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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
May 4, 2023

Mr. Tom Wallace

Deputy Secretary for Medicaid

Agency for Health Care Administration
2727 Mahan Drive, MS #8

Tallahassee, Florida 32308

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) FL-22-0014
Dear Mr. Wallace:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0014. This state plan amendment updates Long-
Term Care Reimbursement provisions related to provider submission requirements when
submitting annual Fair Rental Value (FRV) surveys, specifies that the state may amend FRV
survey data based on audit results, removes a transitional rate provision in place since 2016 that
reimbursed at the greater of a provider's prospective payment rate or its previous cost-based rate,
increases funding to providers to establish a legislatively mandated $15.00 minimum wage, and
updates State Plan UPL methodology to specify the use of the most recent cost reports for 2022-
2023 UPL calculation.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment FL-22-0014 is approved effective
July 1, 2022. The CMS-179 and the amended plan pages are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact James Francis at
james.francis@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Rory Howe
Director



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB No. 0838-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE
2 2 —o o u _ (FL
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL

SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

July 1, 2022

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)
] NEW STATE PLAN

] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

[W] AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION
42 CFR 447 Subpart F

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT
a. FFY 2122
b. FFY 2223

$ 1,123,635
$ 3.370.904

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT
Attachment 4.19-D Part |

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Attachment 4.19-D Part |

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT
Long Term Care Reimbursement

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

] GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[C] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

[®] OTHER, AS SPECIFIED

CY OFFICIAL

Tom Wallace
14. TITLE
Deputy Secretary for Medicaid
15. DATE SUBMITTED
9-30-2022

16. RETURN TO

Mr. Tom Wallace

Deputy Secretary for Medicaid
Agency for Health Care Administration
2727 Mahan Drive, Mail Stop #8
Tallahassee, FL 32308

Attention: Cole Giering

FOR REGIONAL O

FFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED
9/30/2022

18. DATE APPROVED
May 4, 2023

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL

IONAL OFFICIAL

7171172022
21. TYPED NAME 22, TITLE

Rory Howe Director, Financial Management Group
23. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (07/92) Instruction

s on Back



Attachment 4.19-D
Part |
FLORIDA TITLE XIX LONG-TERM CARE REIMBURSEMENT PLAN
VERSION L

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2022

I. Cost Finding and Cost Reporting

A.

Each Nursing Facility provider participating in the Florida Medicaid program shall submit a
uniform cost report and related documents required by this Plan. The electronic cost report and
revised instructions must be used. To be considered a complete submission, the electronic version
of the cost report, one hard copy of the cost report, the certification page, supplemental schedules
and attachments, and the accountant’s compilation letter must all be received by the Agency for
Healthcare Administration (AHCA), Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, Audit Services, 2727
Mahan Drive, Mailstop 23, Tallahassee, FL 32308. Cost reports are due to AHCA, Bureau of
Medicaid Program Finance, Audit Services, five months after the close of the provider’s cost
reporting year. Extensions will not be granted.

All providers are required to detail all of their costs for their entire reporting period, making
appropriate adjustments as required by this Plan for determination of allowable costs. The cost
report shall be prepared using the electronic cost report described in section I.A, and on the accrual
basis of accounting in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles as established by
the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). The methods of reimbursement
are in accordance with Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (SSA) and Center for Medicare and

Medicaid Services (CMS)_Publication 15-1 (CMS-PUB.15-1) incorporated herein by reference

except as modified by the Florida Title XIX Long-term Care Reimbursement Plan and state of
Florida Administrative Rules. For governmental facilities operating on a cash method of
accounting, data based on such a method of accounting shall be acceptable. The certified public
accountant (CPA) preparing the cost report shall sign the cost report as the preparer, or, in a

separate letter, state the scope of their work and opinion in conformity with AICPA Attestation

Amendment 2022-0014

Effective 7/1/2022

Supersedes 2022-0001
Approval May 4, 2023




Long-term Care Version L
Attachment 4.19-D
Part |

Standards. Cost reports that are not signed by a CPA or not accompanied by a separate letter
signed by a CPA shall not be accepted.

Providers may elect, with prior approval from AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance,
Audit Services, to change their current fiscal year end and file a new cost report for a period of not
less than 6 months and not greater than 18 months. Should a provider elect to change their current
fiscal year end and file a new cost report, then cost reports filed for the next two years must have
the same fiscal year end. All prior year cost reports must be submitted to and accepted by AHCA
before the current year cost report may be submitted and accepted for rate setting by AHCA.

A provider that has been receiving an interim reimbursement rate, which voluntarily or
involuntarily ceases to participate in the Florida Medicaid program or experiences a change of

ownership or operator, shall file a final cost report in accordance with section 2414.2, CMS-

PUB.15-1. The cost report is to be based on financial and statistical records maintained by the

provider as required in Title 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 413.24 (a), (b), (¢), and (e).

Cost information shall be current, accurate, and in sufficient detail to support costs set forth in the
report. This includes all ledgers, books, records, original evidence of costs and other records in
accordance with CMS-PUB.15-1, which pertain to the determination of reasonable costs and shall
be capable of and available for auditing by state and federal authorities. All accounting and other
records shall be brought up to date at the end of each fiscal quarter. These records shall be
retained by the provider for a minimum of five years following the date of submission of the cost
report to AHCA. Records of related organizations as identified by 42 CFR 413.17 shall be
available upon demand to representatives, employees, or contractors of AHCA, the Auditor
General, General Accounting Office (GAO), or Department of Health and Human Services

(HHS).
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AHCA shall retain all uniform cost reports submitted for a period of at least three years following
the date of submission of such reports and shall maintain those reports pursuant to the record-
keeping requirements of 42 CFR 431.17.

Chart of Accounts: All providers must use the most recent version of the standard chart of

accounts to govern the content and manner of the presentation of financial information to be
submitted by Florida Medicaid long-term care providers in their cost reports. The standard chart
of accounts includes specific accounts for each component of direct care staff organized by type of
personnel and may not be revised without the written consent of the Auditor General.

Cost reports must include the following statement immediately preceding the dated signature of
the provider’s administrator or chief financial officer: “I certify that I am familiar with the laws
and regulations regarding the provision of health care services under the Florida Medicaid
program, including the laws and regulations relating to claims for Florida Medicaid
reimbursements and payments, and that the services identified in this cost report were provided in
compliance with such laws and regulations.”

AHCA reserves the right to refer providers found to be out of compliance with any of the policies
and procedures regarding cost reporting to the Bureau of Medicaid Program Integrity for
investigation.

Providers are subject to sanctions pursuant to for late cost reports. A cost report is late if it is not
received by AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, Audit Services on the cost report due
date. Sanctions shall commence 60 days after the cost report due date. If a provider submits a
cost report late because of emergency circumstances, then the provider shall not be subject to the
sanctions. Emergency circumstances are limited to loss of records from fire, flood, theft, or wind.
Providers that have both licensed pediatric beds and community or sheltered beds must file two

separate cost reports in accordance with Sections I and III in order to separate the cost of care
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associated with the pediatric population. The cost reports must use cost allocation methodologies

in accordance with CMS-PUB.15-1.

Audits and Desk Reviews

Cost reports submitted by providers of nursing facility care, in accordance with this Plan, are subject to an

audit and/or desk review. AHCA reserves the right to audit any provider at any time. The performance of a

desk review does not preclude the performance of an audit at a later date.

A. General Description of AHCA’s Procedures for Audits

1.

Primary responsibility for the audit of provider cost reports shall be borne by AHCA.
The efforts of AHCA audit staff may be augmented by contracts with CPA firms to
ensure that the requirements of 42 CFR 447.202 will be met.

All audits shall be based on AICPA Attestation Standards for examining or reviewing
statistical information and other data..

Upon completion of each examination or review, the auditors shall issue a report that
meets the requirements of 42 CFR 447.202 and AICPA Attestation Standards. The
examiner/reviewer shall declare an opinion or conclusion as to whether, in all material
respects, the financial and statistical report submitted complies with all federal and state
regulations pertaining to reimbursement for long-term care facilities. All reports shall be
retained by AHCA for three years.

The provider’s copy of the examination or review report shall include all adjustments and
changes, the authority for each, and all findings. The examination or review report report
shall be accompanied by such other documentation as is necessary to clarify such

adjustments or findings.

B. Field Audit and Desk Review Procedures

Upon receipt of a cost report from the provider, prepared in accordance with instructions furnished

by AHCA, AHCA will determine whether an audit or desk review is to be performed. Providers
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selected for audit or desk review will be notified in writing by the AHCA audit office or CPA firm

assigned to perform the audit and/or desk review.

1.

Upon completion of an audit or desk review and before publication of the audit or desk
review report, the provider shall be given an exit conference at which all findings will be
discussed and explained. A copy of the proposed audit or desk review adjustments will
be given to the provider at least 10 days before the exit conference. If the provider fails
to schedule an exit conference within 20 calendar days of receipt of the adjustments, the
audit or desk review report will be issued without an exit conference. Desk review exit
conferences will be conducted through the mail, via teleconference call or in AHCA’s
office in Tallahassee.

Following the exit conference, the provider has 30 calendar days to submit
documentation or other evidence to contest any disallowed expenditures or other
adjustments. Any documentation received after the 30 day period shall not be considered
when revising adjustments. However, the 30 day limitation shall not apply if the provider
can adequately demonstrate, through documentation, that emergency circumstances
prevented the provider from submitting additional documentation within the prescribed
deadline. Emergency circumstances are limited to loss of records from fire, wind, flood,
or theft.

All audit or desk review reports shall be issued by certified mail, return receipt requested
to the address of the nursing facility and to the attention of the administrator. The
provider shall have 21 calendar days from the date of receipt of the audit report to
challenge any audit or desk review adjustments or findings contained in the report by
requesting an administrative hearing. The audit or desk review report shall constitute

prima facie evidence of the propriety of the adjustments contained therein. The burden of
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proof is upon the provider to affirmatively demonstrate the entitlement to the Florida
Medicaid reimbursement.

AHCA will not consider additional documentation to support the modification of a final
audit report after it has been issued except in the case of emergency circumstances.

Emergency circumstances are limited to loss of records from fire, flood, theft, or wind.

III. Allowable Costs

A. All items of expense shall be included on the cost report, which providers must incur in meeting:

1.

The definition of nursing facilities contained in sections 1919(a), (b), (c), and (d) of the

SSA.
The standards prescribed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) for

nursing facilities in regulations under the SSA in 42 CFR 483, Subpart B.

The requirements established by AHCA which is responsible for establishing and
maintaining health standards, under the authority of 42 CFR 431.610.

All therapy required by 42 CFR 409.33 and Medicare or Medicaid certification standards
and prescribed by the physician of record shall be considered as covered services and
costs, direct or indirect, shall be included in the cost report, unless Medicaid is
reimbursing for Medicare approved Part B services. Medicare approved Part B services
must be excluded from the Medicaid cost report. These include physical, audiology,
speech pathology, and occupational therapies. Florida Medicaid reimburses Medicare
Parts A, B, and C, deductible(s), coinsurance, and copayments for dually eligible
recipients based on the lesser of the amount billed or the Florida Medicaid rate

for Medicare approved Part B services that are not included in the nursing facility’s cost
report. The Florida Medicaid rate is equal to the Medicare allowed amount for Medicare

approved Part B therapy services provided in nursing facilities.

B. Implicit in any definition of allowable costs is that those costs shall not exceed what a prudent and

cost-conscious buyer pays for a given service or item. If costs are determined by AHCA, utilizing
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the Title XVIII Principles of Reimbursement, CMS-PUB.15-1 and this Plan, to exceed the level
that a prudent buyer would incur, then the excess costs shall not be reimbursable under this Plan.
All items of expense, which providers incur in the provision of routine services, such as the
regular room, dietary and nursing services, minor medical and surgical supplies, and the use of
equipment and facilities, are allowable. A comprehensive listing of these items includes laundry
services, nutritional services, personal care services, personal care supplies, incontinence supplies,
rehabilitative and restorative care services, durable medical equipment, stock medical supplies,
analgesics, antacids, laxatives, vitamins, and wound care supplies. Physician Services, dialysis
services, community mental health services, dental services, podiatry services, flu and pneumonia
injections, visual services, and transportation services are not included in the per diem rate as the
rendering provider bills Medicaid directly.

Bad debts other than Title XIX of the SSA, charity, and courtesy allowances shall not be included
in allowable costs. Bad debts for Title XIX of the SSA shall be limited to Title XIX of the SSA
uncollectible deductible and copayments and the uncollectible portion of eligible Florida Medicaid
recipients' responsibilities. Example - Daily rate is $210.00; state pays $190.00 and recipient is to
pay $20.00. If Florida Medicaid recipient pays only $15.00, then $5.00 would be an allowable bad
debt. All Florida Medicaid Title XIX of the SSA bad debts shown on a cost report shall be
supported by proof of collection efforts, such as copies of two collection letters.

Costs applicable to services, facilities, and supplies furnished to a provider by organizations
related to a provider by common ownership or control shall be governed by Title XVIII of the
SSA and Chapter 10, CMS-PUB.15-1. Providers shall identify such related organizations and
costs in their cost reports.

Costs, which are otherwise allowable, shall be limited by the following provisions:

1. The owner-administrator and owner-assistant administrator compensation shall be limited

to reasonable levels determined in accordance with CMS-PUB.15-1 or determined by
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surveyed ranges of compensation conducted by AHCA. The survey shall be of all
administrators and assistant administrators of Florida long-term care facilities, and shall,
to the extent feasible with the survey data collected, recognize differences in
organization, size, experience, length of service, services administered, and other
distinguishing characteristics. Results of surveys and salary limitations shall be furnished
to providers when the survey results are completed, and shall be updated each year by the
wage and salary component of the Plan's inflation index. A new salary survey may be
conducted at the discretion of AHCA.
Legal Fees and Related Costs
In order to be considered an allowable cost of a provider in the Florida Medicaid program,
attorneys' fees, accountants' fees, consultants' fees, experts' fees and all other fees or costs incurred
related to litigation, must have been incurred by a provider who was the successful party in the
case on all claims, issues, rights, and causes of action in a judicial or administrative proceeding. If
a provider prevails on some but less than all claims, issues, rights, and causes of action, the
provider shall not be considered the successful party and all costs of the case shall be unallowable.
All costs incurred on appellate review are governed in the same manner as costs in the lower
tribunal. If on appeal, a provider prevails on all claims, issues, rights and causes of action, the
provider is entitled to its litigation costs, in both the lower tribunal and the reviewing court, related
to those claims issues, rights and causes of action in which a provider is the successful party on
appeal as determined by a final non-appealable disposition of the case in a provider's favor. This
provision applies to litigation between a provider and AHCA as it relates to Florida Medicaid
audits and Florida Medicaid cost reimbursement cases, including administrative rules, and
certificate of need cases. This provision pertains only to allowable costs for the recalculation of
reimbursement rates and does not create an independent right to recovery of litigation costs and

fees.

8 Amendment 2022-0014
Effective 7/1/2022

Supersedes 2022-0001
Approval  May 4, 2023




Long-term Care Version L
Attachment 4.19-D
Part |

H. The direct patient care component shall include salaries and benefits of direct care staff providing
nursing services including registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing assistants
(CNA), and personal care attendants (PCA) who deliver care directly to residents in the nursing
facility, allowable therapy costs, and dietary costs. PCA should be reported under Direct Care with
Nurse Aide expenses. Hours worked should be reported on the schedule F-2 with nurse aide hours.
A detailed crosswalk of the uniform cost report accounts is available in Appendix D. Direct care
staff does not include nursing administration, Minimum Data Set (MDS) and care plan
coordinators, staff development, infection control preventionist, risk managers, and staffing
coordinators. There shall be no costs directly or indirectly allocated to the direct care component
from a home office or management company for staff who do not deliver care directly to residents
in the nursing facility.

L. The operating component shall include the costs for medical records, plant operation,
housekeeping, administration, Medicaid bad debt and laundry and linen.

J. All other patient care costs shall be included in the indirect patient care component.

K. Effective April 1, 2009, the Nursing Facility Quality Assessment (NFQA) fee is an allowable cost
and shall be included in the cost report with required adjustments. Refer to section IV.B. of this
Plan for specific details of this fee. Nursing facilities may not create a separate line-item charge
for the purpose of passing through the assessment to residents.

L. Providers designated as COVID Isolation facilities shall offset COVID related expenses by the
additional funding received from the Agency for Health Care under the Medicaid Supplemental
Agreement. Providers shall offset these expenses following the methodology used to offset

pediatric revenue. See Sections I.J and VI.A(1)(a).

IV. Reimbursement Components for All Nursing Facility Providers
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This section outlines the methodologies to be used by the Florida Medicaid program in establishing

reimbursement components included in the final reimbursement rates for each participating provider under

both the prospective payment system and the cost-based per diem payment methodologies.

A. Fair Rental Value (Property Component)

1.

A Fair Rental Value (FRV) system is used to reimburse providers for their facility related

capital costs. Each provider participating in the Florida Medicaid program shall submit an

FRYV survey, with supporting documentation for all changes made regarding previous

year submissions. to AHCA using the electronic form and instructions on the Florida

Nursing Home: Fair Rental Value Survey web page. The current licensed number of

beds, the square footage of the facility, date opened, bed additions and reductions, and the

cost of renovations shall be included on the FRV survey. The most recent FRV survey

received by April 30 of the year in which the rate period begins, or by the close of the

next business day if April 30 falls on a weekend, will be used to calculate the FRV rate.

Extensions will not be granted.

a.

The reporting period for the FRV survey is January 1 to December 31. Projects
requiring more than one calendar year to complete should be reported in the year of
completion.

If a provider fails to submit an FRV survey by April 30, no adjustments to building
additions, replacements, renovations, or major improvement incurred by the provider
since the most recent data submission will be used in the FRV calculation for the
subsequent rate period.

For a provider who has never submitted an FRV survey to AHCA, the FRV
calculation will use the minimum square footage per bed as the facility square
footage. New providers who have not submitted data will have their FRV rate
determined from information reported in the provider’s budgeted cost report and/or

additionally requested schedules.
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Facilities must report each project in chronological order by date from initial
construction to present. Each project must be reported separately regardless of type
of project and year of completion. A project will either be a bed addition, bed
replacement, or renovation/major improvement. Facilities should be prepared to
define each project in such a way that makes clear the separation of individual
projects. It is possible to have multiple projects of the same type in the same year.
Example - a roof replacement project would be reported separately from a kitchen
renovation project even if they were completed in the same year. The minimum cost
of a renovation is $500 per bed. If a project does not meet this minimum threshold, it
will not be used in the FRV calculation.

Capital costs incurred in the normal course of facility operations, that were not part
of a renovation/major improvement project, should not be claimed on the FRV
survey. Grouping of assets is only allowable when they are part of a clearly defined
renovation/major improvement project. It is not allowable to bundle unrelated assets
together for the purpose of reporting a renovation/major improvement project.

AHCA may perform desk reviews on the provider submitted survey data and amend

the survey data based on the desk review results.

g. AHCA may also amend submitted FRVS survey data based on the results of a

finalized FRVS audit or PPS audit that affects the FRVS components.

2. The Fair Rental Value rate is calculated as:

Components

Source

RSMeans Cost per Square Foot

The most recent Square Foot Costs with RSMeans Data, Gordian

s::;z::r RSMeans Location Factor Index | Publication available on March 31 of the year in which the rate period
Means Historical Cost Index begins.
Square Feet Per Bed*

Facility Number of Beds o Sue o _ |

Information Renovation amounts, bed y submitted in accordance with Section IV.A 1.

additions and year of project
completion
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Facility Age in Years™

FRV Survey submitted in accordance with Section IV.A.1. and adjusted for
renovations and bed additions as calculated in Section IV.A.3.

Most recent Medicaid Nursing Home cost report submitted prior to the rate

Occupancy” setting acceptance cutoff date. For new facilities in their first year of

operation, , the occupancy is 75%.

Land Percentage

Policy Equipment Cost per Bed

Parameters Depreciation Factor

Fair Rental Rate

Building Value

(RSMeans Cost Per Square Foot) * (RSMeans Location Factor) * (Square

Feet Per Bed)
Land Value (Building Value) * (Land Percentage)
Equipment Value (Equipment Cost per Bed allowance)
Calculation of | Depreciation [F(Butilding Value) + (Equipment Value)] * (Facility Age) * (Depreciation
Rate Per Bed aclor)
Day Fair Rental Value (Building Value) + (Land Value) + (Equipment Value) — (Depreciation)
FRV Reimbursement (Fair Rental Value) * (Fair Rental Rate)
Applicable Occupancy Greater of Facility Occupancy and Minimum Occupancy
Occupancy Per Year Per Bed (Applicable Occupancy) * (365.25)
FRV Rate (FRV Reimbursement) / (Occupancy Per Year Per Bed)
3. A provider’s age shall be adjusted for renovations that meet the minimum cost per bed. For
renovations that do not add beds, the calculation of adjusted age is:
Components Calculation

Replacement Cost Per
Bed

RSMeans Historical Cost Index for Year of Renovation

Building Value x
uiding Vaiue RSMeans Historical Cost Index for Current Year

Accumulated
Depreciation Per Bed

(Renovation Year — Base Year) * Replacement Cost Per Bed * Depreciation Factor

‘New Bed Equivalent Renovation Amount / Accumulated Depreciation Per Bed
. (Current Number of Beds — New Bed Equivalent) * (Renovation Year — Base Year)
New Base Year Renovation Year —
Current Number of Beds
‘Adjusted Age Rate Year — New Base Year
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For renovations that do add beds, the calculation of adjusted age is:
‘ Components Calculation
‘ New Bed Age Rate Year — Modification Year
Adiusted A Current Number of Beds X Facilty A Number of Added Beds x New Bed A
justed nge New Total Number of Beds aciliy Age | + New Total Number of Beds ewbed nge
B. Nursing Facility Quality Assessment (NFQA)

Effective April 1, 2009 AHCA, shall implement methodologies revising reimbursement to nursing

facilities that will create a pass-through of the Florida Medicaid share of the assessment, restore

prior reductions as allowed, and provide for a quality incentive payment as a phase-in to a pricing

model. The funding for reimbursement improvements is provided through the NFQA fee. The

funds shall exclusively be for the following purposes and in the following order of priority:

1.

To reimburse the Florida Medicaid share of the NFQA fee as a pass through. The per diem

Florida Medicaid share of the NFQA is calculated as follows:

a.

Total patient days minus Medicare and Medicare Advantage days is equal to total non-
Medicare days.

The product of total non-Medicare days, NFQA rate and Florida Medicaid utilization
to is equal to the total NFQA Florida Medicaid share.

Total NFQA Florida Medicaid share divided by Florida Medicaid days is equal to the

per diem Florida Medicaid Share of the NFQA.

To increase each nursing facility’s Florida Medicaid rate, an amount that restores the rate

reductions effective on or after January 1, 2008.

To partially fund the quality incentive payment as described in section V.B. that accounts

for the remainder of the total assessment not included in sections IV.B.1 through 2. The

quality payment is calculated by taking total funds remaining after sections IV.B.1 through

2. Then, subtract budgeted administrative cost and funds required for Hospice rate cut

restoration to equal total quality assessment funds remaining.

Each provider shall report monthly to AHCA its total number of resident days, exclusive of

Medicare resident days, and remit an amount equal to the assessment rate times the reported number
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of days. Facilities are required to submit their assessment by the 20th day of the next succeeding
calendar month.

Pass-Through Payments

Real Estate and Personal Property Taxes and Property Insurance shall each be reimbursed as a
pass-through payment calculated as the total cost divided by the total patient days. The most
current acceptable cost reports received by AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, Audit
Services by the close of the business day on April 30 of each year, or by the close of the next
business day if April 30 falls on a weekend shall be used for the pass-through calculation
components. For new facilities, the pass-through components shall be determined from
information reported in the provider’s budgeted cost report and/or additionally requested
schedules.

Cost Settlement

Providers will not be subject to a retrospective cost settlement.

Emergency Payments

AHCA may establish a methodology to reimburse providers in the event of a governor proclaimed

state emergency when funding is appropriated by the legislature for that purpose.

Prospective Payment System

Effective October 1, 2018 a prospective payment methodology shall be implemented for rate setting

purposes. This section outlines the methodology used in establishing the reimbursement components for

the Nursing Facility providers participating in the prospective payment system.

A.

Operating, Direct, and Indirect Patient Care Components

Beginning October 1, 2018 separate medians and standardized prices shall be calculated for each
patient care subcomponent (operating, direct patient care, and indirect patient care) based on the
most recent cost reports received by the rate setting acceptance cut-off date for the September
2016 rate setting. For providers with no actual cost report used for the September 1, 2016 rate
period as a result of a change of ownership, the previous provider’s cost report used for the

September 1, 2016 rate period will be used. New facilities shall receive the standardized price for
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the direct, indirect, and operating components of the per diem equal to the standardized price for

their respective peer groups, without the per diem floor, until an audited cost report is received by

AHCA prior to the rate setting acceptance cut-off date. Beginning October 1, 2021, and every 4%

subsequent year updated medians, standardized prices, and floors shall be based on the most

recently audited cost reports finalized prior to April 30 of the rebase year.

1. Each nursing home provider shall be classified into one of two provider peer groups.

A. Peer groups are defined as:

(D North- Statewide Medicaid Managed Care (SMMC) Regions 1-9, less Palm Beach and

Okeechobee Counties; and

(IT)  South- Statewide Medicaid Managed Care (SMMC) Regions 10-11, plus Palm Beach and

Okeechobee Counties.

2. AHCA shall determine standardized per diem values for each component within each
peer group using the following process:

a. Calculate provider specific cost per diems separately for the direct, indirect, and
operating components by dividing the components' allowable costs by the total
number of Florida Medicaid patient days from the cost report.

b. Adjust a provider's operating, direct care, and indirect care per diem costs that
resulted from section V.A.2.a. for the effects of inflation by multiplying these per

diem costs by the fraction:

Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation
Index at midpoint of prospective rate period + Index at midpoint of provider’s cost report
period

c. The calculation of the Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index is displayed in
Appendix A. Calculate the medians from the provider-specific values for each peer

group and component using the inflated per diems calculated in section V.A.2.b.
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d. Calculate the standardized price for the direct, indirect, and operating components of
the per diem as a percentage of the median costs for providers within each peer
group.

e. Calculate the floor per diem for the direct and indirect components by multiplying
the standardized price as calculated in section V.A.2.d. by the floor percentage.

f.  For each component, providers will be reimbursed the standardized price defined for
their peer group if their individual per diem as calculated in section V.A.2.b. is above
the floor as calculated in section V.A.2.e.

g. Ifaprovider’s per diem as calculated in section V.A.2.b. is below the floor, their
component per diem is calculated as follows:

Floor Adjustment = Floor Per Diem — Inflated Per Diem Cost

Per Diem = Standardized Price — Floor Adjustment
Quality Incentive Component
The prospective payment system includes a quality incentive add-on component consisting of
process, outcome, structural and credentialing measures. For each measure, a provider is awarded
points. The points are adjusted based on provider total Medicaid patient days and the resulting
adjusted point value is used to determine a provider’s portion of Quality Incentive funds. The
quality measure percentiles will be recalculated during rebase years. During non rebase years the
quality measure percentiles will be frozen. For new facilities, quality incentive payments will be
applied at a value equal to the 50" percentile quality score for Florida Medicaid providers included
in the prospective payment methodology. A New Facility is a provider who does not have data
available to calculate quality scores available for all measures. If a provider does not have the
following information, they will be treated as a New Facility:

a. The data available for the most recently available four quarter average score from
MDS Quality Measures from the Nursing Home Compare as of May 31 of the year

in which the rate period begins.
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Budgeted cost report submitted by April 30" of the rate period year. The licensed
nursing and CNA staffing measure will be calculated using the total combined RN,
LPN, and CNA productive hours per patient day as reported in the most recent
budgeted or actual Medicaid cost report submitted prior to the cost report cutoff date.
CMS Facility Staffing Payroll Based Journal as of May 31 of the year in which the
rate period begins.

Most recent overall rating from the Star Ratings dataset from the Nursing Home
Compare datasets provided by CMS as of May 31 of the year in which the rate

period begins.

Process Measures

For each process measure, each provider will be ranked and points will be awarded based

on the percentile in which the provider scores in relation to other Florida Medicaid

providers included in the prospective payment methodology. For each rate period, the

process measures will be calculated using the most recent four quarter average from the

MDS Quality Measures from the Nursing Home Compare datasets provided by the

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services as of May 31 of the year in which the rate

period begins.

a.

Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal
influenza vaccine

Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication
Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained

In the event that a provider has one or more measures without actual data, the prior
year’s CMS data will be pulled until actual data is available.

i.  Actual data is defined as providers who do not have a footnote of 9 or 10 for

their fourth quarter average score.
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ii. Providers who do not have actual data in ALL measures for the rate period (As
of May 31) will have data from their most recent four quarter average used to

calculate their quality score.

Outcome Measures

For each outcome measure, each provider will be ranked and points will be awarded

based on the percentile in which the provider scores in relation to other Florida Medicaid

providers included in the prospective payment methodology. For each rate period, the

outcome measures will be calculated using the most recent four quarter average from the

MDS Quality Measures from the Nursing Home Compare datasets provided by the

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services as of May 31 of the year in which the rate

period begins.

a.

b.

Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection

Percentage of high risk long-stay residents with pressure ulcers

i. On October 1, 2018 CMS changed the pressure ulcer measure from code 403 to
453.

ii. At the October 1, 2019 rate setting period a 3 quarter average of 2018 data will be
used to calculate the quality incentive score.

iii. For the October 1, 2020 rate setting period the quality measure percentile for
pressure ulcers will be recalculated.

Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury
Percentage of low risk long-stay residents who lose control of their bowels or
bladder

Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has
increased

In the event that a provider has one or more measures without actual data, the prior

year’s CMS data will be pulled until actual data is available.
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i.  Actual data is defined as providers who do not have a footnote of 9 or 10 for
their fourth quarter average score.

ii. Providers who do not have actual data in ALL measures for the rate period (As
of May 31) will have data from their most recent four quarter average used to

calculate their quality score.

3. Structural Measures

For each structural measure, each provider will be ranked and points will be awarded

based on the percentile in which the provider scores in relation to other Florida Medicaid

providers included in the prospective payment methodology.

a. Hours of licensed nursing (RN, LPN) and CNA staffing
The licensed nursing and CNA staffing measure will be calculated using the total
combined RN, LPN, and CNA productive hours per patient day as reported in the
most recent Medicaid cost report submitted prior to the cost report cutoff date. For a
new provider with no cost history resulting from a change of ownership or operator,
the measure will be calculated using the prior provider’s cost report submitted prior
to the rate setting acceptance cutoff date.

b. Employees of social work and activities staff
The employees of social work and activities staff measure will be calculated using
the total number of qualified activities professionals and qualified social workers,
including therapeutic recreation specialists employed by the provider on a full time
basis, part time basis, or under contract to a provider per resident day. As of May 31,
2019, the most recent one year average will be collected from the published CMS

Facility Staffing Payroll-Based Journal data as of May 31 of the year in which the

rate period begins. This data will be evaluated on a per resident day basis.
4. Credential Measures

a. CMS 5 Star Rating
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For the CMS 5 Star Rating, providers will be awarded points based on their rating.
For each rate period, the CMS 5 Star Rating Measure will be calculated using the
most recent overall rating from the Star Ratings dataset from the Nursing Home
Compare datasets provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services as of
May 31 of the year in which the rate period begins.
b. Providers will be awarded points if they qualify for at least one of the following three
certifications/accreditations:
i.  Nursing Home Gold Seal Award
For each rate period, the Nursing Home Gold Seal Award measure will be
calculated using the licensees with the Gold Seal designation as of May 31 of
the year in which the rate period begins.
ii. Joint Commission Accreditation

For each rate period. the Joint Commission Accreditation measure will be

calculated using the providers with accreditation as of May 31 of the year in
which the rate period begins.
iii. American Health Care Association (AHCA) National Quality Award

For each rate period, the AHCA National Quality Award measure will be

calculated and points will be awarded for providers achieving the gold or silver
level award as of May 31 of the year in which the rate period begins.
5. Quality Incentive Add-on Calculations
a. Quality Measure Percentiles are calculated each rebase rate period. Structural

measures percentiles are recalculated every rate period. Points are awarded to a

provider for each quality measure using the following criteria:

Max
Process Measures 0.5 Points 1 Point 2 Points 3 Points Pgi;ts
Provider
. Above 50 Above 75* Above 90* 3
AR 20% year-over-year improvement. Perzgntile PerZeentile Pe(r)::,gntjle
Improvement is calculated as the
. . : Below 50* Below 25* Below 10* 3
Antipsychotic change from the year preceding Percentile Percentile Percentile
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Restrained

Outcome Measures

the current year to the current
year measurement.

0.5 Points

Below 50*
Percentile

Below 25*
Percentile

2 Points

Below 10*
Percentile

3 Points

Max
Points

Per
Provider

Urinary Tract Below 50 Below 25* Below 10*
Infections Percentile Percentile Percentile
: Below 50* Below 25* Below 10* 3
Pressure Ulcers 20% year-over-year improvement. Percentile Percentile Percentile
f Improvement is calculated as the Below 50" Below 250 Below 10" 3
Falls change from the year preceding = . by
the current year to the curent Percentlle1 Percentlk‘i Percentllti
Incontinence year measurement. Below 50 Below 25 Below 10 3
Percentile Percentile Percentile
Activities of Daily Below 50* Below 25* Below 10* 3
Living Percentile Percentile Percentile

Max
Structure Measures No Points Awardec! To Those 1 Point 2 Points 3 Points Points
Under Median Per
Provider
ot ""("’QR'T&C‘"" Above 50% | Above75" | Above 90"
CNA) 9 i X Percentile Percentile Percentile
Social Work and Above 50* Above 75* Above 90*
Activity Staff Percentile Percentile Percentile
ng
Credentials 1 Point 3 Points 5 Points Pg'::s
Provider
CMS 5 Star Rating N/A 5 Stars
Florida Gold Seal N/A N/A Awarded
Joint Commission A total of five points is awarded
Accreditation if one or more of these three N/A N/A Awarded 5
AHCA National Quality | accreditations are attained. Silver or Gold
N/A N/A
Award Award

Total Quality Points
Possible

40

b. Half points for year-over-year improvement are only awarded to providers who do
not meet the criteria to earn 1-3 points within the measure.

c.  Providers must have a quality score of at least the quality score threshold to qualify
for a quality incentive payment.

d. The weighted provider score for each qualifying provider is calculated by
multiplying the provider quality points by the number of annualized Medicaid days
as reported in the most recent cost report received by AHCA by the rate setting
acceptance cut-off date. The payment per quality point is established by dividing the
total quality budget by the sum of all weighted provider scores. The per diem quality
incentive component is calculated by multiplying a provider’s weighted quality score

by the payment per quality point.
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C. Add-ons
1. Ventilator Supplemental Payment
Providers shall receive a ventilator supplemental payment of $200 per Medicaid patient
day. Effective October 1, 2018, provider submitted data and claims data with diagnosis
code Z99.11, dependence on respirator (ventilator) status, with dates of service in the
prior calendar year will be used to calculate the ventilator supplemental payment.
Effective October 1, 2019, claims data with diagnosis code Z99.11, dependence on
respirator (ventilator) status, with dates of service in the prior calendar year will be used
to calculate the ventilator supplemental payment.
2. High Medicaid Utilization and High Direct Patient Care
Providers who meet the minimum Medicaid utilization and staffing criteria may receive
the High Medicaid Utilization and High Direct Patient Care add-on. If a provider’s
prospective payment per diem rate is lower than their per diem rate effective September
1, 2016, they shall receive the lesser of a $20 per diem increase or a per diem increase
sufficient to set their rate equal to their September 1, 2016 rate. Providers with rates at or
above the September 1, 2016 per diem rate do not qualify for this add-on.
D. Budget Neutrality
Budget Neutrality multipliers shall be incorporated into the prospective payment system to ensure
that total reimbursement is as required.
E. Rate Calculation
1. Compute the total prospective payment system per diem for a provider as the sum of:
a. The sum of the direct patient care, indirect patient care, and operating components
established in section V.A.
b. The quality incentive component established in section V.B.
c. The add-ons established in section V.C.
d. The reimbursement components for all providers established in section I'V.

e. Apply the budget neutrality multipliers as established in section V.D.
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F. Transition

Beginning October 1, 2018 AHCA shall reimburse providers the greater of their cost-based rate

effective September 1, 2016, hereinafter referred to as “hold harmless rate”, or their prospective

payment rate.

1. The hold harmless rate will be the most current rate published to AHCA’s web page with
a September 1, 2016 effective date on May 31 for the subsequent rate period.

2. For providers with no published rate effective September 1, 2016, the hold harmless rate
will be the prior provider’s most current rate published to AHCA’s web page with a
September 1, 2016 effective date on May 31 for the subsequent rate period.

3. New facilities that began operation after September 1, 2016 will not qualify for the
transition payment and will receive their prospective payment rate.

4. Effective October 1, 2021, providers shall receive the greater of their prospective
payment rate or 95% of their hold harmless rate.

5. Effective October 1, 2023, providers will no longer receive the “hold harmless rate,” per

F.S. 409.908(2)(b)1.

Methodology for Providers Exempt from Prospective Payment System

Exempt providers shall remain on a cost-based system. The following outlines the reimbursement rate

components for exempt providers with the inclusion of the aforementioned reimbursement components in

section IV.
A. Exempt Facilities
1. Pediatric, facilities operated by the Florida Department of Veterans Affairs, and

government-operated facilities are exempt from reimbursement under the prospective
payment methodology.
a. Pediatric facilities are those facilities with licensed pediatric beds. For providers that

have both licensed pediatric beds and community or sheltered beds, only the costs
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associated with the pediatric population are exempt from the prospective payment
system. See section L.J. for the cost reporting requirements.

2. In the event of a change of ownership, exempt providers shall receive the prior provider’s
rate for the current rate year. New exempt facility rates shall be calculated based on the
submitted budgeted cost report and any additionally requested schedules.

Operating Costs, Direct Care Costs, and Indirect Costs

To set reimbursement per diems and ceilings, AHCA shall:

1. Review and adjust each provider's cost report referred to in section [.A. to reflect the
result of desk or on-site audits, if available. The most current cost reports received by
AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, Audit Services by the close of the
business day on April 30 of each year, or by the close of the next business day if April 30
falls on a weekend, shall be used to establish the operating, direct care, and indirect care
per diems as well as ceilings.

2. Reduce a provider's general routine operating costs if they are in excess of the limitations
established in 42 CFR 413.30.

3. Determine allowable Florida Medicaid operating costs, direct care costs, and indirect care
costs. A detailed crosswalk of the uniform cost report accounts is available in Appendix
D.

4. Calculate per diems for each of the three cost components listed in section 3. by dividing
the components' costs by the total number of Florida Medicaid patient days from the cost
report.

5. Adjust a provider's operating, direct care, and indirect care per diem costs that resulted
from section 4 for the effects of inflation by multiplying these per diem costs by the

fraction:
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Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation
Index at midpoint of prospective rate period + Index at midpoint of provider’s cost report
period

The calculation of the Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index is displayed in

Appendix A.

Ceilings shall be determined prospectively and shall be effective on the first day of the
rate period. The most current finalized audited cost reports received by AHCA, Bureau
of Medicaid Program Finance, Audit Services by the close of the business day on April
30 of each year, or by the close of the next business day if April 30 falls on a weekend,
and the provider’s most recent reimbursement rates shall be used to establish the
operating, direct care, and indirect care ceilings.

For the purpose of establishing reimbursement limits for operating, direct care, and
indirect care costs, two peer groups based on geographic location were developed.
Determine the median inflated operating, direct care, and indirect care costs per diems for
each of the peer groups and for the entire state. For each of the per diems, calculate the
ratios for each of the peer group medians to the state medians.

Divide individual provider operating, direct care, and indirect care cost per diems that
resulted from section VI.B.4 by the ratio calculated for the provider’s peer group in
section VI.C.3.

Determine the statewide median for the per diems obtained in section VI.C.4.

For each of the operating, direct care, and indirect care per diems, exclude the lower and
upper 10 percent of the per diems of section 4 and calculate the standard deviation for the
remaining 80 percent.

Establish the statewide cost-based reimbursement ceiling for the operating cost per diem

as the sum of the median plus one standard deviation and for the direct care and indirect
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care cost per diems as the sum of the median plus 1.75 standard deviations that resulted

from sections VI.C.5 and VI.C.6.

Establish the cost-based peer group reimbursement ceilings for:

a. The operating, direct care, and indirect care costs per diems for the two peer groups
defined in section VI.C.2 by multiplying the statewide ceilings in section VI.C.7. by
the ratios calculated for that peer group in section VI.C.3.

Establish the effective peer group reimbursement ceilings for operating, direct care, and

indirect care cost per diems for each peer group as the lesser of:

a. The cost-based peer group reimbursement ceiling determined in section VI.C.8.

b. The target rate peer group reimbursement ceiling as calculated in VI.C.9.b, from the
previous rate period, inflated forward with 1.4 (the peer group target inflation
multiplier) times the rate of increase in the Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation
Index through a calculation similar to that given in section VI.D.1. No
reimbursement ceiling can increase in excess of 15 percent annually. The direct care
component shall not be limited to the target rate peer group reimbursement ceiling.
The target rate peer group reimbursement ceiling shall not fall below 90 percent of
the cost-based peer group ceiling for each rate period as calculated in section

VI.C.8. Effective October 1, 2018 the target limitation shall be rebased.

Establish the provider target reimbursement rate for operating and indirect care cost per
diems for each provider by multiplying each provider's target reimbursement rate for
operating and indirect care cost from the previous rate period, excluding the MAR, with

the quantity:

Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index
1+20X at the midpoint of the prospective rate period -1
Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index at
the midpoint of the current rate period

s
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In the above calculation, the 2.0 shall be referred to as the provider specific target
reimbursement rate inflation multiplier. The provider target reimbursement rate
limitation shall not fall below 75 percent of the cost-based peer group reimbursement
ceiling for each rate setting as calculated in section VI.C.8. The direct care component
shall not be limited to the target reimbursement rate. Effective October 1, 2018 the target

limitation shall be rebased.

E. Medicaid Adjustment Rate (MAR)

The MAR for direct care and indirect care shall be calculated as follows:

1.

Providers with 90 percent or greater Florida Medicaid utilization shall have their MAR
equal their WBR as determined in section E.3.

Providers with 50 percent or less Medicaid utilization shall receive no MAR.

Providers between 50 percent and 90 percent Medicaid utilization shall have their MAR

as determined by the following formula:

MAR = WBR X MA

(Superior + Standard)
All

WBR = (BRxMAW) X

MA = (Medicaid Utilization% - MIN) + (MAX —MIN)

Definitions:

MAR - Medicaid Adjustment Rate

WBR - Weighted Base Rate

MA - Medicaid Adjustment

BR - Base Rate, which is set as the result of sections V.G.1.a. and b.
MAW - Medicaid Adjustment Weight, which is set at .045

Superior - Number of Superior Days as described in 4.

Standard - Number of Standard Days as described in 4.
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All - All superior, standard, and conditional days
MIN - Minimum Medicaid utilization amount which is set at 50 percent
MAX - Maximum Florida Medicaid utilization amount which is set at 90 percent
4. Determine the number of days one year prior to the rate period for which the facility held

each of the three possible licensure ratings: superior, standard, and conditional.
Example - For the rate period January 1, 2014 through June 30, 2014, the period one year
prior is January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2013. During that prior period, the provider's

licensure ratings were:

RATING PERIOD DAYS
Superior 1/1/2013 — 1/31/2013 31
Conditional 2/1/2013 —3/31/2013 59
Standard 4/1/2013 — 6/30/2013 91
TOTAL 181

a. The result of these calculations will represent the MAR to which the provider is
entitled. This rate is to be included in the direct care and indirect care component of
the provider's total reimbursement rate.

Medicaid Trend Adjustment (MTA)

The MTA is a percentage cut that is uniformly applied to all Florida Medicaid providers each rate
period. The MTA is built into the final prospective payment rates through budget neutrality
multipliers. The exempt providers’ rates are reduced by the appropriate percentage allocation as
compared to exempt Medicaid nursing home providers.

Rate Calculation
1. Compute the total cost-related per diem for a provider as the sum of:

a. The lesser of the operating cost per diem obtained in section VI.B.5, the effective
operating peer group ceiling obtained in section VI.C.9, and the provider’s operating

provider target rate in section VI.D.1.
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b. The lesser of the direct care cost per diem obtained in section VI.B.5 or the direct
care cost-based peer group ceiling obtained in section VI.C.8.
c. The lesser of the indirect care cost per diem obtained in section VI.B.5, the
provider’s indirect care provider target rate in section VI.D.1, and the indirect care
effective peer group ceiling obtained in section VI.C.9.
d. The MAR as described in section VLE.
2. Establish the prospective per diem for a provider as the result of the sum of this section
and the reimbursement components for all providers in section IV.
Supplemental Payment for Special Care
In order to receive a supplemental payment in excess of the peer group ceilings, a provider must
demonstrate to AHCA that unique medical care requirements exist which require extraordinary
outlays of funds. Circumstances which shall require such an outlay of funds in order to receive a
supplemental payment shall be limited to patients under age 21 with complex medical needs based
upon a level of care established by AHCA’s designee. The period of reimbursement in excess of
the peer group ceiling shall not exceed 12 months. A flat rate shall be paid for the specific patients
identified, in addition to the per diem paid to the provider. The flat rate supplemental payment
shall be trended forward each rate period using the IHS Healthcare Cost Review indices used to
compute the operating and patient care ceilings. These incremental costs shall be included in the
cost reports submitted to AHCA, but shall not be included in the calculation of future prospective
rates. The cost of the patients shall be adjusted out based upon the flat rate payments made to the
provider, in lieu of separately identifying actual costs. Special billing procedures shall be obtained
by the provider from the Bureau of Medicaid Policy. The peer group ceilings may also be
exceeded in cases where Florida Medicaid patients are placed by AHCA in hospitals or in non-
Florida Medicaid participating institutions on a temporary basis pending relocation to participating
nursing facilities, for example, upon closure of a participating nursing facility. The CMS Regional
Office shall be notified in writing at least 10 days in advance in all situations to which this

exception is to be applied, and shall be advised of the rationale for the decision, the financial
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impact, including the proposed rates, and the number of facilities and patients involved. AHCA
shall extend the peer group ceiling exception for subsequent allowable periods upon making a
determination that a need for the exception still exists and upon providing the CMS Regional

Office with another advance written notification as stated above.

VII. Standards

A.

This Plan shall be made available for public inspection, and a public hearing, if requested, shall
also be held so that interested members of the public shall be afforded the opportunity to review
and comment on the Plan.

The Florida Medicaid program shall pay a single level of payment rate for all levels of nursing

care. This single per diem shall be based upon each provider's reimbursement rate subject to the

rate setting methodology in sections IV-VI.

Aggregate Test Comparing Florida Medicaid to Medicare

42 CFR 447.272 provides that states must ensure CMS that AHCA’s estimated average proposed

payment rate pay no more in the aggregate by category for long-term care facility services than the

amount that would be paid for the services under the Medicare principles of reimbursement. At
any rate period if the aggregate reimbursement to be paid is higher than the amount that would be
paid under Medicare reimbursement principles the following steps shall be taken in order to meet
the aggregate test:

1. The property reimbursement for FRVS shall be reduced until the upper limit test is met
for that rate period. The amount of the property reimbursement rate paid under FRVS
shall be reduced, but not below a 20% reduction.

2. The high Medicaid utilization and high staffing add-on for provider’s reimbursed using
the prospective payment system methodology and the MAR for provider’s exempt from

the prospective payment system shall be reduced on a pro rata basis until Florida
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Medicaid aggregate payments are equal to or less than the amount that would be paid for
services under the Medicare reimbursement principles.

3. If the provisions 1 and 2 above are implemented in order to meet the upper limit test, for
a period of one year, this Plan shall be reanalyzed and formally amended to conform to
the necessary program cost limits.

Payments made under this Plan are subject to retroactive adjustment if approval of this Plan or any

part of this Plan is not received from CMS. The retroactive adjustments made shall reflect only

the federal financial participation portions of payments due to elements of this Plan not authorized
by CMS.

Payment Assurance

The State shall pay each nursing facility for services provided in accordance with the requirements

of the Florida Title XIX State Plan, section 1902 of the SSA. The payment amount shall be

determined for each nursing facility according to the standards and methods set forth in the Florida
Title XIX Long-Term Care Reimbursement Plan.

Provider Participation

This Plan is designed to assure adequate participation of nursing facilities in the Florida Medicaid
program and the availability of high quality nursing facility services for recipients which are
comparable to those available to the general public.

Payment in Full

Any provider participating in the Florida Medicaid program who knowingly and willfully charges
money or other consideration, for any service provided to the patient under the state plan in excess
of the rates established by the State Plan, or charges, solicits, accepts, or receives, in addition to
any amount otherwise required to be paid under the State Plan approved under this title, any gift,
money, donation or other consideration other than a charitable, religious or philanthropic

contribution from an organization or from a person unrelated to the patient as a condition of
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admitting a patient to a nursing facility, or as a requirement for the patient's continued stay in such
a facility, when the cost of the services provided therein is paid for in whole or in part under the
State Plan, shall be construed to be soliciting supplementation of the State's payment for services.
Payments made as a condition of admitting a patient or as a requirement for continued stay in a
facility shall be deemed to be payments to meet the cost of care of the Florida Medicaid patient
and shall be deemed to be out of compliance with 42 CFR 447.15.

VIII. Glossary

A. Acceptable cost report - A completed, legible cost report that contains all relevant schedules,
worksheets and supporting documents in accordance with cost reporting instructions.

B. AHCA - Agency for Health Care Administration.

C. Audit - A direct examination of the books, records, and accounts supporting amounts reported in
the cost report to determine correctness and propriety.

D. Audit adjustment - Any adjustment within the Florida Medicaid audit report or Florida Medicaid
desk review report.

E. Audit finding - Any adjustment within the Florida Medicaid audit report or Florida Medicaid desk
review report not listed.

F. Bed - A licensed Nursing Facility bed.

G. Bed Addition - A bed addition involves a project resulting in the addition of licensed beds to the
nursing facility.

H. Bed Replacement - A replacement of beds occurs when new construction is completed, however,
instead of increasing the number of licensed beds of the facility, a portion of the existing licensed
beds are relocated to the new construction.

1. CMS-PUB.15-1 - Health Insurance Manual No. 15, also known as the Provider Reimbursement
Manual, published by the Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services.
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Cost report due date — A provider’s cost report is due five calendar months after the close of the
provider’s cost reporting year.

Desk review - An examination of the amounts reported in the cost report to determine correctness
and propriety. This examination is conducted from AHCA reviewer’s office and is focused on
documentation solicited from the provider or documents otherwise available to the reviewer.
Facility - The physical grounds and buildings where a provider operates a licensed nursing facility.
Fair Rental Value (FRV) System —A gross valuation of a nursing facility’s property using a
standardized approach that takes into account the age, RSMeans indeces, bed additions,
renovations and size of the facility.

Floor — A floor is calculated for the direct care and indirect care cost components listed in section
VIL.B. and is equal to the standardized price times the floor percentage..

Government-operated facility — A nursing facility operated by a city, county, state or federal
government entity including hospital districts owned by city or county government entities.

Late cost report - A cost report that is not received by AHCA on the cost report due date.
Legislative unit cost - The weighted average per diem of the state anticipated expenditure after all
rate reductions.

Median — The mid-point of the inflated per diems for all providers in each peer group.

Medicaid Adjustment Rate (MAR) - An add-on to the direct care and indirect care cost
components of exempt providers with greater than 50 percent Florida Medicaid utilization to
encourage high quality care while containing costs. The MAR per diem calculation is detailed in
section VL.E of this Plan.

Medicaid nursing facility direct and indirect patient care costs - Those costs directly attributed to
nursing services, dietary costs, and other costs directly related to patient care, such as activity
costs, social services, and all medically-ordered therapies.

Medicaid nursing facility operating costs - Those costs not directly related to patient care or
property costs, such as administrative, plant operation, laundry and housekeeping costs. Return on

Equity (ROE) or use allowance costs are not included in operating costs.
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Medicaid nursing facility property costs - Those costs related to the ownership or leasing of a

nursing facility. Such costs may include property taxes and insurance.

Peer Groups -

a.  North - Statewide Medicaid Managed Care (SMMC) Regions 1-9, less Palm Beach and
Okeechobee Counties;

b. South - Statewide Medicaid Managed Care (SMMC) Regions 10-11, plus Palm Beach and
Okeechobee Counties.

Price — The standardized rate for each peer group that is calculated for the operating, direct, and

indirect care cost components.

Provider - A person or entity licensed and/or certified under state law to deliver health care or

related services, which services are reimbursable under the Florida Medicaid program.

Quality Measure Percentile — The percentile for each quality incentive component measure that

will be used to rank and award points to providers in relation to other Florida Medicaid providers

included in the prospective payment methodology.

Rate period - October 1 — September 30

Rate setting acceptance cut-off date - The rate setting acceptance cut-off date is April 30 or the

next business day if April 30 falls on a weekend of the year in which the rate period begins.

Rate setting unit cost - The weighted average per diem after all rate reductions based on submitted

cost reports.

Region - AHCA shall plan and administer its programs of health, social, and rehabilitative

services through 11 service areas composed of the following counties:

1. Region 1 - Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton counties

2. Region 2 - Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon,
Liberty, Madison, Taylor, Wakulla, and Washington counties

3. Region 3 - Alachua, Bradford, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Hernando,
Lafayette, Lake, Levy, Marion, Putnam, Sumter, Suwanee, and Union counties

4. Region 4 - Baker, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, St. Johns, and Volusia counties
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5. Region 5 - Pasco and Pinellas counties

6. Region 6 - Hardee, Highlands, Hillsborough, Manatee, and Polk counties

7. Region 7 - Brevard, Orange, Osceola, and Seminole counties

8. Region 8 - Charlotte, Collier, Desoto, Glades, Hendry, Lee, and Sarasota counties

9. Region 9 - Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie counties

10. Region 10 - Broward county

11. Region 11 - Dade and Monroe counties

Reimbursement ceilings - The upper rate limits for a Florida Medicaid nursing facility’s operating
and patient care reimbursement for nursing home providers in a specified reimbursement peer
group for the providers exempt from the prospective payment system.

Reimbursement ceiling period - October 1 — September 30

Renovation - A renovation/major improvement shall mean a capital expenditure that exceeds $500
per existing licensed bed. Capital expenditures are asset acquisitions that meet the criteria of
§108.1 of the Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS 15-1) or are betterments or improvements
which meet the criteria of §108.2 of the Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS 15-1). Allowable
capital expenditures includes items capitalized as either building, building improvement, land
improvements, equipment, and leasehold improvements that are not associated with the addition
or replacement of beds. If a renovation/major improvement project involved construction activities
in both the licensed nursing facility and the non-nursing sections of the facility, only those
construction costs associated with the licensed nursing facility section of the facility should be
included. Documentation must be maintained to demonstrate how construction costs were
allocated between the licensed nursing facility and the non-nursing sections of the facility.

Title XVIII - Health Insurance for the Aged, Blind or Disabled (Medicare, as provided for in the

SSA, as certified by 42, United States Code U.S.C. 1395-1395pp).

Title XIX - Grants to States for Medical Assistance Programs (Medicaid, as provided for in the

SSA, as certified by 42, U.S.C. 1396-1396i).
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Appendix A: Calculation of Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index

The following example uses data from the October 1, 2018 rate period. For this rate period the percentage

weights for the cost components are:

Indirect Patient
Component Direct Patient Care Operating
Care
Salaries and Benefits 93.11% 66.71% 66.71%
Dietary 5.36% 0.00% 0.00%
Others 1.53% 33.29% 33.29%

An inflation index for each of these components is developed from IHS Healthcare Cost Review quarterly
index, Skilled Nursing Facility without Capital Market Basket table, using the following routine services

costs inflation indices:

Component THS Index

Salaries and Benefits Wage & Salary combined with Employee Benefits

Dietary Food

All Others Utilities combined with All Other Expenses

The IHS indices are combined by summing the products of each index times the ratio of the respective
Global Insight budget share to total budget share represented by the combined indices.

The following example uses data from the first quarter of 2018 Healthcare Cost Review publication to
calculate the first quarter of 2016 Salaries and Benefits component. The All Others Index is calculated in

the same manner.
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Year: Quarter Index Name Index Value
2016:01 Wage and Salary Index 1.041
2016:01 Budget Share of Wage & Salary Index 0.545
2016:01 Employee Benefits 1.029
2016:01 Budget Share of Employee Benefits 0.113

The Weighted Salaries and Benefits index is calculated using the following formula:
(1.041 X 0.545/(0.545+0.113)) + (1.029 X 0.113/(0.545+0.113)) = 1.039
A Combined Quarterly Index is then constructed by summing the products of the weights and quarterly
component indices.
The Combined Quarterly Index is calculated using the following formula:
(Weighted Salaries & Benefits Index X percentage weight) + (Dietary Index X percentage weight)
+ (Weighted All Others Index X percentage weight)
(1.039 X 66.71%) + (0.965 X 0.00%) + (1.042 X 33.29%) = 1.03999870
The Weighted Salaries and Benefits Index and the Combined Quarterly Index is utilized to obtain monthly
indices called the Florida Nursing Facility Cost Inflation Index by averaging pairs of quarterly indices and
interpolating between these averages as follows:
The Average combined quarterly index for direct care, indirect care, and operating costs for
months with end dates that correspond with the end date of a quarter is calculated using the
following formula.
Average Combined Quarterly Index for Direct Care = [(Combined Quarterly Index for current
quarter + Combined Quarterly Index for following quarter) / 2]

2016:1 = [(1.035+1.040)/2] = 1.038
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Corresponding

Quarter Quarterly Index for
Indirect Care and Month
Direct Care
Operating

2016:1 1.038 1.043 March 31
2016:2 1.044 1.050 June 30
2016:3 1.051 1.057 September 30
2016:4 1.056 1.064 December 31

The Average Combined Quarterly Indexes for months that do not end on the end date of a quarter
are calculated as follows:

April 2016 Average Combined Quarterly Index for Direct Care

= (June 30 Index/March 31 Index)l/ 3x (March 31 Index)

=(1.044/1.038)1/3 X 1.038 = 1.040

May 2016 Average Combined Quarterly Index for Direct Care

= (June 30 Index/March 31 Index)z/ 3x (March 31 Index)

=(1.044/1.038)2/3 X 1.038 = 1.042

These indices will be updated prior to each rate setting.
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Appendix B: Rate Changes
A. On October 1, 2018, the Prospective Payment System methodology was implemented with
$132,166,796 to fund the transition to the Prospective Payment System methodology.
B. On October 1, 2019 additional non-recurring funding was included for October 1, 2019 rates in the
amount of $15,915,813 to fund the quality incentive payments.
C. On October 1, 2022 additional recurring funding was included for the October 1, 2022 rates in the
amount of $290,730,362 to fund the legislatively mandated $15 Minimum Wage increase.
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Appendix C: Upper Payment Limit (UPL) Methodology

A.

Pursuant to 42 CFR 447.272, AHCA shall use a cost-based demonstration to ensure Florida
Medicaid expenditures do not exceed the Upper Payment Limit (UPL), a reasonable estimate of
the amount that would be paid for the services furnished under Medicare payment principles. The
UPL shall be determined separately for state government, non-state government, and privately
owned or operated nursing facilities. The UPL calculation requires the compilation of Medicare
and Florida Medicaid data for all nursing facilities that participate in the Florida Medicaid
program. Medicare data shall be acquired from the most recently available, filed Medicare cost
report, Form #CMS 2540, from a reporting period no more than two years prior to the current rate

year. The following fields from the Medicare cost report are used in the UPL calculation:

1. Total Medicare Routine Cost found on Worksheet B or Worksheet D.

2. Ancillary Medicare Charges, Ancillary Medicare Cost, Drug Charges, and Drug Cost
found on Worksheet C.

3. Medicare Days found on Worksheet D or Worksheet S.

Florida Medicaid charges and days reported in the Florida Medicaid cost reports, which are used
for the October 1, 2022 rate setting, shall be used for the fiscal year 2022-2023 UPL calculation.
The state shall only include Florida Medicaid charges from in-state Florida Medicaid residents and
shall exclude crossover claims, physician service charges, and other professional service charges.
Estimated Florida Medicaid expenditures for the applicable fiscal year shall be calculated based on
the nursing facility per diem rates effective October 1, 2021 and October 1, 2022. The average of
the rates will be multiplied by annualized Florida Medicaid days to determine total estimated
Florida Medicaid expenditures. The Florida Medicaid expenditures shall be the net actual total
expenditures excluding patient responsibility. The Florida Medicaid expenditures include base
payments through Florida Medicaid reimbursement to the provider. Payments shall be identified

separately as private, state government, and non-state government. The dollar amount of
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payments for the UPL base period shall equal the claimed amounts on the CMS-64, a quarterly
expense report.

The total UPL for each provider shall be trended from the midpoint of the corresponding Medicare
cost report to the midpoint of the state fiscal year. The data shall be trended to inflate historical
Medicare costs to reflect current period expenses. The trending factors shall come from the IHS
Healthcare Cost Review, the Skilled Nursing Facility Total Market Basket Index, and the
%MOVAVG line.

The Total Trended Upper Payment Limit shall be calculated for each facility as follows:

| Total Trended Upper Payment Limit =  Total Upper Payment Limit X Trend Factor |

| Total Upper Payment Limit = Routine UPL Cost +  Ancillary UPL Cost |

Routine UPL Cost = Total Medlc'are Routine Cost X  Annualized Florida Medicaid Days
Medicare Days

(Ancillary Medicare Cost —

. _ Medicare Drug Cost) X Ancillary Florida Medicaid
Ancillary UPL Cost (Ancillary Medicare Charges — Charges
Medicare Drug Charges)

Note: The Ancillary UPL Cost shall be calculated by removing costs and charges for drugs to

account for differences in Medicare and Florida Medicaid costs and charges.
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Appendix D: Chart of Accounts to Cost Component Crosswalk

The direct care, indirect care, and operating components include allowable costs reported in the following accounts

on the Medicaid uniform cost report.

Chart of Accounts Categories Account Number | Per Diem Component
DPC = Direct Care of Resident Care Costs 81xxxx Direct

PT = Physical Therapy 92 1xxx Direct

S/AT = Speech and Audiological Therapy 922xxX Direct

OT = Occupational Therapy 923xxx Direct

PEN = Parenteral/Enteral (PEN) Therapy 924xxx Direct

I/RT = Inhalation/Respiratory Therapy 927xxx Direct

IV =1V Therapy 928xxx Direct

DIET = Dietary 912xxx Direct

IPC = Indirect Care of Resident Care Costs 91xxxx Indirect

(Nursing Services, employee related expenses)

ACT = Activities Services 914xxx Indirect
SOC = Social Services 915xxx Indirect
COM = Complex Medical Equipment 925xxx Indirect
MEDS = Medical Supplies Charges to Residents 926xxx Indirect
AA = Other Allowable Ancillary Cost Centers 929xxx Indirect
CENT = Central Supply Services 917xxx Indirect
MEDR = Medical Records 916xxx Operating
PO = Plant Operation 71xxxX Operating
HSK = Housekeeping 72xxXX Operating
ADM = Administration 73xXxXX Operating
L&L = Laundry and Linen 918xxx Operating
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