Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: CT

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 23-0014

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

August 5, 2024

Deidre S. Gifford, Commissioner Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor Hartford, CT 06105-3730

RE: Connecticut 23-0014

Dear Commissioner Gifford:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachments 4.19-A and 4.19-B of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 23-0014. Effective July 1, 2023, this amendment makes the following changes: maintain the \$500.00 add-on per diem rate for patients on ventilators in free-standing licensed inpatient chronic disease hospitals; update federal HCPCS and other reimbursements for physician office & outpatient, durable medical equipment, orthotics and prosthetics, and medical surgical supplies fee schedules; and implements a rate increase of 4.9 percent for select home health services.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1923 and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 23-0014 is approved effective July 1, 2023. The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291 or Novena.JamesHailey@cms.hhs.gov, or Jerica Bennet at (410)786-5609 or Jerica.Bennet@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



Enclosures

OLIVIERO FOR INEDIO INE A INEDIO ID OLIVIOLO	
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE
	$\frac{2}{3} = 0 0 1 4 CT$
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL
	SECURITY ACT O XIX XXI
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	July 1, 2023
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION Social Security Act Sections 1905(a)(1), (5), (7) and 42 CFR 440.10, 440.30, 440.50	b. FFY 2024 \$ 7,055,765
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
Attachment 4.19-A, p. 2 Attachment 4.19-B, pp. 1(a)i(E), 1(a)v, 1(a)viii-1(a)ix Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B, p. 4	Attachment 4.19-A, p. 2 Attachment 4.19-B, pp. 1(a)i(E), 1(a)v, 1(a)viii-1(a)ix Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B, p. 4
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT	
1. July 2023 federal HCPCS and other reimbursement updates for physician office & outpatient, durable medical equipment, orthotics and prosthetics, and medical surgical supplies fee schedules. 2. Increase select home health services by 4.9%. 3. Maintain \$500 per day add-on to per diem rate for patients on ventilators in free-standing licensed chronic disease hospitals.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 1	5. RETURN TO
	tate of Connecticut
12. TYPED NAME	lepartment of Social Services 5 Farmington Avenue – 9th floor
Andrea Barton Reeves, J.D.	lartford, CT 06105
13. TITLE Commissioner	ttention: Ginny Mahoney
14. DATE SUBMITTED	
September 29, 2023	
FOR CMS USE ONLY	
	7. DATE APPROVED August 5, 2024
September 29, 2023 August 5, 2024 PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
	9. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
July 1, 2023	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 2	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
Rory Howe	Director, Financial Management Group
22. REMARKS	
Pen and ink changes in blocks #7 & 8 per state request.	

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State Connecticut

(3) Payment for Free-Standing Chronic Disease Hospitals

Effective November 1, 2013, freestanding chronic disease hospitals shall be reimbursed a hospital-specific, all-inclusive per diem rate based on Medicare reimbursement principals. The per diem rates for each freestanding chronic disease hospital were established at a percentage of, and shall not exceed, the average per diem reimbursement under Medicare for the cost year ending March 31, 2013. Per Diem rates shall be fixed and will not be subject to an annual inflation factor. Free-Standing Chronic Disease Hospital rates shall be inclusive of hospital-based professional services, both routine and ancillary services.

Effective July 1, 2021, per diem payments to freestanding chronic disease hospitals shall be:

Gaylord Hospital \$950.89

Hospital for Special Care \$1,156.84

Mount Sinai Rehabilitation Hospital \$934.11

Effective July 1, 2022, the per diem payments above will be increased by \$500.00 per day for beds provided to patients on ventilators.

In reimbursing out-of-state chronic disease hospitals, one of the following methodologies will be applied per mutual agreement: 1) a fixed percentage calculated based on the ratio between allowed cost for all Connecticut in-state hospitals and total customary charges, 2) the hospital's specific ratio of cost to charges using its most recent Medicare cost report, 3) the Medicaid rate established by the state of location, 4) the lowest in-state per diem rate or 5) a different methodology if required by federal law.

TN # <u>23-0014</u> Supersedes TN # 22-0026 Approval Date August 5, 2024

Effective Date 07/01/2023

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: CONNECTICUT

(5) Physician's services – Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of physician's services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition or NCQA medical home recognition under the 2017 or later NCQA standards (which do not recognize specific levels of recognition). PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase.

(a) Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On: The department will pay a rate add-on for the following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the physician fee schedule: 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99417, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051, 99053, D0145,

TN # <u>23-0014</u> Supersedes TN # <u>23-0012</u> Approval Date August 5, 2024

Effective Date 07/01/2023

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State Connecticut

7. Home Health Services –

- (a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with limitations.
- (b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.
- (c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with limitations.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home health services provided by a home health agency listed above in (a), (b), and (c). The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State Connecticut

Home Health Services (Continued)

(d) Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home – Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule. Over-the-counter products provided by pharmacies are reimbursed at Average Wholesale Price (AWP).

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE: CONNECTICUT

(b) Prosthetic devices

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of prosthetic devices. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2023 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

(c) Eyeglasses

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of eyeglasses. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of April 1, 2022 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

(d) Hearing Aids

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of hearing aids. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of March 1, 2019 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule. The price allowed for hearing aids shall be the actual acquisition cost of the hearing aid(s) to the provider, not to exceed the applicable rates on the Hearing Aid/Prosthetic Eye fee schedule.