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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

230 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
September 19, 2024

Andrea Barton Reeves, J.D., Commissioner
Department of Social Services

55 Farmington Avenue, 5th Floor

Hartford, CT 06105-3730

RE: TN 24-0010
Dear Commissioner Reeves:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Connecticut’s state
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of 24-0010, which was submitted to CMS on June 28,
2024. This plan amendment adds reimbursement for urgent crisis services provided by Behavioral
Health Clinics.

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations.

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of April 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state
plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at
410-786-1167 or via email at jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANDHUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER

2. STATE
g4 8 D10 ] Er

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT @
xix () xxi

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES April 1, 2024
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES :
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
Social Security Act Sections 1905(a)(13)(C) and 42 CFR 440.130(d) a FFY__2024 $ 589,050
b FFY 2025 $ 2,572,683

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

Supplement Page 2jj, 2u and 2v to Addendum Page 12 to
Attachment 3.1A and 3.1-B

Supplement Pages 1d and 1e to Attachment 4.19-B Page 4

8. PAGENUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (/f Applicable)

Supplement Pg 2jj, 2u, 2v to Addend Pg 12 to Attachment
3.1-A and 3.1-B

Supplement Pages 1d and 1e to Attachment 4.19-B Page 4

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

This SPA implements coverage and payment for urgent crisis services provided by behavioral health children's clinics licensed by
DCF as child guidance clinics and certified by DCF as children’s mental health urgent crisis centers. This coverage is added to
the Medicaid State Plan within the federal rehabilitation services benefit category described in 42 C.F.R. 440.130(d).

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

@GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED

(O OTHER, ASSPECIFIED:

O NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

12. TYPED NAME &
Andrea Barton Reeves, J.D.

13. TITLE
Commissioner

14. DATE SUBMITTED
June 28, 2024

15. RETURN TO

State of Connecticut

Department of Social Services

55 Farmington Avenue — 9th floor
Hartford, CT 06105

Attention: Ginny Mahoney

FOR CMS

USE ONLY

16. DATE RECEIVED
June 28 2024

17. DATE APPROVED
September 19, 2024

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL

| 19. iIiNATURE iF APPROVINi OFFICIAL

April 1, 2024
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

Todd McMillion Director, FMG/Division of Reimbursement Review
22. REMARKS

Pen and ink change requested by state on 9/4/24 to remove Supplemental Page 2jj, 2u, and 2v to Addendum Page 12 to attachment 3.1A/B from Box 7

and Box 8

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)
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Supplement 1d to
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 4

STATE: CONNECTICUT

Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Services - Rehabilitative Services 42 CFR 440.130(d)

Except as otherwise noted in the Medicaid State Plan, the state-developed fee schedule is the same for
both governmental and private providers. The agency’s fee schedule rates for substance use disorder
services in the rehabilitative services benefit category were set as of April 1, 2024, and are effective for
services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance
Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to “Provider” then to “Provider
Fee Schedule Download,” then select the applicable fee schedule (for residential levels of care, select
the fee schedule for free-standing residential treatment facilities; for ambulatory levels of care, select the
fee schedule for behavioral health clinics and use the codes applicable to SUD services).

Room and board costs are not included in the fee for SUD services paid under section 13 of Attachment
4.19-B and are not reimbursable.

TN # 24-0010 Approval Date 09/19/2024 Effective Date 04/01/2024
Supersedes
TN # 22-0020



Supplement 1e to
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 4
STATE: CONNECTICUT

Mental Services Provided by Clinics - Rehabilitative Services 42 CFR 440.130(d)

Mental Health Services Provided by Privately Operated Behavioral Health Clinics and Behavioral
Health Services Provided by Medical Clinics and Rehabilitation Clinics. Except as otherwise noted
in the Medicaid State Plan, the state-developed fee schedule is the same for both governmental and
private providers. The agency’s fee schedule rates for mental health services provided by privately
operated behavioral health clinics and behavioral health services provided by medical clinics and
rehabilitation clinics in the rehabilitative services benefit category were set as of April 1, 2024, and are
effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical
Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to “Provider” then to
“Provider Fee Schedule Download,” then select the applicable fee schedule (for mental health services
provided by behavioral health clinics, select the behavioral health clinic fee schedule and refer to the
applicable codes as provided by freestanding clinics; for mental health services provided by medical
clinics, select the medical clinic fee schedule and refer to the codes for mental health services; and for
mental health services provided by rehabilitation clinics, select the rehabilitation clinic fee schedule and
refer to the codes for mental health services).

There is a separate fee schedule for private behavioral health clinics providing behavioral health services
under the rehabilitative services benefit category that meet special access and quality standards, and such
fees are higher than the fees available to clinics that do not meet such special standards. These clinics
must accept all (100%) telephonic and walk-in referrals that present during business hours. All referrals
must be screened by a trained intake worker or clinician and triaged to determine whether the referral is
emergent, urgent or routine. A clinician must evaluate a client who presents at the clinic with an
emergent condition within two (2) hours. Clients that undergo telephonic or walk-in screening and are
determined to be in urgent need of services must be offered an appointment for an urgent face-to-face
clinical evaluation with a clinician to take place within two (2) calendar days of the screening. Clients
that undergo telephonic or walk-in screening and are determined to have routine needs must be offered
an appointment for a routine face-to-face clinical evaluation with a clinician to take place within 14
calendar days of the screening. These clinics must have at least nine (9) extended hours per week beyond
routine business hours of 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Providers that are designated Enhanced Care Clinics
and have a valid Letter of Agreement with the Department that holds them accountable to the quality
standards and access standards receive the enhanced rate for all routine outpatient services provided.
The state monitors the access standards on a routine basis.

TN # 24-0010 Approval Date 09/19/2024 Effective Date 04/01/2024
Supersedes
TN # 23-0022






