative:  _________________________________________________________________________

Phone Number of Authorized Representative:  ____________________________________________________________________
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PART 1 – General Information

Section 1:  What Is Presumptive Eligibility (PE)?  

PE is a temporary Medicaid program that bases eligibility on preliminary information to
make an individual ‘presumptively’ eligible.  There are two PE programs that are
administered throughout the state:  Hospital Presumptive Eligibility (HPE) and Baby Your
Baby (BYB).  

The two departments that oversee the programs are the Utah Department of Health (DOH) 
and the Department of Workforce Services (DWS).  DOH is responsible for policy, training, 
procedures and accuracy of the PE programs, while DWS is responsible for the eligibility
systems and ongoing Medicaid coverage. 

DOH issues Memorandum of Agreements (MOA) between DOH and hospitals throughout
the state to administer the HPE program.  Only hospital staff who are trained in the HPE
process by DOH can determine HPE eligibility.   

Applicants can apply for HPE through any qualified hospital.  

Section 2:  Contact Information

Dave Baldwin
Policy Specialist
Phone: (801) 538-7020
Fax: (801) 538-6952
hpepolicy@utah.gov
Utah Department of Health/ Bureau of Eligibility Policy
PO Box 143107
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3107

OR

Laura Belgique (back up) 
Program Specialist
Phone: (801) 538-6241
Fax: (801) 538-6952
hpepolicy@utah.gov
Utah Department of Health/ Bureau of Eligibility Policy
PO Box 143107
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3107
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Section 3:  Resources

For questions regarding policy, procedure, trainings or to order applications or other
documents email hpepolicy@utah.gov. 

Submit completed applications including all pages to DWS at hospitalPE@utah.gov
This includes approved and denied applications.) 

To verify client eligibility:    

Eligibility Lookup Tool at: https://medicaid.utah.gov/eligibility
Call Medicaid at (801)538-6155 or 1-800-662-9651.   
Key in the client ID number and use the HPE determination date as the date of the
medical service received.  If the applicant is eligible, the system will give the medical
program type, health plan, co-pay, mental health coverage information, and TPL
information. 

PART 2 Policies and Procedures

Section 1:  Terms of Agreement

A hospital must inform DOH that it intends to make HPE determinations and that it agrees
to follow the State’s policies and procedures as outlined in the MOA and the HPE Training
Manual.  DOH will provide hospitals with information on all policies and procedures related
to HPE. 

A hospital must make HPE determinations in accordance with DOH’s policies and
procedures.  If a hospital is not making HPE determinations in accordance with DOH’s
policies and procedures, DOH will provide the hospital with additional training or other
forms of corrective action before disqualifying the hospital. 

The hospital must notify DOH of all new staff that will determine eligibility, 

The hospital must report within five business days when any HPE staff changes job
responsibilities or terminates employment. 

All staff must receive HPE training directly from DOH prior to determining presumptive
eligibility.   

Eligibility determinations may only be performed by staff employed by the hospital at the
location in which they work and determine eligibility.  

A hospital must comply with the proficiency standard set by DOH.   DOH has set standard at
an 85 percent accuracy rate on HPE decisions.  Accuracy is based on the application and
application process.  Determinations are based on the information provided by the
applicant.   

The hospital may not prescreen potential applicants. However, the hospital may describe the
eligibility qualifications to individuals who inquire about the program. 
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Section 2: Services and Payment

HPE covers an array of Medicaid eligible services that may include medication, lab work, 
inpatient and outpatient care.   

Pregnant women HPE covers pregnancy-related ambulatory services including pharmacy
and dental. This includes prenatal visits, prenatal lab tests, ultrasounds, prenatal vitamins.  It
does not cover labor and delivery of the baby.  

Hospitals will be paid at regular Medicaid rates for covered services.  For questions
regarding covered services, call Medicaid Information Line at (800) 662-9651. 

During the HPE period, the applicant will also be able to receive treatment from other
Medicaid providers after they leave the hospital. 

Payments for covered services are guaranteed to a hospital during an individual’s
presumptive eligibility period, even if the person fails to complete the full Medicaid
application or is ultimately determined to be ineligible for ongoing Medicaid.  Money will
not recouped from the hospital for services rendered during the HPE period. 

Section 3: Confidentiality

All confidential information must be safeguarded from unauthorized disclosure and
use.  Staff who fail to safeguard confidential information may be subject to both civil and
criminal penalties. 

Confidential information includes: 

Identifying information, such as names, addresses, telephone numbers, social security
numbers, etc.   
Information used to determine eligibility, such as income, assets, medical reports and
data, names of persons obligated to provide financial and medical support, etc.   
Information about benefits and medical services provided to individual recipients. 

Information that cannot be identified to particular applicants and recipients is not
confidential information.  For example, information stating the total number of HPE
recipients is not confidential information because no one person can be identified by the
general information. 

The hospital shall only access, use, or disclose data solely for the purposes of determining
HPE. 

The hospital shall implement and maintain administrative, technical, and physical
safeguards necessary to protect the confidentiality of the data and to prevent any
unauthorized use or access.  Any and all transmission or exchange of data and electronic
records shall take place via secure means.  
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Section 4: Fraud, Waste and Abuse

To report suspected fraud, contact the DWS Information Fraud Hotline at (800)955-2210 or
via email at wsinv@utah.gov.  

What you need to know when reporting fraud, waste or abuse: 

It is helpful if you can provide any of the following information when reporting fraud, 
waste or abuse of the HPE Program: 

Provider or recipient name
Date of birth
Address
Phone number
Medicaid ID or SSN
Other details about what you suspect may be happening that appears to be
wrong

You may remain anonymous when reporting suspected fraud
You may be requested to provide your name so that the investigator can contact you
if there are questions regarding your referral.  However, you may request that your
name is not used in conjunction with the case. 
You may find more information on reporting fraud, waste or abuse at:  
http://hldev/mpi/forms/recipient.php

Section 5: Completing the Application

Always use the most current application form.  DOH will supply hospitals with applications
and receipts. 

Self-declaration is used for all factors of eligibility.  

If an applicant is unable to complete the application, they may assign an authorized
representative to apply on their behalf. 

Hospitals cannot require individuals to assign the hospital as their authorized
representative. 
In general, the person who signs the application must be someone who can answer
the questions on the application. 
If an applicant is unable to write, he/she must make a mark on the application and
have at least one witness to the signature. 

All required sections, as stated on the front page of the application, must be completed.    

If the applicant completes Section D of the application, the income amount must match
the income reported in Section K. 

Applications must be signed and dated or the application is incomplete.  Unless a minor is
living independently, a parent or responsible adult must sign the application.   
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Coverage cannot begin before the date the application is signed and dated.   If a
determination is made after the application date, the start date for coverage is the date
HPE is approved by the hospital. 

Applications must be sent to DWS within five business days from the date of the HPE
determination.   

If an application is incomplete, DWS will send the application back and the hospital will
have 2 business days to correct the application (this may require contacting the client) and
return it to DWS.  If the corrected application is not returned within those 2 days, the
application will be denied.   

Individuals can still receive HPE, even if they have other health insurance. 

Section 6:  Eligibility Criteria

Self-declaration is used for all eligibility criteria.  Compare the responses on the application to the
eligibility criteria listed in this section.  Individuals who do not meet the criteria listed below are
not eligible for HPE.  

Be a Utah resident. 

Be a U.S. Citizen or National. 

Individuals born in any of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, 
the Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands are U.S. citizens.  

Individuals born in American Samoa or Swain’s Islands are Nationals and treated in the
same manner as a U.S. citizen.   

Be a Qualified Non-Citizen. 

The following qualified non-citizens are barred from receiving HPE for a period of five
years from the date they became a qualified non-citizen: 

Lawful permanent residents (LPR). 

Individuals granted conditional entry prior to April 1, 1980.  

Battered individuals, this includes the individuals spouse, children and parents. 

Individuals paroled into the U.S. for at least a year. 

The following qualified non-citizens are not barred from receiving HPE (even after
becoming an LPR):  

A child under age 19 that meets any qualified non-citizen status. 

Admitted as a refugee under Section 207 or asylum under Section 208 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). 
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Deportation has been withheld under section 243(h) of the INA (prior to
September 30, 1996) or under section 241(b)(3) of the INA (after September 30, 
1996). 

Granted status as a Cuban or Haitian entrant as defined in section 501(e) of the
Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980. 

Admitted as an Amerasian immigrant. 

An American Indian born in Canada who is at least one-half American Indian or a
member of federally recognized Indian tribe. 

Veterans who received an honorable discharge or a military service member on
active duty in the Armed Forces of the U.S.  A person on active duty for training
does not qualify under this category. 

A spouse or unmarried dependent child of a veteran or active duty service
member as described above. 

The surviving spouse of a deceased veteran or service member, provided the
spouse has not remarried and the marriage fulfills the following requirements:  

o Married for at least one year;  
o Married before the end of a fifteen-year time span following the end of the

period of military service in which the injury or disease was incurred or
aggravated; or

o Married for any period if a child was born of the marriage or was born
before the marriage. 

Victims of trafficking. 

Iraqi and Afghan Special Immigrants.  

Non-citizens receiving SSI.   

Be a child under the age of 19 and legally residing in the U.S.   The following individuals
are considered legally residing: 

A qualified non-citizen (see above)  
Non-citizens who: 

Has a valid non-immigrant status (for example, student visas, worker visas, etc.) 
Has been paroled into the United States, for less than 1 year. (except if paroled for
prosecution, deferred inspection or pending removal proceedings)  
Belongs to one of the following classes:  
o Currently in temporary resident status;  
o Currently under Temporary Protected Status (TPS) (and pending applicants for

TPS who have been granted employment authorization; 
o Have been granted employment authorization;  
o Family Unity beneficiaries;  
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o Currently under Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) pursuant to a decision
made by the President;  

o Currently in deferred action status. This does not include Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrivals (DACA or ‘dreamers’); or

o Granted an administrative stay of removal
o Individuals whose visa petition has been approved and is pending application

for adjustment of status. 
Is a pending applicant for asylum or for withholding of removal or under the
Convention Against Torture who has been granted employment authorization, or
is an applicant under the age of 14 and has had an application pending for at
least 180 days.  
Been granted withholding of removal under the Convention Against Torture.  
Pending an application for Special Immigrant Juvenile status.  
Lawfully present in American Samoa under the immigration laws of American
Samoa. 

Except for pregnant woman PE, an individual can only receive HPE one time in the current
calendar year.  Woman can receive pregnant woman HPE one time during each pregnancy.   

Cannot be open for Medicaid, CHIP, UPP, PCN, BYB, or Medicaid with a spenddown, even if
the spenddown has not been paid.    

Must not have been denial for Medicaid, CHIP, UPP or PCN within the past 30 days, unless
household circumstances have changed.   If the individual was denied for Medicaid
because of income and now they report a decrease in income; determine HPE eligibility. 
Be at or under the income limit for the specific HPE program.  The income limit is based on
household size.  See section 9 & 10 to determine the household size and income. 
There is no asset test. 

Section 7:  Medicaid Programs and Hierarchy

A PE determination can only be completed on certain Medicaid programs.  Do not complete a
determination on individuals in the household who are not wanting HPE coverage.  The programs
which a determination can be complete on and the order of hierarchy starting with Child
Medicaid are listed below:          

Child 0-5 (CM 0-5) 
Child 6-18 (CM 6-18) 
Parent/Caretaker Relative (PCR) 
Pregnant woman (PW) 
Former Foster Care (FC) 
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A few examples of incorrect determinations: 
o PCR for a child under 19
o CM 6-18 for a child under age 6
o PW for a male
o CHIP, PCN, Family or Emergency Medicaid for any individual

Section 8:  Basic Program Requirements: 

Child Medicaid Age 0-5

Income limit: 139% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). 
Can receive eligibility through the month in which they turn age 6. 
Parent(s) income is countable. 
A child does not have to live with a parent. 

Child Medicaid Age 6-18

Income limit: 133% of FPL. 
Can receive eligibility through the month in which they turn age 19. 
Parent(s) income is countable. 
A child does not have to live with a parent. 

Parent/ Caretaker Relative (PCR) Age 19-64

Income limit:  See income chart in Appendix 1. 
Must be age 19 or older, and can receive eligibility through the month in which they
turn age 65.    
Must have an eligible child. 

Household must include a child that is either under 18 or child age 18 who is a
full time student, and expected to graduate before the age of 19. 

If there are no other eligible children in the household, an unborn can count as
an eligible child if the woman is in her 3rd trimester (If she is not in her 3rd
trimester determine if she qualifies for PW). 

Deprivation of Support must exist. 

Deprivation of support exists if the household has: 
A parent who is deceased. 
A parent who is incapacitated.   
A parent who is unemployed or employed less than 100 hours per month. 
A parent who is absent. 

Pregnant Woman

Income limit: 139% of FPL. 
The woman must be pregnant on the day of approval for HPE. 
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If age 19 or older and lives with her parent(s), her parent’s income is not countable.   
If under age 19 and living with her parent(s), her parents’ income is countable.   
Only covers pregnancy related outpatient services.  Labor and delivery are not
covered under PW. 

NOTE:  Due to the hierarchy of CM and PCR to PW, it is possible that a pregnant woman
is determined eligible for CM or PCR.   CM and PCR cover labor and delivery. 

Former Foster Care Individuals

Age 18 to 26.  Eligibility runs through the month they turn age 26. 
The individual was receiving Medicaid when they aged out of foster care in any state
on or after their 18th birthday.     
Individual was in the custody of DCFS, DHS or an American Indian Tribe when foster
care ended.  Persons in the custody of Juvenile Justice Services are not eligible.  
There is no income test. 
Must not be eligible for CM, PCR or PW. 

Section 9: Determining Household Size

With the exception of Former Foster Care, household size is determined by relationship and living
arrangements.   Do not include in the household size individuals who do not live with the person
needing HPE coverage.   

Under Age 19

Include the following in the household size: 

The individual
The individual’s children
If pregnant, the number of unborn children of the individual
Legal spouse
Parent(s) or step-parent(s) 
Any sibling under the age of 19

Note:  Do not include adults in a child’s household size if they are not a parent of that
child, such as a grandparent or aunt/uncle.  

Over Age 19

Include the following in the household size: 

The individual
If pregnant, the number of unborn children of the individual
Legal spouse
Children or step-children under the age of 19
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Former Foster Care

Include the following in the household size: 

The individual (always a household size of 1) 

Example:  Laurie (18) who is pregnant, lives with her boyfriend George and her parents Dave and
Linda.  She also has two siblings Gina (20) who is also pregnant and her brother Lane (15).  The
household size for Laurie is 5.  George is not included as they are not married and Gina is also not
included as she is over the age of 18. 

Section 10: Income

General Rules

Only the income of a parent is countable, unless a child under age 19 is not living
with a parent, then that child’s income will count.     
For earned income, count the gross income, before taxes and deductions. 
For self-employment, count the net income after business expenses. 
Applicants must self-declare income in Section K (even if income is zero). 
Applicant must declare which income is correct if there is a discrepancy in income
posted in Sections D and K. 
The following apply for the income of a child who is under age 19: 

Not countable if living with a parent
Countable if not living with a parent

Income of a sibling is not countable
Income of a guardian or adult who is not the parent is not countable. 
FC does not have an income limit. 
The following apply for American Indian income: 

Revenues from tribal ran gambling are countable
Tribal benefits are not countable

The following income types are not countable: 
Educational income
Veteran’s income
Child support

Determining Income

Determining Income Without Check Stubs

To determine monthly income without check stubs, you will need to know how
often the individual is paid, how many hours a week they work and their hourly rate. 

Paid “ Weekly” or “Every Other Week”    
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Multiply hours worked each week by the hourly rate.  This will give you
their gross weekly income. 
Multiply gross weekly income by 4.3.  This will give you their gross monthly
income.  

Example:  Individual works 32 hours a week at $11.25 an hour.   
o 32 hours per week ‘X’ $11.25 an hour = $360 (weekly income).     
o $ 360 ‘X’ 4.3 = $1548 (monthly income). 

Paid “ Twice a Month” or “Monthly” 

If an individual is paid twice a month or monthly, you will need to use 172 hour
chart (appendix 3) to determine the monthly income.   

Using the 172 hour chart, find the weekly hours the individual states they
work in the column on the left. This will determine the monthly hours as
shown in the right column.    
Multiply the monthly hours by the hourly rate.  This will give you their gross
monthly income. 

Example:   Individual works 29 hours a week at $10.25 an hour. 
o 29 weekly hours = 126 monthly hours.   
o 126 monthly hours ‘X’ $10.25 = 1,291.50 (monthly income) 

Determining Income Using Check Stubs

Check stubs are not required.  However, if an applicant provides you with check
stubs determine income as follows:  

Paid “ Weekly” 

Multiply gross amount on the check stub by 4.3. 
o Check stub shows gross income of $512.50.  Multiply $512.50 by 4.3 = 

2203.75 (monthly income). 

Paid “ Every Two Weeks” 
Multiply the gross paycheck amount by 2.15
o Check stub shows gross income of $412.55.  Multiply $412.55 by 2.15 = 

886.98 (monthly income). 

Paid “ Twice a Month” 

Multiply the gross paycheck amount by 2.  
o Check stub shows gross income of $680.01.  Multiply $680.01 by 2 = 

1360.02 (monthly income). 

Paid “ Monthly” 

The gross amount on check is the gross monthly income. 



13

Section 11: What Happens After An Eligibility Determination? 

Complete the cover sheet for presumptive eligibility for approved and denied applicants.  
Make sure to complete all fields and include the denial reason if the applicant is not eligible.  

Possible denial reasons are as follows: 

1. Not a U.S. citizen or qualified non-citizen
2. Not a Utah resident
3. Current CHIP, UPP, PCN, or Medicaid

recipient
4. Medicaid denial in the past 30 days
5. Already received HPE for the current

pregnancy

6. Over the income limit
7. No available HPE program
8. Not enough information to determine HPE
9. Issued HPE in the current calendar year

10. No deprivation

If eligible for HPE, complete the “Presumptive Eligibility Receipt” and give it to the applicant. 
Hospital submits the application and e-mails it to DWS at hospitalPE@utah.gov

The application must be sent within 5 working days. 
IMPORTANT: 
o If the application is not submitted within 5 working days of the decision, the

determination is void and HPE will not be issued. 
o If the application is incomplete DWS will contact the hospital for additional information. 

The hospital must respond to DWS within 2 business days or HPE will not be issued.  
Business days are Monday – Friday 8am to 5pm excluding holidays) 

o Applications will be used to determine regular Medicaid unless the applicant opts out.  
o Only submit one application per email. 
o Shred the paper application.  

The entire application must be sent with a completed cover page. DWS will enter the HPE
decision into their eligibility system and will send the approval/ denial notice and medical card
if approved for HPE).  

A new card will not be issued if the applicant is approved for ongoing Medicaid. The applicant
will continue to use the card issued for HPE.  

Most Medicaid programs under HPE provide the same medical coverage as ongoing
Medicaid.   
Exception:   “Pregnant Woman” program only covers pregnancy related outpatient
services.  Delivery and inpatient services are not covered.   

HPE coverage will continue until DWS makes a decision for ongoing Medicaid. The day the
decision is made for ongoing Medicaid, is the same day the HPE program will end.  
If the applicant opted out for ongoing Medicaid, HPE coverage will end on the last day of the
month following the month HPE was approved.  
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Section 12: CHECK LIST

Complete the following: 

Make sure all required HPE sections of the application are complete including a signature.  

Help the customer complete the application if needed.  

Note:  Although the applicant is only required to complete the questions for HPE, you
must submit the entire application.   Completing the entire Medicaid application may
expedite eligibility for ongoing medical coverage. 

Send the entire application to hospitalPE@utah.gov within 5 business days. This includes
both approved and denied applications. 

If eligible for HPE, complete a “Presumptive Eligibility Receipt” and give to the applicant. 

Shred the paper application. 

Educate the applicant on the following: 

Inform the applicant they can use their HPE coverage with any Utah Medicaid provider. 

Inform the applicant to stop using HPE benefits if they are denied for ongoing Medicaid.   

If the applicant continues to use HPE coverage after being denied for ongoing medical
assistance, they may be responsible to pay back any benefits received. 

Inform the applicant if they are approved for ongoing Medicaid, they will continue to use
the same wallet-sized card that was issued for HPE. 

Inform the applicant that DWS may contact them for additional information for ongoing
eligibility (if they did not opt out ongoing medical). 

Inform anyone approved for the HPE “Pregnant Woman” program that only pregnancy
related outpatient services are covered.  Labor and Delivery are not a covered service.  

Inform the applicant that they can only receive HPE once per calendar year even if they
didn’t use the benefits. 

Exception: A pregnant woman can receive presumptive eligibility once per pregnancy
including HPE and BYB. 
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PART 3 APPENDICES

Appendix 1: INCOME CHART
Effective March 1, 2016- February 28, 2017

Household
Size

Parent/ Caretaker
Relative

PCR) 
Age 19-64

Pregnant
Woman

Under Age 65

Child Medicaid
Age 0-5

Child
Medicaid
Age 6-18

Former
Foster Care
Individuals
Age 18-26

139% FPL 133% FPL No Income

Limit
1 $ 438 $ 1377 $ 1317

2 $ 544 $ 1856 $ 1776

3 $ 678 $ 2336 $ 2235

4 $ 797 $ 2815 $ 2694

5 $ 912 $ 3295 $ 3153

6 $ 1012 $ 3774 $ 3611

7 $ 1072 $ 4255 $ 4071

8 $ 1132 $ 4737 $ 4532

9 $ 1196 $ 5219 $ 4994

10 $ 1257 $ 5701 $ 5455
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Appendix 2: 172 Hour Chart
Use this chart when an applicant is paid “monthly” or “twice per month”. 

When using the 172 hour chart, find the weekly hours the client states they work in the
column on the left. This will determine the monthly hours as shown in the right column in
order to calculate the monthly gross income.   
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What is Hospital Presumptive Eligibility
HPE) ?

Temporary medical coverage

Assures timely access to care while a final

eligibility determination is made for ongoing

Medicaid

Client statement is used for all factors of

eligibility

Hospital eligibility decision accepted

111 V-A r:`=  r
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Rules Hospitals Must Comply With

Follow the State' s policies and procedures related to HPE

Make HPE determinations in accordance with policies and

procedures

Must complete training with UDOH prior to determining
presumptive eligibility

Must report all changes in staff within five business days

Meet proficiency standards and meet a standard 85 percent

accuracy rate

Only individuals employed by the hospital may determine
presumptive eligibility
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Confidentiality

Safeguard Confidential Information

Confidential information includes identifying
information about clients and recipients as

well as the benefits and medical services

provided etc.
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CompletingthApplication

LJ Use the most current application available

LJ Ensure all the required questions are completed by
the client

All the required questions are identified in the section  "What

Do I Need to Do Next?" on the cover page of the application

LJ For ongoing Medicaid,  completing the remaining
questions may expedite the application process

A client can Opt Out of applying for ongoing Medicaid
benefits, while still applying for HPE

LJ Ensure the client signs and dates the application

February 1, 2016



Basic Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility begins on the date of approval

A signature is required by the client or
authorized representative

If the client is a minor,  the client' s parent,,

legal guardian,  or representative must sign

the application

Depending on the program other

requirements must be met

HEALT'H
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Basic EligibilityRequirements

LJ U. S.  citizen or qualified alien

LJ Utah resident

LJ Limit of one HPE period per calendar year  (Jan- Dec)

With the exception of a pregnant woman.  A pregnant

woman can receive PE once per pregnancy
LJ Must not have received a denial for Medicaid,  CHIP,

UPP,  or PCN within the past 30 days

unless there is a change in circumstances)

LJ Must not currently be receiving Utah Medicaid,  CHIP,

UPP,  or PCN or be approved for Medicaid with a
spend down

LJ Be at or below the income limit for HPE program

U4tlqIYA M. qI IkPIY.
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Hierarchy of HPE Program Types

LJ When deciding which program category to
approve for an individual,   use the following
Hierarchy:

Child 0- 5

Child 6- 18

Parent/ Caretaker Relative 19-64

Pregnant Woman

Former Foster Care Individual 18-26

rrw"'tiz=r
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Child Medicaid Age 0- 5

Eligibility Requirements

LJ Income under 139%  FPL

LJ A child can receive eligibility through the
month in which they turn 6

LJ If they live with a parent,  the parent' s income
counts

LJ A child does not need to live with a parent to

receive PE

r HE. :-Ti3
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Child Medicaid Age 6- 18

Eligibility requirements

LJ Income under 133%   FPL

LJ A child can receive eligibility through the

month in which they turn 18

LJ If they live with a parent,  the parents'

income counts

LJ A child does not need to live with a parent

to receive PE

11144
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Parent/ Caretaker Relative Medicaid

Eligibility Requirements
Must meet the age limit

A person must be at least 19

LI Must meet the income limit

See income chart for income limits

Household must include a child that is under

age 18 or age 18 and a full time student

expecting to graduate before age 19

LJ Deprivation of support must exist due to a

parent being absent,  deceased,  incapacitated,

or underemployed

r H ALrrx
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Pregnant Woman Medicaid

Eligibility Requirements

Income under 139%  FPL

Must be pregnant at date of application

If under 19 years of age and living with a

parent,  the parents'  income counts

Limit of one HPE period per pregnancy

Program covers pregnancy related outpatient

services only.

Labor and delivery are not covered

111 V-A r:`=  r
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Former Foster Care Individuals

Eligibility Requirements

Ll No income test

Ll Must not be eligible for another HPE program

LJ Age 18- through month they turn 26

LJ Must have been on Medicaid when they aged
out of Foster Care or in the custody of the

state or an Indian tribe.

Ll Persons in the custody of Juvenile Justice

Services are not eligible

HEALTH
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Determining Household S

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII    III III
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The individual The individual

Legal spouse Legal spouse

Number of unborn children Number of unborn children

Individual' s children or step children Individual' s siblings who are under the

under age 19 age 19

A parent

Only include people in the household size that live together
Only the individual will be included in the household size for Former Foster
Care — Will always be a household size of 1
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WhoseIncome to

Ll Income of a parent is countable

Ll Income of a guardian or adult who is not a parent,

is not countable

Ll The following apply for individuals under age 19

with income:

Not countable if living with a parent

Countable if not living with a parent

Income of a sibling is not countable

IYPddNtlV
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Exempt Sources of Income

LJ Child support

LJ Vete ra n s

LJ Educational

LJ Tribal benefits
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DeterminingMonthly Gross Income

Applicants must declare their monthly income

Assist client in determining monthly income when requested

Count the household income of each adult included in the
household size such as:

Gross earned income (wages, salary and tips)
Net self-employment income or business income

Social Security benefits
Unemployment Benefits

Alimony
Interest and dividends

Rental income

7 i AIXly
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DeterminingUsingIncome Check Stubs

First determine how often the individual is paid :

Weekly

Every other week

Twice a month

Monthly

1-11 A 11 111- 14
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DeterminingUsingIncome Check Stubs

When paid weekly:

Multiply gross income listed on check stub by 4. 3

Example:  Individual' s check stub indicates $300

1.   Multiply $300 x 4.3=$ 1, 290
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DeterminingUsingIncome Check Stubs

When paid every other week:

Multiply gross income by 2. 15

Example:  Individual' s paycheck stub indicates

502.00

1.   Multiply $502 x 2. 15 = $1075
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DeterminingUsingIncome Check Stubs

When paid twice a month :

Multiply gross income by 2

Example:  Individual' s paycheck stub indicates

1000

1.   Multiply $1000 x 2  = $2000
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DeterminingUsingIncome Check Stubs

When paid monthly:

The gross amount of the check is the monthly
income
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Determining Income Without Check Stubs

Determine the following:

How often they are paid

How many hours do they work a week

How much they are paid per hour
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Determining Income Without Check Stubs

When paid weekly or every other week:

Determine weekly gross income and then multiply

that amount by 4. 3

Client works 32 hours per week and makes  $ 11. 25

per hour

Multiply weekly wage by 4. 3
1.  Multiply 32 hours by $ 11. 25  = $ 360 weekly gross income
2.  Take the weekly gross income of $360 and multiply by 4. 3
3.  Monthly Gross Income  = $1548
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Determining Income Without Check Stubs

When paid twice a month or monthly:

You MUST use the 172 hour chart in your manual to

determine the monthly hours
172 Howls Gear

WeeMy Hours MontlNy Ih ouirs
Worked Worked

Client works 29 hours per week

Client is paid  $ 10. 25 per hour

33 143

29 weekly hours equals 126 monthly hours
134

Multiply 126 monthly hours by $10.25

Monthly countable income = $1291. 50
6 h m-   122 ordW hours

75 log
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Next Steps
Review factors of eligibility, such as citizenship and residency

Determine the household size and income, and compare to

income limits for the HPE program( s) your are determining
eligibility for
Approve or deny the application and indicate decision and
what programs on the cover sheet

If denied, complete denial reason on cover shett

Scan and email the application with the completed coversheet

to the Department of Workforce Services within 5 business
days of your determination

When sending via email, send one application per submission.

Shred the application

If an email is received from DWS asking questions, a response

is required within 2 business days
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n InformationCotact

Dave Baldwin

HPE Program Specialist

Utah Department of Health,  Medicaid and Health Financing
Email: hpepolicy@utah. gov

Phone: ( 801) 538- 6241

Fax: ( 801) 538- 6952

OR

Laura Belgique

BYB Program Specialist

Email: hpepolicy@utah. gov

Phone: ( 801) 538- 6241

Fax: ( 801) 538- 6952
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