## **Table of Contents**

# **State/Territory Name: CT**

## State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 22-0022

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
Approved SPA Pages

**DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES** 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 Chicago, Illinois 60601



#### **Financial Management Group**

Decemeber 16, 2022

Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH, Commissioner Department of Social Services Office of the Deputy Commissioner 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105-3730

### RE: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 22-0022

Dear Commissioner Gifford:

We have reviewed the proposed Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B submitted under TN-22-0022, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on September 30<sup>th</sup>, 2022. This plan updates the rates and methodology for numerous non-institutional services.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of July 1<sup>st</sup>, 2022. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at 1-410-786-1167 or jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely, Todd McMillion Director

Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER   2. STATE     2   2   0   0   2   2     3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL     SECURITY ACT   XIX   XXI	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE July 1, 2022	
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION Social Security Act Sections 1905(a)(5), (7), and (11) and 42 CFR 440.50, 440.70, and 440.110	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a. FFY 2022 \$ 182,845 b. FFY 2023 \$ 1,105,296	
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	
Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)i(E), 1(a)v, 1(f)	Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)i(E), 1(a)v, 1(f)	
physical therapy fee schedules. 3. Increase mammogram codes' p schedule. 4. Adds codes G8431, G8510 to physician fee schedule. 10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
EFICIAL 1	5. RETURN TO	
	ate of Connecticut	
	epartment of Social Services	
Delare S. Gillora, MD, MPH	S. Gifford, MD, MPH Hartford, CT 06105	
13. TITLE A	ttention: Ginny Mahoney	
14. DATE SUBMITTED		
September 29, 2022		
FOR CMS USE ONLY		
16. DATE RECEIVED 1 09/30/22	7. DATE APPROVED December 16, 2022	
PLAN APPROVED - ON		
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 1   07/01/22 1	9. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
Todd McMillion	Director, Division of Reimbursement Review	
22. REMARKS		

#### Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(a)i(E) STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u>

(5) Physician's services – Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of physician's services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2022 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="https://www.ctdssmap.com">https://www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition or NCQA medical home recognition under the 2017 or later NCQA standards (which do not recognize specific levels of recognition). PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase.

(a) <u>Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On</u>: The department will pay a rate add-on for the following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the physician fee schedule: 99201, 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99417, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051, 99053, D0145,

TN # <u>22-0022</u>	Approval Date Decemeber 16, 2022	Effective Date <u>07/01/2022</u>
Supersedes		
TN # <u>22-0017</u>		

#### 7. Home Health Services -

(a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with limitations.

(b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.

(c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with limitations.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home health services provided by a home health agency listed above in (a), (b), and (c). The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2022 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule rate, effective August 1, 2021, the state pays a value-based payment rate add-on of up to 1% of the applicable rate for any home health service set forth in (a), (b), and (c) above in accordance with the following:

The first 1% performance payment will be paid on or before March 31, 2022 and is effective for and based on expenditures from August 1, 2021 through February 28, 2022 for each qualifying provider that meets the following standards:

(a) Participation in the Department of Social Services Racial Equity Training -80% of all supervisors employed by the agency must complete the first training by February 1, 2022; and,

(b) Provider has Data Sharing Agreement executed with the state's Health Information Exchange (HIE) Payment methodology.

The second 1% performance payment will be paid on or before July 31, 2022 and is effective for and based on expenditures from March 1, 2022 through June 30, 2022 for each qualifying provider that meets the following standards:

(a) Participation in Department of Social Services Racial Equity Training - 80% of all supervisors employed by the agency must complete the second training and 50% of all other staff employed by the agency must complete the first training; and,

(b) Signing, at a minimum, the HIE Empanelment Use Case; and,

(c) Action plan detailing how the provider sends their client roster in an approved format to the state's HIE.

### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

- (11) Physical Therapy and Related Services (Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Audiology and Speech and Language Pathology Services).
  - a) Physical therapy and related services Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of physical therapy and related services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2022 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.
  - b) Occupational therapy Except as otherwise noted in the plan, statedeveloped fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of occupational therapy services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2020 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. Occupational therapists will be reimbursed according to the fee schedule for physical therapists. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.
  - c) Audiology and speech and language pathology services Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of audiology and speech and language pathology services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2022 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.