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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 ‘ M S

Baltimore’ Maryland 21244_1850 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
December 8, 2021

Sarah Fertig, State Medicaid Director

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Division of Health Care Finance

Landon State Office Building

900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N

Topeka, KS 66612-1220

RE: Kansas SPA 21-0015
Dear Ms. Fertig:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State
plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 21-0015. This amendment increases Nursing
Facility Rates for State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2022.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We have found that the proposed reimbursement
methodology complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an
effective date of July 1, 2021. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan

pages.

If you have any questions, please contact Fredrick Sebree at Fredrick.sebree@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Rory Howe
Director
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report information from the old and new operators shall be combined to prepare a
12-month calendar year end cost report.

Projected Cost Reports:

The filing of projected cost reports are limited to: 1) newly constructed facilities;
2) existing facilities new to the Medicaid program; or 3) a provider re-entering the
Medicaid program that has not actively participated or billed services for 24 months or
more. The requirements are found in K.A.R. 129-10-17.

2) Rate Determination

Rates for Existing Nursing Facilities

Medicaid rates for Kansas NFs are determined using a prospective, facility-
specific rate-setting system. The rate is determined from the base cost data submitted by
the provider. The current base cost data is the combined calendar year cost data from
each available report submitted by the current provider during 2017, 2018, and 2019.

If the current provider has not submitted a calendar year report during the base
cost period, the cost data submitted by the previous provider for that same period will be
used as the base cost data. Once the provider completes their first 24 months in the
program, their first calendar year cost report will become the provider’s base cost data.

The allowable expenses are divided into three cost centers. The cost centers are
Operating, Indirect Health Care and Direct Health Care. They are defined in K.A.R. 129-
10-18.

The allowable historic per diem cost is determined by dividing the allowable
resident related expenses in each cost center by resident days. Before determining the per
diem cost, each year’s cost data is adjusted from the midpoint of that year to March 31,
2020. The resident days and inflation factors used in the rate determination will be
explained in greater detail in the following sections.

The inflated allowable historic per diem cost for each cost center is then
compared to the cost center upper payment limit. The allowable per diem rate is the lesser
of the inflated allowable historic per diem cost in each cost center or the cost center upper
payment limit. Each cost center has a separate upper payment limit. If each cost center
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

upper payment limit is exceeded, the allowable per diem rate is the sum of the three cost
center upper payment limits. There is also a separate upper payment limit for owner,
related party, administrator, and co-administrator compensation. The upper payment
limits will be explained in more detail in a separate section.

The case mix of the residents adjusts the Direct Health Care cost center. The
reasoning behind a case mix payment system is that the characteristics of the residents in
a facility should be considered in determining the payment rate. The idea is that certain
resident characteristics can be used to predict future costs to care for residents with those
same characteristics. For these reasons, it is desirable to use the case mix classification
for each facility in adjusting provider rates.

There are add-ons to the allowable per diem rate. The add-ons consist of the
incentive factor, the real and personal property fee, and per diem pass-throughs to cover
costs not included in the cost report data. The incentive factor and real and personal
property fee are explained in separate sections of this exhibit. Pass-throughs are
explained in separate subparts of Attachment 4.19D of the State Plan. The add-ons plus
the allowable per diem rate equal the total per diem rate.

Rates for New Construction and New Facilities (New Enrollment Status)

The per diem rate for newly constructed nursing facilities, or new facilities to the
Kansas Medical Assistance program shall be based on a projected cost report submitted
in accordance with K.A.R. 129-10-17.

The cost information from the projected cost report and the first historic cost
report covering the projected cost report period shall be adjusted to March 31, 2020. This
adjustment will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National Skilled Nursing Facility
Market Basket Without Capital Index (IHS Index). The IHS indices listed in the latest
available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from the
midpoint of the cost report period to March 31, 2020. The provider shall remain in new
enrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted cost
data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for
inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the
adjusted cost data for each provider in new enrollment status.

December 8, 2021

KS 21-0015 Approval Date: Effective Date: July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 19-0017




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-1
Page 4 of 19
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

Rates for Facilities Recognized as a Change of Provider (Change of Provider Status)

The payment rate for the first 24 months of operation shall be based on the base
cost data of the previous owner or provider. This base cost data shall include data from
each calendar year cost report that was filed by the previous provider from 2017-2019. If
base cost data is not available the most recent calendar year data for the previous provider
shall be used. Beginning with the first day of the 25" month of operation the payment
rate shall be based on the historical cost data for the first calendar year submitted by the
new provider.

All data used to set rates for facilities recognized as a change-of-provider shall be
adjusted to March 31, 2020. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The IHS
indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to March 31,2020. The
provider shall remain in change-of-provider status until the base data is reestablished.
During this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the
provider. Any additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established
providers shall be applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in change of
provider status.

Rates for Facilities Re-entering the Program (Reenrollment Status)

The per diem rate for each provider reentering the Medicaid program shall be
determined from a projected cost report if the provider has not actively participated in the
program by the submission of any current resident service billings to the program for 24
months or more. The per diem rate for all other providers reentering the program shall be
determined from the base cost data filed with the agency or the most recent cost report
filed preceding the base cost data period.

All cost data used to set rates for facilities reentering the program shall be
adjusted to March 31, 2020. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The IHS
indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to March 31, 2020. The
provider shall remain in reenrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During
this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any
additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be
applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in reenrollment status.

3) Quarterly Case Mix Index Calculation
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report and the historic cost report covering the projected cost report period are based
on the actual resident days for the period.

The second exception is for the first cost report filed by a new provider who
assumes the rate of the previous provider. If the 85% minimum occupancy rule was
applied to the previous provider’s rate, it is also applied when the rate is assigned to the
new provider. However, when the new provider files a historic cost report for any part of
the first 12 months of operation, the rate determined from the cost report will be based on
actual days and not be subject to the 85% minimum occupancy rule for the months in the
first year of operation. The 85% minimum occupancy rule is then reapplied to the rate
when the new provider reports resident days and costs for the 13th month of operation
and after.

5) Inflation Factors

Inflation will be applied to the allowable reported costs from the calendar year
cost report(s) used to determine the base cost data from the midpoint of each cost report
period to March 31, 2020. The inflation will be based on the IHS Global Insight, CMS
Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket index.

The IHS Global Insight, CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket
Indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to determine the
inflation tables for the payment schedules processed during the payment rate period. This
may require the use of forecasted factors in the inflation table. The inflation tables will
not be revised until the next payment rate period.

The inflation factor will not be applied to the following costs:
1) Owner/Related Party Compensation
2) Interest Expense
3) Real and Personal Property Taxes

The inflation factor for the real and personal property fees will be based on the IHS
index.

6) Upper Payment Limits

There are three types of upper payment limits that will be described. One is the
owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator limit. The second is the real and
personal property fee limit. The last type of limit is an upper payment limit for each cost
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

center. The upper payment limits are in effect during the payment rate period unless
otherwise specified by a State Plan amendment.

Owner/Related Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator Limits:

Since salaries and other compensation of owners are not subject to the usual
market constraints, specific limits are placed on the amounts reported. First, amounts
paid to non-working owners and directors are not an allowable cost. Second, owners and
related parties who perform resident related services are limited to a salary chart based on
the Kansas Civil Service classifications and wages for comparable positions. Owners and
related parties who provide resident related services on less than a full time basis have
their compensation limited by the percent of their total work time to a standard work
week. A standard work week is defined as 40 hours. The owners and related parties
must be professionally qualified to perform services which require licensure or
certification.

The compensation paid to owners and related parties shall be allocated to the
appropriate cost center for the type of service performed. Each cost center has an
expense line for owner/related party compensation. There is also a cost report schedule
titled, “Statement of Owners and Related Parties.” This schedule requires information
concerning the percent of ownership (if over five percent), the time spent in the function,
the compensation, and a description of the work performed for each owner and/or related
party. Any salaries reported in excess of the Kansas Civil Service based salary chart are
transferred to the Operating cost center where the excess is subject to the Owner/Related
Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator per diem compensation limit.

The Schedule C is an array of non-owner administrator and co-administrator
salaries. The schedule includes the calendar year 2019 historic cost reports in the
database from all active nursing facility providers. The salary information in the array is
not adjusted for inflation. The per diem data is calculated using an 85% minimum
occupancy level for those providers in operation for more than 12 months with more than
60 beds. The Schedule C for the owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator per
diem compensation limit is the first schedule run during the rate setting.

The Schedule C is used to set the per diem limitation for all non-owner
administrator and co-administrator salaries and owner/related party compensation in
excess of the civil service based salary limitation schedule. The per diem limit for a 50-
bed or larger home is set at the 90th percentile on all salaries reported for non-owner
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

administrators and co-administrators. A limitation table is then established for facilities
with less than 50 beds. This table begins with a reasonable salary per diem for an
administrator of a 15-bed or less facility. The per diem limit for a 15-bed or less facility
is inflated based on the State of Kansas annual cost of living allowance for classified
employees for the rate period. A linear relationship is then established between the
compensation of the administrator of the 15-bed facility and the compensation of the
administrator of a 50-bed facility. The linear relationship determines the per diem limit
for the facilities between 15 and 50 beds.

The per diem limits apply to the non-owner administrators and co-administrators
and the compensation paid to owners and related parties who perform an administrative
function or consultant type of service. The per diem limit also applies to the salaries in
excess of the civil service based salary chart in other cost centers that are transferred to
the operating cost center.

Real and Personal Property Fee Limit

The property component of the reimbursement methodology consists of the real
and personal property fee that is explained in more detail in a later section. The upper
payment limit will be 105% of the median determined from a total resident day-weighted
array of the property fees in effect April 1, 2021.

Cost Center Upper Payment Limits

The Schedule B computer run is an array of all per diem costs for each of the
three cost centers-Operating, Indirect Health Care, and Direct Health Care. The schedule
includes a per diem determined from the base cost data from all active nursing facility
providers. Projected cost reports are excluded when calculating the limit.

The per diem expenses for the Operating cost center and the Indirect Health Care
cost center less food and utilities are subject to the 85% minimum occupancy for facilities
over 60 beds. All previous desk review and field audit adjustments are considered in the
per diem expense calculations. The costs are adjusted by the owner/related
party/administrator/co-administrator limit.

Prior to the Schedule B arrays, the cost data on certain expense lines is adjusted
from the midpoint of the cost report period to March 31, 2020. This will bring the costs
reported by the providers to a common point in time for comparisons. The inflation will
be based
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and per diem add-ons:

INCENTIVE
FACTOR

INCENTIVE OUTCOME PER DIEM
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (5.8), or g

3.00
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >=
10% $0.50
Staff retention rate >= 75th percentile, 68% or $2.50
Staff retention rate < 75th percentile but increased >= 10%
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor
costs $0.50
Medicaid occupancy >= 65% $0.75
Quality Measures >=75" percentile
(670) $1.25
Total Incentive Add-ons-Available $7.50

Nursing Facility for Mental Health Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor:

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive plan for Nursing Facilities for Mental
Health (NFMH) will be established separately from NF. NFMH serve people who often
do not need the NF level of care on a long term basis. There is a desire to provide
incentive for NFMH to work cooperatively and in coordination with Community Mental
Health Centers to facilitate the return of persons to the community.

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor is a per diem add-on ranging from
zero ($0.00) to seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50). It is designed to encourage quality
care, efficiency and cooperation with discharge planning. The incentive factor is
determined by five outcome measures: case-mix adjusted nurse staffing ratio; operating
expense; staff turnover rate; staff retention rate; and occupancy rate. Each provider is
awarded points based on their outcomes measures and the total points for each provider
determine the per diem incentive factor included in the provider’s rate calculation.

Providers may earn up to two incentive points for their case mix adjusted nurse
staffing ratio. They will receive two points if their case-mix adjusted staffing ratio equals
or exceeds 3.88, which is 120% of the statewide NFMH median of 3.23. They will
receive one point if the ratio is less than 120% of the NFMH median but greater than or
equal to 3.55 which is 110% of the statewide NFMH median. Providers with staffing
ratios below 110% of the NFMH median will receive no points for this incentive
measure.
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NFMH providers may earn one point for low occupancy outcomes measures. If
they have total occupancy less than 90% they will earn a point.

NFMH providers may earn one point for low operating expense outcomes
measures. They will earn a point if their per diem operating expenses are below $26.11,
or 90% of the statewide median of $29.01.

NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their turnover rate outcome
measure. Providers with direct health care staff turnover equal to or below 41%, the 75
percentile statewide, will earn two points as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed
10% of the provider’s total direct health care labor costs. Providers with direct health
care staff turnover greater than 41% but equal to or below 75%, the 50™ percentile
statewide, will earn one point as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed 10% of the
provider’s total direct health care labor costs.

Finally, NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their retention rate
outcome measure. Providers with staff retention rates at or above 76%, the 75
percentile statewide will earn two points. Providers with staff retention rates below 76%,
but at or above 67%, the 50" percentile statewide will earn one point.

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and points:

QUALITY/EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE
OUTCOME POINTS
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 120% (3.88) of NF-MH median

(3.23), or 2, or
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.55) and 120% 1
Total occupancy <= 90% 1
Operating expenses < $26.11, 90% of NF-MH median, $29.01 1
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 41% 2, or
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 75% 1
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs

Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 76% 2, or
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 67% 1
Total Incentive Points

Available 8
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-D

Part |

Subpart C

INFLATION TABLE Exhibit C-2

EFFECTIVE 07/01/21 Page 1

MIDPOINT
REPORT MIDPOINT MIDPOINT OF RATE HISTORICAL
YEAR END MIDPOINT OF RYE OF RATE PERIOD INFLATION
(RYE) OF RYE INDEX PERIOD INDEX FACTOR % *

12-16 06-16 1.044 03-20 1.148 9.962%
01-17 07-16 1.052 03-20 1.148 9.125%
02-17 08-16 1.052 03-20 1.148 9.125%
03-17 09-16 1.052 03-20 1.148 9.125%
04-17 10-16 1.057 03-20 1.148 8.609%
05-17 11-16 1.057 03-20 1.148 8.609%
06-17 12-16 1.057 03-20 1.148 8.609%
07-17 01-17 1.066 03-20 1.148 7.692%
08-17 02-17 1.066 03-20 1.148 7.692%
09-17 03-17 1.066 03-20 1.148 7.692%
10-17 04-17 1.074 03-20 1.148 6.890%
11-17 05-17 1.074 03-20 1.148 6.890%
12-17 06-17 1.074 03-20 1.148 6.890%
01-18 07-17 1.081 03-20 1.148 6.198%
02-18 08-17 1.081 03-20 1.148 6.198%
03-18 09-17 1.081 03-20 1.148 6.198%
04-18 10-17 1.086 03-20 1.148 5.709%
05-18 11-17 1.086 03-20 1.148 5.709%
06-18 12-17 1.086 03-20 1.148 5.709%
07-18 01-18 1.098 03-20 1.148 4.554%
08-18 02-18 1.098 03-20 1.148 4.554%
09-18 03-18 1.098 03-20 1.148 4.554%
10-18 04-18 1.105 03-20 1.148 3.891%
11-18 05-18 1.105 03-20 1.148 3.891%
12-18 06-18 1.105 03-20 1.148 3.891%
01-19 07-18 1.111 03-20 1.148 3.330%
02-19 08-18 1.111 03-20 1.148 3.330%
03-19 09-18 1.111 03-20 1.148 3.330%
04-19 10-18 1.118 03-20 1.148 2.683%
05-19 11-18 1.118 03-20 1.148 2.683%
06-19 12-18 1.118 03-20 1.148 2.683%
07-19 01-19 1.124 03-20 1.148 2.135%
08-19 02-19 1.124 03-20 1.148 2.135%
09-19 03-19 1.124 03-20 1.148 2.135%
10-19 04-19 1.131 03-20 1.148 1.503%
11-19 05-19 1.131 03-20 1.148 1.503%
12-19 06-19 1.131 03-20 1.148 1.503%
01-20 07-19 1.134 03-20 1.148 1.235%
02-20 08-19 1.134 03-20 1.148 1.235%
03-20 09-19 1.134 03-20 1.148 1.235%
04-20 10-19 1.138 03-20 1.148 0.879%
05-20 11-19 1.138 03-20 1.148 0.879%
06-20 12-19 1.138 03-20 1.148 0.879%

* = (Midpoint of rate period index / Midpoint of rye index) -1

KS 21-0015 Approval Date_ December 8, 2021
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

COST CENTER

Operating

Indirect Health Care

Direct Health Care

Real and Personal Property Fee

Part |
Subpart C

COST CENTER LIMITATIONS EFFECTIVE 07/01/21 Exhibit C-2

Page 2

UPPER LIMIT

$41.43
$56.30
$134.32

$10.16

* = Base limit for a facility average case mix index of 1.0419
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Part |
Subpart C
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/21 Exhibit C-2
Page 3
NF ONLY
INCENTIVE
INCENITVE OUTCOME AMOUNTS
1) CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (5.8), or $3.00
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >= 10% $0.50
2) Staff retention rate >= 75th percentile, 68% or $2.50
Staff retention rate < 75th percentile but increased >= 10% $0.50
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs
3) Medicaid occupancy >= 65% $0.75
4) Quality Measures >= 75th percentile (670) $1.25
Total Incentive Available $7.50
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
Subpart C
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/21 Exhibit C-2
Page 3a
NF-MH ONLY
INCENTIVE
QUALITY/EFFICIENCY OUTCOME POINTS
1 |CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 120% (3.88) of NF-MH median (3.23), or 2,0r
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.55) and 120% 1
2 |Total occupancy <= 90% 1
3 |Operating expenses < $26.11, 90% of NF-MH median, $29.01 1
4 |Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 41% 2, or
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 75% 1
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs
5 [Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 76% 2,0or
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 67% 1
Total Incentive Points Available 8
Total Incentive Points: Incentive Factor Per Diem:
Tier 1: 6-8 points $7.50
Tier 2: 5 points $5.00
Tier 3: 4 points $2.50
Tier 4: 0-3 points $0.00
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OWNER/ADMINISTRATOR LIMITATION TABLE EFFECTIVE 07/01/21

Cost of
Total Maximum Living
Number Bed Owner/Admin Limit State
of Beds Days Compensation PPD FY Amount Emp.
15 5,475 $24,103 $4.40 76 10,000 -
16 5,840 27,273 $4.67 77 10,280 2.800%
17 6,205 30,443 $4.91 78 10,537 2.500%
18 6,570 33,613 $5.12 79 11,301 7.250%
19 6,935 36,783 $5.30 80 11,781 4.250%
20 7,300 39,953 $5.47 81 12,617 7.100%
21 7,665 43,123 $5.63 82 13,248 5.000%
22 8,030 46,293 $5.77 83 14,109 6.500%
23 8,395 49,463 $5.89 84 14,426 2.250%
24 8,760 52,633 $6.01 85 15,147 5.000%
25 9,125 55,803 $6.12 86 15,933 5.190%
26 9,490 58,973 $6.21 87 16,411 3.000%
27 9,855 62,143 $6.31 88 16,575 1.000%
28 10,220 65,313 $6.39 89 17,238 4.000%
29 10,585 68,483 $6.47 90 17,755 3.000%
30 10,950 71,653 $6.54 91 18,021 1.500%
31 11,315 74,823 $6.61 92 18,021 0.000%
32 11,680 77,993 $6.68 93 18,111 0.500%
33 12,045 81,163 $6.74 94 18,202 0.500%
34 12,410 84,333 $6.80 95 18,407 1.125%
35 12,775 87,503 $6.85 96 18,591 1.000%
36 13,140 90,673 $6.90 97 18,591 0.000%
37 13,505 93,843 $6.95 98 18,777 1.000%
38 13,870 97,013 $6.99 99 19,059 1.500%
39 14,235 100,183 $7.04 00 19,250 1.000%
40 14,600 103,353 $7.08 01 19,250 0.000%
41 14,965 106,523 $7.12 02 19,683 2.250%
42 15,330 109,693 $7.16 03 19,683 0.000%
43 15,695 112,863 $7.19 04 19,978 1.500%
44 16,060 116,033 $7.22 05 20,577 3.000%
45 16,425 119,203 $7.26 06 20,834 1.250%
46 16,790 122,373 $7.29 07 21,355 2.500%
47 17,155 125,543 $7.32 08 21,782 2.000%
48 17,520 128,713 $7.35 09 22,327 2.500%
49 17,885 131,883 $7.37 10-18 22,327 0.000%
50 18,250 135,053 $7.40 19 22,941 2.750%
20 23,515 2.500%
21 24,103 2.500%

KS 21-0015 Approval Date; __ December 8, 2021 Effective Date: July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 19-0017
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EFFECTIVE 07/01/21
“*BEFORE INFLATION*** “*AFTER INFLATION***

OPER IDHC DHC RPPF  TOTAL OPER IDHC DHC RPPF  TOTAL
MEDIAN 36.31 47.07 99.30 9.68  192.35 37.66 4896  103.32 9.68  199.62
MEAN 4042 5114 10354 13.86 208.96 40.89 5225 10759 13.86 214.59
WTMN 39.71 5023 10229 1391 206.13 3983 51.02 10627 1391 211.03

# OF PROV 311 311

KS 21-0015 Approval Date  December 8, 2021 Effective Date July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 19-0017




HIGH
99th
95th
90th
85th
80th
75th
70th
65th
60th
55th
50th
40th
30th
20th
10th

1st

LOwW

MEAN

WTMN

# of Prov

KS21-0015 Approval Date_ December 8, 2021

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-D

COMPILATION OF ADMINISTRATOR, CO-ADMIN OWNER EXPENSE - O/A LIMIT
EFFECTIVE 07/01/21

ADMINISTRATOR

TOTAL

238,449
178,762
139,924
124,213
116,292
108,435
104,523
99,753
93,955
89,990
87,274
85,055
78,362
72,837
64,204
48,232
0

0

86,427

77,160

309

PRD

42.39
13.96
9.15
7.48
6.98
6.56
6.33
5.98
5.60
5.30
5.14
4.82
4.34
3.70
3.04
2.50
0.00
0.00

5.14

4.36

98,943
98,943
98,943
98,943
98,943
16,982
16,982
16,982
16,982
93,419
93,419
93,419
16,439
16,439

9,693

9,693

9,693

9,693

47,095

47,313

PRD

6.90
6.90
6.90
6.90
6.90
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.79
1.79
1.79
0.34
0.34
0.26
0.26
0.26
0.26

6.90

1.46

TOTAL

238,449
179,300
144,110
124,484
116,437
108,435
104,300
100,048
93,955
90,418
87,326
85,104
78,962
73,172
64,204
49,230
20,173
14,436

87,002

78,142

309

CO-ADMINISTRATOR  TOTAL ADMN & CO-ADMN

TOTAL PRD

17.22
11.67
8.55
7.40
6.89
6.56
6.26
5.96
5.60
5.30
5.12
4.90
4.35
3.74
3.04
2.54
1.43
1.09

4.92

4.34

Part |

Subpart C

Exhibit C-3

Page 2

OWNER
TOTAL PRD
345,476 10.58
345,476 10.58
269,532 10.26
153,298 8.69
131,756 7.43
114,675 5.07
105,805 4.71
100,478 3.63
80,076 2.90
59,244 2.26
56,224 1.96
49,065 1.80
37,783 1.80
33,861 1.76
22,317 1.52
21,823 1.42
6,710 0.52
6,710 0.52
77,756 3.44
70,661 3.21
35

Effective Date July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS19-0017



KS 21-0015 Approval Date
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COMPILATION OF NF
INCENTIVE POINTS AWARDED
EFF. 07/01/2021

INCENTIVE
AWARDED

$0.00
$0.50
$0.75
$1.00
$1.25
$1.75
$2.00
$2.25
$2.50
$3.00
$3.25
$3.50
$3.75
$4.25
$4.50
$4.75
$5.00
$5.50
$6.25
$6.75
$7.50

TOTALS
PEAK
INCENTIVE
AWARDED

$0.00
$0.50
$1.00
$1.50
$2.00
$2.50
$3.00

TOTALS

December 8, 2021

NURSING FACILITY

# OF

PROVIDERS

57
25
36
1
53
15
10
1
15
35
7
3
14
7
4
1
5
10
3
5
1

308
#
OF
PROVIDERS

215
36
0
35
8
9
5

308

Attachment 4.19-D

PERCENTAGE

18.5%
8.1%
11.7%
0.3%
17.2%
4.9%
3.2%
0.3%
4.9%
11.4%
2.3%
1.0%
4.5%
2.3%
1.3%
0.3%
1.6%
3.2%
1.0%
1.6%
0.3%

100.0%

PERCENTAGE

69.8%
11.7%
0.0%
11.4%
2.6%
2.9%
1.6%

100.0%

Part |
Subpart C
Exhibit C-3
Page 3
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June 3, 2021

«ADMIN NAME», Administrator
«FAC_NAME»
«FAC_ADDRES»

«CITY», KS «ZIP»

Provider #: 104«PROV_NUM»01
HP Enterprise Services Provider #: «<EDS_PROV_N»

Dear «<ADMIN NAME»:

The per diem rate shown on the enclosed Case Mix Payment Schedule for state fiscal year 2022 (FY22) has
been forwarded to the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) for processing of future reimbursement
payments. The rate will become effective July 1, 2021.

The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), administers the Medicaid nursing
facility services payment program on behalf of Kansas Department of Health and Environment. The rate was
calculated by applying the applicable Medicaid program policies and regulations, to the cost reports (Form
MS 2004) data shown on the enclosed payment schedule.

Also enclosed may be an audit adjustment sheet showing adjustments made during the desk review of the
2020 calendar year end cost report. This information is intended to assist you with preparation of future cost
reports.

If you do not agree with this action, you have the right to request a fair hearing appeal in accordance with
K.A.R. 30-7-64 et seq. The request for fair hearing shall be in writing and delivered to or mailed to the
agency so that it is received by the Office of Administrative Hearings, 1020 S. Kansas Ave., Topeka, KS
66612-1311 within 30 days from the date of this letter. (Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-531, an additional three days
shall be allowed if you received this letter by mail). Failure to timely request or pursue such an appeal may
adversely affect your rights.

If you have questions about the adjustments, please contact Shirley Chung at (785) 296-6457 or email at
Shirley.Chung@ks.gov. For questions on the Medicaid Rate, please contact Trescia Power at (785) 207-
2375 or email at Trescia.Power@ks.gov or Steven Hime at (785) 296-2535 or email at
Steven.Hime@ks.gov.

Sincerely,

Trescia Power

Program Finance Oversight Manager

Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services

KS 21-0015 Approval Date; _December 8, 2021 pepective Date: July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 20-0018




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Kansas Medicaid / MediKan Case Mix Schedule

1st-2nd QTR 2022 ANNUAL

Current Provider Information
Provider Number: HP Enterprises Provider Number:
Facility Name: Area/County:
Address:
City/State/Zip:

Administrator:

1st QTR Medicaid CMI: 0 8825
2nd QTR Medicaid CMI: 0 8831
Average Medicaid CMI: 0 8828 (a)

Cost Report Statistics

Calendar Year Cost Reports Used For Base Data: 12/31/2017 12/31/2018  12/31/2019
Inflation Factor: 6.890% 3891% 1.503%
Facility Cost Report Period CMI: 0.8374 08945 0.9190
Statewide Average CMI: 1.0302 10416 1.0539 10419 [b]
NF Or NF/MH Beds: 36 36 30
Bed Days Available: 13,140 13,140 12,222
Inpatient Days: 10,840 10,763 9,970
Occupancy Rate: 82.5% 91.9% 816%
Medicaid Days: 7,302 7,434 7,035
Calc Days If Appl: 11,169 11,169 10,389
Calculation of Combined Base Year Reimbursement Rate
Operating
Total Reported Costs: $1,035,363 $875,046 $812,971
Cost Report Adjustments: ($415,871) $0 $0
O/A Limit Adjustment: $0 ($34,142)  ($40,070)
Total Adjusted Costs: $619,492 $840,904 $772,901
Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: $662,175 $874,952 $785,120
Total Combined Base Cost: $2,322,247
Days Used In Division Oper: 10,840 10,763 9,970 31,573

73.55 Oper Per Diem
41.43 Oper Per Diem Cost Limitation
41.43 Oper Per Diem Rate (1)

Indirect Health Care

Total Reported Costs: $722,607 $643,882 $555,869
Cost Report Adjustments: $2,612 $0 $0
Total Adjusted Costs: $725,219 $643,882 $555,869
Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: $775,187 $668,935 $564,224
Total Combined Base Cost:

Days Used In Division IDHC: 10,840 10,763 9,970

$2,008,346
31,573
63.61 DHC Per Diem
56.30 DHC Per Diem Cost Limitation
56.30 IDHC Per Diem Rate (2)

Direct Health Care

Total Reported Costs: $1,153,135 $1,245,295 $1,292,198
Cost Report Adjustments: $0 $0 $0
Total Adjusted Costs: $1,153,135 $1,245295  $1,292,198
Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: $1,232,586 $1,293,749  $1,311,620
Total CMI Adjusted Costs: $1,516,372 $1,506,505 $1,504,153
Total Combined Base Cost:

Days Used In Division DHC: 10,840 10,763 9,970

[e]*(fa)/ol)

$4,527,030
31,573
143.38 Case Mix Adjusted DHC Per Diem
134.32 DHC Per Diem Cost Limitation
134.32 Allowable DHC Per Diem Cost [c]
113.81 Medicaid Acuity Adjustment (3)

Real and Personal Property Fee

208.82 Real and Personal Property Fee
0.00 Inflation (0.000%)
0.00 RPPF Rebase Add On
208.82 RPPF Before Limit
10.16 RPPF Limitation
10.16 Allowable RPPF (4)

Calculation of Medicaid Rate

Operating, DHC, And DHC Rates and RPPF (1) +(2) + (3) +(4):

Incentive Factor

PEAK20

Bed Tax Adjustment

DME Adjustment

Minimum Wage Adjustment

Total Medicaid Rate Effective 07/01/2021

KS21-0015  Approval Date December 8, 2021

221.70
0.00
0.00
2.62
0.00
0.00

224.32

Effective Date July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 20-0018
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

KANSAS MEDICAID

QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY OUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR

Provider Number:
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number:

Facility Name:

Rate Effective Date: 07/01/21

Incentive Facility
Possible Stats
1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio
Tier 1: At or Above the NF 75th Percentile (5.8) $ 3.00
Tier 2: Below the NF 75th Percentile but Improved At
or Above 10% $ 050
6.04
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
2. Staff Retention
Tier 1: At or Below the NF 75th Percentile (68%) $ 250
Tier 2: Above the NF 75th Percentile but Reduced At
or Above 10% $ 050
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10% 82%
of total DHC Labor Costs (Contract Labor 0%)
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
3. Occupancy Rate
Medicaid Occupancy At or Above 60% $ 075
55%
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
4. Quality Measures
Score At or Above 75th Percentile (670) $ 125
460
Total Incentive before Survey Adjustment
100%
Final Incentive Awarded
Peak 2.0 Incentive $ 3.00

Peak 2.0 Survey Adjustment and Reduction

Final PEAK 2.0 Incentive Awarded

KS 21-0015 Approval Date: December 8, 2021

100%

Attachment 4.19D

Part 1
Subpart C
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Page 2
Incentive
Awarded
$ 3.00
$ 0.00
$ 250
$ 0.00
$ 0.00
$ 0.00
$ 5.50
($ 5.50)
$ 0.00
$ 1.50
($ 1.50)
$ 0.00
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KANSAS MEDICAID Page 3
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY OUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR
Provider Number:
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number:
Facility Name:
Rate Effective Date: 07/01/21
Incentive Facility Incentive
Poss ble Stats Awarded
1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio
Tier 1: At or Above 120% of NF-MH Median (3.88) 2 2
Tier 2: At or Above 110% of NF-MH Median of (3.55) 1 0
(NF-MH Median is 3.23 for an Average Statewide CMI of 1.0706)
5.53
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
2.  Operating Expense
At or Below 90% of NF-MH Median ($26.11) 1 $35.05 0
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
3. Staff Turnover
Tier 1: At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (41%) 2 2
Tier 2: At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (75%) 1 0
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10% of Total DHC Labor Costs (0.00%)
28%
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
Staff Retention
4. Tier 1: At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (76%) 2 0
Tier 2: At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (67%) 1 1
70%
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
5.  Occupancy Rate
Total Occupancy At or Below 90% 1 1
72%
Cost Report Year Data: 12/31/2020
Total Points Awarded 6
Incentive Before Survey Adjustment $7.50
Survey Adjustment and Reduction 0% (%0.00)
Final Incentive $7.50
Scoring:
Points Per Diem
6-8 $7.50
5 $5.00
4 $2.50
0-3 $0.00
PEAK 2.0 Incentive $0.00
Survey Adjustment and Reduction 0% $0.00
Total PEAK 2.0 Incentive $0.00

KS 21-0015 Approval Date: December 8, 2021 Effective Date: July 1, 2021 Supersedes KS 20-0018






