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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Adela Flores-Brennan
State Medicaid Director 
Colorado Department of Health Care 
Policy and Financing  
1570 Grant Street 
Denver, CO 80203-1818 

Re: Colorado 23-0037

Dear Ms. Flores-Brennan, 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 23-0037.  Effective for services on or after July 1, 2023, 
this amendment adds a new supplemental payment for Class 1 nursing facilities with 
disproportionately high Medicaid utilization or that are geographically critical to ensuring 
access to care. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30) and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and 
the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.  We are pleased to inform you 
that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 2 3 - 0 0 3 7  is approved effective July 1, 2023.  The 
CMS-179 and the amended plan page are attached. 

If you have any questions, please contact Christine Storey at Christine.storey@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 
Director 

November 20, 2023

 
      

      





STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY 
ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 
ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
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TN No.                       23-0037 Approval Date_________ 
Supersedes TN No.      NEW Effective Date        7/1/2023 

Essential Access Supplemental Medicaid Payment 

The Department shall make a supplemental Medicaid payment to Class 1 nursing facility providers with 
either a disproportionately high Medicaid utilization rate or are geographically critical to ensuring access 
to care for Colorado residents. 

1. Annually, the Department shall calculate the payment by multiplying an essential access per diem
rate by Medicaid patient days for eligible Class 1 nursing facility providers.

2. An eligible Class 1 nursing facility provider shall have a Medicaid utilization rate greater than or
equal to 75.00%, or are the only Class 1 nursing facility provider within the county.

a. The Medicaid utilization rate shall equal Medicaid patient days divided by total patient
days.

i. Medicaid patient days shall be pulled from the MMIS and, where necessary, from
the Class 1 nursing facility provider records for non-payors or Veterans
Administration days, for the calendar year ending prior to the state fiscal year.
Total patient days shall be from the Class 1 nursing facility provider for the
calendar year ending prior to the state fiscal year, exempting uninsured patient days
and Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) patient days.

3. The essential access per diem rate for eligible Class 1 nursing facility providers shall be determined
in accordance with the following table:

Medicaid Utilization Rate Per Diem Rate 

75% to 84.99% $5.00 

Greater than or equal to 85% $10.00 

The essential access per diem rate for the remaining geographically eligible Class 1 nursing facility 
providers shall be $5.00. 

4. Medicaid patient days shall be from the MMIS and/or from the Class 1 nursing facility provider
for the calendar year ending prior to the state fiscal year.

5. The supplemental payment will only be made if there is available federal financial participation
under the Upper Payment Limit (UPL). For the purposes of UPL limitations, this payment shall be
prioritized after all provider fee supplemental but prior to all other Class 1 nursing facility provider
supplemental payments.

6. For the non-state administered Class 1 nursing facility providers, the supplemental payment shall
be divided by twelve and reimbursed monthly via an Automated Clearing House (ACH) transaction
or a check paid to the order of the facility. For state administered Class 1 nursing facility providers,
the supplemental payment shall be divided by four and reimbursed quarterly.

November 20, 2023




