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DEMONSTRATIONS

Executive summary

Five states—Arkansas, Indiana, lowa, Michigan, and Montana—
operate section 1115 Medicaid demonstrations that require or
encourage monthly payments from Medicaid beneficiaries with
incomes up to 133 percent of the federal poverty level.' These
demonstrations vary in the amount and timing of the required
payments, the income levels at which payments are required, and
the consequences for nonpayment. In some states, the monthly
payments are considered traditional premiums; in others, they are
contributions to beneficiary accounts that resemble health savings
accounts. We compare the design of monthly payments in the
five demonstrations during the 2014—2016 period. We also (1)
estimate the number and proportion of potential enrollees in each
state who would be subject to monthly payments using data from
the American Community Survey and (2) report the proportion of
potential enrollees that could be disenrolled for nonpayment to
illustrate how broadly nonpayment consequences might apply to
demonstration beneficiaries. Overall, we find that the proportion
of the demonstration population required or encouraged to make
monthly payments ranges from 25 percent in Michigan to 100
percent in Indiana, although in some states beneficiaries may

opt out of making payments with few consequences. In lowa,
Indiana, and Montana, about one quarter of the estimated eligible
population can be disenrolled for nonpayment. We close by looking
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ahead to our continuing observation and evaluation of these
demonstrations, including elements of monthly payment design
which could be the basis of valid comparisons across states.?

Introduction

Five states—Arkansas, Indiana, lowa, Michigan, and
Montana—operate Medicaid programs that require or encourage
certain beneficiaries to pay premiums or make other monthly
contributions. Although Title XIX of the Social Security Act
normally prohibits states from requiring premiums of Medicaid
beneficiaries with family incomes under 150 percent of the
federal poverty level (FPL), these states have authority under
section 1115 of the Act to waive that prohibition.®> We use the term
“monthly payments” to encompass payments considered to be
traditional premiums, as in lowa and Montana, as well as those
that take the form of monthly beneficiary account contributions,
as in Indiana and Michigan’s ongoing demonstrations, and in
Arkansas’s initial demonstration, the Health Care Independence
Program (Arkansas implemented a new monthly payment

policy in January 2017, under a new demonstration named
Arkansas Works*). In this issue brief, we compare the monthly
payments policies in the five demonstration states during the
2014—-2016 period, including the payment amounts, timing, and
consequences of nonpayment, exemptions, and linkages to
beneficiary accounts.?

THE MEDICAID CONTEXT

Medicaid is a health insurance program that serves low-income children, adults, individuals with disabilities, and seniors. Medicaid is
administered by states and is jointly funded by states and the federal government. Within a framework established by federal statutes,
regulations and guidance, states can choose how to design aspects of their Medicaid programs, such as benefit packages and

provider reimbursement. Although federal guidelines may impose some uniformity across states, federal law also specifically authorizes
experimentation by state Medicaid programs through section 1115 of the Social Security Act. Under section 1115 provisions, states may
apply for federal permission to implement and test new approaches to administering Medicaid programs that depart from existing federal
rules yet are consistent with the overall goals of the program and are budget neutral to the federal government.

Some of these new approaches being tested under 1115 authority draw on established practices in commercial health insurance,
such as cost-sharing at levels that exceed Medicaid limits and financial incentives for pursuing healthy behaviors. Other new
approaches involve partnerships with private-sector entities, such as issuers that offer qualified health plans. However, Medicaid
beneficiaries have lower incomes and poorer health status than most privately insured individuals and Medicaid expansion
demonstrations have required multiple beneficiary protections, such as limits on total cost-sharing, access to certain mandatory
benefits, and rights to fair hearings.



Each of these demonstrations is intended to promote beneficiaries’
responsibility for and engagement in their health coverage and
care, and as such introduces policies that may affect beneficiary
enrollment and coverage continuity. For example, payment
amounts and timing of collection may influence whether individuals
decide to enroll in Medicaid and how long they remain enrolled.
Having to pay for Medicaid coverage could signal that it is valuable,
which could encourage people to enroll or to stay enrolled. On the
other hand, consequences of nonpayment, such as debt collection

What are the state-by-state differences

in monthly payment design?

Table 1 lists the implementation dates for the five states’
demonstrations and the dates when payment policies first took
effect, and highlights key differences among the five demonstrations
in the monthly payment amounts and timing, the consequences
of nonpayment, and linkages with beneficiary accounts.

policies, may affect take-up and enrollment continuity. Because
these demonstrations allow states to apply monthly payment
requirements to beneficiaries with lower incomes than previously

allowed, the states and CMS are monitoring enrollment patterns at

the affected income levels.

Monthly payment amounts by income level. The lowa
design for monthly payment amounts is a fixed amount for each
of two different income groups. lowa requires monthly payments
for beneficiaries with incomes above 50 percent of FPL, although
the state waives these contributions if beneficiaries engage in

Table 1. Monthly payment design by state, 2014-2016

Design element

Arkansas: Health
Care Independence
Program?

Indiana: Healthy
Indiana Plan (HIP) 2.0°

lowa: lowa Health
and Wellness Plan

Michigan: Healthy
Michigan Plan

Montana: Health and
Economic Livelihood
Partnership

Expansion date

January 1, 2014

February 1, 2015

January 1, 2014

April 1, 2014

January 1, 2016

for income
0-100% FPL

6-100% FPL: $1-$20°

50-100% FPL: $5

Monthly January 1, 2015 February 1, 2015 January 1, 2015 October 1, 2014 January 1, 2016

payments Discontinued

effective April 2016

Basis for monthly | Fixed amounts, as 2% of income for those | Fixed amounts, as listed | 2% of income for those | 2% of income for those

amount listed below >5% FPL; $1 for those below >100% FPL at or above 50% FPL
at or below 5% FPL

Monthly amounts | $0 0-5% FPL: $1 0-49% FPL: $0 $0 0-49% FPL: $0

50-100%: $10-$20°

Monthly amounts

>100-115% FPL: $10

>100-133% FPL:

>100-133% FPL: $10

>100-133% FPL:

>100-133% FPL:

of nonpayment

exposed to QHP
copayments at the
point of service

period is followed by
disenrollment for 6
months for beneficiaries
with income >100%
FPL. Those with income
<100% remain enrolled,
but lose enhanced

is followed by
disenroliment for
beneficiaries with
income >100% FPL,

but can re-enroll at any
time. Monthly payments
can become a collectible

are disenrolled for
nonpayment, but the
state will garnish state
tax returns for missed
payments in excess
of $50

for income . $20-$27¢ $20-$27¢ $20-$27¢
>100% FPL 116-138% FPL: $15
Timing of If paid before the end | Beneficiaries with income | Begins after 12 Begins after 6 months of | Begins in the first month
payments of the 2nd month >100% FPL cannot enroll | months of enroliment enrollment of enroliment
after coverage was until the first monthly if incentivized health
effective, beneficiary | payment is made. For behaviors are not
avoided copayments | those with income completed. There is also
at the point of service | £100% who choose a 30-day grace period
not to pay monthly for making the first
payments, coverage is payment or completing
effective the first day health behaviors.
of month in which the
60-day initial grace
period expires.
Consequences Beneficiaries are A 60-day grace A 90-day grace period No beneficiaries >100% FPL:

disenrollment for
nonpayment after

a 30-day notice of
nonpayment period and
a 90-day grace period;
may re-enroll upon
payment or when debt

benefits and are debt after 90 days for all is assessed
exposed to copayments. | beneficiaries. 50%-100% FPL: cannot
be disenrolled but unpaid
payments can become a
collectible debt
Beneficiary Yes Yes No Yes No
accounts

(continued)



Sources: Mathematica analysis of:

Arkansas Special Terms and Conditions, approval period September 27, 2013-December 31, 2016; as amended January 1, 2015.

lowa Marketplace Choice Plan Special Terms and Conditions, approval period January 1, 2014—December 31, 2016; as amended December 31, 2014.
Indiana Special Terms and Conditions, approval period February 1, 2015-December 31, 2018.

Michigan Special Terms and Conditions, approval period December 30, 2013-December 31, 2018.

Montana Special Terms and Conditions, approval period November 1, 2015—December 31, 2020.

Key informant interviews with Medicaid officials in Arkansas, Indiana, lowa, Michigan, and Montana.

a Arkansas closed the Independence Accounts in June 2016 and subsequently received approval for a new set of demonstration policies for the period 2017 through 2021,
under the name Arkansas Works. This issue brief focuses on monthly payment policies during the period when Independence Accounts were in effect.

® Payment amounts are for HIP Plus beneficiaries. HIP Basic beneficiaries do not make monthly payments.

°Amounts were calculated using the FPL for a household size of one and the 2017 FPL threshold ($12,060), and are rounded to the nearest whole dollar. Monthly income
levels for a household size of one at 50%, 100%, and 133% of the 2017 threshold are $503, $1,005, and $1,387, respectively.

FPL = federal poverty level; QHP = qualified health plan.

certain health behaviors. From January 2015 through April 2016,
under the Health Care Independence Program, Arkansas also set
fixed amounts for adults with incomes above 100 percent of the
FPL.® Arkansas initially received section 1115 authority to collect
contributions from adults with household incomes between 50
percent and 100 percent FPL, but did not implement this policy.

Indiana, Michigan, and Montana set monthly payments at 2 percent
of household income, although beneficiaries in Indiana with incomes
of 5 percent of FPL and below have a monthly contribution of $1

per month, regardless of whether this amount is greater than 2
percent of household income. However, monthly contributions are
optional for Indiana beneficiaries with incomes below the poverty
line. If beneficiaries in this income range do not make monthly
payments, they enroll in HIP Basic rather than HIP Plus. HIP Basic
has fewer benefits and exposes beneficiaries to copayments at the
point of service. Beneficiaries enrolled in HIP Plus are protected
from copayments except for those applied to non-emergency visits
to emergency departments. The maximum monthly payment for
HIP Plus beneficiaries is $100. Michigan does not require monthly
payments of adults at or below the poverty line, and Montana does
not require monthly payments of adults below 50 percent of the FPL.
Beneficiaries in Indiana and Michigan can have their contributions
reduced if they engage in certain health behaviors.

Timing of monthly payments. lowa’s demonstration

design has the longest time lapse between enrollment and the
first required payment. If beneficiaries do not complete specified
health behaviors in the first year of enrollment, including a physical
or dental wellness exam and a health risk assessment, they

must pay monthly payments beginning in the second year, after

a 30-day grace period during which beneficiaries can complete
these behaviors and eliminate their payment liability for the second
year. Michigan requires the first payment after the first six months
of enrollment. Montana requires a payment for the first month

that coverage is effective, no matter when in the first month an
individual is determined eligible. If beneficiaries enroll early in the
first month, the first invoice arrives later that same month and
combines payments owed for the first and second months. If
beneficiaries enroll after the billing cutoff date in the first month,
the first statement arrives in the second month and combines
payments owed for the first three months of enrollment. Under

the Health Care Independence Program, Arkansas encouraged
beneficiaries to make a first payment by the end of the second
month after coverage was effective.

The timing of monthly payments in Indiana is based on section
1115 authority the state has had since 2008 to waive laws
governing reasonable promptness and retroactive coverage,
setting coverage to begin on the first day of the month in which a
beneficiary makes an initial financial contribution.” After they are
determined eligible, beneficiaries have 60 days to make their first
monthly contribution and enroll in HIP Plus. Adults with incomes
above the poverty line who do not make a payment do not receive
coverage. For those with incomes at or below the poverty line who
choose not to make monthly payments, coverage in HIP Basic is
effective on the first day of the month in which a 60-day payment
period expires. HIP Basic does not cover certain benefits included
in HIP Plus, such as vision and dental services and requires
point-of-service cost sharing. Beneficiaries can also opt to enroll in
coverage right away by making a $10 contribution at application.
The $10 “fast track” payment is applied to the beneficiary’s future
monthly payment contribution requirements.

Consequences of nonpayment. The three states that have
authority to require monthly payments of beneficiaries with incomes
below the poverty line (100 percent of the FPL) also apply the most
serious consequences for nonpayment. CMS has allowed these
three states to disenroll beneficiaries for nonpayment, although
these policies apply only to those with incomes above the poverty
line. lowa disenrolls beneficiaries with incomes above the poverty
line after a 90-day grace period, but beneficiaries can re-enroll at
any time. Montana also disenrolls beneficiaries with incomes above
the poverty line for nonpayment after a 30-day notice period and

a 90-day grace period. Beneficiaries can re-enroll after payment

of past due amounts or after debt assessment by the state.? In
Indiana, all beneficiaries who make a payment within 60 days of
their eligibility determination are enrolled in HIP Plus. After the
60-day grace period passes, HIP Plus beneficiaries with incomes
above the poverty line who make at least one monthly contribution
but fail to make subsequent payments are disenrolled from the
program, and may not re-enroll for six months.

For beneficiaries who owe monthly payments at any income level



in lowa and Montana, including those below the poverty line, past-
due payments can become a collectible debt. In Indiana, those
with incomes below the poverty line who do not make monthly
payments are automatically enrolled in HIP Basic, a more limited
benefit plan. If beneficiaries with incomes at or below the poverty
line begin making payments and enroll in HIP Plus, but then stop
paying their monthly contributions, they would transition to HIP
Basic. They cannot regain access to HIP Plus until their annual
coverage renewal date. Beneficiaries with incomes above the
poverty line do not have access to HIP Basic.

Michigan asks beneficiaries above the poverty line to make
monthly payments and does not disenroll them for nonpayment.
Michigan initiates a messaging process for beneficiaries who have
missed payments, and will refer beneficiaries who have missed
repeated payments and owe more than $50 to its Department of
Treasury to garnish state tax returns or lottery winnings. Likewise,
Arkansas asked beneficiaries with incomes above the poverty line
to make monthly payments under the Health Care Independence
Program, and did not disenroll them for nonpayment. The penalty
for nonpayment of monthly payments was that beneficiaries were
required to pay copayments at the point of service, and could

be denied service if they were not able to do so. Beneficiaries

who made monthly payments did not have to make copayments;
these beneficiaries therefore traded the unplanned expense of
copayments for predictable, uniform monthly contributions.® (The
state paid copayments for beneficiaries below the poverty line, who
were not asked to make monthly payments.)

Exemptions from monthly payments and nonpayment
penalties. lowa, Montana, and Indiana exempt certain
beneficiaries from monthly payment requirements and/or
nonpayment consequences, including those who would otherwise
owe monthly payments based on income level. lowa’s monthly
payment exemption policy is unique in that individuals who attest to
financial hardship are exempt from monthly payment obligations.
Individuals can claim financial hardship each month through an
option on the payment statement. Medically frail individuals and
those enrolled in cost-effective employer-sponsored insurance
under the state Health Insurance Premium Payment Program are
also exempt from monthly payments in lowa.

Indiana and Montana exempt certain groups from both payment
requirements and nonpayment consequences. In Indiana, pregnant
women and Native Americans are exempt from monthly payments.
Medically frail individuals with incomes above the poverty line
cannot be disenrolled for nonpayment. In addition, individuals

who are disenrolled for nonpayment can re-enroll before the end
of six months if they meet certain criteria, such as gaining and
subsequently losing private coverage. In Montana, beneficiaries
are exempt from demonstration coverage—and therefore from
monthly payment requirements—if they are medically frail
(including being pregnant), Native American, or live in an area
without sufficient providers.'® Montana also exempts individuals

from disenrollment for nonpayment if they meet two or more of
the following “good cause” criteria: discharge from U.S. military
service within the previous 12 months, enrollment in higher
education, participation in a workforce program, receipt of care
at a Medicaid health home or patient-centered medical home,
and participation in specified prevention, treatment, or health
care programs. Past-due payments remain a collectible debt for
individuals exempted from disenroliment.

Michigan does not specify exemptions from monthly payments
other than those individuals already exempt from cost-sharing by
law or regulation, such as American Indians/Alaska Natives and
pregnant women or those exempt from all demonstration policies."
Michigan also excludes individuals with disabilities from the
demonstration group. Arkansas excluded medically frail individuals
from the Health Care Independence Program. The state allowed
American Indians/Alaska Natives and pregnant women to opt in to
demonstration coverage, although these groups were exempt from
monthly payments.

Linkage with beneficiary accounts. Three of the five
demonstration states—Indiana, Michigan, and Arkansas—
created beneficiary accounts to serve as repositories for monthly
payments. To varying degrees, beneficiary accounts resemble
health savings accounts (HSAs) in commercial insurance in

that their objective is to promote efficient use of health care by
building beneficiaries’ awareness of the cost of care.'? Indiana’s
Personal Wellness and Responsibility (POWER) account is the
closest to a commercial HSA, because beneficiaries use POWER
account funds to cover the cost of the first $2,500 of services,
with the exception of preventive services, which are paid outside
the POWER account. The state contributes the majority of

these funds and beneficiaries’ contributions fund a pro rata

share of claims against the account, depending on their monthly
contribution amounts; the full $2,500 is available to beneficiaries
at the beginning of the enroliment year. Beneficiaries may roll
over unused funds for use in the next enroliment year, which may
result in reduced monthly contributions. As a further incentive,
the state doubles the rollover amount for HIP Plus beneficiaries
who obtain at least one recommended preventive service for their
age and sex. Beneficiaries below 100 percent of the FPL who are
enrolled in HIP Basic must receive a recommended preventive
service to qualify for any rollover amount, which could reduce
their future contributions by up to 50 percent if they opt into HIP
Plus at renewal.

Michigan’s Ml Health Account functions as a $1,000 deductible;
beneficiaries and health plans are jointly responsible for funding
the account. Beneficiaries’ monthly payments accumulate in their
accounts and can be disbursed to health plans to pay for the cost
of services received. The health plan pays their portion of the
deductible first, and only when that is exhausted are beneficiary
contributions to the MI Health account drawn down to pay for
services. Beneficiaries with incomes at or under the poverty line



are not required to make payments into the accounts, and the
plans are responsible for 100 percent of the payment of all covered
services. Beneficiaries in Michigan who agree to complete certain
health behaviors and have incomes above the poverty line receive
account credits that reduce their monthly payment amounts.

Finally, Arkansas’s Independence Accounts were primarily
intended to help beneficiaries track their service use and
contributions, rather than acting as true HSAs. Beneficiaries in
Arkansas who made monthly account contributions could use
their account cards to pay point-of-service copayments. The
cards drew funds from a master account managed by the state
and there was no limit on the total amount of copayments that
could be charged to the account cards. Beneficiaries who made
six or more contributions to Independence Accounts could use
up to $200 in accumulated account contributions to pay future
insurance monthly payments when they left Medicaid. Arkansas
closed the Independence Accounts in June 2016, citing concerns
about administrative costs.™

The other two states, lowa and Montana, take a more traditional
approach to monthly payments and do not track them as
account payments.

How do beneficiaries learn about

their payment obligations and use the
collection systems?

Beneficiaries’ understanding of their payment obligations is
important contextual information for interpreting observed
payment and disenroliment rates. For example, if states’
communication materials are unclear or their collection methods
are confusing, low payment rates may be caused by a lack of
understanding rather than an inability to pay. Alternatively, if
there is evidence that beneficiaries do understand the rules

and find it easy to enroll, low payment rates may indicate that
beneficiaries have difficulty affording their monthly payments.

Assessing beneficiaries’ understanding of their financial
obligations is important in monitoring and evaluating
demonstrations, because teaching beneficiaries about their
obligation to make health insurance payments is a primary
policy goal for several states. For example, Arkansas

designed Independence Accounts primarily as a teaching tool

to communicate the advantages of making steady monthly
payments. For each monthly payment beneficiaries made,

they were protected from copayments in the following month.
Beneficiaries received quarterly Independence Account
statements that showed their health service use and the costs
they would have paid at the point of service if they had not made
monthly account payments (or, conversely, costs they did pay at
the point of service if they skipped the monthly payments).

Indiana, lowa, and Michigan also use payment statements

to educate beneficiaries on how to navigate their insurance
coverage. Michigan’s payment statement includes information
about monthly payment and copayment reductions available
to anyone who completes certain health behaviors. In Indiana,
different health plans have different statements, but all
provide the same general information: monthly payments and
copayments due, providers visited, services received, and basic
medical information. As in Arkansas, these statements also
highlight the copayments that beneficiaries avoided by making
their POWER account contributions.'

All five states designed their collection methods to include
personal checks and at least one more method of payment.
Montana accepts payments by money order and electronic
payments. Michigan also accepts electronic payments. Under
the Health Care Independence Program, Arkansas allowed
payments by credit card, automated draft, and money order. In
the future, Indiana will give beneficiaries the option of making
payments at MoneyGram and Walmart. Indiana, Michigan, and
Montana also allow third parties, such as employers, providers,
or community-based organizations, to contribute to monthly
payments on behalf of beneficiaries. Given the state’s earlier
experience with HIP 1.0, Indiana Medicaid officials predict that
some employers will pay monthly payments on their employees’
behalf. Arkansas also allowed third-party payments under the
Health Care Independence Program.

How many individuals could be

subject to monthly payments in
these demonstrations?

We used data from the American Community Survey to estimate
the number of eligible adults for each demonstration, setting
the upper income threshold at 138 percent of FPL to account
for the income disregard established by the Affordable Care
Act (see Methods and Data Sources box at the end).™ These
estimates provide important context for the national evaluation,
highlighting whether key design features are likely to affect a
large or small proportion of likely enrollees. Michigan has the
greatest number of likely eligible adults with incomes up to 138
percent of FPL (765,363), and Montana has the fewest (67,718;
Figure 1). These standardized estimates of the number of
eligible adults are based on a single data source and a uniform
methodology, which facilitates comparison across the states.
Each state has also developed its own estimate of the size of
the eligible population, but these estimates are not necessarily
comparable across states because each state uses its own
approach to constructing an estimate in the year they apply for
a demonstration, and because the methodology used is not
always publicly available.



Figure 1. Estimated eligible adults, by income level
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Source: Mathematica estimates of the likely eligible population for each
demonstration; based on the Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample for 2015,
the most recent data available.

Note: Estimates do not account for the exemptions described in the section on
state-by-state differences in monthly payment design.

Figure 1 also illustrates how eligible adults are distributed
across the different income groups. In Arkansas and Michigan,
the beneficiaries subject to monthly payment policies are those
above the poverty line (this is also true of Arkansas’s current
demonstration, approved for the 2017-2021 period). This group,
indicated by the top segment of the bars, represents 32 percent
of the total eligible population in Arkansas and 25 percent in
Michigan. In lowa and Montana, adults with incomes above 49
percent of FPL are subject to monthly payments, indicated by
the middle and top sections of the bar. The group subject to
monthly payments represents 61 percent of the total eligible
population in lowa and 62 percent in Montana. Finally, in Indi-
ana, the entire demonstration population is subject to monthly
payments. However, the monthly payments are essentially
optional for those at or below the poverty line—76 percent of the
eligible population—because nonpayment results in a transfer to
the HIP Basic plan rather than disenroliment.

Figure 2 shows the proportion of the likely eligible population in
each state that can be disenrolled for nonpayment. Arkansas
did not have a disenrollment policy under the Health Care
Independence Program and Michigan also does not disenroll
beneficiaries for nonpayment. In lowa, Indiana, and Montana,
about one quarter of the estimated eligible population can

be disenrolled for nonpayment. In all states, only adults with
household incomes above the poverty line can be disenrolled.

Figure 2. Proportion of potential enrollees that
can be disenrolled for non-payment of monthly
payments, by state
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Source: Mathematica estimates of the likely eligible population; based on the
Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample for 2015, the most recent data available.
Note: Estimates do not account for the exemptions described in the section on

state-by-state differences in monthly payment design.

What implications do monthly

payments have for evaluations
of section 1115 demonstrations?

All five demonstrations represent policy experiments that will produce
valuable evidence about the effect of monthly payments on Medicaid
beneficiaries with incomes up to 133 percent of FPL. Varying
demonstration policies provide a unique opportunity to evaluate
the effects of specific design elements. For example, because
the states apply monthly payments to different income groups,
including adults at or below the poverty line in lowa and Montana
and below 50 percent of FPL in Indiana, the national evaluation
of section 1115 demonstrations can compare the effect of monthly
payments on adults at different income levels. Similarly, cross-state
comparisons, using beneficiaries in certain demonstration states
as treatment groups and those in other demonstration states as
comparison groups, will also facilitate evaluations of the effect

of different payment incentives and different consequences of
nonpayment. Table 2 lists the treatment and comparison states that
feature these and other design elements.

The five demonstrations also have the potential to produce
valuable evidence when examined individually. Anticipating

that many Medicaid beneficiaries will transition to commercial
coverage one day—either through the Marketplace or through
an employer—states have designed their payment requirements
to help teach Medicaid beneficiaries about the value of



Table 2. Cross-state comparisons among demonstration states for evaluating selected elements of monthly

payment design

Monthly payments for beneficiaries
with incomes under 100% FPL

Monthly payment amounts above $15 | Take-up rates; payment rates

Take-up rates

Disenrollment for non-payment Mid-year disenrollments

Immediate re-enroliment allowed
after disenrollment for
non-payment

Length of coverage spells/churn

Upfront payment required for
coverage to take effect

Take-up rates

Monthly payments waived or
reduced for completion of (or
commitment to) health behaviors

Rewards earned; renewal rates by
whether rewards were earned

Note: The take-up rate is the proportion of the likely eligible population that enrolls.

health insurance, the importance of participating actively in
their own coverage, and the typical payment requirements in
commercial coverage. States should carefully assess whether
the required payments and payment rates are understood

by beneficiaries and whether the demonstrations are meeting
their educational goals before interpreting the results of these
programs. As noted, lack of beneficiary understanding may drive
low payment rates. However, if there is evidence that beneficiaries
understand payment rules, low payment rates may indicate that
beneficiaries have difficulty affording their monthly payments.' The
upcoming national evaluation will include an assessment of states’
educational materials and of beneficiary understanding of premium
requirements (Irvin et al. 2015). The national evaluation will also
examine beneficiaries’ understanding and use of accounts, as well
as rates of completion of incentivized health behaviors that can
reduce monthly payment liability.

Research is also needed on the achievement of preventive care
goals and on enroliment outcomes. Having to pay for Medicaid
coverage could signal that it is valuable, which could encourage
some people to enroll or to stay enrolled. On the other hand,
monthly payment requirements could have an unintended effect
on Medicaid-eligible adults by discouraging them from enrolling or
staying enrolled in the program. Where payments are required, or
beneficiaries do not understand that payment is voluntary, monthly
payments may deter low-income adults from enrolling in Medicaid
because they may believe they cannot afford to do so. In states
that disenroll beneficiaries for nonpayment, it may be more difficult
for beneficiaries to stay on Medicaid, or to re-enroll after a gap in
coverage. Investigating enroliment outcomes where there are pay-
ments is a key goal of the national evaluation (Irvin et al. 2015).

Due to the potential for both positive outcomes and harms
to beneficiaries that may result from monthly payment

lowa, Indiana, Montana Arkansas, Michigan

Indiana, Michigan, Montana Arkansas, lowa

Indiana, lowa, Montana Arkansas, Michigan

lowa Indiana, which also disenrolls for

nonpayment but does not allow
immediate re-enrollment. Montana,
which allows re-enrollment if past-
due premiums are paid or assessed
by the state.

Indiana Montana, which requires premiums

upon enrollment but provides a
90-day grace period

Indiana, lowa, Michigan Arkansas, Montana

demonstrations, the national evaluation will maximize the
opportunity to compare these demonstrations to each other and to
states with traditional Medicaid programs (Irvin et al. 2015). As the
five states monitor and refine their demonstrations, and as other
states consider adopting similar policies, indications that monthly
payments are adversely affecting coverage may signal the need
for changes in CMS policy to protect beneficiaries. Conversely,

if adverse outcomes are not observed, state and federal officials
may consider allowing a range of monthly payment designs that
meet state policy goals.

ABOUT THE MEDICAID

SECTION 1115 EVALUATION

In 2014, the Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services within the
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) contracted
with Mathematica Policy Research, Truven Health Analytics,
and the Center for Health Care Strategies to conduct an
independent national evaluation of the implementation and
outcomes of Medicaid section 1115 demonstrations. The
purpose of this cross-state evaluation is to help policymakers
at the state and federal levels understand the extent to which
innovations further the goals of the Medicaid program, as well
as to inform CMS decisions regarding future section 1115
demonstration approvals, renewals, and amendments.

The evaluation focuses on four categories of demonstrations:
(1) delivery system reform incentive payment (DSRIP)
programs, (2) premium assistance, (3) beneficiary
engagement and premiums, and (4) managed long-term
services and supports (MLTSS). This issue brief is one in

a series of short reports based on semiannual tracking and
analyses of demonstration implementation and progress.
The reports will inform an interim outcomes evaluation in
2017 and a final evaluation report in 2019.



METHODS AND DATA SOURCES

Descriptive information about section 1115 demonstrations is based on Mathematica’s analysis of the Special Terms and Conditions
listed below, as well as approved operational protocols. Operational protocols are included as attachments to the Special Terms and
Conditions or as standalone documents on www.Medicaid.gov, depending on the state.

* Arkansas Special Terms and Conditions, approval period September 27, 2013—-December 31, 2016; as amended
January 1, 2015.

* Indiana Special Terms and Conditions, approval period February 1, 2015-December 31, 2018.

* lowa Wellness Plan Special Terms and Conditions, approval period January 1, 2014—December 31, 2016; as amended
December 31, 2014.

*  Michigan Special Terms and Conditions, approval period December 30, 2013-December 31, 2018.
*  Montana Special Terms and Conditions, approval period November 1, 2015-December 31, 2020.

We also conducted key informant interviews with Medicaid officials in Arkansas, Indiana, lowa, and Michigan in 2015 and 2016,

and with Montana officials in 2017. We designed interview protocols to clarify information in the Special Terms and Conditions and
operational protocols for each demonstration and to assess the implementation of demonstration policies. Each interview included a
lead interviewer and a note taker.

To construct estimates of the size of the eligible population, the number of enrollees who could be subject to premiums and the
number that could be disenrolled for nonpayment in each state, we used the 2015 Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample (IPUMS)
data, prepared by the University of Minnesota Population Center (Ruggles et al. 2015). These were the most recent data available at
the time of our analysis. IPUMS is generated from the American Community Survey and facilitates construction of family relationships.
We used SAS (version 9.4) to apply sample weights to all estimates.

To estimate the eligible population, we identified individuals who:
*  Were between the ages of 19 and 64.
* Reported that they were a citizen or became naturalized citizens.

» Did not report receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI), as these individuals would already have been Medicaid-eligible on
the basis of disability.

*  Met state-specific income eligibility thresholds for the demonstration. Modified adjusted gross income was estimated by
excluding household welfare payments received through SSI, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, or General Assistance.
The American Community Survey gathers information on income received over the last 12 months. Thus, income data reflect
earnings in 2014.

- Did not report having any type of health insurance coverage at the time of the survey, which means our estimates reflect the
number of uninsured at a point in time.

*  Met other state-specific inclusion and exclusion criteria:

- Indiana, lowa, Michigan, and Montana transitioned adults that were previously eligible for Medicaid into the new
demonstrations. In addition to adults who reported being uninsured, our estimates include adults who reported enroliment in
“Medicaid, Medical Assistance, or any kind of government assistance plan for those with low incomes or a disability” and who
met the income eligibility requirements of the 1115 demonstration in these three states.

- Arkansas’s demonstration did not include adults previously eligible for Medicaid, so we excluded employed parents with
incomes below 17 percent of the FPL and unemployed parents with incomes below 14 percent of the FPL.
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" The Affordable Care Act established a 5 percent income
disregard that increases the effective income limit from 133 to
138 percent of the federal poverty level.

2 For more information on the national evaluation, the design
plan is available at https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid-chip-
program-information/by-topics/waivers/1115/downloads/
evaluation-design.pdf.

3 See section 1916A(b)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act. Certain
eligibility groups constitute exceptions, such as working people with
disabilities eligible under the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives
Improvement Act and children with disabilities eligible under the
Family Opportunity Act. States may also require premiums of
certain parents eligible for transitional medical assistance.

4 Under Arkansas Works, the state requires monthly payments
of 2 percent of household income for beneficiaries with incomes
above 100 percent of the FPL. The policies and implementation
experience described in this brief were in effect during
Arkansas’s initial demonstration.

5 See Byrd, Colby, and Bradley (2017), a companion issue brief,
for more detail on payment rewards and incentives.

8 Arkansas stopped accepting monthly payments just prior

to closing its beneficiary accounts in June 2016, citing the
administrative costs of operating the accounts. Dates are based
on information gathered from key informant interviews with state
officials on July 8, 2015 and on August 16, 2016.

7 Section 1902(a)(8) of the Social Security Act establishes the
reasonable promptness rule. The Act states: [A state plan for
medical assistance must] “provide that all individuals wishing

to make application for medical assistance under the plan shall
have opportunity to do so, and that such assistance shall be
furnished with reasonable promptness to all eligible individuals.”

Section 1092(a)(34) of the Social Security Act establishes

the retroactivity rule. The Act states: [A state plan for medical
assistance must] “provide that in the case of any individual who
has been determined to be eligible for medical assistance under
the plan, such assistance will be made available to him for care
and services included under the plan and furnished in or after the
third month before the month in which he made application (...)"

8 Beneficiaries who are disenrolled for nonpayment in Montana
remain eligible but no longer receive benefits, consistent with
the state’s 12-month continuous eligibility policy. Disenrolled
individuals may re-enroll after repayment of debt or debt
assessment without reapplying for Medicaid if they are within
the 12-month continuous eligibility period.

® Arkansas has a premium assistance demonstration, in which
adults newly eligible for Medicaid under the Affordable Care

Act enroll in Qualified Health Plans (QHPs) in the Marketplace.
The state pays qualified health plan (QHP) copayments on
behalf of premium assistance beneficiaries. Enroliment in

QHPs is mandatory if beneficiaries are not medically frail and
have a choice of QHPs from two or more issuers. lowa also

has a premium assistance demonstration in 2014 and 2015.
lowa’s premium assistance demonstration effectively closed on
December 31, 2015, although the state retained its authority to
operate the program through December 2016. One of lowa’s two
participating QHP carriers became insolvent in late 2014 and the
other stopped accepting new Medicaid beneficiaries in 2015. The
state received approval in January 2016 to modify eligibility for its
other 1115 demonstration, the lowa Wellness Plan, to include the
population formerly enrolled in premium assistance.

1 As of June 2017, there were no areas with insufficient
providers contracted to the third-party administrator (TPA)
for the demonstration. Montana also exempts those needing
continuity of care that would not be available or cost-effective
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through arrangements with the TPA. This exemption primarily
applies to Native Americans and Alaska Natives receiving care
from Indian Health Services.

" See federal regulations set forth in 42 CFR § 447.56(a)(1) for
a list of groups exempt from premiums and cost-sharing.

2 See Miller and Contreary (2017) for a full description of
beneficiary health accounts in Arkansas, Indiana, and Michigan,
including account functions, the role of states and plans in
account administration, and the contents of account statements
distributed to beneficiaries.

3 As described by state Medicaid officials in a key informant
interview on August 16, 2016.

4 The ACS has a large sample size, and its approach to
creating annual average estimates of health insurance coverage
is considered to be more accurate than the approach used for
the Current Population Survey, which produces annual point-
in-time estimates for each state. The U.S. Census Bureau
constructs survey weights for the ACS that account for seasonal

10

fluctuations in population and other sources of potential bias
(Spielman, Folch, and Nagle 2014). Analyses in this report
incorporate survey weights. People who respond to the ACS

(or other surveys) do not always report their coverage status
accurately. We do not know the exact extent of this response
error, although it is estimated to be in line with that of other
national surveys. One recent study estimated the pre-expansion
Medicaid undercount in the ACS at 27 percent for adults
(Boudreaux, Call, and Turner et al. 2013). It is not possible to
remedy this problem by using a different federal survey because
the Current Population Survey, National Health Interview
Survey, and Medical Expenditure Panel Survey all undercount
the Medicaid population to a comparable or greater degree.

5 See Miller, Maurer, and Bradley (2017) for preliminary
information on beneficiary understanding of demonstration
policies. This issue brief synthesizes evidence from interim
state-based demonstration evaluation reports in Indiana, lowa,
and Michigan.
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