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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  

601 E. 12th St., Room 355 

Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

 

August 25, 2022 

 

Elizabeth Matney  

Medicaid Director  

Iowa Department of Human Services 

1305 East Walnut Street 

Des Moines, IA 50319  

 

Re:  Iowa State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0008 

 

Dear Iowa Medicaid Director Ms. Matney: 

 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 

Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0008. This amendment proposes 

language change to Iowa’s Third Party Liability Payment Claims section 1B and 1C.  

 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act and implementing regulations Section 53102(a)(1) of the Bipartisan 

Budget Act (BBA) of 2018. This letter is to inform you that Iowa Medicaid SPA 22-0008 was 

approved on August 25, 2022, with an effective date of July 1, 2022. 

  

If you have any questions, please contact Lee Herko at 570-230-4048 or via email at 

lee.herko@cms.hhs.gov if you have any questions about this approval. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

James G. Scott, Director 

Division of Program Operations 

 

Enclosures 

 

cc:  Jennifer Steenblock 

       Sara Schneider 

       Jeanette Brandner 
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  ATTACHMENT 4.22-B 

   Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 State: Iowa  
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD PARTY LIABILITY -  

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 

1. PROVIDER COMPLIANCE 

The requirement that providers bill a liable third party before billing Medicaid is enforced by 

cost avoidance.  The Iowa Medicaid does not pay claims when the Medicaid eligibility file 

indicates that there is third party liability, but the claim does not show an insurance payment.  

Providers must resubmit the claim indicating payment or denial from the third party before 

payment is made by Medicaid. 

When the other resource has not paid the provider’s full charge, providers may submit claims  

to Medicaid for the difference (up to the Medicaid maximum allowable fee). Auditing is 

performed on a random basis to ensure correct billing. 

State Compliance with Statutory Third Party Liability Changes in accordance with the 

Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018.  

A. The requirement for states to apply cost avoidance procedures to claims for prenatal 

services, including labor, delivery, and postpartum care services. 

(1) Iowa will use standard “cost avoidance” coordination of benefits cost avoidance 

when processing claims for prenatal services, including labor, delivery and 

postpartum care claims. 

B. The requirement for states to make payment without regard to potential TPL for 

pediatric preventive services, unless the state has made a determination related to 

cost-effectives and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for 90 days. 

(1) Iowa will use standard pay and chase procedures when processing claims for 

pediatric preventive services care claims. 

C. State Flexibility to make payments without regard to potential TPL for up to 100 days 

for claims related to child support enforcement beneficiaries.   

(1) Iowa will use standard pay and chase procedures when processing claims for child 

support enforcement beneficiaries. 

 
TN No. IA-22-0008   

Supersedes  Approval Date 8/25/2022 Effective Date 7/1/2022 
TN No.  IA-20-004   
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 State: Iowa  
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD PARTY LIABILITY -  

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS 

 

However, the Department pays in accordance with the usual payment schedule without regard to 

third-party liability for claims where the liability is derived, through insurance or otherwise, from 

a parent whose obligation to pay support is being enforced by the state IV-D agency, or for 

children receiving preventive pediatric services.  These types of claims, are paid by Medicaid, 

and then are billed to the responsible third party. All services are subject to this provision.   
 

Inquiries for third-party liability on trauma claims are automated on a post payment basis. 

2. THRESHOLD AMOUNTS 

 

The Department will attempt to collect from a liable third party when a member’s total 

trauma claims for a single trauma incident are greater than $250. Each member’s trauma 

claims, which are related to a single incident, will be added together for one year to compare 

to the $250 threshold.  

 

However, when an attorney notifies Iowa Medicaid of their involvement in casualty 

situations or a member notifies Medicaid of possible insurance payment in casualty 

situations, these requests are worked when they total over $50 in amount.   
 

Insurance claims of less than $100 dollars are billed once the dollar value of the total claims 

is greater than $100.00. 

  

3. RESERVED 

 

4. PROVIDER RESTRICTIONS 

 

Providers must agree to accept the payment made by the Medicaid Program as payment in full 

and make no additional charges to the recipient or others.   

 

No provider of services participating in the Medicaid Program may deny care of services to a 

recipient eligible for the care and services under the program because of the recipient’s inability 

to pay a copayment.   

 
 

 

 

 

TN No. IA-22-0008   

Supersedes  Approval Date 8/25/2022 Effective Date 7/1/2022 
TN No.  IA-20-04   
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Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1  (MB) 

FEBRUARY 1994 
 

State/Territory:  Iowa    
 

Citation 
 

42 CFR  433.l39(b)(3)     
(ii)(A) 

(c)   Providers are required  to bill liable third 

parties  when services covered  under  the plan 
are furn i shed   to an  individual  on  whose behalf  child 
support en fo rcemen t  is being carried  out by the State 
IV-D agency. 

 
 
 
(d)  ATTACHMENT 4 . 2 2 -B specifies the following: 

 

42 CFR  433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C)  (1)    The   method 
compliance 
requirements 

used i n  determining a providers 
with the third party billing at 
§433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C). 

 

42 CFR  433.139(0(2)                       (2)   The threshold amount  or other  guideline  used in 
determining whether to seek recovery of 
reimbursement  from a  liable third party, or the 
process by which the agency determines that 
seeking recovery of reimbursement  would not be 
cost effective. 

 
42 CFR  433.139(f)(3)                            (3)    The dollar amount or  time period the State uses to 

accumulate billings from a particular liable third 
party in making the decision  to seek  recovery  of 
reimbursement. 

 
42 CFR  447.20                          (e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a 

service for which a third party is liable follows the 
restrictions  specified in 42 CFR  447.20. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TN No. IA-22-0008   

Supersedes  Approval Date 8/22/2022 Effective Date 7/1/2022 

TN No.  MS-94-36   
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