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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
November 26, 2019

Ms. Karen Kimsey, Director

Department of Medical Assistance Services
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300
Richmond, VA 23219

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) 19-0013

Dear Ms. Kimsey:

We have completed our review of State Plan Amendment (SPA) 19-0013. This SPA modifies
Attachment 4.19-D of Virginia’s Title XIX State Plan. Specifically, the amendment clarifies rules
surrounding capital renovations that qualify for mid-year rate adjustments.

We conducted our review of this SPA according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(3), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act (the Act) and the
regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are approving Virginia State plan amendment 19-0013
with an effective date of October 1, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan

pages.

If you have any questions, or require additional information, please call Gary Knight at (304) 347-
5723,

Sincerely,

IS/

Kristin Fan
Director

ce:
Lisa Carroll
Gary Knight
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Supplement 1
Attachment 4.19-D
Page 1
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLESHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

Part II - Nursing Home Payment System
12 VAC 30-90-20, REPEALED IN SPA 14-019 EFFECTIVE 7/1/2014
12 VAC 30-90-21. Reimbursement for Individuals in a Disaster Struck Nursing Facility.

Reimbursement to a Disaster Struck Nursing Facility forindividuals that must be temporarily evacuated
to another facility (Resident Accepting Nursing Facility) may continue for up to 30 days after the disaster
event, Reimbursement will be the same as if the individual was residing in the Disaster Struck Facility.
No other reimbursement will be made to either the Disaster Struck Nursing Facility or the Resident
Accepting Facility. The Disaster Struck Nursing Facility must meet the following conditions.

a. The Disaster Struck Nursing Facility must have a contract with the Resident Accepting Nursing
Facility. The contract must (i) include terms of reimbursement and mechanisms to resolve any
contract disputes; (ii) protocols for sharing care and treatment information between the two
facilities, and (iiiy requirements that both facilities meet all conditions of Medicaid participation
determined by the Virginia Department of Health. The Virginia Long-Term Mutual Aid Plan
Memorandum of Understanding is an acceptable contract.

- b. The Disaster Struck Facility must notify DMAS of the disaster event, maintain records of
evacuated individuals with names, dates and destinations of evacuated residents and update

DMAS on the status of repairs.
¢. The Disaster Struck Facility must determine within 15 days of the event whether individuals will

be able to return to the facility within 30 days of the disaster event. If the Disaster Struck Facility
determines that it is not able to reopen within 30 days, it must discharge the individuals and work
with them to choose admission to other facilities or alternative placements. Nothing shall
preclude an individual from asking to be discharged and admitted to another facility or alternative
placement. Reimbursement to the Disaster Struck Facility shall cease when the individual is
discharged.

12 VAC 30-90-22 through 12 VAC 30-90-27. Reserved.

12 VAC 30-90-28. Mid-year Fair Rental Value (FRV) rate determination.
A. New facilities and facilities undergoing a major renovation may apply for a mid-year FRV rate
determination or change if putting into service amajor renovation or new beds. Providers are
allowed only one mid-year FRV rate change during a state fiscal year (SFY),

1. New Facilities. A new nursing facility is defined as a facility that is required to obtain a
certificate of occupancy prior to the admittance of a resident. New nursing facilities should file
their mid-year FRV report when the facility’s certificate of occupancy has been issued. The
nursing facility shall submit complete pro forma documentation at least 60 days prior to the
certificate of occupancy effective date, and the new FRV rate shall be effective at the beginning
of the month following the end of the 60 days subject to confirmation that the new beds are

operational.
TN No. 19-013 Approval Date NOV_ 2.6 2019 Effective Date  10/1/2019
Supersedes

“TN No. 17-004



Supplement 1
Attachment 4.19-D
Page 2
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XiX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

a. For any facility whose FRV report has less than 12 months of experience, the department
shall develop an occupancy schedule as defined in the Nursing Facility Capital Payment
Methodology, in 4.19-D, Supp 1, beginning on page 15, that represents the average statewide
occupancy by month of operation for use in calculating the per diem rate in lieu of a
minimum occupancy requirement or actual occupancy. After the initial FRV report filing,
actual occupancy data shall be used.

b. New facilities shall use the occupancy schedule developed by DMAS to estimate patient days
for their first FRV report until actual patient days are available. The occupancy percentage
used to calculate estimated patient days shall be based on the number of months remaining
within the calendar year from the month of receipt of the certificate of occupancy. For
example, if the certificate of occupancy is received in February, then the number of months
remaining in the calendar year would be 11 and the occupancy percentage to use would be
85.84% (see Table 1 on p 16 0f 4.19-D, Supp 1). The estimated patient days would be equal
to the occupancy percentage times the annualized bed days available for the report period.

¢. DMAS shall have 15 days from the date of the provider’s submission to determine if the
filing is complete for purposes of setting a rate for anew facility. The facility shall have 15
days from the date the filing is deemed incomplete to submit the required information. The
deadline for setting the rate shall be extended for 30 days after the filing is deemed complete.

2. Major renovations. Facilities undergoing major renovations shall file a mid-year FRYV report
when there is an‘increase in capital expenditures of at least $3,000 per total number of beds. The
mursing facility shall submit complete pro forma documentation at least 60 days prior to the
effective occupancy date and the new rate shall be effective at the beginning of the month
following the end of the 60 days subject to confirmation that the renovated beds are operational.
No mid-year rate changes shall be made for an effective date after April 30 of the SFY.

a. Any new beds or major renovations placed in service between the reporting year and the rate
year shall be treated as a mid-year rate adjustment. No new FRV rate change will be made
after April 30. Rate updates that fall between May 1 and June 30 shall be effective as stated
below. ‘

b. DMAS shall have 15 days from the date of the provider’s submission to determine if the filing
is complete for purposes of setting a rate for a renovated facility. The facility shall have 15
days from the date the filing is deemed incomplete to submit the required information.

¢. Providers may propose a phased major renovation subject to approval by DMAS. The phased
major renovation may include reductions to available beds. Any modifications to the
proposed renovation are also subject to approval by DMAS. Phased major renovations
include construction or major renovations that span more than one FRV report period. Only
one annual FRV report and one mid-year FRV report can be filed in a SFY to change the
plant rate. A mid-year FRV report can be filed only if capital cost per bed increases by a
minimum of $3000 per bed. Major renovation cost may only be included on Schedule R-1 as
it is placed into service. Cost cannot be duplicated throughout the project on Schedule R-1.
Major renovations for independent and assisted living are not allowed on the Schedule R-1.

TN No. 19-013 Approval Date NOV-3 5 9 EffectiveDate  10/1/2019
Supersedes 62019
TNNo. _New page



Supplement 1
Attachment 4.19-D
Page 2.1
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG—TERM CARE

B. The following are applicable to new facilities and facilities undergoing major renovation:

1. DMAS shall annualize real estate taxes, property taxes, and property insurance costs that do
not represent a full year’s cost.

a. Actual paid tax bills shall be provided to support real estate taxes and personal property
taxes. When the taxing authority has not invoiced a new facility, building value per the
most recent coniractor invoice times the locality’s tax rate shall be used to estimate real
estate and tax liability for the period. Only the nursing facility’s building value can be
included in the calculation.

b. Actual paid insurance premiums shall be provided to support property insurance. For
newly constructed nursing facilities, a reasonable estimate from the insurance company
can be used to document property insurance cost until the first insurance policy and the
premium are incurred. Only the nursing facility’s property insurance can be included on
the schedule.

2. Costs shall be based on currently available documentation at the time but are subject to audit.
DMAS may use any reasonable method to estimate costs for which there is inadequate
documentation. Reasonable method includes using tax rates from the taxing authority in the
location of the facility, the most recent contractor’s invoice to determine building cost, and
estimates from insurance companies related to the nursing facility portion of the building.
Any adjustments based on subsequent year documentation or audit for a current rate year
shall be applied beginning July 1 of the next rate year.

Subpart 1}
Rate Determination Procedures

Article 1. Transition to new capital payment methodology.

12 VAC 30-90-29,

A This section provides for a transition to a new capital payment methodology. The methodology

that will be phased out for most facilities is described in Article 2. The methodology that will be phased

in for most facilities is described in Article 3. The terms and timing of the transition are described in this
article.

TNNo. 19013 ApprovalDate  NUV 2.8 2019 Effective Date  10/1/2019
Supersedes

TNNo. New page
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Attachment 4.19-D
Page 4
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

E. Emergency regulations effective July 1, 2000, provided for a facility specific fixed capital per
diem applicable to services in SFY 2001, that is not to be adjusted at settlement. After SFY 2001, the per
diem that would have been applicable to SFY 2001, under the methodology in Article 2 shall be
calculated. Ifthere are two provider fiscal years that overlap SFY 2001, this per diem shall be a
combination of the two applicable per diem amounts. If the per diem provided in the emergency
regulations is lower than the per diem based on Article 2, the difference, multiplied by the days in SFY
2001, shall be paid to the facility. If the per diem provided in the emergency regulations is higher, the
difference, multiplied by the days, shall be collected from the facility in the settlement of the provider
year settled after the difference is calculated.

Article 2
Plant Cost Component

12VAC30-90-30. Plant cost.

A This Article describes a capital payment methodology that will be phased out for most nursing
facilities by SFY 2012. The terms and timing of the transition to a different methodology are
described in Article 1. The methodology that will eventually replace this one for most facilities is
described in Article 3.

B. Plant cost shall include actual allowable depreciation, interest, rent or lease payments for
buildings and equipment as well as property insurance, property taxes and debt financing costs
allowable under Medicare principles of reimbursement or as defined herein.

C. Effective July 1, 2001, to calculate the reimbursement rate, plant cost shall be converted to a per
diem amount by dividing it by the greater of actual patient days or the number of patient days
computed as the required occupancy percentage of the daily licensed bed complement during the
applicable cost reporting period. The required occupancy percentage means the ratio of nursing
facility total patient days to total potential patient days for all available licensed beds. The
occupancy percentage for dates of service on or before June 30, 2013 shall be 90%, for dates of
service on or after July 1, 2013 shall be 88%. For facilities with less than 12 months of occupancy
experience, the required occupancy percentage shall be determined from the occupancy scheduke
in 4.19-D, Supp 1, p 16. For facilities that also provide specialized care services, see 4.19-D, Supp
1, page 56, #9, for special procedures for computing the number of patient days required to meet
the occupancy requirement.

D. Costs related to equipment and portions of a building/facility not available for patient care related
activities are non-reimbursable plant costs.

TN No. 19-013 ApprovaiDate _ NIV 9 ﬁ £019 Effective Date  10/1/2019
Supersedes
TN No. 13-08
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Attachment 4.19-D
Page 5
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCTAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

12VAC30-90-31. New nursing facilities and bed additions.

A Providers shall be required to obtain three competitive bids when (i) constructing a new physical
plant or renovating a section of the plant when changing the licensed bed capacity, and (ii) purchasing fixed
equipment or major movable equipment related to such projects. All bids must be obtained in an open
competitive market manner, and subject to disclosure to DMAS prior to initial rate setting, (Related parties
see 12VAC30-90-51.)

B Reimbursable costs for building and fixed equipment shall be based upon the 75t percentile square
foot costs for NFs published annually in the R.S. Means Building Construction Cost Data as adjusted by
the appropriate R.S. Means Square Foot Costs "Location Factor" for Virginia for the locality in which the
NF is located. Where the specific location is not listed in the R.S. Means Square Foot Costs "Location
Factor" for Virginia, the facility's zip code shali be used to determine the appropriate locality factor from
the U.S. Postal Services National Five Digit Zip Code for Virginia and the R.S. Means Square Foot Cosis
"Location Factors." The provider shall have the option of selecting the construction cost limit, which is
effective on the date the Certificate of Public Need (COPN) is issued or the date the NF is licensed. Total
cost shall be calculated by multiplying the above 75 percentile square foot cost by 385 square feet (the
average per bed square footage). Effective July 1, 2007, the construction cost limit for children’s ICF/MR
facilities having 50 or more beds shall be calculated using up to 750 square feet per bed. Total costs for
building additions shall be calculated by multiplying the square footage of the project by the applicable
components of the construction costin the R.S. Means Square Foot Costs, not to exceed the total per bed
cost for a new NF. Reasonable limits for renovations shall be determined by the appropriate costs in the
R.S. Means Repair and Remodeling Cost Data, not to exceed the total R.S. Means Building Construction
Cost Data 75t percentile square foot costs for NFs. Attachment 4.19-D, Supp 1, pages 1-3, entitled Mid-
year Fair Rental Value rate determination, provides cost documentation requirements fornew and renovated

nursing homes.

C. New NFs and bed additions to existing NFs must have prior approval under the state's Certificate
of Public Need Law and Licensure regulations in order to receive Medicaid reimbursement.

D. However in no case shall allowable reimbursed costs exceed 110% of the amounts approved in
the original COPN, or 100% of the amounts approved in the original COPN as modified by any
"significant change" COPN, where a provider has satisfied the requirements of the State Department of
Health with respect to obtaining prior written approval for a "significant change” to a COPN which has
previously been issued (see 12VACS-220-10 et seq.).

TN No. 19-013 ApprovalDate NTAT 6 2019 Effective Date  10/1/2019

Supersedes
TN No. 07-06



Supplement 1
Attachment 4.19-D
Page 16
STATE PLANUNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

“Fixed capital replacement value” means an amount equal to the R.S. Means 75% percentile
nursing home construction cost per square foot, times the applicable R.S. Means historical cost
index factor, times the factor for land and soft costs, times the applicable R.S. Means “Location
Factor”, times facility imputed gross square feet.

“FRV depreciation rate” means a depreciation rate equal to 2.86% per year.

“Hospital based facility” means one for which a single combined Medicare cost report is filed
that includes the costs of both the hospital and the nursing home.

"Major renovation" means an increase in capital of $3,000 per bed.

“Movable capital replacement value” means a value equal to $3,475.00 per bed in SFY2001, and shall be
increased each July 15t by the same R.S. Means historical cost index factor that is used to calculate the
fixed capital replacement value. Fach year’s updated movable capital replacement value shall be
used in the calculation of each provider’s rate for the provider year beginning on or after the date
the new value becomes effective.

“Occupancy Schedule” means a table created to represent the average statewide occupancy by
month of operation for use in calculating the per diem rate in lieu of a minimum occupancy
requirement or actual occupancy for facilities with less than 12 months of experience. The
occupancy schedule is shown in Table 1.

Table 1. Occupancy Schedule

Initial Operating Period | Occupancy Percentage

3 Months 38.10%

4 Months 65.68%

5 Months 70.01%

6 Months 73.69%

7 Months 76.69%

8 Months 79.23%

9 Months 81.60%

10 Months 83.88%

11 Months 85.84%

12 Months 88.00%
TN No. 19-013 ApprovalDate Effective Date  10/1/2019
Supersedts— o M 2013 -

TN No. 14-019



Supplement 1
Attachment 4.19-D
Page 16.1
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XiX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

“R.S. Means 75% percentile nursing construction cost per square foot” means the 75 percentile value
published in the most recent available edition of Building Construction Cost Data. In the 2000 edition of
the R.S. Means publication this value is $110, which is reported as a January 2000 value.

“R.S. Means historical cost index factor” means the ratio of the two mostrecent R.S. Means Historical
Cost Indexes published in the most recent available edition of Building Construction Cost Data. In the
2000 edition of this R.S. Means publication these two values are 117.6 (for 1999} and 115.1 {for 1998).
The ratio of these values, and therefore the factor to be used would be 1.022. This factor would be used
to adjust the Januvary 2000 value for the one year of change from January 2000 to January 2001, the mid-
point of the prospective rate year (SFY2001). The resulting cost value that would be used in SFY2001 is
$112.42. Theindexes used in this calculation do not match the time period for which a factor is needed.
They relate to 1998 and 1999, while 2000 and 2001 would be ideal. However, RSMeans does not publish
index forecasts, so the most recent available indexes shall be used.

“R.S. Means Location Factors” means those published in the most recent available edition of Square Foot
Costs. The 2000 location factors are shown in the following Table 2. The calculation will use the most
recently available location factors, which will also be published on the DMAS website.

TN No. 19-013 ApprovalDate NOY BEZ v Effective Date  10/1/2019
Supersedes -

TNNo. New page
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Attachment 4.19-D
Page 17
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

TABLE 2.
R.S. MEANS. COMMERCIAL CONSTRUCTION COST
LOCATION FACTORS (2000)

Zip Code Location Factor
PRINCIPAL CITY
220-221 Fairfax 0.90
222 Arlington 0.90
223 Alexandria 0.91
224-225 Fredericksburg 0.85
226 Winchester (.80
227 Culpeper 0.80
228 Harrisonburg 0.77
229 Charlottesville 0.82
230-232 Richmond 0.85
233-235 Norfolk 0.82
236 Newport News 0.82
237 Portsmouth 0.81
238 Petersburg 0.84
239 Farmville 0.74
240-241 Roanoke 0.77
242 Bristol 0.75
243 Pulaski 0.70
244 Staunton (.76
245 Lynchburg 0.77
246 Grundy 0.70

“Rental rate” means for a prospective year a rate equal to two percentage points plus the vield on US
Treasury Bonds with maturity over 10 years, averaged over the most recent three calendar years for which
data are available, as published by the Federal Reserve (Federal Reserve Statistical Release H.15 Selected
Interest Rates (www.Federalreserve.gov/releases/)]. Therate shall be published and distributed to providers
annually. Changes in the rental rate shall be effective for the provider's fiscal year beginning on or after
July 1¢t. Rental rates may not falt below 9% or exceed 11% and will be updated annually on or about July
Ist each year, Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, the floor for the nursing facility rental
rates may not fall below 8.75%. Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, the floor fot the nursing
facility rental rates may not fall below 9.0%. Effective July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2012, the floor for
the nursing facility rental rates may not fall below 8.0%. Effective July 1, 2012, through June 30, 2014, the
floor for the nursing facility rental rafes may not fall below 8,5%. Effective July 1, 2014, the floor for the
nursing facility rental rates may not fall below 8.0%. Therate will be published and distributed to providers
annually. Changes in the rental rate shall be effective for the provider's fiscal year beginning on or after
July 1. Effective July 1, 2014, the rental rate shall be effective for the state fiscal year. |

TNNo, 19013 ApprovalDate __NOV 3.8 2019 Effective Date _ 1071/2019

Supersedes
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE X1X OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

“Required occupancy percentage”™ means the ratio of nursing facility total patient days to total potential
patient days for all available licensed beds. The required occupancy percentage shall be 90% for dates of
service on or before June 30, 2013. The required occupancy percentage for dates of service on or after July
1,2013, shall be 88%. Facilities whoseFair Rental Value report indicates less than 12 months of experience
must use the Occupancy Schedule to determine the required occupancy percentage.

“SFY” means State Fiscal Year (July 1% through June 30t%.)
A. Fair rental value (FRV) payment for capital.

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2001, the DMAS shall pay nursing facility capital
related costs under a Fair Rental Value (FRV) methodology. The payment made under this
methodology shall be the only payment for capital related costs, and no separate payment shall be
made for depreciation or interest expense, lease costs, property taxes, insurance, or any other capital
related cost, including home office capital costs. This payment is considered to cover costs related to
land, buildings and fixed equipment, major movable equipment, and any other capital related item.
This shall be the case regardless of whether the property is owned or leased by the operator.

2.FRV rateyear. The FRV paymentrateshall be a per diem rate determined each year for each facility,
using the most recent available datafrom settled costreports, or from other verified sources as specified
herein. The per diem rate shall be determined prospectively and shall apply for the entire fiscal year.
Each provider shall receive a new capital per diem rate each year effective at the start of the provider’s
fiscal year, except that the capital per diem rate was revised for the rental rate changes effective July 1,
2010 through June 30, 2012. Data elements that are provider specific shall be revised at that time and
shall rely on the settled cost report and schedule of assets of the previous year. Data elements that are
not provider specific, including those published by RSMeans and the rental rate, shall be determined
annually on or about July 1%t and shall apply to provider fiscal years beginning on or after July 12, That
is, each July 13t DMAS shall determine the RSMeans values and the rental rate, and these shall apply
to all provider fiscal years beginning on or after July 1. Effective July 1, 2014, the FRV rate year shall
be the same as the state fiscal year.

TNNo. 19013 ApprovalDate NOV I G 2019 Effective Date 107172019

Supersedes
TN No. 14-019
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

3. Mid-year FRV rate change. Facilities requiring a mid-year FRV rate change must follow the
procedures as specified in 4.19-D, Supp 1, pages 1-3.

4. The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing facilities shall be the last settled capital per
diem.

12 VAC 30-90-37. Calculation of FRV Per Diem Rate for Capital. Calculation of FRV Rental Amount.

A

Change of Ownership.

Calculation of FRV Per Diem Rate for Capital. The facility FRV per diem rate shall be equal to
the sum of the facility FRYV rental amount and the facility’s allowable property tax and insurance
cost from the most recent settled cost report, divided by the greater of actual patient days or the
required occupancy percentage of the potential patient days for all licensed beds throughout the
cost reporting period. For facilities that also provide specialized care services, see 4.19-D, Supp
1, p 26 (12 VAC 30-90-264) section 10, for special procedures for computing the number of
patient days required to meet the required occupancy percentage requirement.

Facilities shall be required to submit a calendar year FRYV report covering both NF and
specialized care beds to be used to set a prospective FRV rate effective the following July 1 for
both the NF and the specialized care facility. The calendar year FRV report shall be submitted by
the end of February following the end of the calendar year. FRV reports shall be settled within
90 days of filing the FRV report. For late FRV reports, the prospective rate may be effective 90
days after the date of filing even if after July 1. No capital rate shall be paid between July 1 and
the effective date of the prospective FRV rate for a late report.

New nursing facilities or major renovations that qualify for mid-year FRV rate adjustments must
follow pro forma submission procedures as specified in 4.19-D, Supp 1, pages 1-3.

TN No. 19-013 ApprovalDate . NOV 2. §- 2019 Effective Date  10/1/2019
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCTAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

C. Prospective capital rates shall be calculated in the following manner:

1. Fair rental value per diem rates for the fiscal year shall be calculated for all freestanding nursing
facilities based on the prior calendar year information aged to the fiscal year and using RS Means
factors and rental rates corresponding to the fiscal year as prescribed in 12 VAC 30-90-36. There will
be no separate calculation for beds subject to or not subject to transition.

2. FRYV per diem rates for new nursing facilities or major renovations that qualify for mid-year rate
adjustments shall be calculated as preseribed in 4.19-D, Supp 1, pages 1-3.

a. These FRV changes shall also apply to specialized care facilities.

b, The capital per diem rate for hospital-based nursing facilities shall be the last settled capital per
diem.

12VAC30-90-45 to 12VAC30-90-49. Reserved.

TN No. 19-013 Approval Date Effective Date  10/1/2019
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG-TERM CARE

b. Kinetic therapy devices will havea limit per day (based on 1994 audited cost report data inflated to
the rate period). See NHPS, Appendix IIl, page 2 {12ZVAC30-90-290) for the cost reimbursement
limitations.

¢. Kinetic therapy devices will be reimbursed only if a resident is being treated for wounds that meet
the following wound care criteria. Residents receiving this wound care must require kinetic bed
therapy (that is, low air loss matiresses, fluidized beds, and/or rotating/turning beds) and require
treatment for a grade (stage)IV decubitus, a large surgical wound that cannot be closed, or second
to third degree burns covering more than 10% of'the body.

8. Covered ancillary services are defined as follows: laboratory, X-ray, medical supplies (e.g., infusion
pumps, incontinence supplies), physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, inhalation
therapy, IV therapy, enteral feedings, and kinetic therapy. The following are not specialized care
ancillary services and are excluded from specialized care reimbursement: physician services,
psychologist services, total parenteral nutrition (TPN), and drugs. These services must be separately
billed to DM AS. Aninterim rate for the covered ancillary services will be determined (using data from
the most recent settled costreport) by dividing allowable ancillary costs by the number of patient days
for the same cost reporting period. The interim rate will be retroactively cost settled based on the
specialized care nursing facility cost reporting period.

9. Capital costs. Effective July 1, 2016, capital cost reimbursement rates shall be based on subsection C
of 12 VAC 30-90-44 in accordance with 4.19-D, Supp 1, p 14-19 (12 VAC 30-90-35 through 12 VAC
30-90-37) inclusive, except that the required occupancy percentage shall not be separately applied to
specialized care, For new nursing homes or major renovations that qualify for mid-year rate
adjustments, capital cost reimbursement shall be based on 4.19-D, Supp 1, p 1-3. To determine the
capital cost related to specialized care patients, the following calculation shall be applied:

a, Licensed beds, including specialized care beds, multiplied by days in the costreporting period, shall

equal avaitable days.

b. The required occupancy days shall equal the required occupancy percentage multiplied by available

days.

¢. The required occupancy days minus actual resident days, including specialized care days, shall equal

the shortfall of days. Ifthe shortfall of days is negative, the shortfall of days shall be zero.

d. Actual resident days, not including specialized care days, plus the shortfall of days shall equal the

minimum number of days to be used to calculate the capital cost per day.

10. Nurse aide training and competency evaluation programs and competency evaluation programs
(NATCEP) costs. NATCEPS costs will bepaid on a pass-through basis in accordance with the current
NHPS. Effective July 1, 2016, NATCEP costs shall be paid on a prospective basis in accordance with
4.19-D, Supp 1, page 45 (12 VAC 300-90-170).

11. Pediatric routine operating cost rate. For pediatric specialized care in a distinct part pediatric specialized
care unit, one routine operating cost ceiling will be developed. The routine operating cost ceiling will
be $418 as of July 1, 2002. Effective July 1, 2016, the pediatric routine operating cost ceiling shall be
$577.24 as of SFY 15.

a. The statewide operating ceiling shall be adjusted for each nursing facility in the same manner as
described in subdivisions 4 of this section.

b. The final routine operating cost reimbursement rate shall be computed as described for other
than pediatric units in subdivision 3 of this section.
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