Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Utah

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: UT-17-0001

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)

3) Approved SPA Pages

TN: UT-17-0001 **Approval Date:** 08/18/2017 **Effective Date** 07/01/2017

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Denver Regional Office 1961 Stout Street, Room 08-148 Denver, CO 80294



REGION VIII - DENVER

August 18, 2017

Nathan Checketts, Medicaid Director Utah Department of Health P.O. Box 141000 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1000

RE: Utah #17-0001

Dear Mr. Checketts:

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-0001. This State Plan Amendment updates the Medicaid cost-sharing policy in accordance with the Affordable Care Act, effective July 1, 2017.

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved today with an effective date of July 1, 2017. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s).

If you have any questions concerning this amendment, please contact Mandy Strom at (303) 844-7068.

Sincerely,

Richard C. Allen Associate Regional Administrator Division for Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

cc: John Curless, UT Craig Devashrayee, UT

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)

3. REMARKS

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	UTAH
_	

A. Effective October 1, 2017 unless otherwise noted, the following charges are imposed for services:

Medicaid Service	Cost Sharing Amount and Basis for Determination
Non-Emergency Services Received in Emergency Departments.	\$8 for each non-emergency use of the emergency department.
Inpatient Hospital Stay	Effective July 1, 2017, \$75 for each inpatient hospital stay (episode of care).
Physician or Podiatrist Services	\$4 for each outpatient services visit (physician visit, podiatry visit, physical therapy, etc.).
Outpatient Hospital Services	\$4 for each outpatient hospital service visit, (maximum of one per person, per hospital, per date of service).
Pharmacy Services	\$4 for each prescription.
Chiropractic Services	\$1 for each chiropractic visit (maximum of one per date of service).
Vision Services	\$3 for each pair of eyeglasses.

Note: Additional ER copay information is found in Attachment 4.18-H, Page 1.

T.N. # ______ Approval Date <u>8/18/20</u>17

Supersedes T.N. # <u>08-001</u> Effective Date <u>7-1-17</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	UTAH

- B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals:
 - X Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.
 - The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and collects the cost sharing charges from individuals.
- C. Individuals whose countable household income, before deductions, is less than the TANF standard payment for a family of the applicable size are exempt from all cost sharing noted in Subsection A.
- D. Cost sharing eligible members who present at an emergency department for a nonemergency service will be charged a copayment.

T.N. # ______ 17-0001 Approval Date <u>8/18/2017</u>

Supersedes T.N. # <u>02-001</u> Effective Date <u>7-1-17</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: _	UTAH	

- E. Members outside the exempt status will receive a Medicaid Benefit Letter with co-pay information listed during their eligibility period.
- F. The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)
- G. The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System
- H. The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System
- I. Providers may verify a members copay requirements at: https://medicaid.utah.gov/eligibility.
- J. The State applies incurred-cost sharing to the aggregate limit when claims are submitted for dates of service within the current monthly cap period. Once the aggregate limit is reached, cost-sharing liability stops.

For households that may have paid copays in excess of the aggregate limits:

- The member contacts a Utah Medicaid health program representative noting the outof-pocket amounts paid.
- Medicaid staff verifies the amounts based on paid claims.
- Medicaid staff enters the household as exempt from cost sharing for the duration of the limit period.
- Medicaid staff will initiate, as appropriate, a reprocessing of the claim(s) that made the household exceed the aggregate limits.
- Medicaid staff will work with impacted providers to ensure the household is reimbursed for copay differences that were paid by the household.
- K. Medicaid members described in 42 CFR 447.56(a)(1) are exempt from copayment requirements.

T.N. #17-0001	Approval Date <u>8/18/20</u> 17
Supersedes T.N. # 10-010	Effective Date 7-1-17

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	<u>UTAH</u>	

L. The following conditions apply to the AI/AN copayment exemption:

Those individuals who have a verified or pending AI/AN status on their eligibility record and have an established relationship with one of the following types of facilities (I/T/Us) will be exempted from cost sharing:

- Indian Health Service facility
- Tribal clinic
- Urban Indian Organization facility

The State will perform a regular review of Medicaid claims to identify users of I/T/U facilities and will flag those users as exempt from cost sharing. In addition, individuals who present a letter or other document verifying current or previous use of services provided at an I/T/U facility, or services referred through contract health services in any State, will be flagged as exempt from cost sharing.

The following services do not require copayments:

- 1. Family planning services, including contraceptives and pharmaceuticals;
- 2. Preventive services, including vaccinations and health education;
- 3. Pregnancy-related services, including tobacco cessation;
- 4. Emergency services (emergency use of an emergency room); and
- 5. Provider-preventable condition (PPC) services.

M.	Cumulative maximums on charges:
	State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.
	X Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:

- \$75 for each inpatient hospital stay (episode of care).
- A cumulative copayment amount that does not exceed \$100 per year is allowed for physician services, podiatrist services, outpatient hospital services, and chiropractic services.
- \$20 cumulative monthly maximum copayment amount aggregated for pharmacy services.

T.N. #	<u> 17-0001</u>	Approval Date 8/1	18/2017
Supersedes T.N. #	New	Effective Date	7-1-17

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	UTAH

A. Effective October 1, 2017 unless otherwise noted, the following charges are imposed for services:

Medicaid Service	Cost Sharing Amount and Basis for Determination
Non-Emergency Services Received in Emergency Departments.	\$8 for each non-emergency use of the emergency department.
Inpatient Hospital Stay	Effective July 1, 2017, \$75 for each inpatient hospital stay (episode of care).
Physician or Podiatrist Services	\$4 for each outpatient services visit (physician visit, podiatry visit, physical therapy, etc.).
Outpatient Hospital Services	\$4 for each outpatient hospital service visit, (maximum of one per person, per hospital, per date of service).
Pharmacy Services	\$4 for each prescription.
Chiropractic Services	\$1 for each chiropractic visit (maximum of one per date of service).
Vision Services	\$3 for each pair of eyeglasses.

Note: Additional ER copay information is found in Attachment 4.18-H, Page 1.

T.N. # ______ Approval Date <u>8/18/20</u>17

Supersedes T.N. # <u>08-001</u> Effective Date <u>7-1-17</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	UTAH

- B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals:
 - X Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.
 - The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and collects the cost sharing charges from individuals.
- C. Individuals whose countable household income, before deductions, is less than the TANF standard payment for a family of the applicable size are exempt from all cost sharing noted in Subsection A.
- D. Cost sharing eligible members who present at an emergency department for a nonemergency service will be charged a copayment.

T.N. # ______ Approval Date <u>8/18/2017</u>

Supersedes T.N. # <u>02-001</u>

Effective Date 7-1-17

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: _	UTAH	

- E. Members outside the exempt status will receive a Medicaid Benefit Letter with co-pay information listed during their eligibility period.
- F. The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)
- G. The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System
- H. The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System
- I. Providers may verify a members copay requirements at: https://medicaid.utah.gov/eligibility.
- J. The State applies incurred-cost sharing to the aggregate limit when claims are submitted for dates of service within the current monthly cap period. Once the aggregate limit is reached, cost-sharing liability stops.

For households that may have paid copays in excess of the aggregate limits:

- The member contacts a Utah Medicaid health program representative noting the outof-pocket amounts paid.
- Medicaid staff verifies the amounts based on paid claims.
- Medicaid staff enters the household as exempt from cost sharing for the duration of the limit period.
- Medicaid staff will initiate, as appropriate, a reprocessing of the claim(s) that made the household exceed the aggregate limits.
- Medicaid staff will work with impacted providers to ensure the household is reimbursed for copay differences that were paid by the household.
- K. Medicaid members described in 42 CFR 447.56(a)(1) are exempt from copayment requirements.

T.N. #17	7-0001	Approval Date <u>8/18/20</u> 17
Supersedes T.N. #	10-010	Effective Date 7-1-17

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State:	UTAH
•	

L. The following conditions apply to the AI/AN copayment exemption:

Those individuals who have a verified or pending Al/AN status on their eligibility record and have an established relationship with one of the following types of facilities (I/T/Us) will be exempted from cost sharing:

- Indian Health Service facility
- Tribal clinic
- Urban Indian Organization facility

The State will perform a regular review of Medicaid claims to identify users of I/T/U facilities and will flag those users as exempt from cost sharing. In addition, individuals who present a letter or other document verifying current or previous use of services provided at an I/T/U facility, or services referred through contract health services in any State, will be flagged as exempt from cost sharing.

The following services do not require copayments:

- 1. Family planning services, including contraceptives and pharmaceuticals;
- 2. Preventive services, including vaccinations and health education;
- 3. Pregnancy-related services, including tobacco cessation;
- 4. Emergency services (emergency use of an emergency room); and
- 5. Provider-preventable condition (PPC) services.

S :

- X Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:
 - \$75 for each inpatient hospital stay (episode of care).
 - A cumulative copayment amount that does not exceed \$100 per year is allowed for physician services, podiatrist services, outpatient hospital services, and chiropractic services.
 - \$20 cumulative monthly maximum copayment amount aggregated for pharmacy services.

T.N. #	17-0001	Approval Date 8/1	<u>8/20</u> 17
Supersedes T.N. #	New	Effective Date	7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 54
August 1991

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

State:	UTAH

SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued)

4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges

Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # <u>17-0001</u>

Approval Date <u>8/18/20</u>17

Supersedes T.N. # <u>91-20</u>

Effective Date __7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 55
August 1991

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

State:	UTAH
SECTION 4 - GENERAL	PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued)

Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued)

Deleted 7-1-17

4.18

T.N. # <u>17-0001</u>

Approval Date <u>8/18/201</u>7

Supersedes T.N. # <u>03-016</u>

Effective Date ____7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 55a August 1991

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

State: _	UTAH

SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued)

4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued)

Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # <u>17-0001</u> Approval Date <u>8/18/2017</u>
Supersedes T.N. # <u>03-016</u> Effective Date <u>7-1-17</u>

Page 56 Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) August 1991

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

State:	UTAH
•	<u> </u>

SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued)

4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued)

Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # ______17-0001 Approval Date <u>8/18/2017</u> Effective Date ____7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 56a August 1991 STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State: UTAH SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued) 4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued) Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # 17-0001

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 56c August 1991 STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State: UTAH SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued) Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued) 4.18 Deleted 7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 56d August 1991 STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State: UTAH SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued) Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued) 4.18 Deleted 7-1-17 T.N. # ______17-0001 Approval Date <u>8/18/201</u>7

Supersedes T.N. # 91-20

Effective Date 7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 56e August 1991 STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State: UTAH SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued) 4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued) Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # ______17-0001

Approval Date <u>8/18/201</u>7

Supersedes T.N. # <u>94-01</u>

Effective Date ___7-1-17

Revision: HCFA-PM-91-4 (BPD) Page 56f August 1991 STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State: UTAH SECTION 4 - GENERAL PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (Continued) 4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and Similar Charges (Continued) Deleted 7-1-17

T.N. # 17-0001