Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: California

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 22-0044

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

August 5, 2022

Jacey Cooper Chief Deputy Director, Health Care Programs California Department of Health Care Services P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

Re: California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0044

Dear Ms. Cooper:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) California 22-0044. This amendment proposes to expand the list of providers who can prescribe physical therapy to include physicians and other licensed practitioners of the healing arts within their scope of practice under state law, as authorized by federal regulations.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 42 CFR 440.130(c) and 42 CFR 440.110(a). This letter is to inform you that California Medicaid SPA 22-0044 was approved on August 5, 2022, with an effective date of July 1, 2022.

If you have any questions, please contact Cheryl Young at 415-744-3598 or via email at Cheryl Young@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director Division of Program Operations

cc: Rene Mollow, California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS)
Lisa Murawski, DHCS
Michelle Tamai, DHCS
Angeli Lee, DHCS

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CFR 440.60 and 42 CFR 440.110(a) 7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Page 16	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2 2 — 0 0 4 4 CA 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE July 1, 2022 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2022 \$ 0 b. FFY 2023 \$ 0 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Page 16	
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT		
To expand the list of providers who can prescribe physical therapy	/.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Please note: The Governor's Office does not wish to review the State Plan Amendment.	
12. TO PED NAME	15. RETURN TO Department of Health Care Services Attn: Director's Office P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 Sacramento, CA 95899-7413	
June 23, 2022 FOR CMS U	ISE ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED June 23, 2022	17. DATE APPROVED August 5, 2022	
PLAN APPROVED - OI	NE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL July 1, 2022	19. SIGNATURE Digitally signed by Ruth Hughes -S Date: 2022.08.05 10:54:24 -05'00'	
· ·	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
	Acting Director, Division of Program Operations	
Ruth A. Hughes 22. REMARKS	. to any Director, Division of Frequent Operations	
Box 5: CMS pen and ink change to add federal regulatory citation for ph	ysical therapy per email with CA DHCS dated 8/2/22.	

Effective Date: July 1, 2022

TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*
maintenance, and acquisition of skills only prescribed by a physician or other license practitioner of the healing arts within their practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans limited to six months and may be renewed medical necessity. Outpatient physical therapy provided in a rehabilitation center is covered only when the rehabilitation center. In a certified rehabilitation center, one visit month period to evaluate the patient and preserved.	Physical therapy is covered for the restoration, maintenance, and acquisition of skills only when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans are limited to six months and may be renewed for medical necessity.	All physical therapy services are subject to prior authorization.
		Services must be performed by providers who meet the applicable qualification requirements as defined for physical therapy in 42 CFR Section 440.110(a), licensed and within their scope of practice under state law.
	Outpatient physical therapy provided in a certified rehabilitation center is covered only when billed by the rehabilitation center.	More than one evaluation visit in a certified rehabilitation center within a six-month period requires prior authorization.
	In a certified rehabilitation center, one visit in a six- month period to evaluate the patient and prepare an extended treatment plan may be provided without authorization.	. equ. ee p. e. aut. e. aut.

^{*} Prior authorization is not required for emergency services. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.

Effective Date: July 1, 2022

TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*
maintenance, and acquisition of skills only prescribed by a physician or other license practitioner of the healing arts within their practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans limited to six months and may be renewed medical necessity. Outpatient physical therapy provided in a rehabilitation center is covered only when the rehabilitation center. In a certified rehabilitation center, one vis month period to evaluate the patient and	Physical therapy is covered for the restoration, maintenance, and acquisition of skills only when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans are limited to six months and may be renewed for medical necessity.	All physical therapy services are subject to prior authorization.
		Services must be performed by providers who meet the applicable qualification requirements as defined for physical therapy in 42 CFR Section 440.110(a), licensed and within their scope of practice under state law.
	Outpatient physical therapy provided in a certified rehabilitation center is covered only when billed by the rehabilitation center.	More than one evaluation visit in a certified rehabilitation center within a six-month period requires prior authorization.
	In a certified rehabilitation center, one visit in a six- month period to evaluate the patient and prepare an extended treatment plan may be provided without authorization.	

^{*} Prior authorization is not required for emergency services. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.